Allowable Subject Matter
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/01/2024 are acceptable.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure and the specification filed on 02/29/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lewandowski (US 2022/0020715).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Lewandowski discloses:
A substrate (1306, ¶0086) comprising:
a plurality of superconducting qubits or parts thereof (¶0016, ¶0036, ¶0086 taken together disclose substrate 1306 is a qubit chip comprising multiple qubit devices);
a plurality of contact pads (1308, ¶0087) formed of superconducting material (¶0087 discloses 1308 is formed from indium), each pad being electrically connected to one or more of the qubits or qubit parts (¶0087); and
a plurality of solder bumps comprising a superconducting solder material (1008, ¶0078 discloses the bumps are indium) and disposed on the plurality of contact pads (1308).
Regarding claims 14-18, Lweandowski does not disclose the claimed limitations. However, the presence of process limitations on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. In re Stephens 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965). Therefore, the claimed limitations are considered met.
Regarding claim 19, Lewandowski further discloses:
a plurality of spacer bumps (608, ¶0090).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not disclose “conductive layer configured to conduct current in an electrodeposition process; producing a mask layer on the seed layer and patterning the mask layer to form openings therein, the surface area of the openings lying within respective exposed areas of the contact pads; removing the material of the seed layer from the bottom of the openings; thereafter, depositing the superconducting solder material by electrodeposition on the bottom of the respective openings, thereby forming the solder bumps; removing the mask layer; and after the electrodeposition, removing the seed layer and the protection layer” in combination with the remaining claimed features.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A HARRISTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899