DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for having a tool guide 260 that is supportable by the anchor 240, does not reasonably provide enablement for how the anchor 240 and tool guide 260 are connected. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The amended drawings are still not clear how the support elements 210, 220, 230 and tool guide 260 attach to the anchor 240. Is the tool guide 260 the same member as support elements 210, 220, 230? Do the support elements 210, 220, 230 stack on top of 260? Does the support elements 210, 220, 230 and 260 fit inside the center hole of anchor 240? Although the drawings are not drawn to scale the center hole of 240 is not shown large enough for having the support elements 210, 220, 230 and tool guide 260 fit inside. In summary, it is not clear how the anchor 240, tool guide 260 and the support elements 210, 220, 230 are connected and if they are all connected. Presumably tool guide 260 OR the support elements 210, 220, 230 are inserted into central hole of anchor 240. Also, how are the support elements 210, 220, 230 and tool guide 260 “additively manufactured integrally with one another” (applicant’s instant specification [0045])?
Moreover, the anchor in fig. 3 central hole, presumably for tool guide 260 and/or support elements 210, 220, 230, is smaller than the one shown in fig. 2 since the center hole in fig. 3 is completely between the two back and front holes; yet in fig. 2 the center hole is much larger and extends past the two back and front holes.
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The newly added paragraph [0046] with newly added fig. 4C seems to indicate that 210, 220, 230 and tool guide 260 are the same member/piece? It remains unclear if 210, 220, 230 and tool guide 260 are different members or are separate distinct members and the specification recites “guide sleeves 270 of the tooling support elements 210, 220, 230 has a different or unique length” (applicant’s instant specification [0044]) which indicates they are separate distinct members.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIGURES 3-4 are not clear how the support elements 210, 220, 230 and tool guide 260 attach to the anchor 240. Is the tool guide 260 the same member as support elements 210, 220, 230? Do the support elements 210, 220, 230 stack on top of 260? Does the support elements 210, 220, 230 and 260 fit inside the center hole of anchor 240? Although the drawings are not drawn to scale the center hole of 240 is not shown large enough for having the support elements 210, 220, 230 and tool guide 260 fit inside. In summary, it is not clear how the anchor 240, tool guide 260 and the support elements 210, 220, 230 are connected and if they are all connected. Presumably tool guide 260 OR the support elements 210, 220, 230 are inserted into central hole of anchor 240.
Moreover, the anchor in fig. 3 central hole, presumably for tool guide 260, is smaller than the one shown in fig. 2 since the center hole in fig. 3 is completely between the two back and front holes; yet in fig. 2 the center hole is much larger and extends past the two back and front holes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hansen et al. (US 20240207991 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, and 15, As best understood by examiner, Hansen et al. discloses a tooling support system (100, fig. 1), comprising: tooling support elements (106, 180), each tooling support element comprising: an anchor (144/146 or 230) mountable to an external component (work piece) of a body (154) being drilled into ([0032-0033], figs. 1-11);
a tool guide (102) supportable by the anchor (144/146 or 230 [0046-0047], figs. 3-4 and 10-11) and defining a tooling pathway (140) and a vacuum port (122); and
a guide sleeve (182) disposed at an end of the tooling pathway (140, figs. 1-9); each of the guide sleeves (182A/B) in which each of the guide sleeves of the tooling support elements having varying dimensions, a unique length (differing widths of trough 190 and different lengths of the trough “non-linear depth of the trough 190”, [0040-0044, 0050, 0055], figs. 6-7 and 13-15), each of which is passable through the tooling pathway (140) and the guide sleeve of at least a corresponding one of the tooling support elements to drill (drill 112) into an internal component of the body (154, [0025-0045], figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 11, Hansen et al. discloses the tool guide (102) and the guide sleeve (182) of each of the tooling support elements (106/180) are integral with one another (assembled into one piece, fig. 2 also see 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) issues with integral) and a tooling pathway of each of the tooling support elements (106, 180) is curved (tubular paths are curved, also see curved trough portions figs. 6-7 and 13-15).
Regarding claim 5, Hansen et al. discloses the tool guide (102) of each of the tooling support elements (106, 180) is formed to further define a coolant pathway (164/166) along a length of the tooling pathway (140, figs. 1-9).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Hansen et al. discloses each of the tooling support elements comprises a bearing (184) to support drilling tool rotation ([0025-0045], figs. 1-9).
Regarding claims 12, Hansen et al. discloses the tooling pathway of each of the tooling support elements is curved (tubular paths are curved, also see curved trough portions figs. 6-7 and 13-15) and each of the one or more drilling tools (112) comprises a drill head (fig. 1) connected to a flexible drive section (124, [0028-0030], fig. 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 9-10, Hansen et al. discloses the body being drilled into is a gas turbine engine (152 – area of aircraft which have gas turbine engines [0034]) and the external component (154) is a casing of the gas turbine engine (shroud), and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements has an exterior shape that conforms to an interior shape of a cooling tube of the gas turbine engine (functional- capable of conforming to a cooling tube) wherein the internal component is angled relative to the tooling pathway (152 angled to 154, see fig. 4) and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements resists side-loading of the one or more drilling tools drilling into the internal component (rigid guide tube 10 resists side-loading, (functional – will resist side loading at least some degree via being supported in 140/106/180).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Andalam et al. (US 20220268170 A1) in view of Kuldell et al. (US 20240238878 A1) and further in view of Hansen et al. (US 20240207991 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7-8, and 15, As best understood by examiner, Andalam et al. discloses a tooling support system (fig. 1), comprising: tooling support elements, each tooling support element comprising: an anchor (10) mountable to an external component (72) of a body (74) being drilled into ([0074-0075], figs. 6); a tool guide (28) supportable by the anchor (figs. 3-4) and defining a tooling pathway (30); and a guide sleeve (28A/B/C/D - plurality of flexible co-axially guide tubes guide tube 28A, second flexible guide tube 28B, third flexible guide tube 28C, fourth flexible guide tube 28D [0107], fig. 16 and/or curved tip section 42/46 – can be separate pieces conned together, [0052] figs. 1-5) disposed at an end of the tooling pathway (figs. 1-5); each of the guide sleeves (118 and 116) in which each of the guide sleeves of the tooling support elements having varying dimensions (28A, second flexible guide tube 28B, third flexible guide tube 28C, fourth flexible guide tube 28D are different diameters co-axially arranged, fig. 16),
wherein the guide sleeve of each of the tooling support elements has varying dimensions/has a unique length and one or more drilling tools (50, [0042]), each of which is passable through the tooling pathway and the guide sleeve of at least a corresponding one of the tooling support elements to drill into an internal component of the body (inspection ports 76), an inner shroud 78 (with inspection ports 80), rotor stages 82, and stator stages 84 [0035-0117], figs. 1-16) and the tool guide (28) of each of the tooling support elements (28A/B/C/D and/or curved tip section 42/46) is formed to further define a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway [0042].
Andalam et al. fails to explicitly disclose a drill bit/drill and explicitly that the tool guide (28) of each of the tooling support elements (28A/B/C/D and/or curved tip section 42/46) is formed to define at least one of a vacuum port along a length of the tooling pathway and if argued there is no teaching for a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway-
Kuldell et al. teaches a tooling support system (100), comprising: tooling support elements, each tooling support element comprising: an anchor (workpiece 102/202 and/or clamp devices to holding workpieces together [0025]) mountable to an external component (connecting devices and support structure for flap 204 [0025]) of a body (flap 204) being drilled into ([0025], fig. 2); a tool guide (120 and/or attachment box 114) supportable by the anchor (workpiece 102/202) and defining a tooling pathway (drilling apparatus 104 includes a shaft 110 shown inserted into attachment box 114 and 120 defining a further pathway for tool 112 at end figs. 2-3); and a guide sleeve (118 and/or 116) disposed at an end of the tooling pathway ([0022-0052], figs. 1-5); each of the guide sleeves (118 and 116) in which each of the guide sleeves of the tooling support elements having varying dimensions (118 and 120 are different sizes), wherein each of the guide sleeves of each of the tooling support elements has a unique length and one or more drilling tools (112 and foot 120 having vacuum lines/hoses tools [0042]), each of which is passable through the tooling pathway and the guide sleeve of at least a corresponding one of the tooling support elements to drill into an internal component of the body ([0022-0052], figs. 1-5) and the tool guide (120) of each of the tooling support elements is formed to define at least one of a vacuum port along a length of the tooling pathway and a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway (fluid lines 140 through a plurality of fluid ports in the contact tip 136 [0018, 0043, 0058].
Hansen et al. teaches a tooling support system (100, fig. 1), comprising: tooling support elements (106, 180), each tooling support element comprising: an anchor (144/146 or 230) mountable to an external component (work piece) of a body (154) being drilled into ([0032-0033], figs. 1-11);
a tool guide (102) supportable by the anchor (144/146 or 230 [0046-0047], figs. 3-4 and 10-11) and defining a tooling pathway (140) and a vacuum port (122); and
a guide sleeve (182) disposed at an end of the tooling pathway (140, figs. 1-9); each of the guide sleeves (182A/B) in which each of the guide sleeves of the tooling support elements having varying dimensions, a unique length (differing widths of trough 190 and different lengths of the trough “non-linear depth of the trough 190”, [0040-0044, 0050, 0055], figs. 6-7 and 13-15), each of which is passable through the tooling pathway (140) and the guide sleeve of at least a corresponding one of the tooling support elements to drill (drill 112) into an internal component of the body (154, [0025-0045], figs. 2 and 4) and –
the tool guide (102) of each of the tooling support elements (106, 180) is formed to further define a coolant pathway (164/166) along a length of the tooling pathway (140, figs. 1-9) and the tooling pathway of each of the tooling support elements is curved (tubular paths are curved, also see curved trough portions figs. 6-7 and 13-15) and each of the one or more drilling tools (112) comprises a drill head (fig. 1) connected to a flexible drive section (124, [0028-0030], fig. 1).
Given the teachings of Andalam et al. to have a drilling system form a hole in workpieces with a supporting anchor and guide, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains modify the tool with including a drill bit/drill and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements is formed to define at least one of a vacuum port along a length of the tooling pathway and a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway for having cooling holes in gas turbine blades/vanes, and other gas turbine components, attaching supporting sheets with screws/rivets, and/or joining/attaching parts together via screw/fastener holes as taught by Kuldell et al. and Hansen et al.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 11, Andalam et al. discloses the tool guide (28) and the guide sleeve (28A/B/C/D and/or curved tip section 42/46) of each of the tooling support elements are integral with one another ([0052]) and a tooling pathway of each of the tooling support elements is curved (tubular members are curved, curved tip section 42/46).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Andalam et al. discloses each of the tooling support elements comprises a bearing (34) to support drilling tool rotation ([0035-0083], figs. 1-16).
Regarding claims 12, Andalam et al. discloses the tooling pathway of each of the tooling support elements is curved (tubular members are curved, curved tip section 42/46) and each of the one or more drilling tools (50) comprises a drill head (rotary grinding/grinder) connected to a flexible drive section (on flexible shaft, [0042]).
Regarding claims 2 and 9-10, Andalam et al. discloses the body being drilled into is a gas turbine engine (72) and the external component is a casing of the gas turbine engine (shroud 74), and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements has an exterior shape that conforms to an interior shape of a cooling tube of the gas turbine engine wherein the internal component (inspection ports 76), an inner shroud 78 (with inspection ports 80), rotor stages 82, and stator stages 84) is angled relative to the tooling pathway (figs. 6-16) and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements resists side-loading of the one or more drilling tools (50 [0042]) drilling into the internal component (rigid guide tube 10 resists side-loading, ([0035-0117], figs. 1-16).
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: US 20240207991 A1 – drill guide.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731