Restriction
In the applicant’s response filed on 2-16-2026 to the examiner’s requirement for restriction they have mistakenly withdrawn claims 5, 6, 11, & 19 which the examiner listed as generic. The examiner has reinstated those claims and they are no longer considered withdrawn. The applicant should appropriately note this in the next submitted set of claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (2021/0278201) (Xu) in view of Doerband (PGPub 2012/0236316) (Doerband).
Regarding Claims 1 & 19, Xu discloses a partially nulling optical metrology system for measurement of large aperture and freeform optical surfaces (Fig. 1), the metrology system comprising:
a first mirror (103) having a plurality of degrees of freedom of motion (Paragraph 27). The mirror is translatable in XYZ and rotatable around Y;
one or more optical elements (102, 104) comprising reconfigurable optical elements;
and a controller (109);
the metrology system configured to be optically coupled to an externally located surface under test (SUT) (107) and to capture measurement data from each of a plurality of individual subapertures (SAs) across an area of the SUT, each SA having a surface area smaller than that of the SUT (Fig. 2, Paragraphs 12, & 31); and
the metrology system configured to provide partial nulling of each of the SA measurements across the SUT, based on controlled adjustment of one or more of: the metrology system and the optical elements thereof (Paragraphs 27, & 37-39);
wherein a position of the metrology system relative to the SUT is adjustable (Paragraph 33). The SUT is adjusted in position relative to the interferometer;
wherein the reconfigurable optical elements are adjustable relative to the SUT (Paragraphs 27, & 37);
wherein the first mirror is adjustable relative to the SUT (Paragraphs 27, & 37); and
wherein the measurement data, comprising measurements relating to the plurality of individual SAs is stitched to describe a full surface of the SUT (Paragraphs 3, & 4);
Xu fails to explicitly disclose the metrology system being coupled to a moveable mount and the controller operable to adjust the position of the metrology system;
However, Doerband discloses the metrology system being coupled to a moveable mount and the controller operable to adjust the position (25) of the metrology system (Paragraph 39);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xu with the metrology system being coupled to a moveable mount and the controller operable to adjust the position of the metrology system because this is functionally equivalent to moving the stage and would be done for such reasons as cost, ease of moving the interferometer rather than the stage, and availability of parts.
The method of Claim 19 is also met by the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 2, Xu as modified by Doerband discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first mirror comprises a beam steering mirror, wherein the beam steering mirror is reconfigurable, having six degrees of freedom of motion;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xu as modified by Doerband with wherein the first mirror comprises a beam steering mirror, wherein the beam steering mirror is reconfigurable, having six degrees of freedom of motion because mirrors with 6 degrees of freedom of movement are known and would be an improvement by allowing for a greater range of angles to be achieved.
Regarding Claim 3, Xu as modified by Doerband discloses the aforementioned. Further, Xu discloses a second mirror (104) which is a relay mirror;
Xu as modified by Doerband fails to explicitly disclose the relay mirror is reconfigurable, having six degrees of freedom of motion;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xu as modified by Doerband with the relay mirror is reconfigurable, having six degrees of freedom of motion because mirrors with 6 degrees of freedom of movement are known and would be an improvement by allowing for a greater range of angles to be achieved.
Regarding Claim 4, Xu as modified by Doerband discloses the aforementioned. Further, Xu discloses wherein the first and second mirrors being adjustable relative to the SUT, and the plurality of SAs, across the SUT; and wherein the position of the first and second mirrors is controllable to provide a partial nulling of the individual SA measurements across the SUT (Paragraphs 27, & 37-39).
Regarding Claim 5, Xu as modified by Doerband discloses the aforementioned. Xu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the position of the metrology system is adjustable to allow positioning of the metrology system such that measurements are made substantially normal to the SUT, and the plurality of SAs, across the SUT;
However, Doerband discloses adjusting the mirrors so that the measurement beam strikes the SUT at a normal incidence (Paragraph 37);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xu with wherein the position of the metrology system is adjustable to allow positioning of the metrology system such that measurements are made substantially normal to the SUT, and the plurality of SAs, across the SUT because this angle of incidence offers an accurate measurement of the surface shaped without distortion which would be present in a non-normal angle of incidence.
Regarding Claim 6, Xu as modified by Doerband discloses the aforementioned. Further, Xu discloses configured to measure wavefront errors of the optical surface of the SUT, by measuring wavefront errors from each of a plurality of individual overlapping SAs of the SUT, each SA having a surface area smaller than that of the SUT (Fig. 2), and wherein a reconstruction of the optical surface, is provided by the plurality of partially nulled overlapping subaperture measurements (Paragraph 3 & 4). The apparatus of Xu is capable of measuring wavefront errors thus the limitation is met. Further, the measurement of wavefront errors is implicit in the device.
Regarding Claim 7, Xu as modified by Doerband discloses the aforementioned. Further, Xu discloses wherein the controller (109) is configured to control the position of one or more of the: metrology system, the first mirror, and the second mirror, to position an optical beam on the SUT, as required (Paragraph 37).
Regarding Claim 11, Xu as modified by Doerband discloses the aforementioned. Further, Xu discloses an interferometer (101), wherein the measurement data from each of the SAs comprises phase maps or interference fringe data (this is inherent with an interferometer).
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 April 2, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877