DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji (JP 2021031594) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2021/0130656) and Hayakawa (JP 2016121293).
Regarding claim 1, Shoji teaches an active energy ray-curable release adhesive composition (paragraph [0001]) comprising acrylic resin, urethane (meth)acrylate, and photopolymerization initiator (paragraph [0011]), wherein the acrylic resin is made from monomers including alkyl (meth)acrylate and isobornyl (meth)acrylate (paragraphs [0028] and [0030]). The acrylic resin has weight average molecular weight of 10,000-2,500,000 (paragraph [0043]). The composition also comprises monofunctional monomer (paragraph [0096]).
Shoji fails to teach acrylic resin including a first monomer.
However, Yoon et al. teaches a multilayer adhesive film comprising a first and/or second outer adhesive layer made from a polymer of a first composition containing a first alkyl group-containing (meth)acrylate-based monomer (paragraph [0009]) which may be one or more moomers selected from the group consisting of ethylhexyl (meth)acrylate monomers, isobornyl (meth)acrylate monomers, hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate monomers, and benzophenone (meth)acrylate monomers (paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a first monomer including a benzophenone (meth)acrylate monomer in the acrylic resin of Shoji in order to enhance step absorbency (Yoon et al., paragraphs [0029] and [0030]).
Shoji fails to teach monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer.
However, Hayakawa discloses adhesive composition comprising urethane (meth)acrylate and monofunctional (meth)acrylate compound (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use monofunctional (meth)acrylate compound as the monofunctional monomer of Shoji in order to impart good adhesion and excellent solvent and chemical resistance (paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Shoji teaches 10-200 parts urethane (meth)acrylate per 100 parts acrylic resin (paragraph [0012]), i.e. 50-1000 parts acrylic resin per 100 parts urethane (meth)acrylate.
Regarding claim 4, Shoji teaches wherein the urethane (meth)acrylate has weight average molecular weight of 500-10,000 g/mol (paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, given that Shoji in view of Yoon and Hayakawa teaches resin composition identical to that presently claimed, the resin composition would necessarily have a peel strength as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787