DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang (US-20190305319-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liang discloses a current collector (see e.g., Liang; [0081], regarding negative electrode current collector 20) comprising: a support layer comprising an insulating base (201) and a support structure (203) (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, [0081], regarding support layer 201 corresponding to an insulating base, and conductive material 203 corresponding to a support structure, [0060]-[0061], regarding the support layer comprising of insulating material), the support structure being embedded in the insulating base to enhance strength of the support layer (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, [0081], regarding conductive material 203 filled in holes of the support layer 201); and a conductive layer (202), provided on a surface of the support layer (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, [0081], regarding conductive layer 202 arranged on two surface of the support layer).
Regarding claim 3, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the conductive layer is provided on both surfaces of the support layer (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, [0081], regarding conductive layer 202 arranged on two surfaces of the support layer), and the support structure connects the conductive layers on both surfaces of the support layer (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, [0081], wherein conductive material 203 fills holes 401, which extends through and connects the conductive layers 202).
Regarding claim 5, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the support structure is made of an electrically conductive material (see e.g., Liang; [0076]-[0078], regarding the material of the conductive material corresponding to the support structure).
Regarding claim 6, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 5, wherein the support structure may be a metal conductive material such as at least one of aluminum, copper, nickel, titanium, silver, nickel-copper alloy, and aluminum-zirconium alloy (see e.g., Liang; [0076]), which overlaps with the claimed material of: aluminum, copper, nickel, titanium, silver, nickel-copper alloy, aluminum-zirconium alloy, aluminum-lithium alloy, titanium-aluminum alloy, magnesium alloy, beryllium alloy, and titanium alloy.
Regarding claim 7, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 5. Liang discloses wherein the support structure is preferably formed through one-time forming with the conductive layer (see e.g., Liang; [0078]), wherein the formation method may be vapor deposition or chemical plating (see e.g., Liang; [0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the insulating base is made of a polymeric material (see e.g., Liang; [0060], regarding the support layer made of a material selected from the group consisting of an insulation polymer material, an insulation polymer composite material, a conductive polymer material, a conductive polymer composite material, and combinations thereof).
Regarding claim 11, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 10, wherein the support layer corresponding to the insulating base is selected from the group consisting of polyamide, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, polyvinyl chloride, aramid fiber, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, polybutylene terephthalate, poly-p-phenylene terephthamide, ethylene propylene rubber, polyformaldehyde, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, silicone rubber, polycarbonate, cellulose, cellulose derivative, starch, starch derivative, protein, protein derivative, polyvinyl alcohol, cross-linked polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol, and cross-linked polyethylene glycol (see e.g., Liang; [0061]).
Regarding claim 12, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the insulating base is made of a composite material (see e.g., Liang; [0060], regarding support layer made of composite materials, or combination of the materials which form composite materials).
Regarding claim 14, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the support structure is continuously distributed along a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to a thickness direction of the current collector (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, wherein the conductive material 203 is continuously distributed in the holes along the length of the current collector corresponding to a first direction).
Regarding claim 15, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 14, wherein the support layer comprises a first end and a second end set opposite each other along a first direction, and the support structure is continuously distributed between the first end and the second end (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, wherein a first end and a second end may be the short ends of the current collector along the length direction, and the conductive material 203 is continuously distributed between the ends of the current collector).
Regarding claim 16, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the support structure has a net-like projection (“net-like projection” is defined by the instant specification to mean that the projection of the support structure forms a plurality of interconnected closed curves) along a thickness direction of the current collector (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, [0052], wherein the holes that the conductive materials fill may have a shape a circle or an ellipse, which means the conductive material forms a cylinder or an elliptical cylinder which is a projection comprising of a plurality of interconnected closed curves in the thickness direction of the current collector), and the insulating base fills gaps in the support structure (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, wherein the space that the conductive material 203 does not fill the current collector is occupied by the support layer 201 corresponding to the base).
Regarding claim 17, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the support structure comprises a connection portion and at least two extension portions, the extension portions having a net-like projection (“net-like projection” is defined by the instant specification to mean that the projection of the support structure forms a plurality of interconnected closed curves) along a thickness direction of the current collector, and two adjacent extension portions being spaced apart and connected by the connection portion (see e.g., Liang; figs. 4-6, wherein the holes that the conductive material fills is a cylindrical shape, wherein the ends of the cylinder correspond with extension portions extending towards the center of the current collector, the cylindrical shape forms a plurality of interconnected closed curves and the extension is in the thickness direction of the current collector, the center of the cylinder may correspond to a connection portion which spaces apart and connects the ends of the cylinder).
Regarding claim 18, Liang discloses an electrode plate comprising: the current collector according to claim 1; and an active material layer, applied on a surface of the conductive layer (see e.g., Liang; figs. 7-9, [0082], regarding electrode material formed on surface of the current collector).
Regarding claim 19, Liang discloses a cell comprising the electrode plate according to claim 18 (see e.g., Liang; [0105]-[0106]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US-20190305319-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1. Liang discloses that the insulation polymer material may be selected from a group including polyamide and aramid fiber (see e.g., Liang; [0061]), wherein at least these materials which have a Young’s modulus that overlap or fall within the claimed range of 4Gpa ≤ E ≤ 20Gpa. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected polyamide or aramid fiber as the insulation polymer material of the support layer as disclosed by Liang in order to provide a relatively large electrical resistance, therefore providing short circuit resistance under abnormal conditions, reduce heat generated during short circuits, and thereby improve the safety performance of the battery (see e.g., Liang; [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Liang discloses the current collector according to any one of claims 1. Liang discloses that the conductive material corresponding to the support structure may be at least one of metal conductive material and carbon-based conductive material, including at carbon nanotubes, nickel, and nickel-copper alloys, among others (see e.g., Liang; [0076]). Carbon nanotubes have a Young’s modulus ranging from 270-950 GPa, which is greater than the Young’s modulus of the polymers of the support layer corresponding to the insulating base. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the conductive material to be carbon nanotube as disclosed by Liang in order to improve bonding between the support layer and the conductive layer in the depth direction, thereby improving long-term reliability and service life (see e.g., Liang; [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 1. Liang discloses that the conductive material corresponding to the support structure may be carbon nanotubes, among others (see e.g., Liang; [0076]). Carbon nanotubes are made of high performance fiber material. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the conductive material to be carbon nanotube as disclosed by Liang in order to improve bonding between the support layer and the conductive layer in the depth direction, thereby improving long-term reliability and service life (see e.g., Liang; [0078]).
Regarding claim 13, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 12, wherein the insulating base may be made of a composite material formed from a polymeric material and an inorganic material, and the inorganic material is a ceramic material or a glass material (see e.g., Liang; [0060]-[0062], regarding that the support layer material may be combinations of material including polymer materials and an insulation polymer composite material, which is an inorganic material preferably formed of at least one of a ceramic or glass material). Liang discloses these materials for the support layer among a group of other materials. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the polymeric material and inorganic ceramic or glass material as disclosed by Liang in order to reduce short circuit current, reduce heat generated by short circuits, and improve safety (see e.g., Liang; [0065]-[0066]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US-20190305319-A1), and in further view of Yushin (US-20150349346-A1).
Regarding claim 9, Liang discloses the current collector according to claim 8. Liang does not explicitly disclose wherein the support structure is made of at least one of poly-p-phenylene terephthalamide fibers, aromatic polyamide copolymer fibers, heterocyclic polyamide fibers, carbon fibers, graphite fibers, and silicon carbide fibers. However, Yushin discloses wherein a current collector may comprise of carbon fillers of various shapes, including carbon fibers (see e.g., Yushin; [0107], figs. 14B, 14E). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the current collector of Liang to have the support structure be formed of the carbon fiber material disclosed by Yushin in order to enhance properties of the composite metal foil current collector for Li-ion batteries (see e.g., Yushin; [0107]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US-20190305319-A1), and in further view of Oh (US-20170214105-A1).
Regarding claim 20, Liang discloses the cell according to claim 19. Liang does not explicitly disclose a battery comprising a plurality of cells. However, Oh discloses wherein a battery module may comprise of a plurality of cells (see e.g., Oh; [0146]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the cells of Liang in battery modules comprising a plurality of cells as disclosed by Oh in order to provide a large capacity battery with high energy density for use in electric vehicles or energy storage devices (see e.g., Oh; [0146]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728