DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/590,877 filed on February 8, 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, corresponding to claims 1-14, in the reply filed on June 1, 2026, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the in a horizontal direction, an area of each of the plurality of light blocking layers is greater than an area of each of the plurality of protrusions must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims, as best understood, include a value of 0 (zero) reflectance and are not limited to any particular angle or wavelength, however there is no disclosure of a perfect anti-reflective layer having zero reflectance for all angles and wavelengths. These is no written description support for a perfect anti-reflection layer, nor has Applicant demonstrated possession of a perfect, zero reflectance, antireflective layer across all angles and wavelengths.
Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 10 similarly recite an average reflectance of the anti-reflective layer is smaller than a first value, a reflectance of the anti-reflective layer with respect to a predetermined wavelength is smaller than a second value, and the first value is smaller than the second value. The reflectance is unclear as this will depend on a variety of variables not recited in the claims (e.g. incident angle, wavelength, etc.). It is not clear how these values are determined or measured. Further still, it is unclear what is used for the average (average for a range of angles? or for a range of wavelengths? or for a larger/smaller/different area?) and how the average is determined. Also, the predetermined wavelength is unknown. The metes and bounds are unclear. As claimed, one would not be able to compare claimed values/relationships to prior art values because the variables used in measurements and corresponding analysis are unknown. Also, it is noted as presently claimed, the first and second values may be arbitrarily selected to meet the claims regardless of the actual amount of reflectance.
Claim 11 recites wherein the first value is smaller than 0.6%, and the second value is smaller than 1%. The claimed ranges include 0%. At the interface of any two materials, there is a non-zero amount of reflection. The lower limit is unclear, and 0% is not possible. Also see §112(a) above.
Claim 13 recites wherein in a vertical direction, each of the plurality of protrusions has an edge, which is offset from an edge of one of the plurality of light blocking layers. It is unclear what Applicant intends by this limitation since this has multiple interpretations. In Fig. 3, in a vertical direction, the edges of 105 are offset from edges of 101 by the thickness of 102 and the thickness of 104. According to the specification (¶38) it appears this edge offset involves the widths of the features and the offset is in a horizontal direction, not a vertical direction.
Claim 14 recites wherein in a horizontal direction, an area of each of the plurality of light blocking layers is greater than an area of each of the plurality of protrusions. Areas do not have directions, it is unclear how to interpret areas in horizontal directions. Perhaps Applicant intended to recite in a cross section? According to ¶37, this limitation is clearly drawn to Fig. 3, however, the Fig. 3 cross section does not show the area of a 101 is larger than an area of a 105 (also see drawing objection above). The area of each 105 is clearly larger than an area of each 101 in the cross section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uesaka et al. (US 2017/0365806, of record from IDS).
(Re Claim 1) Uesaka teaches a light emitting element, comprising (see Fig. 24B and supporting text in ¶¶456-531):
a substrate (2590); a plurality of light blocking layers (2567BM), disposed on a first surface of the substrate and comprising a plurality of openings; a cover layer (2521), being in contact with first surfaces of the plurality of light blocking layers and covering the plurality of light blocking layers; a plurality of protrusions (2528), disposed on the cover layer, wherein two adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions have an organic light emitting unit (2550R) in between; and an anti-reflective layer (2567p), disposed on a second surface of the substrate, wherein the second surface is parallel to and opposite to the first surface.
(Re Claim 2) wherein an average reflectance of the anti-reflective layer is smaller than a first value, a reflectance of the anti-reflective layer with respect to a predetermined wavelength is smaller than a second value, and the first value is smaller than the second value (one may arbitrarily select first and second values to meet this).
(Re Claim 3) wherein the predetermined wavelength comprises a wavelength of visible light (the display disclosed uses/operates in visible light).
(Re Claim 4) wherein the organic light emitting unit comprises a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit, wherein each of the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit has an organic light emitting stack layer comprising an organic material (the displays are multicolor/multipixel displays, see Figs. 4B, 5B, 13B, 14, 17, ¶¶171, 280-281, 460, 472-473).
(Re Claim 5) wherein each of the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit has an effective light emitting region with a size defined by an anode located below each of the light emitting units (Fig. 24B, the unlabeled pixel electrodes are the anodes and the OLEDs have an effective light emitting region where they contact the anode and between the anode and the cathode, also see Fig. 13B: 1024R, 1024B, 1024G).
(Re Claim 6) wherein the light blocking layers are electrically insulated from a conductive layer disposed on the cover layer via the cover layer (cover layer 2521 is insulating, ¶487, 2567BM is insulated from conductive layers on the cover layer, e.g. 2502t, the pixel electrode, etc.).
(Re Claim 7) wherein the substrate comprises a transparent material (light is emitted through the transparent substrate, see arrows used throughout the disclosure, ¶513).
(Re Claim 8) wherein an edge of one of the plurality of openings of the light blocking layers is unaligned with an edge of one of the plurality of protrusions (Fig. 24B).
(Re Claim 9) Useaka teaches a light emitting element, comprising (see Fig. 24B and supporting text in ¶¶456-531):
a substrate (2590); an anti-reflective layer (2567p), located below the substrate and being in contact with the substrate; a plurality of light blocking layers (2567BM, while one pixel 2502R is shown, the display having a plurality of pixels in a repeating array, ¶¶460, 472-473), located over the substrate and being in contact with the substrate; a cover layer (2521), located over the substrate and covering the plurality of light blocking layers; a conductive layer (the unlabeled pixel electrodes and/or the unlabeled layer connecting the TFT to the pixel electrode, also see Fig. 13B: 1024R, 1024B, 1024G), located over the cover layer; and a plurality of protrusions (2528), disposed over a portion of the conductive layer.
(Re Claim 10) wherein an average reflectance of the anti-reflective layer is smaller than a first value, a reflectance of the anti-reflective layer with respect to a wavelength of visible light is smaller than a second value, and the first value is smaller than the second value (one may arbitrarily select first and second values to meet this).
(Re Claim 12) wherein the conductive layer comprises an anode (Fig. 24B, the unlabeled pixel electrodes are the anodes and the OLEDs have an effective light emitting region where they contact the anode and between the anode and the cathode, also see Fig. 13B: 1024R, 1024B, 1024G).
(Re Claim 13) wherein in a vertical direction, each of the plurality of protrusions has an edge, which is offset from an edge of one of the plurality of light blocking layers (Fig. 24B).
(Re Claim 14) wherein in a horizontal direction, an area of each of the plurality of light blocking layers is greater than an area of each of the plurality of protrusions (an area of each feature may be arbitrarily selected to meet this).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al. as applied above, and further in view of Pang et al. (US 2023/0296888).
(Re Claim 11) wherein the first value is smaller than 0.6%, and the second value is smaller than 1%.
Uesaka is silent regarding the reflectance of the anti-reflection layer. A PHOSITA desiring to make and use Uesaka’s display would be motivated to look to related art to teach suitable anti-reflection layers and their properties. A PHOSITA would recognize that lower reflectance is desirable when using anti-reflection layers. Related art from Pang teaches low reflectance anti-reflection layers having values within the claimed range (see Tables 1-2 on p. 4). A PHOSITA would find it obvious to use the anti-reflection layer from Pang for Uesaka’s anti-reflection layer for their desirable low reflectance over a range of wavelengths thereby reducing reflections, increasing contrast, and clarity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited art teaches related displays with protrusions, light blocking layers, and anti-reflection layers.
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898