Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 10-11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mather et al. (US-20080232002-A1 referred as Mather) in view of Lochner (US-20220094322-A1).
Regarding claim 1. Mather discloses a magnetic device comprising:
a first magnetic layer ([0018], figure 3, a first magnetic layer #104);
a second magnetic layer ([0018], figure 3, a second magnetic layer #108); and
a nonmagnetic layer between the first and second magnetic layers ([0018], figure 3, a nonmagnetic layer #106 in between the first and second magnetic layers #104/108) and including:
a first layer in contact with the first magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide ([0020, 0024], figure 3, a first layer #302 in contact with the first magnetic layer #302 and including magnesium oxide as described),
a second layer in contact with the second magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide ([0020, 0024], figure 3, a second layer #306 in contact with the second magnetic layer #108 and including magnesium oxide as described), and
a third layer between the first and second layers ([0020, 0024], figure 3, a third layer #305 is in between first layer #302 and second layer #306).
Mather lacks a third layer including a scandium nitride, wherein a thickness of the third layer is larger than the combined thickness of the first and second layer.
Lochner discloses a third layer including a scandium nitride, wherein a thickness of the third layer is larger than the combined thickness of the first and second layer ([0027, 0032], figure 1, the third layer #140 in between includes scandium nitride and is also thicker than the combined thickness of first layer #150 and second layer #125, which are both dielectric layers on the opposite sides of 140 similar to claimed first and second layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather to include a thicker third layer including a scandium nitride as taught by Lochner (also note MPEP 2144.04 IV A discusses obvious changes in size) in order to enhance the corrosion resistance, allow for electrical tunability, and to enhance the insulation therein.
Regarding claim 5. Mather as modified lacks wherein the third layer further includes at least one selected from the group consisting of argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron.
Mather discloses each barrier layer 302, 305, and 306 comprises a metal oxide, a metal nitride, or a metal oxynitride material--that is, a metal (e.g., Mg, Ti, Gd, Hf, Al, Zr, Y, Ta and the alloys thereof) that has been suitably oxidized, nitridized, or oxynitridized via exposure to various compositions of oxygen and/or nitrogen quoted from paragraph 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather as modified to further include wherein the third layer further includes the group consisting of argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron in order to have an enhanced device versatility, greater range of thermal protection, and to reduce manufacturing costs of materials.
Regarding claim 6. Mather as modified lacks wherein at least one of the first and second layers includes at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum, zinc, gallium, argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron.
Mather as modified discloses each barrier layer 302, 305, and 306 comprises a metal oxide, a metal nitride, or a metal oxynitride material--that is, a metal (e.g., Mg, Ti, Gd, Hf, Al, Zr, Y, Ta and the alloys thereof) that has been suitably oxidized, nitridized, or oxynitridized via exposure to various compositions of oxygen and/or nitrogen quoted from paragraph 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather as modified to further include wherein at least one of the first and second layers includes at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum, zinc, gallium, argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron in order to have an enhanced device versatility, greater range of thermal protection, and to reduce manufacturing costs of materials.
Regarding claim 7. Mather discloses wherein the total thickness of the first, second, and third layers is 4-30 Angstroms (paragraph 23).
Mather lacks specifically disclosing wherein where x is a total thickness of the first, second, and third layers in nanometers, and y is a composition ratio of the nitride in a composite material of the first, second, and third layers in percentages, a lower limit value α of the composition ratio y is 20% when the total thickness x is 0.5≤x<1.25 (nm), the lower limit value α of the composition ratio y is α=74.2x-72.53 (%) when the total thickness x is 1.25≤x<1.84 (nm), and the lower limit value α of the composition ratio y is 64% when the total thickness x is 1.84≤x≤2.5 (nm), and an upper limit value β of the composition ratio y is 60% when the total thickness x is 0.5≤x<1.37 (nm), the upper limit value β of the composition ratio y is β=87.5x-59.88 (%) when the total thickness x is 1.37≤x<1.61 (nm), and the upper limit value β of the composition ratio y is 81% when the total thickness x is 1.61≤x≤2.5 (nm).
MPEP 2144.05 – describes overlapping, approaching, and similar ranges, amounts, and proportions: In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather as modified to include wherein the total thickness of the first, second, and third layers is in the higher part of the range, thus between 2.6 – 3.0 nm (26-30 Angstroms), which in the case the range is on the high side, the when clause is never initiated as taught by Mather in order to increase the versatility to have thicker large scale devices, reduced cost in manufacturing, and to increase the devices lifetime.
Regarding claim 8. Mather as modified discloses wherein a total thickness of the first, second, and third layers is within a range of 0.8 nm or more and 2.1 nm or less ([0023], figure 3, the total thickness of the first, second, and third layers #302/306/305 is in between 0.8 – 2.1 nm which is 8 – 21 angstroms).
Regarding claim 9. Mather as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the first magnetic layer and at least a portion of the second magnetic layer include cobalt, iron, and boron ([0019], figure 3, atleast a portion of the first magnetic layer #104 and a portion of the second magnetic layer #108 contains cobalt, iron and boron as described).
Regarding claim 10. Mather discloses a magnetic device comprising:
a first magnetic layer ([0018], figure 3, a first magnetic layer #104);
a second magnetic layer ([0018], figure 3, a second magnetic layer #108); and
a nonmagnetic layer between the first and second magnetic layers ([0018], figure 3, a nonmagnetic layer #106 in between the first and second magnetic layers #104/108) and including:
a first layer in contact with the first magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide ([0020], figure 3, a first layer #302 in contact with the first magnetic layer #104 and includes magnesium oxide as described),
a second layer in contact with the second magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide ([0020], figure 3, a second layer #306 in contact with the second magnetic layer #108 and including magnesium oxide as described), and
a third layer between the first and second layers and including a nitride having a smaller bandgap than that of a magnesium oxide and a smaller enthalpy of formation than that of a boron nitride ([0020], figure 3, a third layer #305 is in between the first and second layers #302/306 which is made of yttrium nitride (YN) as described. Its known in the art for YN to have a smaller bandgap than magnesium oxide. The enthalpy of YN is -315 kJmol which is less than the enthalpy of boron nitride being -254 kJmol), wherein
the third layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a scandium nitride, a hafnium nitride, a titanium nitride, an yttrium nitride, a zirconium nitride, and a lanthanum nitride ([0020], figure 3, the third layer #305 includes yttrium nitride (YN)).
Mather lacks a thickness of the third layer is larger than the combined thickness of the first and second layer.
Lochner discloses a thickness of the third layer is larger than the combined thickness of the first and second layer ([0027, 0032], figure 1, the third layer #140 in between includes scandium nitride and is also thicker than the combined thickness of first layer #150 and second layer #125, which are both dielectric layers on the opposite sides of 140 similar to claimed first and second layers)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather to include a thicker third layer as taught by Lochner (also note MPEP 2144.04 IV A discusses obvious changes in size) in order to enhance the corrosion resistance, allow for electrical tunability, and to enhance the insulation therein.
Regarding claim 11. Mather as modified discloses wherein each of the first, second, and third layers includes a crystal having a rock salt structure ([0020], figure 3, it is known in the art for the first and second layer #302/306 made of magnesium oxide to have a rock crystal structure and also for the third layer #305 made of YN to have a rock crystal structure).
Regarding claim 17. Mather as modified discloses wherein a total thickness of the first, second, and third layers is within a range of 0.8 nm or more and 2.1 nm or less ([0023], figure 3, the total thickness of the first, second, and third layers #302/306/305 is in between 0.8 – 2.1 nm which is 8 – 21 angstroms).
Regarding claim 18. Mather as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the first magnetic layer and at least a portion of the second magnetic layer include cobalt, iron, and boron ([0019], figure 3, at least a portion of the first magnetic layer #104 and a portion of the second magnetic layer #108 contains cobalt, iron and boron as described).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mather et al. (US-20080232002-A1 referred as Mather) and Lochner (US-20220094322-A1) in further view of Kim et al. (US-20120112298-A1 referred as Kim).
Regarding claim 2. Uchida as modified lacks a substrate, wherein the first layer is closer to the substrate than the second layer, and the first layer is thicker than the second layer.
Kim discloses a substrate, wherein the first layer is closer to the substrate than the second layer, and the first layer is thicker than the second layer ([0074], figure 5, the first layer #135a is closer to the substrate #100 than the second layer #235a, and the first layer #135a is thicker than the second layer #235a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Uchida as modified to further modify the first layer and the second layer as taught by Kim in order to enhance the devices integrity, distribute weight across the device, and to reduce stress points.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mather et al. (US-20080232002-A1 referred as Mather) and Lochner (US-20220094322-A1) in further view of Tseng et al. (US-20170133584-A1 referred as Tseng).
Regarding claim 3. Uchida as modified lacks wherein the third layer further includes a scandium oxide.
Tseng discloses wherein the third layer further includes a scandium oxide ([0027], figure 1a, a third layer #140 further includes scandium nitride and scandium oxide in combination as described).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Uchida as modified to further include wherein the third layer further includes a scandium oxide as taught by Tseng in order to contain lightweight alloys, advantages reduced fuel consumption in aircraft applications, and for enhanced durability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mather et al. (US-20080232002-A1 referred as Mather), Lochner (US-20220094322-A1) and Tseng et al. (US-20170133584-A1 referred as Tseng), in further view of Hwang et al. (US-20150048299-A1 referred as Hwang).
Regarding claim 4. Uchida as modified lacks wherein a concentration of the scandium oxide at at least any one of an interface of the third layer with the first layer and an interface of the third layer with the second layer is higher than a concentration of the scandium oxide inside the third layer.
Hwang discloses wherein a concentration of the scandium oxide at at least any one of an interface of the third layer with the first layer and an interface of the third layer with the second layer is higher than a concentration of the scandium oxide inside the third layer ([0041], figure 1, the concentration of oxide is greater on the third layers #25a interface closest to the layer #25b than the center of the third layer #25a as described. Please note that the concentration of oxide could also gradually change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Uchida as modified to further include wherein the concentration of oxide is greater on an interface than the center of the third layer as taught by Hwang in order to have an enhanced electrical isolation, improved protection to the underlying layers, and with an enhanced chemical stability.
Claims 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mather et al. (US-20080232002-A1 referred as Mather) and Lochner (US-20220094322-A1).
Regarding claim 12. Mather lacks wherein the third layer further includes at least one oxide selected from the group consisting of a scandium oxide, a hafnium oxide, a titanium oxide, an yttrium oxide, a zirconium oxide, and a lanthanum oxide.
Mather as modified discloses each barrier layer 302, 305, and 306 comprises a metal oxide, a metal nitride, or a metal oxynitride material--that is, a metal (e.g., Mg, Ti, Gd, Hf, Al, Zr, Y, Ta and the alloys thereof) that has been suitably oxidized, nitridized, or oxynitridized via exposure to various compositions of oxygen and/or nitrogen quoted from paragraph 20 (So Mather clearly teaches either of a metal oxide or a metal nitride, but lacks the combination of both besides the statement of ‘exposure to various compositions of oxygen and/or nitrogen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather to further include wherein the third layer includes both a scandium oxide and a scandium nitride in order to have enhanced electrical properties, a thermal stability, and to expand for versatile functionalities.
Regarding claim 14. Mather lacks wherein the third layer further includes at least one selected from the group consisting of argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron.
Mather as modified discloses each barrier layer 302, 305, and 306 comprises a metal oxide, a metal nitride, or a metal oxynitride material--that is, a metal (e.g., Mg, Ti, Gd, Hf, Al, Zr, Y, Ta and the alloys thereof) that has been suitably oxidized, nitridized, or oxynitridized via exposure to various compositions of oxygen and/or nitrogen quoted from paragraph 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather to further include wherein the third layer further includes the group consisting of argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron in order to have an enhanced device versatility, greater range of thermal protection, and to reduce manufacturing costs of materials.
Regarding claim 15. Mather lacks wherein at least one of the first and second layers includes at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum, zinc, gallium, argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron.
Mather discloses each barrier layer 302, 305, and 306 comprises a metal oxide, a metal nitride, or a metal oxynitride material--that is, a metal (e.g., Mg, Ti, Gd, Hf, Al, Zr, Y, Ta and the alloys thereof) that has been suitably oxidized, nitridized, or oxynitridized via exposure to various compositions of oxygen and/or nitrogen quoted from paragraph 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather as modified to further include wherein at least one of the first and second layers includes at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum, zinc, gallium, argon, krypton, cobalt, iron, platinum, and boron in order to have an enhanced device versatility, greater range of thermal protection, and to reduce manufacturing costs of materials.
Regarding claim 16. Mather discloses wherein the total thickness of the first, second, and third layers is 4-30 Angstroms (paragraph 23).
Mather lacks specifically disclosing wherein where x is a total thickness of the first, second, and third layers in nanometers, and y is a composition ratio of the nitride in a composite material of the first, second, and third layers in percentages, a lower limit value α of the composition ratio y is 20% when the total thickness x is 0.5≤x<1.25 (nm), the lower limit value α of the composition ratio y is α=74.2x-72.53 (%) when the total thickness x is 1.25≤x<1.84 (nm), and the lower limit value α of the composition ratio y is 64% when the total thickness x is 1.84≤x≤2.5 (nm), and an upper limit value β of the composition ratio y is 60% when the total thickness x is 0.5≤x<1.37 (nm), the upper limit value β of the composition ratio y is β=87.5x-59.88 (%) when the total thickness x is 1.37≤x<1.61 (nm), and the upper limit value β of the composition ratio y is 81% when the total thickness x is 1.61≤x≤2.5 (nm).
MPEP 2144.05 – describes overlapping, approaching, and similar ranges, amounts, and proportions: In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Mather as modified to include wherein the total thickness of the first, second, and third layers is in the higher part of the range, thus between 2.6 – 3.0 nm (26-30 Angstroms), which in the case the range is on the high side, the when clause is never initiated as taught by Mather in order to increase the versatility to have thicker large scale devices, reduced cost in manufacturing, and to increase the devices lifetime.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mather et al. (US-20080232002-A1 referred as Mather) and Lochner (US-20220094322-A1) in further view of Hwang et al. (US-20150048299-A1 referred as Hwang).
Regarding claim 13. Mather discloses wherein a concentration of the oxide at at least any one of an interface of the third layer with the first layer and an interface of the third layer with the second layer is higher than a concentration of the oxide inside the third layer.
Hwang discloses wherein a concentration of the oxide at at least any one of an interface of the third layer with the first layer and an interface of the third layer with the second layer is higher than a concentration of the oxide inside the third layer ([0041], figure 1, the concentration of oxide is greater on the third layers #25a interface closest to the layer #25b than the center of the third layer #25a as described. Please note that the concentration of oxide could also gradually change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Uchida as modified to further include wherein the concentration of oxide is greater on an interface than the center of the third layer as taught by Hwang in order to have an enhanced electrical isolation, improved protection to the underlying layers, and with an enhanced chemical stability.
Claim 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida et al. (US-20230352070-A1 referred as Uchida), in view of Mather et al. (US-20080232002-A1 referred as Mather) and Lochner (US-20220094322-A1).
Regarding claim 19. Uchida discloses a magnetic storage device comprising:
a plurality of first wirings extending along a first direction ([0173], figure 2 and figure 4, a plurality of first wirings #42 extend along a first direction);
a plurality of second wirings extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction ([0173], figure 4, a plurality of second wirings #61 extend along a second direction intersecting the first direction); and
a plurality of magnetic devices each electrically connected to a corresponding one of the first wirings and a corresponding one of the second wirings therebetween ([0173], figure 2, figure 4, and figure 6a, a plurality of magnetic devices #30/35 are each connected to a corresponding one of the first wirings #42 and a corresponding second wiring #61 in between).
Uchida lacks wherein each of the magnetic devices includes:
a first magnetic layer, a
second magnetic layer, and
a nonmagnetic layer between the first and second magnetic layers and including:
a first layer in contact with the first magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide,
a second layer in contact with the second magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide, and
a third layer between the first and second layers and including a scandium nitride.
Mather discloses wherein each of the magnetic devices includes:
a first magnetic layer ([0018], figure 3, a first magnetic layer #104);
a second magnetic layer ([0018], figure 3, a second magnetic layer #108); and
a nonmagnetic layer between the first and second magnetic layers ([0018], figure 3, a nonmagnetic layer #106 in between the first and second magnetic layers #104/108) and including:
a first layer in contact with the first magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide ([0020, 0024], figure 3, a first layer #302 in contact with the first magnetic layer #302 and including magnesium oxide as described),
a second layer in contact with the second magnetic layer and including a magnesium oxide ([0020, 0024], figure 3, a second layer #306 in contact with the second magnetic layer #108 and including magnesium oxide as described), and
a third layer between the first and second layers ([0020, 0024], figure 3, a third layer #305 is in between first layer #302 and second layer #306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Uchida to include a magnetic device and all the multiple layers within as taught by Mather in order to have a wider bandgap, to achieve higher spin polarization, and to prevent diffusion between electrodes.
Uchida as modified by Mather still lacks a third layer including a scandium nitride, wherein a thickness of the third layer is larger than a combined thickness of the first layer and the second layer.
Lochner discloses a third layer including a scandium nitride, wherein a thickness of the third layer is larger than a combined thickness of the first layer and the second layer ([0027, 0032], figure 1, the third layer #140 in between includes scandium nitride and is also thicker than the combined thickness of first layer #150 and second layer #125, which are both dielectric layers on the opposite sides of 140 similar to claimed first and second layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Uchida as modified by Mather to include a thicker third layer including a scandium nitride as taught by Lochner (also note MPEP 2144.04 IV A discusses obvious changes in size) in order to enhance the corrosion resistance, allow for electrical tunability, and to enhance the insulation therein.
Regarding claim 20. Uchida as modified discloses wherein the first and second magnetic layers and the nonmagnetic layer are stacked along a third direction intersecting the first and second directions ([0173], figure 2, figure 4, and figure 6a, the first magnetic layer #33 and the second magnetic layer #31 and the nonmagnetic layers #32 are stacked in a third direction intersecting the first and second directions).
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that Applicant's arguments are related to the amended subject matter, simply stating the new amendments are not seen in the prior art. As is seen in the new rejection above, these amended features are disclosed by the prior art by new prior art. All the arguments relating to limitations previously presented and rejected in the last arguments will be addressed below.
For claims 1, 10, and 19 .... "Applicant's amendments and arguments were persuasive. Upon further search and consideration a new rejection using a different interpretation of Mather et al. in combination with newly cited reference to Lochner has been presented with regard to claims 1, 10, and 19."
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB RAUL MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818