DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “base member” in Claims 1 and 22, “energy storage member housing” in Claims 1 and 22, “first energy storage member” in Claims 1, 11, and 16, “second energy storage member” in Claims 5-8, 10, 12, and 13, “first energy storage member pack” in Claims 11, 14, and 15, and “second energy storage member pack” in Claims 13, 14, and 15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-4, 11, 16, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Percy-Raine et al. US 2020/0214521 (hereafter Percy-Raine et al.) in view of Campbell-Hill US 2019/0200824 (hereafter Campbell-Hill) and Stickney et al. US 2015/0155606 (hereafter Stickney et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) A hand vacuum cleaner (vacuum cleaner 1) having an upper end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below), a lower end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below), a front end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below), a rear end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below), and a vacuum axis (labeled in attached Figure 2 below) extending longitudinally from the front end to the rear end (shown in attached Figure 2 below), the hand vacuum cleaner comprising:
(a) an airflow path from a dirty air inlet (inlet duct 21) to a clean air outlet (air vents 14) with a pre-motor filter (pre-motor filter 11) and a motor (motor of vacuum motor 12) and fan (fan of vacuum motor 12) assembly positioned in the air flow path, the motor and fan assembly having a motor axis of rotation (labeled in attached Figure 2 below);
(b) an air treatment chamber (dirt separator 10) positioned in the airflow path (shown in attached Figure 2 below);
(c) a handle (labeled in attached Figure 2 below) having a first end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below) and an opposed second end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below), the second end of the handle connected to a base member (labeled in attached Figure 2 and Figure 1 below) that extends forwardly from the handle (shown in attached Figure 2 below);[[and,]]
(d) a finger guard (labeled in attached Figure 2 below) positioned forward of the handle (shown in attached Figure 2 below), the finger guard having a first end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below) and an opposed second end (labeled in attached Figure 2 below); and
(e) an energy storage member housing (Stickney – housing 40, labeled in attached Figure 2, 1, 6, and combined figure below – see discussion below) comprising a first energy storage member (Stickney et al. – cells 44, labeled in attached Figure 2, 1, 6, and combined figure below) wherein, in use, a front side (forward-most part of finger guard at second end as shown in Figure 2 below) of the finger guard comprises the housing (shown in attached combined figure below)
wherein a first vertical plane (added to and labeled in attached Figure 2 below) that is transverse to the vacuum axis and that extends through a rear end of the air treatment chamber is forward of second end of the finger guard (shown in attached Figure 2 below), and
wherein a second vertical plane (added to and labeled in attached Figure 2 below) that is transverse to the vacuum axis extends through the pre-motor filter, the energy storage member housing and the finger guard (shown in attached Figure 2 below).
Percy-Raine et al., a Dyson assignee, discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for disclosing the details regarding the first energy storage member pack comprising at least one first energy storage member within an energy storage member housing. Instead, Percy-Raine et al. generically shows the battery area with little structural detail as shown in Figure 2 below. The reference Campbell-Hill, also a Dyson assignee, discloses a battery pack 5 attached to handle 4 and an unlabeled finger guard as shown in Figure 1 below (note: the figure has been mirrored to show similarity with Percy-Raine et al. Figure 2). Campbell-Hill does not disclose a figure showing the detached battery. The reference Stickney et al., also a Dyson assignee, discloses a battery pack 10 removed from the handle, allowing the battery pack to be viewed in Figure 6 separated from the vacuum cleaner. Both the Campbell-Hill and Stickney et al. devices were known in the art for Dyson devices before the Percy-Raine et al. device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generic battery details of Percy-Raine to include structural details for the battery pack and its removable attachment taught by Campbell-Hill and Stickney et al. with the motivation to better define the battery and its removable attachment on the Percy-Raine device. Attached below are labeled Percy-Rain et al. Figure 2, Campbell-Hill Figure 1, Stickney et al. Figure 6, and a combine figure made by the Examiner that shows the obvious modification to the Percy-Raine et al. device based on the teachings from Campbell-Hill to allow the removable mounting of the pack taught by Stickney et al.
Regarding Claim 2, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
2. (Original) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 1 wherein the handle (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) comprises a pistol grip handle (shown in attached Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 3, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
3. (Currently Amended) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 1 wherein:
(a) the handle (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) has
(b) the finger guard (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) has
wherein the first end (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) of the handle and the first end (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) of the finger guard are positioned on a main body (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) of the hand vacuum cleaner (vacuum cleaner 1) and the handle (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) and finger guard (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) each extend away from the main body (shown in attached Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 4, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
4. (Original) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 3 wherein the motor (motor of vacuum motor 12) and fan (fan of vacuum motor 12) assembly is positioned at the first end (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) of at least one of the finger guard and the handle (shown in attached Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
11. (Original) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 1 wherein a first energy storage member pack (Stickney et al. – battery pack 10, labeled in attached Figures 2, 1, 6, and combined figure above), which comprises the first energy storage member (Stickney et al. – cells 44, labeled in attached Figure 2, 1, 6, and combined figure above), is removably attachable (separable as shown in attached Figure 6 above) as part of
Regarding Claim 16, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
16. (Currently Amended) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 1 wherein
Regarding Claim 18, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
18. (Currently Amended) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 1 further comprising a main body (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) which houses the motor (motor of vacuum motor 12) and fan (fan of vacuum motor 12) assembly, the air treatment chamber (dirt separator 10) has a front end (labeled in attached Figure 2 above)and fan assembly (shown in attached Figure 2 above), the first end (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) of the handle (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) is positioned on the main body (shown in attached Figure 2 above) and the handle extends away from the main body (shown in attached Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
19. (Currently Amended) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 18 wherein the finger guard (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) has also extends through the main body (labeled in attached Figure 2 above)(shown in attached Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 20, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
20. (Currently Amended) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 18 wherein the finger guard (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) has also extends through the air treatment chamber (dirt separator 10)(shown in attached Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 21, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
21. (New) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 1 wherein the air treatment chamber (dirt separator 10) comprises a mount (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) at the rear end of the air treatment chamber (shown in attached Figure 2 above) and a horizontal plane (added to and labeled in attached Figure 2 above) that is parallel to the vacuum axis (added to and labeled in attached Figure 2 above) extends through the mount, the finger guard (labeled in attached Figure 2 above) and the handle (labeled in attached Figure 2 above)(shown in attached Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 22, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
22. (New) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 1 wherein the energy storage member housing (Stickney et al. – housing 40, labeled in attached Figure 2, 1, 6, and combined figure above) is generally L-shaped (best shown in attached Figure 6 above).
Regarding Claim 23, Percy-Raine et al. teaches:
23. (New) The hand vacuum cleaner of claim 22 wherein, in use, the energy storage member housing (Stickney et al. – housing 40, labeled in attached Figure 2, 1, 6, and combined figure above) forms a portion of a lower side of the base member (labeled in attached Figure 2, 1, and combined figure above) and is located at a front side of the base member (shown in attached Figure 2, 1, and combined figure above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10, 12-15, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but it would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of vacuum cleaners with similar arrangement of parts.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723