DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 13-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the contact member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites “ the controller is further configured to extract at least three feature points on the focus ring from the imaged data and then determine an actual position of the focus ring by deriving a circle passing through a plurality of the feature points” (emphasis added). The claim is indefinite as to whether the “plurality” of the “feature points” is intended to refer to the “at least three” of the “feature points”, two of the “feature points”, more than the three “feature points”, or distinct “feature points” thereof. Claims 14 and 15 are also rejected as depending on claim 13.
Claim 19 (dependent on claim 17) recites “the controller is further configured to move the alignment member by a separation distance between the alignment member and the focus ring, to stop the alignment member, and then to move the alignment member again” (emphasis added). Claim 19 is indefinite as to which “alignment member” is moving , e.g. each “alignment member” of claim 17, individual ‘alignment members’ of each “alignment member”, distinct ‘alignment members’ thereof, some combination thereof, or a distinct embodiment thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kulkarni et al (US 2022/0282380).
With respect to claim 1, Kulkarni discloses an apparatus for aligning an “annular member” (i.e. claimed “focus ring”) (Abstract), wherein figs. 2 and 4 depict the apparatus comprises: a “fixture” (i.e. claimed “frame”) [200]; at least one camera (i.e. claimed “sensing member“) [302] on a “camera wafer” [300] (para 0073), wherein the camera wafer [300] “rests on” the frame [200] (para 0042), thus the at least one camera [302] is connected to the frame [200]; and at least one ‘horizontal element’ (i.e. claimed “alignment module”) [206] connected to the frame [200] and including a pin [210] (para 0058 and 0063-0064), wherein the at least one alignment module [206] is configured to move the annular member to change a position of the annular member via pin [210] (Abstract; para 0017 and 0092). The camera [302] acquires images of a showerhead in positional relationship to the annular member (i.e. focus ring) in a substrate processing chamber (Abstract; fig. 12; para 0019-0021 and 0034); thus by acquiring images of a location the showerhead also then ‘acquires’ corresponding images or pictures of a location of the annular member within the substrate processing chamber. In addition the claim requirement of “the at least one sensing member is configured to acquire images of a focus ring within a substrate processing apparatus” (emphasis added) relates to the intended functioning of the claimed apparatus, with the apparatus of Kulkarni fully capable of functioning in the claimed manner by simply flipping or turning over the camera wafer [300] that is shown in figs. 3-4.
With respect to claim 2, Kulkarni further depicts in figs. 2 and 4 the frame [200] comprises: an “annular platform” (i.e. claimed “main frame portion”) [202] having a circular outer circumference (para 0054-0055); and the at least one alignment module [206] is connected to the main frame portion [202] (para 0058 and 0063).
With respect to claim 3, Kulkarni further depicts in fig. 2 the at least one alignment module [206] comprises at least three alignment modules [206] (para 0058 and 0063), wherein the at least three alignment modules [206] are connected to the main frame portion [202] in both a circumferentially spaced apart relationship and radially spaced apart from a center of the main frame portion [202] by a preset distance.
With respect to claim 4, Kulkarni further depicts in fig. 2 the at least one alignment module [206] comprises a module body connected to the main frame portion [202], and a “level indicator” (i.e. claimed “alignment member”) [220] connected to the module body, wherein the alignment member [220] is capable of being moved toward a center of the main frame portion [202] (para 0066-0068).
With respect to claim 5, Kulkarni further depicts in fig. 2: the at least one alignment module [206] comprises the pin (i.e. elevation member) [210] being both movably connected to the module body of the at least one alignment module [206] and configured to move vertically (e.g. claimed “opposite first and second directions”) relative to the main frame portion [202] (para 0063-0064); and the alignment member [220] is connected to the module body (the at least one alignment module [206]) via the elevation member [210] (para 0063 and 0065-0066).
With respect to claim 6, Kulkarni further depicts in fig. 2 the alignment member [220] capable of moving along a movement axis that passes through the center of the main frame portion [202] (para 0066-0068).
With respect to claim 7, Kulkarni further depicts in fig. 2 the alignment member [220] comprises a rod-shaped contact member extending from a bolt or fastener that is oriented toward the center of the main frame portion [202] (para 0066-0068).
With respect to claim 8, Kulkarni further depicts in fig. 2 the alignment member [220] comprises an auxiliary contact member movably connected to the rod-shaped contact member, and a biasing member extending from the rod-shaped contact member and contacting the auxiliary contact member (para 0066 and 0093), wherein the biasing member is between the rod-shaped contact member and the auxiliary contact member.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, Kulkarni further depicts in figs. 2 and 4 the main frame portion [202] has an annular structure, wherein the frame [200] comprises an inner diameter (i.e. claimed “auxiliary frame portion”) within an inner area of the main frame portion [202], and the at least one sensing member [302] rests (e.g. is connected) to the auxiliary frame portion (para 0054).
With respect to claim 12, Kulkarni further discloses a “computing device” (i.e. claimed “controller”) configured to receive imaged data of the annular member (i.e. focus ring) from the at least one sensing member [302] (para 0099), which then controls the at least one alignment module [206] to move the annular member (Abstract; para 0058, 0063, and 0099).
With respect to claim 13, Kulkarni further discloses the at least one alignment module [206] comprises at least three alignment modules [206] configured for moving the annular member (para 0058 and 0063); thus the controller that receives the imaged data extracts at least three features points for adjustment of the annular member (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0058, 0063, and 0099). As shown in figs. 2 and 4, the at least three alignment modules [206] are arranged in a circle, the at least three alignment modules [206] each being a feature point; thus an actual position of the annular member is derived by a circle passing through the at least three feature points (para 0063-0066).
With respect to claim 14, Kulkarni further discloses the controller is configured to determine whether the imaged data is aligned with a preset position of the annular member (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0099); thus the controller is capable of storing data about a target position for the annular member. The controller is configured to then move the annular member via the at least three alignment modules [206] so that the annular member is aligned with a desired position from the actual position (e.g. the at least three alignment modules [206] move the annular member “so that a deviation between the target position and the actual position is smaller than a preset value”) (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0099).
With respect to claim 15, Kulkarni further discloses the controller is configured to control the at least one alignment module [206] to move the annular member by a particular distance (e.g. claimed “correction distance”) (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0058, 0063, and 0099); the claim requirement of “the correction distance is a value obtained by subtracting a radius of the target position from a distance from a center of the target position to the actual position” relates to the intended use of the claimed controller and apparatus, with the controller and apparatus of Kulkarni fully capable of functioning in the claimed manner.
With respect to claim 16, Kulkarni discloses an apparatus for aligning an “annular member” (i.e. claimed “focus ring”) (Abstract), wherein figs. 2 and 4 depict the apparatus comprises: a “fixture” (i.e. claimed “frame”) [200] comprising an “annular platform” (i.e. claimed “main frame portion”) [202] having a circular outer circumference (para 0054-0055); at least one camera (i.e. claimed “sensing member“) [302] on a “camera wafer” [300] (para 0073), wherein the camera wafer [300] “rests on” the frame [200] (para 0042), thus the at least one camera [302] is connected to the frame [200]; and plural “horizontal elements” (i.e. claimed “alignment modules”) [206] connected to the frame [200] and radially spaced apart from a center of the main frame portion [202] by a preset distance (para 0058 and 0063-0064). The camera [302] acquires imaged data of a showerhead in positional relationship to the annular member (i.e. focus ring) in a substrate processing chamber (Abstract; fig. 12; para 0019-0021 and 0034); thus by acquiring imaged data of a location the showerhead also then ‘acquires’ corresponding image data of a location of the annular member within the substrate processing chamber. Kulkarni also discloses a “computing device” (i.e. claimed “controller”) configured to receive the imaged data of the annular member (i.e. focus ring) from the at least one sensing member [302] (para 0099), which then controls the alignment modules [206] to move the annular member (Abstract; para 0058, 0063, and 0099).
With respect to claim 17, Kulkarni further depicts in fig. 2 each of the alignment modules [206] comprises: a module body connected to the main frame portion [202], and a “level indicator” (i.e. claimed “alignment member”) [220] connected to the module body, wherein the alignment member [220] is capable of being moved toward a center of the main frame portion [202] (para 0066-0068), and wherein the alignment member [220] is capable of moving along a movement axis that passes through the center of the main frame portion [202] (para 0066-0068); and the controller is configured to determines whether the imaged data is aligned with a preset position of the annular member (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0099); thus the controller is capable of storing data about a target position for the annular member.
With respect to claim 18, Kulkarni further discloses the alignment modules [206] comprises at least three alignment modules [206] configured for moving the annular member (para 0058 and 0063); thus the controller that receives the imaged data extracts at least three features points for adjustment of the annular member (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0058, 0063-0066, and 0099). As shown in figs. 2 and 4, the at least three alignment modules [206] are arranged in a circle, the at least three alignment modules [206] each being a feature point; thus an actual position of the annular member is derived by a circle passing through the at least three feature points. Kulkarni also discloses the controller is configured to determine whether the imaged data is aligned with a preset position of the annular member (Abstract; fig. 13; para (para 0063-0066 and 0099); thus the controller is capable of storing data about a target position for the annular member. The controller is configured to then move the annular member via the at least three alignment modules [206] so that the annular member is aligned with a desired position from the actual position (e.g. the at least three alignment modules [206] move the annular member “so that a deviation between the target position and the actual position is smaller than a preset value”) (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0099).
With respect to claim 19, the claim requirement of “the controller is further configured to move the alignment member by a separation distance between the alignment member and the focus ring, to stop the alignment member, and then to move the alignment member again” relates to the intended functioning of the claimed apparatus and controller, with the apparatus and controller of Kulkarni fully capable of operating in the claimed manner, such as suggested in the Abstract, fig. 13, and para 0058, 0063, and 0099.
With respect to claim 20, Kulkarni discloses an apparatus for aligning an “annular member” (i.e. claimed “focus ring”) (Abstract), wherein figs. 2 and 4 depict the apparatus comprises: a “fixture” (i.e. claimed “frame”) [200] comprising an “annular platform” (i.e. claimed “main frame portion”) [202] having a circular outer circumference, and “vertical elements” (i.e. claimed “support frame portion”) [204] extending away from the main frame portion [202] (para 0054-0055); at least one camera (i.e. claimed “sensing member“) [302] on a “camera wafer” [300] (para 0073), wherein the camera wafer [300] “rests on” the frame [200] (para 0042), thus the at least one camera [302] is connected to the frame [200]; and plural “horizontal elements” (i.e. claimed “alignment modules”) [206] connected to the frame [200] and radially spaced apart from a center of the main frame portion [202] by a preset distance (para 0058 and 0063-0064). Kulkarni further discloses the camera [302] acquires images of a showerhead (e.g. claimed “space adjacent the main frame portion”) in a substrate processing chamber (Abstract; fig. 12; para 0019-0021 and 0034); the alignment modules [206] comprises at least three alignment modules [206] configured for moving the annular member (para 0058 and 0063), and a “computing device” (i.e. claimed “controller”) configured to receive imaged data of the annular member (i.e. focus ring) from the at least one sensing member [302] (para 0099), which then controls the alignment modules [206] to move the annular member (Abstract; para 0058, 0063, and 0099); thus the controller receives imaged data extracts at least three features points for adjustment of the annular member (Abstract; fig. 13; para 0058, 0063, and 0099). As shown in figs. 2 and 4, the at least three alignment modules [206] are arranged in a circle, the at least three alignment modules [206] each being a feature point; thus an actual position of the annular member is derived by a circle passing through the at least three feature points for adjustment of the annular member (para 0063-0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al (US 2022/0282380) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al (US 10,665,490).
With respect to claim 11, the reference is cited as discussed for claim 2. However Kulkarni is limited in that the at least one sensing member [302] comprising plural sensing members (i.e. cameras) is not suggested.
Lee teaches an apparatus for aligning a ring (i.e. annular member) (Abstract), wherein figs. 10-13 depict a plate [206] comprising plural cameras (i.e. sensing members) [212],[214],[216] (col. 5, lines 54-65), similar to the camera wafer [300] and camera [302] of Kulkarni. Lee cites the advantage of the plural sensing members [212],[214],[216] as precisely determining a positioning of the ring (i.e. annular member) (col. 8, lines 64-67; col. 9, lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art incorporate plural sensing members as taught by Lee for the at least one sensing member of Kulkarni to gain the advantage of precisely determining a positioning of the annular member.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A BAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794