DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the election filed on 10 September 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
This application is a continuation of application Serial No. 17/340,556, filed on 07 June 2021, now US Patent 11,948,890; which is a divisional of application Serial No. 15/925,174, filed on 19 March 2018, now US Patent 11,031,342.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, on which claims 1-16 are readable, in the reply filed on 10 September 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
It is acknowledged that Applicant reserves the right of rejoinder upon the indication of allowable subject matter for the Group I claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 16, “fist” should be –first--, In line 18, --via—should be inserted after “the first conductive”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., US 2015/0270247.
With respect to claim 1, Chen et al. disclose a device, shown in Fig. 3D, comprising:
a first package, shown in Fig. 3D, the first package including:
a back-side redistribution structure 104/402 having a back-side bond pad 406;
an integrated circuit 110 attached to the back-side redistribution structure 104/402;
a top-side connector (see annotated Fig. 3D below) electrically contacting the integrated circuit 110;
a through via 108 adjacent the integrated circuit 110 and having a first surface aligned to and bonded to the back-side bond pad 406, the back-side bond pad 406 being at least partially embedded within a first back-side dielectric layer 402 (see paragraph [0045]) of the back-side redistribution structure 104/402;
an encapsulant 114/416 surrounding the integrated circuit 110, the through via 108, and the top-side connector 406, wherein a topmost surface of the encapsulant 114 is coplanar with a topmost surface of the through via108;
a front-side redistribution structure 204 comprising:
a first front-side dielectric layer on the encapsulant;
a first conductive via 224 (see annotated Fig. 3D below) extending through the first front-side dielectric layer, the first conductive via 224 having a first top surface that is co-planar with the encapsulant 114, and having a second top surface above a topmost surface of the first front-side dielectric layer,
the first conductive via further having sidewalls with first portions surrounded by the first front-side dielectric layer and with second portions extending above the topmost surface of the topmost surface of the first front-side dielectric layer; and
a front-side conductive line, the front-side conductive line being embedded in a second front-side dielectric layer of the front-side redistribution structure, and surrounding the second portions of the sidewalls of the first conductive via.
With respect to claim 4, Chen et al. disclose the device further comprises: a second package 400 bonded to the back-side bond pad 406 through 402, as shown in Fig. 3D.
With respect to claim 5, Chen et al. disclose the second package 400 is bonded to the back-side bond pad 406 through a solder bond, see paragraph [0054].
With respect to claim 6, in the device of Chen et al., the second package further comprises: a stack substrate 402; a first stack bond pad 404 and a second stack bond pad 404 on a first side of the stack substrate 402; a first stack die 410 stacked on a second side, opposite the first side, of the stack substrate 402; a second stack die 410 stacked on the first stack die 410; and a first electrical connection 412 between the first stack die 410 and the first stack bond pad 404; and a second electrical connection 412 between the second stack die 410 and the second stack bond pad 404, as shown in Fig. 3D.
With respect to claim 7, in the device of Chen et al., the first electrical connection 412 includes a wire bond, as shown in Fig. 3D.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2015/0270247, as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 2, in another embodiment, Chen et al. disclose the integrated circuit 110 can be attached using an adhesive layer, see paragraph [9981]. In light of the disclosure of Chen et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adhere a back-side of the integrated circuit 110 to an outermost dielectric layer of the back-side redistribution structure 104/402.
With respect to claim 3, Chen et al. disclose a seed layer can be used in the formation of first conductive via 224, see Fig. 4A and paragraphs [0058]-[0063]. In light of the disclosure of Chen et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a seed layer interface could be formed between the first portions of the first conductive via and the second portions of the first conductive via.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2015/0270247, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Han et al., US 2012/0112361.
Chen et al. is applied as above. Chen et al. lack anticipation of the second electrical connection includes a conductive via extending through the stack substrate. In the same field of endeavor in the package of Han et al., shown in Fig. 20, the second electrical connection includes a conductive via extending through the stack substrate .In light of the disclosure of Han et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the second electrical connection could include a conductive via extending through the stack substrate in order to electrically connect the stack substrate 402 to the front-side redistribution structure 204.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the references of record teach or suggest a device comprising: a passivation layer at least partially covering the contact pad; and a back surface, the back surface being mounted to a first back-side dielectric layer of the plurality of back-side dielectric layers; a top-side connector extending through the passivation layer, and electrically and physically contacting the contact pad, a through via adjacent the integrated circuit and having a bottom surface aligned to and contacting a first side of a first metallization pattern of a plurality of back-side metallization patterns, the first metallization pattern being at least partially embedded within the first back-side dielectric layer of the plurality of back-side dielectric layers; an encapsulant surrounding the integrated circuit, the through via, and the top-side connector, wherein a topmost surface of the encapsulant is coplanar with a topmost surface of the through via and with a topmost surface of the top-side connector; a front-side redistribution structure comprising: a plurality of front-side metallization pattern layers embedded within respective front-side dielectric layers of a plurality of front-side dielectric layers; a first front-side dielectric layer of the plurality of front-side dielectric layers being on the encapsulant; a first conductive via extending through the first front-side dielectric layer, the first conductive via having a topmost surface above a topmost surface of the first front- side dielectric layer, and having sidewalls with first respective portions surrounded by the first front-side dielectric layer and with respective second portions extending above the topmost surface of the topmost surface of the first front-side dielectric layer; and a front-side conductive line, the front-side conductive line being embedded in a second front-side dielectric layer of the plurality of front-side dielectric layers, and surrounding the second portions of the sidewalls of the first conductive via, as required in independent claim 9..
Claims 10-16 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on independent claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited references disclose various semiconductor packages having back-side and front-side redistribution structures.
MARY A. WILCZEWSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/MARY A WILCZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898