DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji (JP 2021031594) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2021/0130656) and Hayakawa (JP 2016121293).
Regarding claim 1, Shoji teaches an active energy ray-curable release adhesive composition (paragraph [0001]) comprising acrylic resin, urethane (meth)acrylate, and photopolymerization initiator (paragraph [0011]), wherein the acrylic resin is made from monomers including alkyl (meth)acrylate and isobornyl (meth)acrylate (paragraphs [0028] and [0030]). The acrylic resin has weight average molecular weight of 10,000-2,500,000 (paragraph [0043]). The composition also comprises monofunctional monomer (paragraph [0096]).
Shoji fails to teach acrylic resin including a first monomer.
However, Yoon et al. teaches a multilayer adhesive film comprising a first and/or second outer adhesive layer made from a polymer of a first composition containing a first alkyl group-containing (meth)acrylate-based monomer (paragraph [0009]) which may be one or more moomers selected from the group consisting of ethylhexyl (meth)acrylate monomers, isobornyl (meth)acrylate monomers, hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate monomers, and benzophenone (meth)acrylate monomers (paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a first monomer including a benzophenone (meth)acrylate monomer in the acrylic resin of Shoji in order to enhance step absorbency (Yoon et al., paragraphs [0029] and [0030]).
Shoji fails to teach monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer.
However, Hayakawa discloses adhesive composition comprising urethane (meth)acrylate and monofunctional (meth)acrylate compound (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use monofunctional (meth)acrylate compound as the monofunctional monomer of Shoji in order to impart good adhesion and excellent solvent and chemical resistance (paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Shoji teaches 10-200 parts urethane (meth)acrylate per 100 parts acrylic resin (paragraph [0012]), i.e. 50-1000 parts acrylic resin per 100 parts urethane (meth)acrylate.
Regarding claim 4, Shoji teaches wherein the urethane (meth)acrylate has weight average molecular weight of 500-10,000 g/mol (paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, given that Shoji in view of Yoon and Hayakawa teaches resin composition identical to that presently claimed, the resin composition would necessarily have a peel strength as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7 are allowed.
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended claims 3 and 7 into independent form.
Applicant argues that the Office must establish that Yoon is either in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
However, both Yoon and Shoji are drawn to acrylate adhesives, therefore, the motivation of Yoon would be pertinent to the invention of Shoji. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed.Cir. 2006); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662,1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Linter, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991)
Applicant argues that Yoon attributes step absorbency/reworkability to its multilayer structure and tailored glass transition temperatures of different layer resins, not to inclusion of a benzophenone-functional monomer in a Shoji-type release PSA resin.
However, given that Shoji discloses an acrylic resin made from alkyl and isobornyl acrylate monomers and Yoon discloses an acrylic resin made from alkyl, isobornyl, and benzophenone acrylate monomers, the improved absorbency which is the result of the glass transition temperature of the acrylic resin of Yoon would be applicable to the acrylic resin of Shoji.
Applicant argues that regarding claims 5 and 6 the Office’s inherency position is unsupported and the claimed invention is directed to a different post-cure result.
However, the peel strength disclosed by Shoji is different from the peel strength disclosed of the claimed invention and used in the present invention. Both the units disclosed by Shoji and method used are different than those disclosed by the present invention. Given that Shoji in view of Yoon and Hayakawa teaches resin composition identical to that presently claimed, the resin composition would necessarily have a peel strength as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787