Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-5,8,9,12,15,21,47,48,51,53,56,57,59, drawn to a photoswitchable photoinitiator and compositions including it, classified in G03F7/028.
II. Claims 30 and 74-76, drawn to processes of exposing photocurable composition including a photoswitchable photoinitiator using two different wavelengths., classified in G03F7/213.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions group I and group II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the photoswitchable photoinitiator can be exposed to a single wavelength (for research/evaluation purposes) and/or the compositions can be thermally cured.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The groups have acquired as separate status in the art as evidenced by their different classification and divergent subject matter.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Martha Ann Finnegan (31,453) on September 22, 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-5,8,9,12,15,18,21,47,48,51,53,56,57 and 59. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 30 and 74-76 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007)
Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007) (cited 12/1/2025) teaches the compound SP5
on page 597 and SP-7 on page 598.
.
Claims 1,8,9,12,15,47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Regehly et al., “Xolography for linear volumetric 3D printing”, Nature Vol. 588 pp 620+ (12/2020).
Regehly et al., “Xolography for linear volumetric 3D printing”, Nature Vol. 588 pp 620+ (12/2020) (cited by applicant 12/1/2025) exemplifies compound DCPI.
(page 621)
. This is used in a photopolymerizable composition which includes a monomer (PETA or UDMA/hydroxyethylmethacrylate) and a co-initiator (triethanolamine or N-methyldiethanolamine) where it ius used in a 3D printer assembly (methods section, page 625 ?)
The examiner has interpreted the scope of the switchable photoinitiator to include where the Z-C=O)-Z’ is bonded in two carbons of the pyran rings of the spiro pyran compound. The non-Newtonian fluid limitation is considered met by the claims as the composition changes viscosity upon irradiation
Claims 1,8,9,12,15,47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Garmhausen et al. WO 2021089090.
Garmhausen et al. WO 2021089090 (machine translation attached) teaches the composition
Claims 1,8,9,12,15,47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Garmshausen et al. WO 2020245456.
Garmshausen et al. WO 2020245456 exemplifies switchable photoinitiators on pages 28-38 including
Some of the disclosed switchable photoinitiators are combined with monomers and co-initiators in examples formulations 1-12 (pages 89-92).
Claims 1,8,9,12,15,47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Kumar 6353102.
Kumar 6353102 exemplifies the compound in column 9/line 55.
2,2-phenyl-5-hydroxy-6-morpholinocarbonyl-2H-naphtho[1,2-b]pyran. This is synthesized in example 4 (15/53-16/6). This is combined with acrylates and thermally cured using AIBN and the photochromic properties evaluated.. (example 7).
Claims 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Li et al. CN 109046480.
Li et al. CN 1090464480 (machine translation attached) exemplifies the polymer [0039]
which is a co-polymer including N, N-dimethyl acrylamide, spiropyranyl and benzophenone structure units [0038]
Claims 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Maurer WO 2010079098
Maurer WO 2010079098 teaches spiropyrans bounded by formula
(page 11-12), including the LF4021 having the substituents
Claims 47,48,51,53,57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. CN 109046480, in view of Lone et al., “Microfluidic preparation of dual stimuli-responsive microparticles and light-directed clustering”, Langmuir Vol. 26(23) pp 17975-17980 (2010)
Lone et al., “Microfluidic preparation of dual stimuli-responsive microparticles and light-directed clustering”, Langmuir Vol. 26(23) pp 17975-17980 (2010) teaches a N-isopropylacrylmide-spironaphthoxazine methacryloyl copolymer having the structure.
Spironaphthoxazines and spiropyrans are described as analogous, but replacement of the benzopyran ring with the naphthoxazine ring makes the resulting spiroxazine more resistant to UV exposure (photochromism section, page 17977)
It would have been obvious to modify the polymer of Li et al. CN 1090464480 by replacing the spiropyran moiety with a spironaphthoxazine based upon the similarity/analogousness taught in Lone et al., “Microfluidic preparation of dual stimuli-responsive microparticles and light-directed clustering”, Langmuir Vol. 26(23) pp 17975-17980 (2010) with a reasonable expectation of gaining improved resistance to UV exposure.
Claims 47,48,51,53,57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer WO 2010079098, in view of Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664
Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664 discloses spiro(indolino)pyrans bounded by formula (C ) and spiro(indolino)naphthoxazines of formula (E) on page 4.
the Spironaphthopyran compound denoted by general formula (E) is known as a photochromic compound in which fatigue resistance and color-developing-and-reducing ↑1 (color developing and erasure? ) is especially good (page 4/lower left).
For R1 and R2, Alkyl of carbon number 1~10 and R3 are.) The aryloxy machine of carbon number 6~10, the aralkoxy machine of carbon number 7~11, The alkoxy group of carbon number 1~6, the Al Gil machine of carbon number 1~6, a halogen group, A cyano group, the acyl group of carbon number 2~10, the alkoxycarbonyl group of carbon number 2~10, Express the alkoxycarbonyl group of carbon number 2~10, the halogen substitution Alkyl machine of carbon number 1 or 2, and the substitution machine chosen from the nitro group. It may be an integer of O~4, and R3 may be of the same kind, or " may be different species. aX showing the substitution machine with which R4 was chosen from no replacing or the substitution aryl group of no replacing of no replacing of no replacing of carbon number 1~20 or a substitution Al Gil machine, and carbon number 3~10 or a substitution cycloalkyl machine, and carbon number 7~20 or a Replacement aralkyl group, and carbon number 6~14. R4 is an alkyl with carbon number 1~20 (substitution or a Direct alkyl machine)! ; of carbon number 3~10!!! No replacing or the substitution aralkyl group of 'Choko substitution Replacement cycloalkyl base and carbon number 7~2O (page 2, upper right column to lower left column)
It would have been obvious to modify the spiropyran LF4021 by replacing the spiropyran moiety with a spironaphthoxazine based upon the similarity/analogousness taught in Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photochromic compound having especially good fatigue resistance and color-developing-and-reducing.
Claims 47,48,51,53,57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007), in view of Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664
It would have been obvious to modify the benzophenone substituted spiropyran of Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007) by replacing the spiropyran moiety with a spironaphthoxazine based upon the similarity/analogousness taught in Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photochromic compound having especially good fatigue resistance and color-developing-and-reducing.
Claims 1,8,9,12,15 and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmshausen et al. WO 202024545, in view of either of (Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007) or Maurer WO 2010079098) combined with Temel et al. “Photopolymerization and photophysical properties of amine linked benzophenone photoinitiator for free radical polymerization”, J. Photochem. Photobiol. A:Chem., Vol. 219 pp 26-31 (2011).
Temel et al. “Photopolymerization and photophysical properties of amine linked benzophenone photoinitiator for free radical polymerization”, J. Photochem. Photobiol. A:Chem., Vol. 219 pp 26-31 (2011) teaches the photogeneration of radicals for polymerization of monomers by benzophenone in the presence of an amine.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the compositions of Garmshausen et al. WO 202024545 which include a benzoyl substituted spiropyran, monomer and co-initiator with a benzophenone substituted spiropyran such as those taught by Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007) or Maurer WO 2010079098 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful sensitized photopolymerizable composition, noting that the spiropyrans of each of Garmshausen et al. WO 202024545, Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007) and Maurer WO 2010079098 include a benzophenone moiety.
Claims 1-5, 8,9,12,15,18,21,47,48,51,53,57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmshausen et al. WO 202024545, in view of either of (Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007) or Maurer WO 2010079098) combined with Temel et al. “Photopolymerization and photophysical properties of amine linked benzophenone photoinitiator for free radical polymerization”, J. Photochem. Photobiol. A:Chem., Vol. 219 pp 26-31 (2011), further in view of Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the compositions rendered obvious by the combination of Garmshausen et al. WO 202024545 and Temel et al. “Photopolymerization and photophysical properties of amine linked benzophenone photoinitiator for free radical polymerization”, J. Photochem. Photobiol. A:Chem., Vol. 219 pp 26-31 (2011) with either of (Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007) or Maurer WO 2010079098) by replacing the spiropyran moiety with a spironaphthoxazine based upon the similarity/analogousness taught in Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photochromic compound having especially good fatigue resistance and color-developing-and-reducing.
Claims 47,48,51,53,56,57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crano et al. 5021196, in view of Choi et al. 201101985456, Mochizuki et al. 20140029403, Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (2007, Temel et al. “Photopolymerization and photophysical properties of amine linked benzophenone photoinitiator for free radical polymerization”, J. Photochem. Photobiol. A:Chem., Vol. 219 pp 26-31 (2011) and Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664.
Crano et al. 5021196 teaches spiroindolinenaphthopyrans of the formula (III), (in column 10)
R.sub.1 is selected from the group consisting of C.sub.1 -C.sub.8 alkyl, e.g., methyl, ethyl, propyl, butyl, etc., phenyl, phen(C.sub.1 -C.sub.4)alkyl, e.g., benzyl, naphth(C.sub.1 -C.sub.4)alkyl, e.g., 1-naphthylmethyl, allyl, acrylyl(C.sub.2 -C.sub.6)alkyl, methacrylyl(C.sub.2 -C.sub.6)alkyl, carboxy(C.sub.2 -C.sub.6)alkyl, e.g., .beta.-carboxyethyl, .gamma.-carboxypropyl and .delta.-carboxybutyl, cyano(C.sub.2 -C.sub.6)alkyl, e.g., .beta.-cyanoethyl, .gamma.-cyanopropyl, .beta.-cyanoisopropyl, and .delta.-cyanobutyl, C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 acyloxy(C.sub.2 -C.sub.6)alkyl, i.e., [R.sub.c C(O)OR.sub.d --, wherein R.sub.c is a C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 alkyl and R.sub.d is a C.sub.2 -C.sub.6 alkyl], e.g., acetoxyethyl, acetoxypropyl, propionyloxyethyl, acetoxybutyl, and propionyloxypropyl, hydroxy(C.sub.2 -C.sub.6)alkyl, e.g., hydroxyethyl, hydroxypropyl and hydroxybutyl, (C.sub.2 H.sub.4 O).sub.m CH.sub.3, wherein m is a number of from 1 to 6, and mono- and di-substituted phenyl, said phenyl substituents being selected from C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 alkyl and C.sub. 1 -C.sub.5 alkoxy, e.g. methoxy, ethoxy, propoxy, butoxy and pentoxy. Preferably, R.sub.1 is selected from the group consisting of C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 alkyl, phenyl, benzyl, 1-naphth(C.sub.1 -C.sub.2)alkyl, such as 1-naphthylmethyl, carboxy(C.sub.2 -C.sub.4)alkyl, cyano(C.sub.2 -C.sub.4)alkyl, C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 acyloxy(C.sub.2 -C.sub.4)alkyl, e.g., C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 acyloxyethyl, hydroxy- (C.sub.2 -C.sub.4)alkyl and (C.sub.2 H.sub.4 O).sub.m CH.sub.3, wherein m is a number of from 1 to 3, e.g., 2. R.sub.2 and R.sub.3 of formula I are each selected from the group consisting of C.sub.1 -C.sub.5 alkyl, phenyl, mono- and di-substituted phenyl, benzyl, or R.sub.2 and R.sub.3 may combine to form a cyclic ring selected from the group consisting of an alicyclic ring containing from 6 to 8 carbon atoms (including the spiro carbon atom), norbornyl and adamantyl. The aforesaid phenyl substituents may be selected from C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 alkyl and C.sub.1 -C.sub.5 alkoxy radicals. More particularly, R.sub.2 and R.sub.3 are each selected from C.sub.1 -C.sub.5 alkyl, e.g., methyl, ethyl, propyl, butyl and pentyl, and phenyl. When one of R.sub.2 or R.sub.3 is a tertiary alkyl radical, such as tertiary butyl or tertiary amyl, the other is preferably an alkyl radical other than a tertiary alkyl radical (6/50-7/27)
R".sub.4 in graphic formula III may be selected from the group consisting of halogen, e.g., chloro, fluoro or bromo, C.sub.1 -C.sub.5 alkyl, C.sub.1 -C.sub.5 alkoxy, e.g., methoxy, ethoxy, propoxy, butoxy and pentoxy, nitro, cyano, thiocyano, C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 monohaloalkyl, e.g., C.sub.1 -C.sub.4 monochloroalkyl, such as chloromethyl and chloroethyl, C.sub.1 -C.sub.2 polyhaloalkyl, as for example, trihaloalkyl, such as trichloroalkyl or trifluoroalkyl, e.g., trifluoromethyl and 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl, and monoalkylamino or dialkylamino, wherein the alkyl moiety of the alkylamino group contains from 1 to 4 carbon atoms, e.g., methylamino, ethylamino, propylamino, dimethylamino and diethylamino. More particularly, the R".sub.4 substituent may be selected from the group C.sub.1 -C.sub.2 alkyl, C.sub.1 -C.sub.2 alkoxy, chloro, fluoro, bromo, nitro and trifluoromethyl. The letter "e" in graphic formula III is a number from 0 to 2, e.g., 1 or 2, and denotes the number of non-hydrogen substituents. When "e" is 0, all of the substituents on the available carbon atoms of the naphtho moiety of the molecule represented by formula III are hydrogen (10/5-55)
Choi et al. 20110198546 teaches the reaction of a brominated spiroindolinenaphthopyran with 1,4-phenylenediboronic acid at the site of bromination (page 12 and [0093].
Mochizuki et al. 20140029403 teaches the reaction of 4-Benzoylphenylboronic acid with a brominated compound 1.
to functionalize it with a benzophenone group.
It would have been obvious to synthesize a spiroindolinenaphthopyrans of the formula (III) which is substituted by bromine in the 8’ position based upon the disclosure of bromine as a substituent for R”4 in column 10 of Crano et al. 5021196 and then to react this with 4-Benzoylphenylboronic acid taught by Mochizuki et al. 20140029403 to functionalize it with a benzophenone group at the 8’ position to add the free radical generation capability taught by Temel et al. “Photopolymerization and photophysical properties of amine linked benzophenone photoinitiator for free radical polymerization”, J. Photochem. Photobiol. A:Chem., Vol. 219 pp 26-31 (2011) which is desirable in spirooxizine compounds as evidenced by Tomasulo et al., “Synthesis and properties of benzophenone-spiropyran and naphthalene-spiropyran conjugates”, J. Org. Chem. Vol. 72 pp 595-605 (20070 with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the prior use of this reaction to functionalize brominated spiroindolinenaphthopyrans as evidenced in Choi et al. 20110198546 to yield a useful photochromic compound having especially good fatigue resistance and color-developing-and-reducing as taught by Taniguchi et al. JP-S62164664
Claims 1,8,9,12,15 and 47-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12552761. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant application and claims 1 and 6-10 all describe a photoswitchable photoinitiator which is functionalized by a di(het)aryl ketone, including specific mention of benzophenone. The recitation of coinitiators and photopolymerizable/photohardenable materials is also found in the claims of the instant application and the patent.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feiler et al. WO 2009141237 see table on pages 7-9.
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 September 22, 2026