DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, claims 1-7 and 12-19, in the reply filed on June 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 12, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 29, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 21, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelm et al (US Patent 5, 543,994) in view of Schoofs et al (US Patent 5,412,234).
In re claim 1, Wilhelm et al discloses a gate driver circuit (i.e. see at least Figure 2), comprising: a low side part configured to output a first gate drive signal between a first gate output and a first reference potential (i.e. see at least column 1, lines 5-47, when referring to the typical gate driver IR2110 and having a high side island); a high side part (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 3) configured to generate a high side data signal (i.e. 32) and to output a second gate drive signal between a second gate output (i.e. OUT) and a second reference potential (i.e. VS); and a p-type structure (i.e. Q3) configured to pass the high side data signal to the low side part (i.e. FLT).
Wilhelm et al does not explicitly disclose a junction transistor.
However, Schoofs et al discloses the use of JFETs (i.e. see at least Figure 1: T3).
The advantage is to obtain a configuration that occupies less space while the properties such as breakdown voltage and low parasitic currents the same (i.e. see at least column 2, lines 26-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the gate driver circuit as taught by Wilhelm et al with the use of JFETs in order to obtain a configuration that occupies less space while the properties such as breakdown voltage and low parasitic currents the same.
In re claim 2, Wilhelm et al discloses wherein a hole current through the p-type structure is controllable (i.e. see at least Figure 2: through switches, etc.).
Wilhelm et al does not explicitly disclose a junction transistor.
However, Schoofs et al discloses the use of JFETs (i.e. see at least Figure 1: T3).
The advantage is to obtain a configuration that occupies less space while the properties such as breakdown voltage and low parasitic currents the same (i.e. see at least column 2, lines 26-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the gate driver circuit as taught by Wilhelm et al with the use of JFETs in order to obtain a configuration that occupies less space while the properties such as breakdown voltage and low parasitic currents the same.
In re claim 3, Wilhelm et al discloses wherein a controlled path of the p-type structure is electrically connected between the high side part and the low side part (i.e. see at least Figure 2).
Wilhelm et al does not explicitly disclose a junction transistor.
However, Schoofs et al discloses the use of JFETs (i.e. see at least Figure 1: T3).
The advantage is to obtain a configuration that occupies less space while the properties such as breakdown voltage and low parasitic currents the same (i.e. see at least column 2, lines 26-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the gate driver circuit as taught by Wilhelm et al with the use of JFETs in order to obtain a configuration that occupies less space while the properties such as breakdown voltage and low parasitic currents the same.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817