DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 11/07/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 14 are amended; claims 15, 16, 18, and 19 are canceled; claims 21-24 are added. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 05/07/2025. However, a new rejection is made over Sato.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sato.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 17, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (U.S. 2002/0079004) in view of Weiss et al. (U.S. 2001/0037832).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 8-11, Sato discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (10, 40, 45) having a port section (10) and a coil support section (40) extending along a longitudinal axis (see Figure 1); a plunger (43) slideably coupled with a first end of a bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and extending at least partially through the coil support section (40); a cap (12) press-fit into the port section (10) of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a first end of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see paragraph 0022; see Figure 1); and a stop (42) press-fit into a second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a second end of the valve body (10, 40, 45), opposite the first end of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1); wherein the stop (42) comprises a shaft that extends from a flange (see Figure 1); wherein the shaft is at least partially disposed within the second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and the flange is disposed outside the bore of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1); and wherein the stop (42) is configured to prevent fluid flow through the second end of the bore (see Figure 1).
Further regarding the limitation “press-fit”, this limitation is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113).
Sato fails to disclose wherein at least one of the cap and the stop includes an annular barb sealingly coupled to the valve body; wherein the cap includes the barb; wherein the barb extends around a perimeter of the cap; and wherein the barb is configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the cap in place relative to the valve body; wherein the barb is integral with the cap and is configured to fluidically seal the cap to the valve body; wherein the barb and the cap are metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the cap to the valve body; wherein the stop includes the barb; wherein the barb extends around a perimeter of the stop; and wherein the barb is configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the stop in place relative to the valve body; wherein the barb is integral with the stop and is configured to fluidically seal the stop to the valve body; wherein the barb and the stop are metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the stop to the valve body.
Weiss teaches a valve manifold wherein a fitting (440) is press-fit and includes an annular barb (448) that sealingly mates with a valve body (see paragraph 0081); wherein the fitting includes the barb 448; wherein the barb (448) extends around a perimeter of the fitting (see Figure 45); and wherein the barb (448) is configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the fitting (440) in place relative to the valve body; wherein the barb (448) is integral with the fitting (440) and is configured to fluidically seal the fitting (440) to the valve body (see paragraph 0081); wherein the barb (448) and the fitting (440) are metal and the valve body is a resilient material (see paragraphs 0077, 0081, and 0082); and wherein the barb (448) is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the fitting (440) to the valve body (see paragraph 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Sato to provide wherein at least one of the cap and the stop includes an annular barb that sealingly mates with the valve body; wherein the cap includes the barb; wherein the barb extends around a perimeter of the cap; and wherein the barb is configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the cap in place relative to the valve body; wherein the barb is integral with the cap and is configured to fluidically seal the cap to the valve body; wherein the barb and the cap are metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the cap to the valve body; wherein the stop includes the barb; wherein the barb extends around a perimeter of the stop; and wherein the barb is configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the stop in place relative to the valve body; wherein the barb is integral with the stop and is configured to fluidically seal the stop to the valve body; wherein the barb and the stop are metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the stop to the valve body. Doing so would provide a fluid tight seal without the need for additional seals (see paragraph 0081), as recognized by Weiss.
Please note that the combination teaches the addition of a barb to both the cap and the stop, as the barb would provide the benefit of a fluid tight seal without the need for additional seals to both the cap and the stop.
Regarding claim 7, Sato as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the cap (12) includes a valve seat (15) configured to be selectively engaged by a poppet (30) mounted to the plunger (43) to selectively open and close a flow path through the port section (10) of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see paragraph 0024; see Figure 1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Sato discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (10, 40, 45) having a port section (10) and a coil support section (40) extending along a longitudinal axis (see Figure 1); a plunger (43) slideably coupled with a first end of a bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and extending at least partially through the coil support section (40); a cap (12) press-fit into the port section (10) of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a first end of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see paragraph 0022; see Figure 1); and a stop (42) press-fit into a second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a second end of the valve body (10, 40, 45), opposite the first end of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1); wherein the stop (42) comprises a shaft that extends from a flange (see Figure 1); wherein the shaft is at least partially disposed within the second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and the flange is disposed outside the bore of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1); and wherein the stop (42) is configured to prevent fluid flow through the second end of the bore (see Figure 1).
Further regarding the limitation “press-fit”, this limitation is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113).
Sato fails to disclose wherein at least one of the cap and the stop includes an annular barb that sealingly mates with the valve body; wherein the cap includes at least two annular barbs that extend around a perimeter of the cap; and wherein the barbs are configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the cap in place relative to the valve body.
Weiss teaches a valve manifold wherein a port nipple (204) is press-fit and includes an annular barb (208) that sealingly mates with a valve body 218 (see paragraphs 0022 and 0075); wherein the port nipple (204) includes at least two annular barbs (208) that extend around a perimeter of the port nipple 204 (see Figure 18); and wherein the barbs (208) are configured to resist pressure within the valve body (218) to hold the port nipple (204) in place relative to the valve body 218 (see paragraph 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Sato to provide wherein at least one of the cap and the stop includes an annular barb that sealingly mates with the valve body; wherein the cap includes at least two annular barbs that extend around a perimeter of the cap; and wherein the barbs are configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the cap in place relative to the valve body. Doing so would provide a fluid tight seal without the need for additional seals (see paragraph 0022), as recognized by Weiss.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Sato discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (10, 40, 45) having a port section (10) and a coil support section (40) extending along a longitudinal axis (see Figure 1); a plunger (43) slideably coupled with a first end of a bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and extending at least partially through the coil support section (40); a cap (12) press-fit into the port section (10) of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a first end of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see paragraph 0022; see Figure 1); and a stop (42) press-fit into a second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a second end of the valve body (10, 40, 45), opposite the first end of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1); wherein the stop (42) comprises a shaft that extends from a flange (see Figure 1); wherein the shaft is at least partially disposed within the second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and the flange is disposed outside the bore of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1); and wherein the stop (42) is configured to prevent fluid flow through the second end of the bore (see Figure 1).
Further regarding the limitation “press-fit”, this limitation is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113).
Sato fails to disclose wherein at least one of the cap and the stop includes an annular barb that sealingly mates with the valve body; wherein the stop includes at least two annular barbs that extend around a perimeter of the stop; and wherein the barbs are configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the stop in place relative to the valve body.
Weiss teaches a valve manifold wherein a port nipple (204) is press-fit and includes an annular barb (208) that sealingly mates with a valve body 218 (see paragraphs 0022 and 0075); wherein the port nipple (204) includes at least two annular barbs (208) that extend around a perimeter of the port nipple 204 (see Figure 18); and wherein the barbs (208) are configured to resist pressure within the valve body (218) to hold the port nipple (204) in place relative to the valve body 218 (see paragraph 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Sato to provide wherein at least one of the cap and the stop includes an annular barb that sealingly mates with the valve body; wherein the stop includes at least two annular barbs that extend around a perimeter of the cap; and wherein the barbs are configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the stop in place relative to the valve body. Doing so would provide a fluid tight seal without the need for additional seals (see paragraph 0022), as recognized by Weiss.
Regarding claim 13, Sato as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the stop (42) is configured to limit movement of the plunger (43) in a direction away from the cap 12 (see Figure 1).
Regarding claims 14, 17, and 20, Sato discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (10, 40, 45) having a port section (10) and a coil support section (40) extending along a longitudinal axis (see Figure 1); a plunger (43) slideably coupled with a first end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and extending at least partially through the coil support section 40 (see Figure 1); a cap (12) press-fit into the port section (10) of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a first end of the valve body (10, 40, 45), wherein the cap (12) includes a valve seat (15) configured to be selectively engaged by a poppet (30) coupled to the plunger (43) to selectively open and close a flow path through the port section (10) of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see paragraph 0025; see Figure 1); and a unitary stop (42) press-fit into a second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) at a second end of the valve body (10, 40, 45), opposite the first end of the valve body (10, 40, 45), wherein the stop (42) is configured to limit movement of the plunger (43) in a direction away from the cap 12 (see Figure 1); wherein the stop (42) comprises a shaft that extends from a flange (see Figure 1); wherein the shaft is at least partially disposed within the second end of the bore of the valve body (10, 40, 45) and the flange is disposed outside the bore of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1);and wherein the stop (42) is configured to prevent fluid flow through the second end of the bore (see Figure 1).
Further regarding the limitation “press-fit”, this limitation is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113).
Sato fails to disclose wherein the cap includes a first annular barb extending around a perimeter of the cap and sealingly coupled to an interior surface of the port section; wherein the stop includes a second annular barb extending around a perimeter of the stop; wherein the first barb is metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the first barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the cap to the valve body; wherein the barb is metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the second barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the stop to the valve body.
Weiss teaches a valve manifold wherein a fitting (440) is press-fit and includes an annular barb (448) that sealingly mates with a valve body (see paragraph 0081); wherein the fitting includes the barb 448; wherein the barb (448) extends around a perimeter of the fitting (see Figure 45); and wherein the barb (448) is configured to resist pressure within the valve body to hold the fitting (440) in place relative to the valve body; wherein the barb (448) and the fitting (440) are integrally formed of metal and the valve body is a resilient material (see paragraphs 0077, 0081, and 0082); and wherein the barb (448) is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the fitting (440) to the valve body (see paragraph 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Sato to provide wherein the cap includes a first annular barb extending around a perimeter of the cap and sealingly coupled to an interior surface of the port section; wherein the stop includes a second annular barb extending around a perimeter of the stop; wherein the first barb is metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the first barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the cap to the valve body; wherein the barb is metal and the valve body is a resilient material; and wherein the second barb is configured to deform the valve body thereby sealing the stop to the valve body. Doing so would provide a fluid tight seal without the need for additional seals (see paragraph 0081), as recognized by Weiss.
Please note that the combination teaches the addition of a barb to both the cap and the stop, as the barb would provide the benefit of a fluid tight seal without the need for additional seals to both the cap and the stop.
Regarding claim 21, Sato as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the stop (42) is unitary and portless (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, Sato as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the flange of the stop (42) has a radially outermost boundary, wherein the radially outermost boundary comprises a flat side of the flange, and wherein the flat side of the flange is configured to be disposed adjacent to a flat surface of the valve body 10, 40, 45 (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 23, Sato as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches an outer shell (44) coupled to the valve body (10, 40, 45), wherein the outer shell (44) encloses at least the coil support section (40) and the stop 42 (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 24, Sato as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the outer shell (44) comprises an interior surface that abuts an end surface of the stop (42) on a side of the flange opposite the shaft (see Figure 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753