DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1-11, 13, 16-19, 22-25 are pending. Claims 1, 13 and 22 are currently amended. Claims 12, 14, 15, 20 and 21 are canceled. Claims 23-25 are newly added. It appears that no new matter has been added. The amendments have required further search and consideration and application of secondary reference Zurke to claims 1-10 and 22 as seen below. The remaining amendments are found persuasive. The drawing objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schnelker (US 2013/0264507); or in the alternative, Claim(s) 1-10 and including Claim 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schnelker in view of Zurke (US 2010/0155683.)
Schnelker discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 1 below)
A valve (solenoid valve figure 1) comprising: a valve body (5/20/22 defines a body for the valve fluid control) having a port section (at 22) and a coil support section (at 5/20) extending along a longitudinal axis (of 15), the body including a bore (the inner bore of 20) extending at least partially through the coil support section; a plunger (4/10/24) slideably coupled in the bore; and at least one bushing (20/21/23/24 where they act as extension of the body for bushing and) including at least one cylindrical bore bearing surface (inside surface of 20 delimited by 21and also see 24) in the bore and configured to align the plunger within the bore (as shown, the bearing/bushing surface aligns the plunger, ph 0019 where a bearing/busing is arrangeable at the bearing region 21 inside of 20), and wherein the body is over-molded (i.e. the portion 5 along with 20 is injection molded at the bearing rigid structure of 9 to form the bearing surface thereon, ph 0013) onto (onto as covering or forms) the at least one bushing (20/21as see Zurke for exemplary injection molded plastic bearing/bushing.) If it could be persuasively argued at some future unforeseen date that Schnelker does not explicitly disclose, although Zurke teaches: a bearing/bushing with the body overmolded directly onto the bearing bushing (ph 0034-0035, provided for the purpose of compensating for irregularities in the axial alignment of the cavity and coil support);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Schnelker as taught in Zurke with a bearing/bushing with the body overmolded directly onto the bearing bushing as taught in Zurke, and all provided for the purpose of compensating for irregularities in the axial alignment of the cavity and coil support.
Schnelker (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) discloses in claim 2: The valve of claim 1, wherein the at least one cylindrical bore bearing surface comprises a first cylindrical bore bearing surface (20) at least partially in the coil support section (at 21) of the body and a second cylindrical bore bearing surface (at 1004 and as integrally formed with coil former 5 per ph 0020.) If it could be persuasively argued that Schnelker does not explicitly disclose: a larger diameter first cylindrical bore bearing surface materially integrally formed with uniform transition slope down to a smaller diameter second cylindrical bore bearing surface; Considering that Schnelker teaches: integrally connecting the valve sleeve 22/26 and the coil former 5 ph 0020 and using injection molding material to form the coil former ph 0021; and considering that Schnelker teaches providing a uniform transition slope (at 1002) from a larger diameter section to a smaller diameter section, (all for the purpose of for example uniform and consistent material expansion and contraction when subject to thermal change);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Schnelker as suggested and/or taught above, with a larger diameter first cylindrical bore bearing surface materially integrally formed with uniform transition slope (as taught in Schnelker) and down to a smaller diameter second cylindrical bore bearing surface, and all for the purpose of for example uniform and consistent material expansion and contraction when subject to thermal change.
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 3: The valve of claim 2, wherein the second cylindrical bore bearing surface is at least partially in the port section of the body (upper section of 22.)
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 4: The valve of claim 3, further including a poppet (the end portion of 26/28 figure 2) mounted on the plunger (4 via 26) and slideably received in the port section (22) of the body; wherein the poppet includes a cylindrical poppet bearing surface (facing that of 1004 which matches that of applicants plunger poppet bearing surface at 350 figure 2) configured to cooperate with the second cylindrical bore bearing surface to align the plunger within the bore (as shown.)
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 5: The valve of claim 2, the bore further includes a conical section (at the transition of 20 to 23) between the first cylindrical bore bearing surface and the second cylindrical bore bearing surface (or as modified via the alternative embodiment as discussed ph 0020.)
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6: The valve of claim 5, wherein the conical section of the bore is angled with respect to the first cylindrical bore bearing surface and the second cylindrical bore bearing surface (smaller at the top and wider at the bottom, where or as modified as discussed above, the transition narrows...)
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7: The valve of claim 2, wherein the first cylindrical bore bearing surface has a larger diameter (diameter of 20 is slightly larger than that of inner diameter of 26) than the second cylindrical bore bearing surface (at 1004 figure 1.)
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 8: The valve of claim 1, wherein the plunger includes a first cylindrical plunger bearing surface (4) configured to cooperate with the at least one cylindrical bore bearing surface to align the plunger within the bore.
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 9: The valve of claim 8, wherein the plunger includes a second cylindrical plunger bearing surface (of 10/24 opposed to 1004) longitudinally spaced from the first cylindrical plunger bearing surface.
Schnelker discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 10: The valve of claim 9, wherein the first cylindrical plunger bearing surface has a larger diameter (as shown, 4 is slightly larger in diameter…) than the second cylindrical plunger bearing surface (as shown at 1004, outside diam of 24.)
Schnelker discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) 22: The valve of claim 1, wherein the body is directly over-molded onto (onto as covering or forms) the at least one bushing (as modified for the reasons discussed above.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 16-19 and 23-25 are allowed. Claims 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious in claim 11 “…at least the coil support section of the body comprises injection molded polymer; wherein the at least one cylindrical bore bearing surface comprises a first cylindrical bore bearing surface at least partially in the coil support section of the body and a second cylindrical bore bearing surface; wherein the first cylindrical bore bearing surface has a larger diameter than the second cylindrical bore bearing surface; and wherein the bore further includes a conical section between the first cylindrical bore bearing surface and the second cylindrical bore bearing surface” in combination with the other limitations set forth above; where it would not have been obvious to provide the above claimed arrangement especially without improper hindsight construction of the same, given the lack of teaching in the art in combination with the independent and intervening claim limitations;
Claims 13 and 23 are allowed for the reasons previously indicated in the final action mailed on 10/28/2025 as pertains to claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753