DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwashita et al. (US 2013/0271048).
Iwashita discloses (Fig. 1):
A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored there on a computer program that (Fig. 1, 10, ¶0062), when executed by at least one processing device (10, ¶0062), causes the at least one processing device to execute a method comprising: deactivating a synchronous motor (¶0069-¶0070); and injecting a stator current at a stator current value such that a value of an Id stator current of the synchronous motor following the deactivation of the synchronous motor (5, ¶0022) has a predefined positive value that is higher than the Id stator current prior to deactivation (¶0049-¶0050),wherein the positive Id stator current creates a counter-magnetic field to accelerate the de-excitation of a rotor current in the at least one rotor winding, and wherein a rate of the de-excitation of the rotor current in the at least one rotor winding is increased as the Id stator current that is injected is increased (¶0050, ¶0069-¶0070, increases d-axis current to stop rotor and consume power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane (US 2010/0134074) in view of Iwashita et al. (US 2013/0271048).
Regarding claim 1,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
A device for de-excitation of at least one rotor winding (Fig. 2, 16) of an externally electrically excited synchronous motor (¶0033, ¶0035) following deactivation of the synchronous motor (¶0030),
They do not disclose:
the device comprising: a stator current controller configured to inject a stator current value into a stator current such that a value of an Id stator current following deactivation of the synchronous motor has a predefined positive value and is higher than the Id stator current prior to deactivation, wherein the positive Id stator current creates a counter-magnetic field to accelerate the de-excitation of a rotor current in the at least one rotor winding, and wherein a rate of the de-excitation of the rotor current in the at least one rotor winding is increased as the Id stator current that is injected is increased.
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
the device comprising: a stator current controller (Fig. 1, 10) configured to inject a stator current value into a stator current such that a value of an Id stator current following deactivation of the synchronous motor has a predefined positive value and is higher than the Id stator current prior to deactivation (¶0049-¶0050), wherein the positive Id stator current creates a counter-magnetic field to accelerate the de-excitation of a rotor current in the at least one rotor winding, and wherein a rate of the de-excitation of the rotor current in the at least one rotor winding is increased as the Id stator current that is injected is increased (¶0050, ¶0069-¶0070, increases d-axis current to stop rotor and consume power).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 2,
Crane discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
They do not disclose:
wherein the stator current controller is configured to inject the stator current such that the value of the Id stator current lies in a tolerance range of 50 percent of a maximum possible Id stator current value.
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
wherein the stator current controller (Fig. 1, 10) is configured to inject the stator current such that the value of the Id stator current lies in a tolerance range of 50 percent of a maximum possible Id stator current value (sets ID up to maximum power regen value for Id and Iq, ¶0069-¶0070).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 3,
Crane discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
They do not disclose:
wherein the stator current controller is configured to inject a stator current value into the stator current such that a value of an Iq stator current has a value of 0 ampere within a tolerance range following deactivation of the synchronous motor while the Id stator current has the predefined positive value
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
wherein the stator current controller is configured to inject a stator current value into the stator current such that a value of an Iq stator current has a value of 0 ampere within a tolerance range following deactivation of the synchronous motor (at 0 speed, Iq is set to 0 in Fig. 3, ¶0040) while the Id stator current has the predefined positive value (¶0069-¶0070).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 4,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
comprising: a rotor current controller configured to actively short circuit (Fig. 2, via 18 and 19) a rotor current of a rotor of the synchronous motor following deactivation of the synchronous motor (¶0056).
Regarding claim 5,
Crane discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
They do not disclose:
wherein the stator current controller is configured to activate an inverter lockout mode following deactivation of the synchronous motor.
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
wherein the stator current controller is configured to activate an inverter lockout mode following deactivation of the synchronous motor (inverter is deactivated and powered off, turn off system when detecting power outage, ¶0080).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 6,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
comprising: a discharge resistance device (Fig. 2, 18) connected between two terminals of a DC link of the synchronous motor (top and bottom part of "warm rotating parts )in order to cause a discharge current between the terminals of the DC link via a discharge resistor (18) in response to a voltage between the two terminals exceeding a threshold value (¶0056-¶0057).
Regarding claim 7,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
wherein the discharge resistance device is configured to suppress and/or to prevent the discharge current in an event of the voltage between the terminals falling short (¶0057).
Regarding claim 8,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
wherein the discharge resistance device comprises switching equipment (Fig. 2, 19) connected in series with the discharge resistor (18, ¶0056).
Regarding claim 9,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
wherein the switching equipment comprises a MOSFET semiconductor (Fig. 2, 19, ¶0059) component
a thyristor (¶0059), an IGBT (any other semiconductor device would encompass an IGBT, ¶0059), and/or a Zener diode (another semiconductor device, ¶0059).
They do not disclose:
and a comparator circuit
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
and a comparator circuit (¶0061),
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 10,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
wherein a rotor of the synchronous motor is inductively or conductively electrically coupled or can be inductively or conductively electrically supplied (¶0040-¶0041).
Regarding claim 11,
Crane discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
They do not disclose:
A power inverter comprising: the device as claimed in claim 1.
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
A power inverter (Fig. 1, 4) comprising: the device as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 14,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
A method for operating an externally electrically excited synchronous motor (Fig. 2, 16, ¶0033, ¶0035), the method comprising: deactivating the synchronous motor (¶0030);
They do not disclose:
injecting a stator current at a stator current value such that a value of an Id stator current following deactivation of the synchronous motor has a predefined positive value that is higher than the Id stator current prior to deactivation, wherein the positive Id stator current creates a counter-magnetic field to accelerate the de-excitation of a rotor current in the at least one rotor winding, and wherein a rate of the de-excitation of the rotor current in the at least one rotor winding is increased as the Id stator current that is injected is increased
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
injecting a stator current at a stator current value (Fig. 1, 10) such that a value of an Id stator current following deactivation of the synchronous motor has a predefined positive value that is higher than the Id stator current prior to deactivation (¶0049-¶0050), wherein the positive Id stator current creates a counter-magnetic field to accelerate the de-excitation of a rotor current in the at least one rotor winding, and wherein a rate of the de-excitation of the rotor current in the at least one rotor winding is increased as the Id stator current that is injected is increased (¶0050, ¶0069-¶0070, increases d-axis current to stop rotor and consume power)
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 15,
Crane discloses the above elements from claim 14.
They do not disclose:
comprising: injecting a stator current value into the stator current such that a value of an Iq stator current has a value of 0 ampere within a tolerance range following deactivation of the synchronous motor.
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
comprising: injecting a stator current value into the stator current such that a value of an Iq stator current has a value of 0 ampere within a tolerance range following deactivation of the synchronous motor (sets ID up to maximum power regen value for Id and Iq, ¶0069-¶0070.
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 16,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
comprising: actively short circuiting a rotor current of a rotor (Fig. 2, via 18 and 19) of the synchronous motor following deactivation of the synchronous motor (¶0056).
Regarding claim 17,
Crane discloses the above elements from claim 14.
They do not disclose:
comprising: activating an inverter lockout mode following deactivation of the synchronous motor.
However, Iwashita teaches (fig. 1):
comprising: activating an inverter lockout mode following deactivation of the synchronous motor (inverter is deactivated and powered off, turn off system when detecting power outage, ¶0080).
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
Regarding claim 18,
Crane discloses (fig. 2):
comprising: causing a discharge current between two terminals of a DC link of the synchronous motor via a discharge resistor (Fig. 2, 18) of a discharge resistance device (18, 19) connected between the two terminals in response to a voltage between the two terminals exceeding a threshold value (¶0056-¶0057).
Regarding claim 19,
Crane discloses:
comprising: suppressing and/or preventing the discharge current by the discharge resistance device in response to the voltage between the terminals falling short (¶0057).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane (US 2010/0134074) and Iwashita et al. (US 2013/0271048) as applied to claims 1 and 10 and in further view of Kaneko et al. (US 2007/0200529).
Regarding claim 12,
Crane and Iwashita disclose the above elements from claim 10.
They do not disclose:
An electric final drive for a motor vehicle comprising: at least one of the synchronous motor as claimed in claim 10; a transmission device; and a power converter.
However, Kaneko teaches (Fig. 1):
An electric final drive for a motor vehicle comprising: at least one of the synchronous motor (Fig. 1, 6, ¶0079) as claimed in claim 10; a transmission device (7, 10); and a power converter (8, ¶0038).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
It would have been further obvious to take the invention above and use it in a vehicle which uses an externally excited synchronous machine as taught by Kaneko (¶0079). This would improve efficiency and allow a vehicle with greater range.
Regarding claim 13,
Crane and Iwashita disclose the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
A motor vehicle comprising: the device as claimed in claim 1.
However, Kaneko teaches (Fig. 1):
A motor vehicle (fig. 1, ¶0037) comprising: the device as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the synchronous motor with externally excited winding from Crane which can de-excite the rotor winding in case of a shutdown (¶0016) and inject D-axis current into the stator as taught by Iwashita in order to prevent damage to the circuit by consuming power (¶0050-¶0051). This would shut down the rotor and stop induced voltages from damaging the inverter increasing safety.
It would have been further obvious to take the invention above and use it in a vehicle which uses an externally excited synchronous machine as taught by Kaneko (¶0079). This would improve efficiency and allow a vehicle with greater range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 1-11, and 14-19, applicant argues that the Iwashita reference does not teach de-exciting the rotor current, rather, Iwashita discloses entering a regenerative mode and that injecting current teaches away from rapid de-excitation of the synchronous machine.
However, As shown in Iwashita, the ¶0043, regenerative power, or d-axis current is injected which makes the motor stop consuming power and starts regenerating power which stops the motor.
Applicant further argues that In claims 3 and 15, that Iwashita does not disclose that the Iq stator current is brought to 0 however, this is also taught in Fig. 3, the Q-axis current command can also be set to zero, furthermore, it is reduced so as not to generate excessive voltage while stopping the motor, this is taught in ¶0039.
As such, Examiner is maintaining the rejections of claims 1-20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2846 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846