DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are currently under examination and the subject matter of the present Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: For consistency, please use either “carrier-sorbate” or “sorbate-carrier” throughout the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “the addition…” which lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner recommends amending to “an addition…” or “addition…”. Similarly, Claims 8-10 all recites “the ratio…”, which also lack antecedent basis in the claim or the claim from which they depend from, Claim 1. The Examiner recommends amending to “wherein the stabilizing carrier and sorbate has a ratio of from 0.1: 10 to 10:0.1” or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is indefinite for the recitation of “the sorbate-carrier powder” and “the carrier sorbate solution”. Claim 12 is an independent claim that does not appear to require a carrier as an ingredient as it is not recited in the body of the claim. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim is unclear, and the claim is rejected. Claim 13, which depends from Claim 12, is also rejected.
The Examiner notes that Claim 12 is a product-by-process claim, however, patentability is based on the product itself. If the product is the same as a product from the prior art, the claim is unpatentable. The MPEP indicates that the process of making is only relevant “if the process by which a product is made imparts ‘structural and functional differences' distinguishing the claimed product from the prior art”. See MPEP 2113: “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Given, P. (US 2012/0219681 A1, cited in the IDS), hereinafter Given, in view of Ji, G. (CN 104086407 A, machine translated in IP.com), hereinafter Ji.
Given discloses a method for producing a stable beverage preserved with sorbic acid, said method comprising simultaneously diluting a beverage syrup essentially devoid of sorbic acid compound with water and introducing sorbic acid compound into the diluted syrup or the water at a rate that precludes sorbic acid precipitation to form the stable beverage (Abstract; Claim 1).
Regarding Claims 1-4, Given expressly teaches dissolving potassium sorbate in water to form a solution (Examples 1 and 2). Given also teaches that although beverages are preserved essentially with sorbic acid, inclusion of other preservatives are welcome, including sodium hexametaphosphate (SHMP) [0022]. Given teaches other suitable sweeteners for its invention inter alia rebaudioside A and rebaudioside D [0027]. As such the carrier feature in Claims 2-4 are also rendered obvious.
Given does not expressly teach the claimed spray drying feature in Claim 1, but recognizes addition of powder to a beverage solution [0032].
Ji teaches that potassium sorbate has strong germicidal action that extends the shelf time of food while keeping the flavor (p. 2, background, 2nd paragraph). Ji discloses the preparation of potassium sorbate powder by mixing water, sorbic acid, and potassium carbonate, and spray drying the obtained potassium sorbate solution to obtain a powder (Abstract). Hence, one with ordinary skill in the art would have applied the known technique of spray drying to obtain a powder, according to the technique of Ji, comprising sorbate and carrier to add to the syrup of Given. Applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results is the rationale supporting obviousness. See MPEP § 2143 and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding Claim 5, Given relates the typical manufacturing conditions for beverages includes a solution pH of between about 2.5 and about 4 at about 20° C, which renders obvious the claimed pH [0023]-[0024]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 6-7, Given teaches acids which are suitable for use to include phosphoric acid, citric acid, ascorbic acid etc. [0029].
Regarding Claim 12, Given in view of Ji rendered the preparation of sorbate-carrier powder (vide supra). Given expressly teaches sweetened lemon-lime flavored syrup diluted to make a beverage, and a cola-flavored beverage made with cola-flavored syrup sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup, rendering the sweeteners and flavorants obvious (Examples 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Given teaches the sweetened lemon-lime flavored syrup to have a sorbate concentration of 1200 ppm, and the cola-flavored syrup to have sorbate concentration of 900 ppm (Examples 1 and 2).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Given and in view of Ji, as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of Montezinos, D. (US 5,792,502, cited in the IDS), hereinafter Montezinos.
Regarding Claims 8-10, as mentioned supra, Given teaches SHMP and additional preservatives [0022]. Given discloses that other preservatives are used sparingly; sorbic acid is introduced at a concentration typically below 200 ppm to essentially preclude precipitation in the syrup, and supplemented with other preservative at a concentration that would achieve preservative-effective concentration in the resultant beverage [0022]. However, Given does not expressly teach the claimed ratio SHMP with sorbate.
Montezinos is in the same field and teaches stable flavor emulsions and/or cloud emulsions for beverages comprising from about 0.005 to about 0.015% xanthan gum, from about 100 ppm to about 1000 ppm of a preservative selected from sorbic acid, benzoic acid, alkali metal salts thereof and mixtures thereof, from about 300 ppm to about 3000 ppm of a food grade water soluble polyphosphate, and from about 60 to about 99% by weight of added water (Abstract; Col. 1, lines 11-16). Montezinos discloses potassium sorbate as the most preferred preservative (Col. 7, lines 4-11).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Montezinos gives examples of cloud emulsion and beverage prepared by dissolving sorbate salt in water, adding a thickener/stabilizer such as polysaccharides xanthan, CMC, and SHMP (Col. 6, lines 10-55; Examples 1-2). Montezinos teaches these thickeners at varying ratios with the sorbate; for example, Montezinos exemplifies a thickener premix comprising xanthan gum, CMC, and water at 0.1:0.5:200, and another premix of ascorbic acid to SHMP to water of 0.3:1:587.2, and the 2 premixes combined at 200.6:588.5 and added to the beverage concentrate comprising 0.05% potassium sorbate (Examples I and II). By Examiner’s calculation, the ratio of xanthan gum, CMC and SHMP to the potassium sorbate in the solution is 0.01%:0.05%:0.03%:0.05%. Therefore the ratio of the total carrier to sorbate is 0.09:0.05, or 1.8:1, which is within the claimed ranges.
Regarding Claim 10, Montezinos teaches a juice beverage comprising inter alia from about 0.005 to about 0.01% xanthan gum, and from about 200 ppm to about 1000 ppm of a preservative selected from the group consisting of sorbic acid, benzoic acid, alkali metal salts or mixtures thereof (Claim 16). The amount of preservative in percentage is 0.02-0.1%. The ratio of xanthan gum to sorbate encompass 1:1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normaI desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 11, Given and Ji have rendered obvious the powder comprising sorbate and carrier. Montezinos’ example Examples I-II gives a carrier to sorbate ratio of 1.8:1. As such, applying the amounts/ratio taught by Montezinos in preparing the sorbate-carrier powder according to Given and Ji would result in about 36% sorbate, which is within the claimed range.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/J.Y.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792