DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 09/22/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for having a tool guide 260 that is supportable by the anchor 240, does not reasonably provide enablement for how the anchor 240 and tool guide 260 are connected. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The amended drawing shows that the anchor 240 is in casing 250 of a gas turbine engine. However, the anchor 240 in fig. 2 does not match the anchor 240 in fig. 3. The anchor in fig. 3 central hole, presumably for tool guide 260, is smaller than the one shown in fig. 2 since the center hole in fig. 3 is completely between the two back and front holes; yet in fig. 2 the center hole is much larger and extends past the two back and front holes. Moreover, it is not clear what the center member of anchor 240 is in fig. 2. Is the tool guide 260 inside the anchor 240 in figure 2? How does the anchor 240 and tool guide connect? Does the tool guide 260 and anchor 240 connect? The specification recites “tool guide 260 that is supportable by the anchor 240”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIGURE 2 is not clear what the center member cross section view of anchor 240 is. Is the center member the tool guide 260 and is inside the anchor 240? How does the anchor 240 and tool guide connect? Does the tool guide 260 and anchor 240 connect? Presumably tool guide 260 is inserted into central hole of anchor 240. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Andalam et al. (US 20220268170 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, and 15, As best understood by examiner, Andalam et al. discloses a tooling support system (fig. 1), comprising: tooling support elements, each tooling support element comprising: an anchor (10) mountable to an external component (72) of a body (74) being drilled into ([0074-0075], figs. 6); a tool guide (28) supportable by the anchor (figs. 3-4) and defining a tooling pathway (30); and a guide sleeve (28A/B/C/D - plurality of flexible co-axially guide tubes guide tube 28A, second flexible guide tube 28B, third flexible guide tube 28C, fourth flexible guide tube 28D [0107], fig. 16 and/or curved tip section 42/46 – can be separate pieces conned together, [0052] figs. 1-5) disposed at an end of the tooling pathway (figs. 1-5); each of the guide sleeves (118 and 116) in which each of the guide sleeves of the tooling support elements having varying dimensions (28A, second flexible guide tube 28B, third flexible guide tube 28C, fourth flexible guide tube 28D are different diameters co-axially arranged, fig. 16),
wherein the guide sleeve of each of the tooling support elements has varying dimensions/has a unique length and one or more drilling tools (50, [0042]), each of which is passable through the tooling pathway and the guide sleeve of at least a corresponding one of the tooling support elements to drill into an internal component of the body (inspection ports 76), an inner shroud 78 (with inspection ports 80), rotor stages 82, and stator stages 84 [0035-0117], figs. 1-16).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Andalam et al. discloses the tool guide (28) of each of the tooling support elements (28A/B/C/D and/or curved tip section 42/46) is formed to define at least one of a vacuum port along a length of the tooling pathway and a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway [0042].
Regarding claims 3-4 and 11, Andalam et al. discloses the tool guide (28) and the guide sleeve (28A/B/C/D and/or curved tip section 42/46) of each of the tooling support elements are integral with one another ([0052]) and a tooling pathway of each of the tooling support elements is curved (tubular members are curved, curved tip section 42/46).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Andalam et al. discloses each of the tooling support elements comprises a bearing (34) to support drilling tool rotation ([0035-0083], figs. 1-16).
Regarding claims 12, Andalam et al. discloses the tooling pathway of each of the tooling support elements is curved (tubular members are curved, curved tip section 42/46) and each of the one or more drilling tools (50) comprises a drill head (rotary grinding/grinder) connected to a flexible drive section (on flexible shaft, [0042]).
Regarding claims 2 and 9-10, Andalam et al. discloses the body being drilled into is a gas turbine engine (72) and the external component is a casing of the gas turbine engine (shroud 74), and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements has an exterior shape that conforms to an interior shape of a cooling tube of the gas turbine engine wherein the internal component (inspection ports 76), an inner shroud 78 (with inspection ports 80), rotor stages 82, and stator stages 84) is angled relative to the tooling pathway (figs. 6-16) and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements resists side-loading of the one or more drilling tools (50 [0042]) drilling into the internal component (rigid guide tube 10 resists side-loading, ([0035-0117], figs. 1-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 9-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Andalam et al. (US 20220268170 A1) in view of Kuldell et al. (US 20240238878 A1) and further in view of Mattia et al. (US 20140093370 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 5, 9-10, and 13, Andalam et al. discloses the body being drilled into is a gas turbine engine (72) and the external component is a casing of the gas turbine engine (shroud 74), and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements has an exterior shape that conforms to an interior shape of a cooling tube of the gas turbine engine wherein the internal component (inspection ports 76), an inner shroud 78 (with inspection ports 80), rotor stages 82, and stator stages 84) is angled relative to the tooling pathway (figs. 6-16) and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements resists side-loading of the one or more drilling type tools drilling into the internal component (rigid guide tube 10 resists side-loading, ([0035-0117], figs. 1-16) and teaches drilling type tools [0042].
Andalam et al. fails to explicitly disclose a drill bit/drill and explicitly that the tool guide (28) of each of the tooling support elements (28A/B/C/D and/or curved tip section 42/46) is formed to define at least one of a vacuum port along a length of the tooling pathway and a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway
Kuldell et al. teaches a tooling support system (100), comprising: tooling support elements, each tooling support element comprising: an anchor (workpiece 102/202 and/or clamp devices to holding workpieces together [0025]) mountable to an external component (connecting devices and support structure for flap 204 [0025]) of a body (flap 204) being drilled into ([0025], fig. 2); a tool guide (120 and/or attachment box 114) supportable by the anchor (workpiece 102/202) and defining a tooling pathway (drilling apparatus 104 includes a shaft 110 shown inserted into attachment box 114 and 120 defining a further pathway for tool 112 at end figs. 2-3); and a guide sleeve (118 and/or 116) disposed at an end of the tooling pathway ([0022-0052], figs. 1-5); each of the guide sleeves (118 and 116) in which each of the guide sleeves of the tooling support elements having varying dimensions (118 and 120 are different sizes), wherein each of the guide sleeves of each of the tooling support elements has a unique length and one or more drilling tools (112 and foot 120 having vacuum lines/hoses tools [0042]), each of which is passable through the tooling pathway and the guide sleeve of at least a corresponding one of the tooling support elements to drill into an internal component of the body ([0022-0052], figs. 1-5) and the tool guide (120) of each of the tooling support elements is formed to define at least one of a vacuum port along a length of the tooling pathway and a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway (fluid lines 140 through a plurality of fluid ports in the contact tip 136 [0018, 0043, 0058].
Mattia et al. also teaches a case assembly method for a gas turbine engine (20, figs. 1 and 9) with drilled holes for rivets to attach a sheet (first and second face sheet 90, 92) to the case of the gas turbine engine [0008, 0012] including a body being drilled into (Fan Intermediate Case/FIC 60) that is a gas turbine engine with an external component that is a casing of the gas turbine engine ([0037-0044], figs. 1-9), wherein an internal component (80) is angled relative to a tooling pathway (see fig. 6 with angled opening 82 for rivet 100 [0037-0044], figs. 1-9 and see claims 9-20).
Mattia et al. claims: “assembling a case of a gas turbine engine comprising: drilling a rivet hole through a case and a face sheet mounted to a housing and to the case, the rivet hole aligned with at least one of a multiple of housing lightening openings” (claim 14).
Given the teachings of Kuldell et al. to have a drilling system form a hole in workpieces with a supporting anchor and guide, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains modify the tool with including a drill bit/drill and the tool guide of each of the tooling support elements is formed to define at least one of a vacuum port along a length of the tooling pathway and a coolant pathway along a length of the tooling pathway for having cooling holes in gas turbine blades/vanes, and other gas turbine components, attaching supporting sheets with screws/rivets, and/or joining/attaching parts together via screw/fastener holes as taught by Kuldell et al. and Mattia et al.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: US 9561546 B1 – drill guide and see form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731