DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 1 limitation “ the semiconductor die also including a bond pad coupled to the circuitry” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the semiconductor die also including a bond pad coupled to the circuitry”. It is unclear what device structural feature “the circuitry” is referring to. The specification alludes to component 204 (see applicant’s Fig. 2A) as the circuitry; however, no die bond pad (206) is shown to couple to the circuitry 204. Correction/clarification is required.
Claims 2-7 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rancuret (US Pub. 2022/0373783).
Regarding claim 1, Rancuret teaches a micro-electromechanical (MEMS) device (Fig. 2A-2B), comprising:
a substrate 201 (Fig. 2A-2B);
a semiconductor die 206 coupled to the substrate 201 and including circuitry (e.g. 213 and/or circuitry within the semiconductor die) formed therein, the semiconductor die also including a bond pad 211 coupled to the circuitry (it is understood that the pad 211 is connected to circuitries, including circuitry 204, within the semiconductor die 206);
a structure 208 extending away from the semiconductor die 206 and having four sides (see Fig. 2A), the structure 208 comprising a corrodible material (Fig. 2A-2B); and
an epoxy contacting outer surfaces of the four sides of the structure 208 and over the corrodible material (Para [0032], where Rancuret teaches epoxy resin filling wells 215 & 217 that covers four sides of the structure 208, see Fig. 2A-2B; also see Fig. 4D-4E and note epoxy 416).
Regarding claim 2, Rancuret teaches the MEMS device of claim 1, further comprising a first bond wire 314 (left) coupling the semiconductor die 206 to a first side of the substrate 201/301 and a second bond wire 314 (right) coupling the semiconductor die 206 to a second side of the substrate 201/301, the second side of the substrate opposite the first side of the substrate, the epoxy 416 over the first wire bond and the second wire bond (see Fig. 4D-4E and respective texts).
Regarding claim 3, Rancuret teaches the MEMS device of claim 1, wherein the MEMS device further comprises a cap 212 coupled to the semiconductor die by way of the structure to form a sealed cavity between the cap 212, the structure 208, and the semiconductor die 206 (Fig. 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 4, Rancuret teaches the MEMS device of claim 3, wherein the cap is a glass member (Para [0028]), and wherein the epoxy does not contact a surface of the glass member that faces away from the semiconductor die (Para [0032], Fig. 2A-2B & 4D-4E and associated texts).
Regarding claim 6, Rancuret teaches the MEMS device of claim 1, wherein the epoxy extends to an edge of the substrate (Fig. 2A-2B & 4D-4E).
Regarding claim 7, Rancuret teaches the MEMS device of claim 1, wherein a gap 215/217 separates the epoxy from an edge of the substrate (also note additional gaps shown in Fig. 4D-4E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancuret (US Pub. 2022/0373783) in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 2024/0047338).
Regarding claim 1, Rancuret teaches a micro-electromechanical (MEMS) device, comprising:
a substrate 201 including a bond lead (it is understood that the substrate 201 has a pad at the end of bond wire 314 that reads as bond lead, Fig. 4D-4E);
a semiconductor die 206 coupled to the substrate 201 and including a bond pad 211 coupled to the bond lead by way of a bond wire 314 (Fig. 2A-2B and Fig. 4D-4E, it is understood that there is pad on the substrate 201 and a pad 211 on the semiconductor die 206 and both said pads are connected via bond wire 314), the semiconductor die 206 having a device side (Fig. 2A-2B & Fig. (Fig. 2A-2B & Fig.D-4E);
a four-sided structure (note interposer 208 in Fig. 2A-2B), the four-sided structure 208 coupled to the device side of the semiconductor die 206 and to a glass member 212 and forming a sealed cavity between the semiconductor die 206 and the glass member 212 (Fig. 2B); and
an epoxy contacting the four sides of the four-sided structure and over the bond wire (Para [0032], where Rancuret teaches epoxy resin filling wells 215 & 217 that covers four sides of the structure 208, see Fig. 2A-2B; also see Fig. 4D-4E and note epoxy 416).
Rancuret is silent on wherein the four-side structure comprises a metal stack. However, Chen teaches a structure (interposer), wherein the structure (100 and/or 90) comprises a metal stack (see Fig. 18). This has the advantage of providing improved routing and conductive pathways between the semiconductor device components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Rancuret with interposer structure, as taught by Chen, so as to provide improved routing for the semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rancuret and Chen teaches the MEMS device of claim 8, wherein the metal stack comprises multiple different metals and multiple oxide layers, and wherein the multiple different metals comprise copper and nickel (Rancuret’s Fig. 2A-2B & 4D-4E and Chen’s Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Rancuret and Chen teaches the MEMS device of claim 8, wherein the epoxy extends to an edge of the substrate ((Rancuret’s Fig. 2A-2B & 4D-4E).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Rancuret and Chen teaches the MEMS device of claim 8, wherein a gap 215/217 separates the epoxy from an edge of the substrate (also note additional gaps shown in Fig. 4D-4E).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rancuret and Chen teaches the MEMS device of claim 8, wherein the metal stack comprises at least one of glass, oxide layers, and alloys (Chen’s Fig. 18 and associated text).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Rancuret and Chen teaches the MEMS device of claim 8, wherein the epoxy has a coefficient of thermal expansion below 25 (epoxy material are known to have a coefficient of thermal expansion within said range).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Rancuret and Chen teaches the MEMS device of claim 8, wherein the epoxy does not contact any part of a top surface of the glass member 212, the top surface of the glass member facing away from the semiconductor die 206 (Rancuret’s Fig. 2B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 & 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion.
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818