DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akao et al (US PG Pub # 2021/0181033). The Akao reference discloses a temperature control system (Title) comprising:
a heater (40) arranged in each of a plurality of zones (para. # 0035);
at least one first temperature sensor (211) configured to be capable of operating in conjunction with at least one substrate (para. # 0037);
another temperature sensor (65, 66) aside from the at least one first temperature sensor (para. # 0035-0036); and
a controller (200) configured to be capable of controlling the heater (40) based on a temperature detected by either the at least one first temperature sensor (211) or the another temperature sensor (65,66), wherein the either the at least one first temperature sensor (211) or the another temperature sensor (65,66) is assigned to each of the plurality of zones (para. # 0030-0035 & 0043).
With respect to claim 2, the another temperature sensor includes at least a second temperature sensor (66) provided at a process space where the at least one substrate is processed (para. # 0036), and a third temperature sensor (65) provided in a vicinity of the heater (para. # 0035).
With respect to claim 3, further comprising a memory (202, 205) configured to store an assignment parameter that assigns any one of: (i) the at least one first temperature sensor, (ii) the second temperature sensor, and (iii) the third temperature sensor to each of the plurality of zones (Para. # 0031-0032 & 0071).
With respect to claim 6, Akao discloses processing a “plurality of substrates” (para. # 0022), and it appears that the placement of the temperature sensors would detect the temperature of the space between the substrates (para. # 0035-0036).
With respect to claim 7, it appears that the placement of temperature sensor 66 is configured to sense the temperature at the periphery of the substrate supports (para. # 0036).
With respect to claim 8, it appears that the height of at least two temperature sensors (65, 66, & 211) are located at the same or similar height (para. # 0035-0037).
With respect to claim 18, see paragraph # 0044.
With respect to claim 19, Akao reference discloses a substrate processing apparatus (para. # 0017) comprising:
a heater (40) arranged in each of a plurality of zones (para. # 0035);
a first temperature sensor (211) configured to be capable of operating in conjunction with a substrate (para. # 0035);
another temperature sensor (65, 66) aside from the first temperature sensor; and
a controller (200) configured to be capable of controlling the heater (40) based on a temperature detected by either the first temperature sensor (211) or the another temperature sensor (65, 66), wherein the either the first temperature sensor or the another temperature sensor is assigned to each of the plurality of zones (para. # 0030-0035 & 0043).
With respect to claim 20, the Akao reference discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program (para. # 0031) that causes, by a computer (201), a substrate processing apparatus (para. # 0017), which includes a heater (40) arranged in each of a plurality of zones (para. # 0035), a first temperature sensor (211) configured to be capable of operating in conjunction with a substrate (para. # 0037), another temperature sensor (65,66) aside from the first temperature sensor, and a controller, to perform: enabling the controller to control the heater based on a temperature detected by either the first temperature sensor or the another temperature sensor, wherein the either the first temperature sensor or the another temperature sensor is assigned to each of the plurality of zones (para. # 0030-0035 & 0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akao et al (US PG Pub # 2021/0181033) in view of Yoshii et al (US PG Pub # 2012/0258415) or Yamaguchi (US PG Pub # 2009/0105867). The Akao reference dies not disclose that the controller is able to select the temperature sensor that it is monitoring to control the heater in each of the zones, but this would appear to be common sense to program the controller to select which temperature sensor was to be monitored based on which zone was to be controlled as suggest by the examples of the Yoshii reference (Abs.; Para. # 0035) or the Yamaguchi reference (para. # 0066 & 0085), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the program of Akao to do the same to provide precise control of the heating of each substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The other art cited but not applied shows the general state of the art.
RANDY W. GIBSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2856
/RANDY W GIBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855