DETAILED ACTIONS
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 12, 2024, November 15, 2024, and June 2, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on February 28, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “housing 158” as mentioned in Paragraph 38 of the application must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 38 states “a housing is shown in Fig 2.” However, Figure 2 does not have 158 within the drawing and needs to be revised for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Publication No.: US 2014/0020829 A1).
In reference to claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (20, Paragraph 21) comprising: a platen (30, Paragraph 21) having a top surface (see Fig 1) to hold a polishing pad (40, Paragraph 21);
a carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to hold a substrate (10, Paragraph 23) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (40, Paragraph 22) during a polishing process; a sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30) arranged on the carrier head (see Fig 1); a rotary electrical connection (64, Paragraph 27) which provides at least two electrical connections (126, Paragraph 33-34) between a controller (90, Paragraph 28) and the sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30), the controller (90, Paragraph 28) configured to receive a signal from the sensor and/or actuator and control the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) based on the signal (Paragraph 28).
In reference to claim 2, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (20, Paragraph 21), wherein the rotary electrical connection (64, Paragraph 27) is a multi-channel rotary electrical connection (“passage can be connected to the tubing by a rotary coupler”, Paragraph 27, “signal processor… runs through rotary coupler”, Paragraph 34).
In reference to claim 3, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1 comprising an input-output distribution (IOD) block (70, Paragraph 27), connected to the controller (90, Paragraph 28) and to the rotary electrical connection (64, Paragraph 27).
In reference to claim 4, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the IOD block (70, Fig 1) is connected between the carrier head (100, Fig 1) and the rotary electrical connection (64, Fig 1).
In reference to claim 5, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the IOD block (70, Fig 1) is mounted on the carrier head (100, Fig 1).
In reference to claim 6, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the IOD block (70, Fig 1) is mounted on an outside surface of the carrier head (see Fig 1).
In reference to claim 7, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 4 comprising a plurality of sensors (120, Fig 1) in the carrier head (100, Fig 1), and a plurality of wires (126, Paragraph 33) connecting the plurality of sensors (120, Paragraph 33) to the IOD block (70, Fig 1).
In reference to claim 8, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 3 comprising wherein the IOD block (70, Fig 1) is connected between the rotary electrical connection (64, Paragraph 27) and the controller (90, Paragraph 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Publication No.: US 2014/0020829 A1) in view of Perlov et al. (WIPO Publication No.: WO9902304 A1).
In reference to claim 9, Chen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) includes a plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30), and the apparatus comprises a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) connecting a motor (54, Paragraph 26) to the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to rotate the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21), the drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) and wires (126, Paragraph 33) to connect to the sensor and/or actuator (120, Paragraph 33), in pneumatic connection (“pneumatic control system”, Paragraph 27) with the plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose a central passage and a plurality of outer passages surrounding the central passage, wherein at least two wires pass through the central passage.
Perlov et al. teaches a central passage (156c, Fig 5) and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (156c, Fig 5).
These passages allow the connection of pressure sources and other components to pass through. While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
In reference to claim 10, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 9 wherein the at least two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Paragraph 33) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1) above the carrier head (100, Chen et al Fig 1).
In reference to claim 11, Chen et al. discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (20, Paragraph 21) comprising: a platen (30, Paragraph 21) having a top surface (Fig 1) to hold a polishing pad (40, Paragraph 21); a carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to hold a substrate (10, Paragraph 23) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (40, Paragraph 22) during a polishing process, the carrier head including a membrane (104, Paragraph 31) that forms a plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30), the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) further including a sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30) configured to generate a signal or receive power (“Signals from the in-situ monitoring system can be passed to controller.” Paragraph 28), the sensor and/or actuator (120, Fig 1) arranged on or in the carrier head (100, Fig 1); a motor (54, Paragraph 26); a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 26) connecting the motor to the carrier head to rotate the carrier head (Paragraph 26), wires (126, Paragraph 33); a rotary electrical connector (64, Paragraph 34) which provides at least two electrical connections between the at least two wires (152, paragraphs 34 and 44) and a controller (90, paragraphs 34 and 44); a rotary pneumatic connector (66, Paragraph 27) which provides a plurality of pneumatic connections (“fluidly connects the pneumatic control system”, Paragraph 27) between the plurality of outer passage (“each pressure supply line can include a passage”, Paragraph 27) and a plurality of individually controllable pressure sources (60, Paragraph 27).
Chen et al. does not disclose the drive shaft including a central passage and a plurality of outer passages surrounding the central passage, wherein at least two wires pass through the central passage to connect to the sensor and/or actuators, and the plurality of outer passages are in pneumatic connection with the plurality of pressurizable chambers.
Perlov et al. teaches the drive shaft (78, line 226) including a central passage (156c, Fig 5) and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (see Fig 5). While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage to connect to the sensor and/or actuator, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
Perlov et al. continues to teach the plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) are in pneumatic connection with the plurality of pressurizable chambers (212,214, 216, line 361). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the outer passages in pneumatic connection with the pressurizable chambers as taught by Perlov et al. to ensure precise control over the pressure applied to the wafer during the polishing process.
In reference to claim 15, Chen et al. discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (20, Paragraph 21) comprising: a platen (30, Paragraph 21) having a top surface (Fig 1) to hold a polishing pad (40, Paragraph 21); a carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to hold a substrate (10, Paragraph 23) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (40, Paragraph 22) during a polishing process, the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) further including a sensor (120, Paragraph 31) and/or actuator ("actuators", Paragraph 30) configured to generate a signal or receive power (“Signals from the in-situ monitoring system can be passed to controller.” Paragraph 28), the sensor and/or actuator (120, Fig 1) arranged on or in the carrier head (100, Fig 1); a motor (54, Paragraph 26); a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 26) connecting the motor to the carrier head to rotate the carrier head (Paragraph 26); wherein at least two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Paragraph 33) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1) above the carrier head (100, Chen et al Fig 1) and are connected to the sensor and/or actuator (120, Paragraph 33); a rotary electrical connector (64, Paragraph 34) which provides at least two electrical connections between the at least two wires (152, paragraphs 34 and 44) and a controller (90, paragraphs 34 and 44);
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose that the drive shaft including a central passage and at least two wires extending through the central passage.
Perlov et al. teaches a central passage and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (156c, Fig 5). These passages allow the connection of pressure sources and other components to pass through. While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
In reference to claim 16, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the carrier head (100, Chen et al. Fig 1) comprises a housing (102 and 108, Chen et al. Fig 1), the sensor and/or actuator (120, Chen et al. Fig 1) is arranged within the housing (see Chen et al. Fig 1). Chen does not explicitly disclose that the housing includes an opening through which one of the wires extends through to connect to the sensor.
However, Chen does disclose two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Fig 1) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1) above the carrier head (100, Chen et al Fig 1) and are connected to the sensor (120, Chen et al. Fig 1). Wires exiting through a wall indicates that there is an opening through the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an opening exists within the housing to enable wires to pass through.
In reference to claim 17, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 15 wherein the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) includes a plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30), and the apparatus comprises a drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) connecting a motor (54, Paragraph 26) to the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21) to rotate the carrier head (100, Paragraph 21), the drive shaft (50, Paragraph 27) and wires (126, Paragraph 33) to connect to the sensor and/or actuator (120, Paragraph 33), in pneumatic connection (“pneumatic control system”, Paragraph 27) with the plurality of pressurizable chambers (106a-106c, Paragraph 30).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose a central passage and a plurality of outer passages surrounding the central passage, wherein at least two wires pass through the central passage.
Perlov et al. teaches a central passage and a plurality of outer passages (156a-b, Fig 5) surrounding the central passage (156c, Fig 5). These passages allow the connection of pressure sources and other components to pass through. While Perlov et al. does not explicitly state that at least two wires pass through the central passage, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the central passage to allow the passing of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. by including the passages in the drive shaft as taught by Perlov et al. to enable connection between components and prevent tangling of wires.
In reference to claim 18, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 17 but does not explicitly disclose an aperture extending through the wall of the drive shaft and passing between two of the plurality of outer passages to the central passage, and wherein the at least two wires pass through the aperture.
However, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. does disclose two wires (126 and 140, Chen et al. Fig 1) exit the passage through a wall of the drive shaft (see Chen et al. Fig 1). Wires exiting through a wall indicates that there is an opening through the wall and outer and central passages to connect electrical components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an opening exists through a wall of the drive shaft and its passages to enable wires to pass through.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Publication No.: US 2014/0020829 A1) in view of Perlov et al. (WIPO Publication No.: WO9902304 A1) and in further view of Li et al. (US Publication No.: US 2022/0283082 A1).
In reference to claim 12, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 11, with a rotary electrical connector (64, Paragraph 34) but does not explicitly disclose that it comprises an electrical slip ring.
Li et al teaches a rotary electrical connector (28, Paragraph 31) comprising a slip ring (“a rotary coupler, e.g. a slip ring”, Paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al. and include a slip ring within the rotary electrical connector as taught by Li et al. in order to enable the continuous transmission of power and signals between the stationary and rotating components.
In reference to claim 13, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al and Li et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the rotary pneumatic connector (66, Chen et al. Fig 5) is positioned between the rotary electrical connector (64, Chen et al. Fig 5) and the carrier head (100, Chen et al. Fig 5).
In reference to claim 14, Chen et al. as modified by Perlov et al and Li et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13 wherein the rotary pneumatic connector (66, Chen et al. Fig 5) is positioned between the rotary electrical connector (64, Chen et al. Fig 5) and the motor (54, Chen et al. Fig 5).
Conclusion
/T.U.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723