592083Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “Wherein one or more additive is comprised of materials including a photo initiator, a surface active agent, a dye or paint, a stabilizer and inhibitor.” The claims recites comprising but then including and it is not clear what the scope of the claim includes. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted to require at least one of the listed additives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hockaday et al (US 2007/0184238).
Claim 1 as amended:
A method of forming an active self-transformable material comprising: providing a flexible base material,
wherein the flexible base material has a natural state that is a flat 2-dimensional shape when resting on a surface;
and disposing an active material on one or more surfaces of the flexible base material or within the flexible base material in a predetermined specific pattern to form a combined structure,
the combined structure having a natural shape wherein due to the active material being disposed on the flexible base material,
the active material is not connected to the flexible base material through an adhesive layer,
wherein the active material is disposed in varying amounts on the flexible base material,
wherein a thicker deposition layer of active material has a greater force of reaction,
but the thicker deposition layer of active material has more stiffness,
wherein the active material is a material that is reactive to exposure to a first an external stimulus trigger,
wherein the flexible base material is
non-reactive to the first external stimulus trigger,
minimally reactive to the first external stimulus trigger differently than the active material,
or reactive to the first external stimulus trigger differently than the active material,
and wherein natural shape of the combined structure is a shape of the combined structure absent any external stimulus trigger.
wherein exposure of at least a portion of the predetermined specific pattern of the active material to the first external stimulus trigger changes the shape of the combined structure from the natural shape into a predetermined 3-dimensional transformed shape,
wherein the height, width, and predetermined pattern of the active material is disposed such that the combined structure obtains the predetermined 3-dimensional transformed shape,
wherein the transformed shape of the combined structure is a shape that is different than a shape that would occur in the flexible base material absent application of the active material or absent exposure of the combined structure to the external stimulus trigger that activates the active material, and
wherein the active self-transformable material further comprises one or more additive that is included in the flexible base material, or wherein the active self-transformable material further comprises one or more additives that is included in the active material, or wherein the active self-transformable material comprises one or more additive that is included in the flexible base material or the active material, the active that reacts, amplifies, or inhibits the flexible base material and/or the active material in which the one or more additive is included.
Wherein one or more additive is comprised of materials including a photo initiator, a surface active agent, a dye or paint, a stabilizer and inhibitor.
As to claims 1 and 15, Hockaday is directed to laminate actuators and valves (Title). Hockaday teaches artificial stoma formed with multilayer structures that actuate with humidity, temperature, chemical environment or light. The actuator can be incorporated into shoes, apparel, fuel cells, machinery and building to control fluid flow, or diffusion to regulate humidity, temperature, chemical environment and light (ABST) and [0004]-[0013].
Hockaday teaches laminates or bi-material and teaches several different embodiments wherein one typical humidity actuator is composed of two materials: the substrate material being porous polyimide, with a high modulus of elasticity and unaffected by humidity. As the substrate is unaffected by humidity, the substrate is equated with the flexible base material that is non-reactive. Hockaday describes the substrate as flexible [0213].
The second material such as Nafion or DAIS typically has a modulus of elasticity at least 10 times lower than the substrate material and has a high humidity modulus [0030]. The second material is equated with the active material that is reactive to an external stimulus, e.g. humidity, temperature, light, chemicals.
Claimed Feature
Hockaday
Flexible Base Material
Substrate; e.g. polyimide with high modulus of elasticity and unaffected by humidity
Active Material
Humidity or Temperature Expansion Material; e.g. Nafion hydrogel;
second material
Active self transformable material
Bi-laminate or Laminate actuator or Valve
Hockaday anticipates a material with a flexible base material and a second material (active material) wherein the flexible substrate (base) is unaffected by humidity [0030] and this is equated with either non-reactive or less reactive to an external stimulus than the second material.
Hockaday shows a flat 2 dimensional material when resting on a surface as claimed as shown in Fig. 24B [0095] as well as Fig. 22E [0090].
Hockaday teaches the flap valve designs in a pattern that are coated or laminated with a material that expands when humidified as shown in the figures below [0049]. Coating a pattern is equated with disposing the active material is disposed on the base material as claimed.
Hockaday also teaches the responsive or active material is printed on the substrate in paragraph [0485], [0486], [0488], and [0498]. Hockaday teaches in fig. 2A an array of flap valves with temperature and humidity actuation. The substrate is a 10 micron thick polyester and a print-sprayed deposit of a high coefficient of expansion material such as a film of low density of polyethylene 24 is deposited on the substrate 23 [0485]. The high coefficient of expansion material of low density polyethylene is equated with the active material and would be an embodiment that is absent an adhesive layer.
Hockaday teaches depositing the high coefficient of humidity expansion material, DIAS is spray deposited.
Coated, laminated or printed is equated with disposing an active material on the flexible base. Coating, laminating and printing is equated with embodiments absent adhesive layer.
Hockaday teaches the active material is applied in patterns [0068]-[0070], [0210]-[0213], lattice patterns, slit patterns [0404]-[0417].
As shown in Fig. 1b and 8A below, the bi-material response to a high humidity changes the shape from a flat laminate to a laminate with 3-D shape of open flaps or undulating openings.
Hockaday teaches the flaps open and allow fluids such as air to flow through the openings [0049], [0107], and [0488].
The open flaps are equated with a predetermined 3-dimensional transformed shape.
Hockaday teaches the sprayed on film thickness can be adjusted to give the actuator more or less mechanical actuation strength by adjusting the thickness of the coating [0483]. Hockaday film thickness and mechanical actuation strength and the force form a single linear element is proportional to the humidity coefficient of expansion times the modulus of elasticity times the change in humidity [0031] and when working against a force, the amount of actuation (curl or rotation) is proportional to the humidity modulus times the change in relative humidity and thickness [0033]. The force described by Hockaday is equated with active material is disposed in varying amounts on the flexible base material wherein the thicker deposition layer has greater force of reaction and more stiffness. More or less mechanical actuation strength is equated with force of reaction and stiffness.
Hockaday teaches the material that responds to environmental changes, e.g. temperature, chemical or humidity [0531] is equated with the active material is a material reactive to exposure to a first external stimulus as claimed.
Hockaday teaches the substrate has high modulus of elasticity, equated with flexible base material, is unaffected by humidity [0030] as claimed.
Hockaday teaches that when the laminate is exposed to temperature or humidity, the laminate produces a mechanical motion and opening or closing of apertures [0003]-[0012] as shown in fig. 1A. The opening of the aperture is equated with 3-dimensional transformed shape as claimed.
Hockaday teaches the thickness and pattern of the reactive material [0033] and as shown in Figs. 2A-2B; 3A-3B; 6A-6B and therefore equated with the predetermined transformed shape and a shape different from the shape without the exposure of the combined structure to the external stimulus that activates the material that response to the temperature or humidity as claimed.
[0033] The radius of curvature of a bi-material strip due to a humidity change is proportional to the thickness of the materials divided by the difference in humidity coefficients of expansion and the change in relative humidity. The practical result is that small radius of curvature actuation is obtained by using thin substrates and high humidity coefficients of expansion. The amount of actuation (curl or rotation) is proportional to the difference in the humidity coefficients of expansion of the two materials and the change in relative humidity. When working against a force, the amount of actuation (curl or rotation) is proportional to the humidity modulus times the change in relative humidity and thickness.
Hockaday teaches the humidity, temperature expansion material components [0025]-[0033] and as shown in the table wherein the combination of a material that expands when exposed to humidity and a material that is unaffected by humidity. The active material is equated to the material that expands upon exposure to humidity and equated to the claimed “the active material reacts, amplifies, or inhibits the flexible base material” as Hockaday teaches the radius of curvature of the bi-material strip due to the humidity change is proportional to the thickness of materials divided by different in humidity coefficients of expansion and change in relative humidity.
Hockaday teaches the same for temperature responsive materials [0035]-[0039] and therefore the active material reacts, amplifies the bi-material with the flexible base material.
Hockaday teaches expansion material components [0040]-[0044], equated with active materials, wherein there can be photo catalysts [0044] wherein a light stimulated actuation occurs where the light stimulate a chemical reaction such as forming hydrogen gas from methanol with light interacting with titanium dioxide photo catalyst suspended in electrolyte where the hydrogen gas creates an expansion force and actuates a membrane [0044].
Hockaday teaches the fibers can be colored suggesting colors in the materials [0520] as well as titanium oxide which is a pigment [0022]. Hockaday teaches a hydrophilic and expanding polymer electrolyte such as DAIS [0483]and a hydrophilic material is equated with a surface active agent. The composition including titanium oxide and polymers such as polyaramid, polyester, polyimide [0489] are also equated with a stabilizer and inhibitor as titanium oxide would inherently be inert and would function as claimed.
Wherein Hockaday does not explicitly teach a force of reaction, Hockaday teaches the bi-material structures reacts to pressure by curling. The curling opens the flap structure [0483]. Hockaday is not specific with regard to a 2-dimension and 3-dimensional shape, Hockaday shows the bi-material unexposed to the environmental change as flat and then exposed to environmental change as curled to open the apertures.
It is reasonable to presume that the properties are inherent to Hockaday as the materials (a material unaffected to humidity/temperature and a material that expands in response to humidity/temperature) and structure (two layers) are the same and Hockaday teaches the same functional reactions of the bi-material to exposure to humidity or temperature and the same method of making the material. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention the examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine an unresponsive material and a responsive material by the claimed method motivated to produce a laminate that changes shape to open apertures to allow for diffusion in the laminate to regulate humidity/temperature.
As to claims 3 and 17, Hockaday teaches the flap valve designs in a pattern that are coated or laminated with a material that expands when humidified as shown in the figures above [0049]. Hockaday also teaches the responsive or active material is printed on the substrate in paragraph [0485], [0486], [0488], and [0498]. Hockaday teaches the claimed methods of laminating or printing or adhering (coating) the active material onto the substrate (flexible base material).
As to claim 4, Hockaday teaches the radius of curvature of the bi-material strip due to a humidity changes is proportional to the thickness of the materials [0033] and similarly the radius of curvature of a bi-material strip (structure) due to a temperature change is proportional to the thickness of the layers divided by the difference in thermal expansion coefficient and the change in temperature [0038]. Hockaday teaches the strips are formed 20 micron wide and 60 micron apart strips [0521] as shown in Fig. 26A which is equated with the claimed particular heights and widths of active material along the pattern.
As to claims 5 and 18, Hockaday teaches the active material can be printed on in patterns to provide the preferential bending direction as shown in figures 1B, 2A and 8A. Hockaday teaches the differential properties of humidity expansion and temperature expansion in the tables under [0029] and [0035] and therefore tailors the properties of the bi-material laminate to achieve the desired change upon exposure to humidity and temperature.
As to claim 6, Hockaday teaches the external stimulus can be one of humidity, temperature, chemical environment or light (ABST).
As to claims 7 and 20, Hockaday teaches the substrate (base material) is porous polyimide with a high modulus of elasticity [0030] which is equated with a plastic material.
As to claims 8 and 21, Hockaday teaches the substrate can be a porous polyimide which is equated with a plastic material. Hockaday teaches the substrates can be fibers and fabrics [0086]. Hockaday teaches another embodiment of woven fabric from bi-material actuating fibers. The fibers are co-extruded from materials such as polyethylene or polyester. One side of the fiber is polyethylene and the other side is polyester. Hockaday teaches the bi-material fiber reacts to changes in temperature with the polyethylene 377 expanding or contracting more than the polyester [0513]. The polyethylene is equated with the active material and the polyester is equated with the base substrate material.
As to claims 9, 19 and 22, Hockaday teaches the second material responds to humidity, temperature, chemical environment or light. Hockaday teaches the bi-material fiber reacts to changes in temperature with the polyethylene 377 expanding or contracting more than the polyester. The bending of the fiber causes the fabric to thicken perpendicular to the plane of the fabric and shrink in the plane of the fabric [0513].
As to claims 10 and 23, Hockaday teaches the responsive materials can be Nafion or a hydrogel [0047] and teaches the printed material is a polymer, i.e. a plastic material [0485].
As to claims 11, 12, 24 and 25, Hockaday teaches a laminate actuator composed of two materials (bi-material actuation) one that swells when exposed to high humidity and another that does not [0023] the inclusion materials 212 absorb the water and swell [0504]. The polyethylene of the bi-material fiber reacts to changes in temperature to expand or contract [0513] which is equated with swelling or shrinking. Hockaday teaches in fig. 2A an array of flap valves with temperature and humidity actuation. The substrate is a 10 micron thick polyester and a print-sprayed deposit of a high coefficient of expansion material such as a film of low density of polyethylene 24 is deposited on the substrate 23 [0485].
As to claims 13, 14, 26 and 27, Hockaday teaches both reversible and irreversible actuation [0607].
As to claims 16, Hockaday teaches the natural shape and equated with the shape prior to exposure to humidity, temperature, chemical environment or light which actuates the multilayered structure. Hockaday teaches exposing the pattern to an environmental stimulus, humidity, causes the laminate to change shape and provide an aperture as shown in figure 1B.
As to claim 28, Hockaday teaches a flat laminate structure prior to exposing to the external stimulus, e.g. humidity or temperature and then a three dimensional shape after exposure as shown in Fig. 1B, 2A and 8A.
As to claim 29, Hockaday teaches a number of flaps as shown in Fig. 1B and 2B.
As to claim 30, Hockaday teaches the external stimulus can include temperature (ABST), [0003], [0011].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see claim 1, filed 4/23/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) of claim 1 and dependent claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention is distinct form the cited prior art and Hockaday does not disclose or suggest the claim amendments which include one or more additive is comprised of materials including a photo initiator, a surface active agent, a dye or paint, a stabilizer and inhibitor.
Hockaday teaches photo catalysts can be incorporated into the active layer and therefore teaches the claimed amendments. Applicants arguments are not persuasive.
The rejection is revised per the amendments and maintained.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789