DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 19 have been amended.
Claims 12 has been canceled
Claims 1- 11 and 13 – 20 are pending
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 has been amended, however claim 2 has not been labeled as “amended” but still retains an identifier as “original” which is incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 8 – 11 and 13 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tastad (2011/0003631) in view of Tran et al (US 2009/0187125) in view of Miner et al (US 2012/0282997).
As per claim 1, Tastad discloses:
a game deck; (Tastad Fig 1, #106)
a pedestal positioned on the game deck; (Tastad discloses pedestal or base that the gaming machine comprising the display is positioned on wherein the pedestal or base is positioned on the sled (i.e. deck). See Figs 4 and 5 wherein the wheels and a portion of the sled (#506, #502, #522) is position under the pedestal of Fig 4 and the deck is attached to the pedestal, thus the pedestal is positioned on the sled) (Tastad Fig 1, 4, 5, #108)
a main display mounted to the pedestal and supported above the game deck by the pedestal; (Tastad discloses main display mounted on the pedestal and supported above the sled) (Tastad Fig 1)
a gaming chair positioned on the game deck and spaced from the pedestal on the game deck, wherein the pedestal extends from the game deck to the main display, the gaming chair comprising: (Tastad discloses a gaming chair #102 on the game sled and spaced from pedestal #108, wherein the pedestal extends upward to cause the main display (game machine with display) to be positioned on) (Tastad Fig 1)
a chair body comprising a chair base and a seat supported by the chair base; (Tastad discloses a seat #112 and chair base ( #110, #122, #105 collectively) (Tastad Fig 1)
a plurality of player interface hardware elements coupled to the chair body and accessible by a player seated on the seat… (Tastad discloses interface elements such as speaker accessible by the player seated in the chair) (Tastad Fig 1, #124)
an electrical connector configured to couple the power supply unit to the main display wherein the electrical connector extends from the chair body, through the game deck, into the pedestal and to the main display. (Tastad discloses a gaming machine that comprises a main display (Fig 10, #1014) wherein the game machine powers the main display to play a game of chance, wherein the main display is spaced from the chair body and an electrical wires connect the game machine to that chair, through the sled #106, wherein the electrical wires facilitate an electrical connection between the chair and the gaming machine through the pedestal) (Tastad 0028 – 0029)
Tastad fails to disclose:
…for providing a game play input; and
a power supply unit positioned inside the chair body the power supply unit being configured to receive electrical power from a main power supply connection and distribute output power at one or more specified regulated voltages to provide power to the plurality of player interface hardware elements and a main display spaced on the game deck from the chair base; and
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tran teaches a chair that is used for wagering game purposes wherein the chair comprises a plurality of player interface elements coupled to the chair body and accessible by a player) (Tran Fig 1, #42 — 45, 20b). Regarding the limitations directed towards “a power supply unit positioned inside the chair body”, the Examiner notes that Tran discloses a gaming chair that comprises a gaming computer position within the chair (Tran 0044). Tran further discloses that that the gaming computer further comprises electronics that are known in the art for the generation and display of a gambling game (Tran 0049). Power supplies are well known computing components or electronics used in gaming computers.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Tastad in view of Tran to provide a gaming chair that comprises player input elements that enable a user to provide game inputs. This would enable a player greater flexibility in terms of ergonomics and comfort to enable them to play the game in varying positions. It would also obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to specify that the gaming computer of Tran comprises a power supply to provide electrical power to power the various electrical components of the gaming chair and the gaming display for the generation and display of the gambling game. Tran further discloses that that the gaming computer further comprises electronics that are known in the art for the generation and display of a gambling game (Tran 0049). Power supplies are well known computing components or electronics used in gaming computers.
In a similar field of endeavor, Miner discloses a game machine that interfaces with a gaming chair wherein the gaming chair comprises a power supply #840 that receives power from a gaming machine power supply connection and provides power at a specified voltage (Miner 0079 – 0082). The Examiner further notes that Miner teaches the use of a power supply #840 that is in contained within the chair wherein the power supply provides power to a programmable light display. Miner states “The programmable light display 844 can be a marquee with scrolling and/or blinking lights, or can be a display screen that is driven according to instructions indicated by the digital signals 830. The audio amplifier 842 is then coupled to the speaker 524, and optionally to other speakers (such as the speaker 526 and subwoofer 528 shown in FIG. 5) (Miner 0082).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Tastad in view of Miner to utilize a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way by providing a gaming chair that comprises a power supply that provides power at specified voltages to interface elements such as a separate display screen. This be beneficial as it will provide additional power redundancy and flexibility when it comes to providing power to additional electrical components of the gaming chair as needed.
As per claim 2, further comprising a game controller coupled in communication with the plurality of player interface hardware elements, the game controller including a processor that executes game play instructions in accordance with game play inputs, executes game play rules and outputs game play outcomes. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, wherein Tran teaches a game controller in communication with player interface elements of the gaming chair, wherein the gaming machine executes gaming instructions to play the game according to game rules) (Tran 0026, 0049, 0055)
As per claim 3, wherein the game controller is configured to be coupled in communication with the main display to display the game play outcomes output by the game controller. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, wherein Tran teaches a game controller in communication with the game display to play a game comprising game outcomes) (Tran 0044, 0049)
As per claim 4, wherein the game controller is positioned inside the chair body. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, Tran teaches a game controller in the chair body) (Tran 0049, #20a)
As per claim 5,
Tastad discloses a sled (i.e. game deck) that contains electrical wires that are used to communication signals and power from a game machine to a gaming chair as applied to claim 1.
Tastad fails to disclose:
further comprising a display connector extending from the chair body, through the game deck, and to the main display for coupling the main display in wired communication with the game controller.
However, Tran teaches a gaming chair wherein a display is electrically connected to a game controller in the gaming chair by means of electrical connection through a support member (Tran Fig 1, #50, #51, #52).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Tastad in view of Tran to provide an electrical connecting means that is housed in a support member such as the sled. This would be an obvious way to protect fragile electrical components by containing the wires withing a structurally strong housing. This would also enable the display to be position at a distance that is more comfortable to the user while they are playing the game.
As per claim 6, wherein the power supply unit provides power to each of the plurality of player interface hardware elements. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, Tran teaches “First, second and third control buttons 43, 44 and 45, respectively, are preferably in electrical communication with gaming computer 20a, wherein gaming computer 20a preferably comprises the electronics as such are known in the art for generation and display of a gambling game) (Tran 0049).
As per claim 8, wherein the main display includes at least one of a video display, a virtual reality component, an augmented reality component, a hologram component, a projector element or a slot machine reel. (Tastad 0046)
As per claim 9, wherein the plurality of player interface hardware elements is selected from the group of: a speaker, a video display, an input/output element, a card and/or ticket reader, a printer, a bill acceptor and/or coin input mechanism, and a coin or token output mechanism. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, Tran 0049)
As per claim 10, wherein the gaming chair further comprises an access door for providing access to the power supply unit. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, Tran teaches “Right arm rest 39 further comprises security card slot 76, wherein security card slot 76 allows access to computer 20a for servicing/adjustment upon insertion of authorized security access card AC into security card slot 76. Insertion of authorized security access card AC into security card slot 76 further provides access to dispenser box 90 for retrieval of cash, or the event that dispenser box 90 requires additional cash for dispersal, such can be added subsequent to access authorized via authorized security access card AC inserted into security card slot 76.”) (Tran 0051)
Independent claim(s) 11 is/are obvious by Tastad, Tran and Miner based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 1, which are similar in claim scope.
As per claim 13, wherein the gaming chair and the pedestal are each attached to the game deck (Tastad Fig 1, #108, #106, #104)
As per claim 14, wherein at least one of the gaming chair and the pedestal is slidably mounted to the game deck to adjust a distance between the gaming chair and the main display. (Tastad 0029)
As per claim 15, wherein the pedestal is sized to support the main display vertically above the game deck at least partly at an eye level of a player seated in the gaming chair. (Tastad Fig 1, Game machine display is positioned above sled and is eye-level) (Tastad Fig 1)
As per claim 16, further comprising a game controller coupled in communication with the plurality of player interface hardware elements, the game controller including a processor that executes game play instructions in accordance with game play inputs, executes game play rules and outputs game play outcomes. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, wherein Tran teaches a game controller in communication with player interface elements of the gaming chair, wherein the gaming machine executes gaming instructions to play the game according to game rules) (Tran 0026, 0049, 0055)
As per claim 17, wherein the main display is coupled in communication with the game controller to display the game play outcomes output by the game controller. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, wherein Tran teaches a game controller in communication with the game display to play a game comprising game outcomes) (Tran 0044, 0049)
As per claim 18, wherein the game controller is positioned inside the chair body. (Combination of Tastad in view of Tran as applied above, wherein Tran teaches a game controller in communication with the game display to play a game comprising game outcomes) (Tran 0044, 0049)
As per claim 19,
providing a game deck; (Tastad Fig 1, #106)
positioning a pedestal on the game deck; (Tastad discloses pedestal or base that the gaming machine comprising the display is positioned on wherein the pedestal or base is positioned on the sled (i.e. deck). See Figs 4 and 5 wherein the wheels and a portion of the sled (#506, #502, #522) is position under the pedestal of Fig 4 and the deck is attached to the pedestal, thus the pedestal is positioned on the sled) (Tastad Fig 1, 4, 5, #108)
positioning a gaming chair on the game deck, the gaming chair including a chair body; (Tastad discloses a gaming chair #102 on the game sled and spaced from pedestal #108, wherein the pedestal extends upward to cause the main display (game machine with display) to be positioned on) (Tastad Fig 1)
mounting a main display on the pedestal, wherein the main display is supported above the game deck by the pedestal, the pedestal extends from the game deck to the main display, and the gaming chair is spaced from the pedestal on the game deck; (Tastad discloses main display mounted on the pedestal and supported above the sled. Tastad discloses a gaming chair #102 on the game sled and spaced from pedestal #108, wherein the pedestal extends upward to cause the main display (game machine with display) to be positioned on) (Tastad Fig 1)
providing a gaming chair including a chair body (Tastad discloses a gaming chair with a chair body that comprises a seat #112 and chair base ( #110, #122, #105 collectively) (Tastad Fig 1) a plurality of player interface hardware elements incorporated into the chair body…(Tastad discloses interface elements such as speaker accessible by the player seated in the chair) (Tastad Fig 1, #124)
Tastad fails to disclose:
… a plurality of player interface hardware elements incorporated into the chair body for providing game play inputs, and a power supply unit positioned inside the chair body…
coupling an electrical connector to the power supply unit and the main display, where the electrical connector extends from the chair body, through the game deck, and into the pedestal, the power supply unit, the power supply unit configured to receive electrical power from a main power supply connection and distribute output power at one or more specified regulated voltages to provide power to the plurality of player interface hardware elements and the main display.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tran teaches a chair that is used for waging game purposes wherein the chair comprises a plurality of player interface elements coupled to the chair body and accessible by a player) (Tran Fig 1, #42 — 45, 20b). Regarding the limitations directed towards “a power supply unit positioned inside the chair body”, the Examiner notes that Tran discloses a gaming chair that comprises a gaming computer position within the chair (Tran 0044). Tran further discloses that that the gaming computer further comprises electronics that are known in the art for the generation and display of a gambling game (Tran 0049). Power supplies are well known computing components or electronics used in gaming computers.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Tastad in view of Tran to provide a gaming chair that comprises player input elements that enable a user to provide game inputs. This would enable a player greater flexibility in terms of ergonomics and comfort to enable them to play the game in varying positions. It would also obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to specify that the gaming computer of Tran comprises a power supply to provide electrical power to power the various electrical components of the gaming chair and the gaming display for the generation and display of the gambling game. Tran further discloses that that the gaming computer further comprises electronics that are known in the art for the generation and display of a gambling game (Tran 0049). Power supplies are well known computing components or electronics used in gaming computers.
In a similar field of endeavor, Miner discloses a game machine that interfaces with a gaming chair wherein the gaming chair comprises a power supply #840 that receives power from a gaming machine power supply connection and provides power at a specified voltage (Miner 0079 – 0082). The Examiner further notes that Miner teaches the use of a power supply #840 that is in contained within the chair wherein the power supply provides power to a programmable light display. Miner states “The programmable light display 844 can be a marquee with scrolling and/or blinking lights, or can be a display screen that is driven according to instructions indicated by the digital signals 830. The audio amplifier 842 is then coupled to the speaker 524, and optionally to other speakers (such as the speaker 526 and subwoofer 528 shown in FIG. 5) (Miner 0082)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Tastad in view of Miner to utilize a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way by providing a gaming chair that comprises a power supply that provides power at specified voltages. This be beneficial as it will provide additional power redundancy and flexibility when it comes to providing power to additional electrical components of the gaming chair as needed.
As per claim 20, wherein the main display is positioned on the pedestal vertically above the game deck and at least partly at an eye level of a player seated in the gaming chair. (Tastad Fig 1, Game machine display is positioned above sled and is eye-level) (Tastad Fig 1)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tastad (US 2011/0003631) in view of Tran et al. (US 20090187125) in view of Miner et al (US 2012/0282997) in view of Jacobs et al (US 9,943,174).
As per claim 7, Tran fails to disclose:
wherein the power supply unit is an uninterruptable power supply unit.
However, Jacobs discloses a chair that is used in an entertainment venue wherein the chair comprises an uninterruptible power supply that provides power to a video display and other user interface elements (Jacobs 35:63-36:5; 61:25-30)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Tran in in view of Jacobs to provide a chair that comprises an uninterruptible power supply within the chair to provide the game system with electrical redundancy when engaged in monetary transactions such as wagering to ensure that player transactions are successfully carried out in the event of a power failure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the following:
At pages 3 and 4 of the Office Action, the Office asserts that it would be obvious to modify the gaming assembly of Tastad to provide a power supply unit positioned inside the chair body based on Tran or Miner, and to have the power supply unit provide power to an external main display. Applicant disagrees because neither Tran nor Tastad describe or suggest a power supply unit positioned inside a chair body that provides power to an external main display but instead both references merely provide power to displays that are on the chairs themselves. Nevertheless, even assuming such a modification would be obvious, which Applicant does not concede, the cited references still fail to describe or suggest a pedestal extending from a game deck to a main display, where the main display is coupled to a power supply unit positioned inside a chair body by an electrical connector extending from the chair body, through the game deck, into the pedestal, and to the main display, as recited in Claim 1 as amended herein.
Applicant therefore respectfully submits that independent Claim 1, and its dependent claims, are patentable over Tran and Tastad and Miner.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that as framed in the Office Action above, it the claimed invention would be obvious over Tastad in view of Tran and Miner. Tastad clearly discloses the use of a gaming chair positioned on a sled (Applicants claimed “deck”) wherein the gaming deck is attached to a pedestal or base that a gaming machine comprising a display is situated on top of. Tastad clearly discloses the gaming chair comprising components such as speakers that are in electrical connection with a gaming machine wherein the electrical cables are embedded within the chair, through the sled, then through the pedestal and finally through the gaming machine display. The Examiner notes that the Applicant’s claims are rearranging parts of a gaming machine such as power supply, game controllers, input devices etc. that are commonly found in gaming machined to be positioned within a gaming chair and thus cause a gaming chair to essentially power and control a display such as a “dumb” or “thin” display. The Examiner’s position is that it would be obvious to make these modifications to a gaming chair of Tastad as Tran and Miner both teach common gaming machine components being positioned within a gaming chair used to drive the operation of a display and to execute wagering games upon a display that is also connected to the gaming chair for the reasons set forth in the rejection above. The Examiner maintains the rejection and is unpersuaded by the Applicants arguments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kang Hu can be reached at (571)270-1344. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
ROSS A. WILLIAMS
Examiner
Art Unit 3714
/RAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715
9/23/2025
/KANG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715