DETAILED ACTIONS
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action for claims 1 – 2, 4 – 7 and 9 – 19. Claims 3 and 8 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Publication No.: US 2014/0020829 A1) in view of Li et al. (U. S. Patent No. 9,308,622 B2).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (20, Paragraph 21) comprising: a platen (30, Paragraph 21) having a top surface (see Fig 1) to hold a polishing pad (40, Paragraph 21); a carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to hold a substrate (10, Paragraph 23) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (40, Paragraph 22) during a polishing process; a sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30) arranged on the carrier head (see Fig 1); a rotary electrical connection (64, Paragraph 27) which provides at least two electrical connections (126, Paragraph 33-34) between a controller (90, Paragraph 28) and the sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30), the controller (90, Paragraph 28) configured to receive a signal from the sensor and/or actuator and control the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) based on the signal (Paragraph 28) and an input-output distribution (IOD) block (70, Paragraph 27), connected to the controller (90, Paragraph 28) and to the rotary electrical connection (64, Paragraph 27), wherein the IOD block (70) is connected between the rotary electrical connection (64) and the controller (90) to carry the signal between the controller (90) and the sensor (120) and/or actuator (Paragraph 30).
Chen does not explicitly teach an electrical input-output distribution (IOD) block and the controller to carry the electrical signal between the controller and the sensor and/or actuator.
Li, however, teaches an input-output distribution (IOD) block (connector, 152), connected to the controller (150) , wherein the electrical input-output distribution (IOD) block (152) is connected to the controller (10; Fig. 3) to carry the electrical signal between the controller and the sensor and/or actuator (Col. 2, line 60 – Col. 3, line 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen to further include an electrical input-output distribution (IOD) block and the controller to carry the electrical signal between the controller and the sensor and/or actuator, as taught by Li, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the apparatus (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al., as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (20, Paragraph 21), wherein the rotary electrical connection (64, Paragraph 27) is a multi-channel rotary electrical connection (“passage can be connected to the tubing by a rotary coupler”, Paragraph 27, “signal processor… runs through rotary coupler”, Paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al., as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the IOD block (70, Fig 1) is connected between the carrier head (100, Fig 1) and the rotary electrical connection (64, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al., as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the IOD block (70, Fig 1) is mounted on the carrier head (100, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al., as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the IOD block (70, Fig 1) is mounted on an outside surface of the carrier head (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al., as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 4 comprising a plurality of sensors (120, Fig 1) in the carrier head (100, Fig 1), and a plurality of wires (126, Paragraph 33) connecting the plurality of sensors (120, Paragraph 33) to the IOD block (70, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 19, Chen et al., as modified, discloses apparatus of claim 11, as discussed above.
Chen does not teach wherein the central passage is not pressurized.
Li, however, teaches the central passage (passage of shaft, 122) is not pressurized (Col. 2, line 60 – Col. 3, line 40; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. to further include the central passage is not pressurized, as taught by Li, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 9 – 11 and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Publication No.: US 2014/0020829 A1) in view of Li et al. (U. S. Patent No. 9,308,622 B2) and Perlov et al. (WIPO Publication No.: WO9902304 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Chen et al., as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) includes a plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30), and the apparatus comprises a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) connecting a motor (54, Paragraph 26) to the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to rotate the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21), the drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) and wires (126, Paragraph 33) to connect to the sensor and/or actuator (120, Paragraph 33), in pneumatic connection (“pneumatic control system”, Paragraph 27) with the plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose a central passage and a plurality of outer passages surrounding the central passage, wherein at least two wires pass through the central passage.
Perlov et al. teaches a central passage (156c, Fig 5) and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (156c, Fig 5).
These passages allow the connection of pressure sources and other components to pass through. While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al., as modified, discloses by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 9 wherein the at least two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Paragraph 33) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1) above the carrier head (100, Chen et al Fig 1).
Regarding Independent Claim 11, Chen et al. discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (20, Paragraph 21) comprising: a platen (30, Paragraph 21) having a top surface (Fig 1) to hold a polishing pad (40, Paragraph 21); a carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to hold a substrate (10, Paragraph 23) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (40, Paragraph 22) during a polishing process, the carrier head including a membrane (104, Paragraph 31) that forms a plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30), the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) further including a sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30) configured to generate a signal or receive power (“Signals from the in-situ monitoring system can be passed to controller.” Paragraph 28), the sensor and/or actuator (120, Fig 1) arranged on or in the carrier head (100, Fig 1); a motor (54, Paragraph 26); a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 26) connecting the motor to the carrier head to rotate the carrier head (Paragraph 26), wires (126, Paragraph 33); a rotary electrical connector (64, Paragraph 34) which provides at least two electrical connections between the at least two wires (152, paragraphs 34 and 44) and a controller (90, paragraphs 34 and 44); a rotary pneumatic connector (66, Paragraph 27) which provides a plurality of pneumatic connections (“fluidly connects the pneumatic control system”, Paragraph 27) between the plurality of outer passage (“each pressure supply line can include a passage”, Paragraph 27) and a plurality of individually controllable pressure sources (60, Paragraph 27).
Chen et al. does not disclose the drive shaft including a central passage and a plurality of outer passages surrounding the central passage, wherein at least two wires pass through the central passage to connect to the sensor and/or actuators, and the plurality of outer passages are in pneumatic connection with the plurality of pressurizable chambers and a central axis of the drive shaft extends through the central passage.
Perlov et al. teaches the drive shaft (78, line 226) including a central passage (156c, Fig 5) and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (see Fig 5). While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage to connect to the sensor and/or actuator, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
Perlov et al. continues to teach the plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) are in pneumatic connection with the plurality of pressurizable chambers (212,214, 216, line 361). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the outer passages in pneumatic connection with the pressurizable chambers as taught by Perlov et al. to ensure precise control over the pressure applied to the wafer during the polishing process.
Li, further, teaches a central axis (Fig. 1) of the drive shaft (122) extends through the central passage (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen to further include a central axis of the drive shaft extends through the central passage, as taught by Li, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Chen et al. discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (20, Paragraph 21) comprising: a platen (30, Paragraph 21) having a top surface (Fig 1) to hold a polishing pad (40, Paragraph 21); a carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to hold a substrate (10, Paragraph 23) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (40, Paragraph 22) during a polishing process, the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) further including a sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30) configured to generate a signal or receive power (“Signals from the in-situ monitoring system can be passed to controller.” Paragraph 28), the sensor and/or actuator (120, Fig 1) arranged on or in the carrier head (100, Fig 1); a motor (54, Paragraph 26); a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 26) connecting the motor to the carrier head to rotate the carrier head (Paragraph 26); wherein at least two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Paragraph 33) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1) above the carrier head (100, Chen et al Fig 1) and are connected to the sensor and/or actuator (120, Paragraph 33); a rotary electrical connector (64, Paragraph 34) which provides at least two electrical connections between the at least two wires (152, paragraphs 34 and 44) and a controller (90, paragraphs 34 and 44);
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose that the drive shaft including a central passage and at least two wires extending through the central passage.
Perlov et al. teaches a central passage and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (156c, Fig 5). These passages allow the connection of pressure sources and other components to pass through. While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
Regarding Claim 16, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the carrier head (100, Chen et al. Fig 1) comprises a housing (102 and 108, Chen et al. Fig 1), the sensor and/or actuator (120, Chen et al. Fig 1) is arranged within the housing (see Chen et al. Fig 1). Chen does not explicitly disclose that the housing includes an opening through which one of the wires extends through to connect to the sensor.
However, Chen does disclose two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Fig 1) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1) above the carrier head (100, Chen et al Fig 1) and are connected to the sensor (120, Chen et al. Fig 1). Wires exiting through a wall indicates that there is an opening through the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an opening exists within the housing to enable wires to pass through.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 15 wherein the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) includes a plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30), and the apparatus comprises a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) connecting a motor (54, Paragraph 26) to the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to rotate the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21), the drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) and wires (126, Paragraph 33) to connect to the sensor and/or actuator (120, Paragraph 33), in pneumatic connection (“pneumatic control system”, Paragraph 27) with the plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose a central passage and a plurality of outer passages surrounding the central passage, wherein at least two wires pass through the central passage.
Perlov et al. teaches a central passage and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (156c, Fig 5). These passages allow the connection of pressure sources and other components to pass through. While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
Regarding Claim 18, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 17 but does not explicitly disclose an aperture extending through the wall of the drive shaft and passing between two of the plurality of outer passages to the central passage, and wherein the at least two wires pass through the aperture.
However, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. does disclose two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Fig 1) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1). Wires exiting through a wall indicates that there is an opening through the wall and outer and central passages to connect electrical components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an opening exists through a wall of the drive shaft and its passages to enable wires to pass through.
Claims 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Publication No.: US 2014/0020829 A1) in view of Li et al. (U. S. Patent No. 9,308,622 B2), Perlov et al. (WIPO Publication No.: WO9902304 A1) and in further view of Li et al. (US Publication No.: US 2022/0283082 A1) herein referred to as Li 2.
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al. as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 11, with a rotary electrical connector (64, Paragraph 34) but does not explicitly disclose that it comprises an electrical slip ring.
Li et al 2 teaches a rotary electrical connector (28, Paragraph 31) comprising a slip ring (“a rotary coupler, e.g. a slip ring”, Paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. and include a slip ring within the rotary electrical connector as taught by Li et al. in order to enable the continuous transmission of power and signals between the stationary and rotating components.
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al. as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the rotary pneumatic connector (66, Chen et al. Fig 5) is positioned between the rotary electrical connector (64, Chen et al. Fig 5) and the carrier head (100, Chen et al. Fig 5).
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al. as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 13 wherein the rotary pneumatic connector (66, Chen et al. Fig 5) is positioned between the rotary electrical connector (64, Chen et al. Fig 5) and the motor (54, Chen et al. Fig 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated August 7, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 2, 4 – 7 and 9 – 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Li.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723