DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed January 29, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed October 29, 2025. Claims 1-20 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Hack does not disclose the first and second components being vertically disposed in the containing case in a stacking manner (Arguments, pages 10-11). However, Examiner submits nothing in the claims prevent Examiner from interpreting the first and second electronic components (first and second 200) as being stacked within casing (110) in a vertical direction. For example, the entire assembly of Hack can be oriented such that the first and second electronic components (first and second 200) are vertically stacked within casing (110; see reoriented Figure 8 below). Additionally, Figure 8 of Hack also shows the first and second electronic components (adjacent first and second 200) overlapping in a vertical direction in a normal orientation (see normal Figure 8 below). For these reasons, and the reasons detailed below, claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hack (US Publication No. 2015/0311609) in view of Bolognia (US Patent No. 6556438).
Regarding claim 1, Hack discloses a server apparatus comprising: a main body (board 300); a containing mechanism (socket 100) comprising: a containing casing (frame 110) having a first side plate (side plate of 110); a first support member (comprised of lever 120 and guide 141) of the first side plate having a first fixing part (lever portion of 120), a first holding portion (holding portion of 141), and a first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) extending from the first holding portion (holding portion of 141), the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) being disposed on the first connection portion (141); a second support member (second 140) of the first side plate having a second holding portion (holding portion of second 140) and a second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second holding portion (holding portion of second 140); and a first bridge member (comprised of first and second side covers 150) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting portion of 140) respectively, the first support member (120, 141) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) being pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140); a first electronic component (first card 200) located on the first holding portion (holding portion of 141) and connected to the main body (300); and a second electronic component (second card 200) located on the second holding portion (holding portion of 140) and connected to the main body (300); wherein the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (via tab 122 of 120 being detachably connected to side plate of 110 at point 114), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) vertically disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner when the first fixing part (120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 8 above).
Hack does not explicitly disclose the server apparatus comprising a server casing; wherein the main body and the containing mechanism are disposed in the server casing.
However, Bolognia teaches a server apparatus (server 30) comprising a server casing (chassis 34); wherein a main body (motherboard 94) and a containing mechanism (holding assembly for DIMMs 68) are disposed in the server casing (34).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the containing mechanism of Bolognia for the containing mechanism of Hack according to known methods to yield the predictable results of mounting DIMMs on a circuit board. Doing so would have also provided the server of Bolognia with a DIMM holding mechanism that provided easy access to change the DIMMs, while maintaining the ability to use thinner enclosures (see Paragraphs [0007]-[0015] in Bolognia; see col. 46-60 and Figure 3 in Hack).
Regarding claim 2, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the first support member (120, 141) further comprises a linkage member (user engaging portion of 120), the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) is disposed on the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120), the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod of 141), the first bridge member (first and second 150) is connected to the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120, via 141), the first support member (120, 141) being movable to a stacking position (see Figure 8 above) relative to the second support member (second 140) via pivoting of the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) and the first bridge member (first and second 150), the first side plate (side plate of 110) has a second fixing part (portion 114), and the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) is fixed to the second fixing part (114) when the first support member (120, 141) is at the stacking position (see Figure 8 above).
Regarding claim 4, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140) forms a positioning groove (hole in 140 accommodating 130), the first side plate (side plate of 110) has a positioning pin (pivot points 130) corresponding to the positioning groove (hole 140 accommodating 130), and when the positioning groove (hole in 140 accommodating 130) is engaged with the positioning pin (130) the second support member (second 140) is positioned on the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 2, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the server apparatus further comprises a third electronic component (third card 200), the containing mechanism (100) further comprises a third support member (third 140) and a second bridge member (comprised of third and fourth 150), the third support member (third 140) has a third holding portion (holding portion of third 140) and a third connection portion (connecting rod portion of third 140) extending from the third holding portion (holding portion of third 140), the second bridge member (third and fourth 150) is pivoted to the third connection portion (connecting rod portion of third 140) and connected to the first bridge member (first and second 150), the third support member (third 140) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140) via pivoting of the first bridge member (first and second 150) relative to the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) and pivoting of the second bridge member (third and fourth 150) relative to the third connection portion (connecting rod portion of third 140), and the third electronic component (third 200) is mounted on the third holding portion (holding portion of third 140) and is connected to the main body (300), wherein the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; via connection between 122 and 114), the first electronic component (first 200), the second electronic component (second 200) and the third electronic component (third 200) disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner (see Figure 8 above) when the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is fixed to the first side plate (via connection point 114 of 110).
Regarding claim 9, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein a positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating pivot point 130) is formed at the third connection portion (connecting rod of 140), the first side plate (side plate of 110) has a positioning pin (third pivot point 130) corresponding to the positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating 130), the positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating 130) is engaged with the positioning pin (third 130), and the third support member (140) is positioned on the first side plate (side plate of 110) when the positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating 130) is engaged with the positioning pin (third 130).
Regarding claim 10, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the containing casing (110) further has a second side plate (second side plate of 110) opposite to the first side plate (first side plate of 110), and the containing mechanism (100) further comprises: a second-first support member (comprised of second 120 and second 141) of the second side plate (second side plate of 110) having a second-first fixing part (lever portion of 120, including tab 122), a second-first holding portion (holding portion of 141), and a second-first connection portion (connecting rod of 141) extending from the second-first holding portion (holding portion of 141), the second-first fixing part (lever portion of 120) being disposed on the second-first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141); a second-second support member (second 140) of the second side plate (second side plate of 110) having a second-second holding portion (holding portion of 140) and a second-second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second-second holding portion (holding portion of second 140); and a second-first bridge member (comprised of first and second 150 connected to 140 and 141) of the second side plate (second side plate of 110) pivoted to the second-first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second-second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) respectively, the second-first support member (141) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140) via the second-first bridge member (first and second 150); wherein the second-first fixing part (lever portion of second 120) is detachably fixed to the second side plate (second side plate of 110), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) are vertically disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner (see Figure 8) when the second-first fixing part (lever portion of second 120) is fixed to the second side plate (second side plate of 110).
Regarding claim 11, Hack discloses a containing mechanism (socket 100) suitable for a server casing, the containing mechanism (100) comprising: a containing casing (frame 110) having a first side plate (side plate of 110); a first support member (comprised of lever 120 and guide 141) of the first side plate having a first fixing part (lever portion of 120), a first holding portion (holding portion of 141), and a first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) extending from the first holding portion (holding portion of 141), the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) being disposed on the first connection portion (141); a second support member (second 140) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) having a second holding portion (holding portion of second 140) and a second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second holding portion (holding portion of second 140); and a first bridge member (comprised of first and second side covers 150) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting portion of 140) respectively, the first support member (120, 141) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) being pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140); a first electronic component (first card 200) located on the first holding portion (holding portion of 141) and connected to the main body (300); and a second electronic component (second card 200) located on the second holding portion (holding portion of 140) and connected to the main body (300); wherein the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (via tab 122 of 120 being detachably connected to side plate of 110 at point 114), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) vertically disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner when the first fixing part (120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 8 above).
Hack does not explicitly disclose wherein the containing casing is disposed in the server casing.
However, Bolognia teaches a server apparatus (server 30) comprising a server casing (chassis 34); wherein a containing casing (holding assembly for DIMMs 68) is disposed in the server casing (34).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the containing mechanism of Bolognia for the containing mechanism of Hack according to known methods to yield the predictable results of mounting DIMMs on a circuit board. Doing so would have also provided the server of Bolognia with a DIMM holding mechanism that provided easy access to change the DIMMs, while maintaining the ability to use thinner enclosures (see Paragraphs [0007]-[0015] in Bolognia; see col. 46-60 and Figure 3 in Hack).
Regarding claim 12, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the containing mechanism of claim 11, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the first support member (120, 141) further comprises a linkage member (user engaging portion of 120), the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) is disposed on the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120), the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod of 141), the first bridge member (first and second 150) is connected to the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120, via 141), the first support member (120, 141) being movable to a stacking position (see Figure 8 above) relative to the second support member (second 140) via pivoting of the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) and the first bridge member (first and second 150), the first side plate (side plate of 110) has a second fixing part (portion 114), and the first fixing part (lever portion of 120) is fixed to the second fixing part (114) when the first support member (120, 141) is at the stacking position (see Figure 8 above).
Regarding claim 14, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the containing mechanism of claim 11, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140) forms a positioning groove (hole in 140 accommodating 130), the first side plate (side plate of 110) has a positioning pin (pivot points 130) corresponding to the positioning groove (hole 140 accommodating 130), and when the positioning groove (hole in 140 accommodating 130) is engaged with the positioning pin (130) the second support member (second 140) is positioned on the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the containing mechanism of claim 12, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the containing mechanism (100) further comprises a third support member (third 140) and a second bridge member (comprised of third and fourth 150), the third support member (third 140) has a third holding portion (holding portion of third 140) and a third connection portion (connecting rod portion of third 140) extending from the third holding portion (holding portion of third 140), the second bridge member (third and fourth 150) is pivoted to the third connection portion (connecting rod portion of third 140) and connected to the first bridge member (first and second 150), the third support member (third 140) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140) via pivoting of the first bridge member (first and second 150) relative to the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) and pivoting of the second bridge member (third and fourth 150) relative to the third connection portion (connecting rod portion of third 140), and a third electronic component (third 200) is mounted on the third holding portion (holding portion of third 140), wherein the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; via connection between 122 and 114), the first electronic component (first 200), the second electronic component (second 200) and the third electronic component (third 200) disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner (see Figure 8 above) when the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is fixed to the first side plate (via connection point 114 of 110).
Regarding claim 19, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the containing mechanism of claim 18, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein a positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating pivot point 130) is formed at the third connection portion (connecting rod of 140), the first side plate (side plate of 110) has a positioning pin (third pivot point 130) corresponding to the positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating 130), the positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating 130) is engaged with the positioning pin (third 130), and the third support member (140) is positioned on the first side plate (side plate of 110) when the positioning groove (hole in connecting rod of third 140 accommodating 130) is engaged with the positioning pin (third 130).
Regarding claim 20, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the containing mechanism of claim 11, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the containing casing (110) further has a second side plate (second side plate of 110) opposite to the first side plate (first side plate of 110), and the containing mechanism (100) further comprises: a second-first support member (comprised of second 120 and second 141) of the second side plate (second side plate of 110) having a second-first fixing part (lever portion of 120, including tab 122), a second-first holding portion (holding portion of 141), and a second-first connection portion (connecting rod of 141) extending from the second-first holding portion (holding portion of 141), the second-first fixing part (lever portion of 120) being disposed on the second-first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141); a second-second support member (second 140) of the second side plate (second side plate of 110) having a second-second holding portion (holding portion of 140) and a second-second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second-second holding portion (holding portion of second 140); and a second-first bridge member (comprised of first and second 150 connected to 140 and 141) of the second side plate (second side plate of 110) pivoted to the second-first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second-second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) respectively, the second-first support member (141) being movable relative to the second-second support member (second 140) via the second-first bridge member (first and second 150); wherein the second-first fixing part (lever portion of second 120) is detachably fixed to the second side plate (second side plate of 110), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) are disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner (see Figure 8) when the second-first fixing part (lever portion of second 120) is fixed to the second side plate (second side plate of 110).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hack (US Publication No. 2015/0311609), Bolognia (US Patent No. 6556438), and in further view of Lam (US Patent No. 8179680).
Regarding claim 3, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 2, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; via tab 122), but does not teach wherein the first fixing part is an engaging hook, the second fixing part is a spring-loaded plunger, the engaging hook is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger securely, when the engaging hook is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger, and the engaging hook is pivotable relative to the first connection portion to be disengaged from the spring-loaded plunger when the spring-loaded plunger is pressed.
However, Lam teaches a first fixing part (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a), wherein the first fixing part (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is an engaging hook (see Figure 3), the second fixing part (plunger 146) is a spring-loaded plunger (see Figures 3-5), the engaging hook (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger (146) securely, when the engaging hook (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger (146), and the engaging hook (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is pivotable relative to the first connection portion (handle 142, corresponding to 141 in Hack) to be disengaged from the spring-loaded plunger (146) when the spring-loaded plunger (146) is pressed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the tab connection of Hack as modified by Bolognia for the hook and spring-loaded plunger connection of Lam, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of latching a pivoting lever in a closed position until a user desires to unlatch and rotate the lever (see Figures 2-5 in Lam; see Figures 1-6 in Hack).
Regarding claim 13, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the containing mechanism of claim 12, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the linkage member (user engaging portion of 120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; via tab 122), but does not teach wherein the first fixing part is an engaging hook, the second fixing part is a spring-loaded plunger, the engaging hook is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger securely, when the engaging hook is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger, and the engaging hook is pivotable relative to the first connection portion to be disengaged from the spring-loaded plunger when the spring-loaded plunger is pressed.
However, Lam teaches a first fixing part (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a), wherein the first fixing part (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is an engaging hook (see Figure 3), the second fixing part (plunger 146) is a spring-loaded plunger (see Figures 3-5), the engaging hook (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger (146) securely, when the engaging hook (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is engaged with the spring-loaded plunger (146), and the engaging hook (portion of 140 defining latch hole 142a) is pivotable relative to the first connection portion (handle 142, corresponding to 141 in Hack) to be disengaged from the spring-loaded plunger (146) when the spring-loaded plunger (146) is pressed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the tab connection of Hack as modified by Bolognia for the hook and spring-loaded plunger connection of Lam, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of latching a pivoting lever in a closed position until a user desires to unlatch and rotate the lever (see Figures 2-5 in Lam; see Figures 1-6 in Hack).
Through an alternative interpretation of Hack, claims 1, 5, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hack (US Publication No. 2015/0311609) in view of Bolognia (US Patent No. 6556438).
Regarding claim 1, Hack discloses a server apparatus comprising: a main body (board 300); a containing mechanism (socket 100) comprising: a containing casing (frame 110) having a first side plate (side plate of 110); a first support member (comprised of lever 120, guide 141, and cover 150) of the first side plate having a first fixing part (lever 120), a first holding portion (first cover 150), and a first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) extending from the first holding portion (first 150), the first fixing part (120) being disposed on the first connection portion (141); a second support member (comprised of second 140 and 150) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) having a second holding portion (second 150) and a second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second holding portion (second 150); and a first bridge member (comprised of receptacles 160) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140) respectively (via connection with pivot points 132), the first support member (120, 141, 150) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140, 150) via the first bridge member (160) via the first bridge member (160) being pivoted (via pivot points 132) to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140); a first electronic component (first card 200) located on the first holding portion (first 150) and connected to the main body (300); and a second electronic component (second card 200) located on the second holding portion (second 150) and connected to the main body (300); wherein the first fixing part (120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (tab 122 of 120 being detachably connected to side plate of 110 at point 114), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) vertically disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner when the first fixing part (120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 8 above).
Hack does not explicitly disclose the server apparatus comprising a server casing; wherein the main body and the containing case are disposed in the server casing.
However, Bolognia teaches a server apparatus (server 30) comprising: a server casing (chassis 34); a main body (motherboard 94); and a containing case (holding assembly for DIMMs 68); wherein the main body (94) and the containing case (holding assembly for DIMMs 68) are disposed in the server casing (34).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the containing mechanism of Bolognia for the containing mechanism of Hack according to known methods to yield the predictable results of mounting DIMMs on a circuit board. Doing so would have also provided the server of Bolognia with a DIMM holding mechanism that provided easy access to change the DIMMs, while maintaining the ability to use thinner enclosures (see Paragraphs [0007]-[0015] in Bolognia; see col. 46-60 and Figure 3 in Hack).
Regarding claim 5, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the containing mechanism (100) further includes a rail member (rail portion of 141), the first electronic component (first 200) has a side piece (edge of 200), a clamping piece (notches in edges of 200) is formed when the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) is bent toward the first holding portion (first 150), the rail member (rail portion of 141) has a protrusion (dimples 144) corresponding to the clamping piece (notches in edges of 200), the rail member (rail portion of 141) is fixed to the first holding portion (150, via connection through pivot points 132) when the protrusion (144) is clamped between the clamping piece (notches in 144) and the first holding portion (first 150; see Figure 8), and the first electronic component (first 200) is mounted on the first holding portion (first 150) via the side piece (edge of first 200) being slidably disposed through the rail member (rail of 141).
Regarding claim 11, Hack discloses a containing mechanism (socket 100) suitable for a server casing, the containing mechanism (100) comprising: a containing casing (frame 110) having a first side plate (side plate of 110); a first support member (comprised of lever 120, guide 141, and cover 150) of the first side plate having a first fixing part (lever 120), a first holding portion (first cover 150), and a first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) extending from the first holding portion (first 150), the first fixing part (120) being disposed on the first connection portion (141); a second support member (comprised of second 140 and 150) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) having a second holding portion (second 150) and a second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second holding portion (second 150); and a first bridge member (comprised of receptacles 160) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140) respectively (via connection with pivot points 132), the first support member (120, 141, 150) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140, 150) via the first bridge member (160) via the first bridge member (160) being pivoted (via pivot points 132) to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140); a first electronic component (first card 200) located on the first holding portion (first 150) and connected to the main body (300); and a second electronic component (second card 200) located on the second holding portion (second 150) and connected to the main body (300); wherein the first fixing part (120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (tab 122 of 120 being detachably connected to side plate of 110 at point 114), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) vertically disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner when the first fixing part (120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 8 above).
Hack does not explicitly disclose wherein the containing casing is disposed in the server casing.
However, Bolognia teaches a server apparatus (server 30) comprising a server casing (chassis 34); wherein a containing casing (holding assembly for DIMMs 68) is disposed in the server casing (34).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the containing mechanism of Bolognia for the containing mechanism of Hack according to known methods to yield the predictable results of mounting DIMMs on a circuit board. Doing so would have also provided the server of Bolognia with a DIMM holding mechanism that provided easy access to change the DIMMs, while maintaining the ability to use thinner enclosures (see Paragraphs [0007]-[0015] in Bolognia; see col. 46-60 and Figure 3 in Hack).
Regarding claim 15, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the containing mechanism of claim 11, and further teaches (in Hack) wherein the containing mechanism (100) further includes a rail member (rail portion of 141), the first electronic component (first 200) has a side piece (edge of 200), a clamping piece (notches in edges of 200) is formed when the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) is bent toward the first holding portion (first 150), the rail member (rail portion of 141) has a protrusion (dimples 144) corresponding to the clamping piece (notches in edges of 200), the rail member (rail portion of 141) is fixed to the first holding portion (150, via connection through pivot points 132) when the protrusion (144) is clamped between the clamping piece (notches in 144) and the first holding portion (first 150; see Figure 8), and the first electronic component (first 200) is mounted on the first holding portion (first 150) via the side piece (edge of first 200) being slidably disposed through the rail member (rail of 141).
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hack (US Publication No. 2015/0311609) in view of Roscoe (US Patent No. 6760229).
Regarding claim 1, Hack discloses a server apparatus comprising: a containing mechanism (socket 100) comprising: a containing casing (frame 110) having a first side plate (side plate of 110); a first support member (comprised of lever 120 and guide 141) of the first side plate having a first fixing part (lever 120), a first holding portion (holding portion of 141), and a first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) extending from the first holding portion (holding portion of 141), the first fixing part (120) being disposed on the first connection portion (141); a second support member (second 140) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) having a second holding portion (holding portion of second 140) and a second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second holding portion (holding portion of second 140); and a first bridge member (comprised of first and second side covers 150) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod of 140) respectively, the first support member (120, 141) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) being pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140); a first electronic component (first card 200) located on the first holding portion (holding portion of 141); and a second electronic component (second card 200) located on the second holding portion (holding portion of 140); wherein the first fixing part (120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (tab 122 of 120 being detachably connected to side wall of 110 at point 114), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) vertically disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner when the first fixing part (120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 8 above).
Hack does not explicitly disclose the server apparatus comprising: a main body and a server casing; wherein the main body and the containing mechanism are disposed in the server casing.
However, Roscoe teaches a server apparatus (electronic device 20) comprising: a main body (processor 22); a server casing (Figure 3, chassis 248); and a containing casing (protective assembly 260) comprising a first electronic device (first daughter board 274) and a second electronic device (second daughter board 274) connected to the main body (22); wherein the main body (22) and the containing casing (260) is disposed in the server casing (248).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the containing mechanism of Hack to the protective housing/containing mechanism of Roscoe according to known methods to yield the predictable results of mounting DIMMs on a circuit board. Doing so would have also provided the server of Roscoe with a DIMM holding mechanism that provided easy access to change the DIMMs, while maintaining the ability to use thinner enclosures (see col. 6, ln. 7-20 in Roscoe; see col. 46-60 and Figure 3 in Hack).
Regarding claim 6, Hack in view of Roscoe teaches the server apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches (in Roscoe) wherein the containing mechanism (protective assembly 260 in Roscoe) further includes a circuit board (motherboard 268, corresponding to 300 in Hack) disposed upright in the containing casing (248; see Figure 3) and electrically connected (via connector 252) to the main body (22), and the first electronic component (first 274) and the second electronic component (second 274) are electrically connected to the main body (22) via inserting the first electronic component (first 274) and the second electronic component (second 274) into the circuit board (268).
Regarding claim 11, Hack discloses a containing mechanism (socket 100) suitable for a server casing, the containing mechanism (100) comprising: a containing casing (frame 110) having a first side plate (side plate of 110); a first support member (comprised of lever 120 and guide 141) of the first side plate having a first fixing part (lever 120), a first holding portion (holding portion of 141), and a first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) extending from the first holding portion (holding portion of 141), the first fixing part (120) being disposed on the first connection portion (141); a second support member (second 140) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) having a second holding portion (holding portion of second 140) and a second connection portion (connecting rod portion of second 140) extending from the second holding portion (holding portion of second 140); and a first bridge member (comprised of first and second side covers 150) of the first side plate (side plate of 110) pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod of 140) respectively, the first support member (120, 141) being movable relative to the second support member (second 140) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) via the first bridge member (first and second 150) being pivoted to the first connection portion (connecting rod portion of 141) and the second connection portion (connecting rod portion of 140); a first electronic component (first card 200) located on the first holding portion (holding portion of 141); and a second electronic component (second card 200) located on the second holding portion (holding portion of 140); wherein the first fixing part (120) is detachably fixed to the first side plate (tab 122 of 120 being detachably connected to side wall of 110 at point 114), the first electronic component (first 200) and the second electronic component (second 200) vertically disposed in the containing casing (110) in a stacking manner when the first fixing part (120) is fixed to the first side plate (side plate of 110; see Figure 8).
Hack does not explicitly disclose the server apparatus comprising: a main body and a server casing; wherein the main body and the containing mechanism are disposed in the server casing.
However, Roscoe teaches a server apparatus (electronic device 20) comprising: a main body (processor 22); a server casing (Figure 3, chassis 248); and a containing casing (protective assembly 260) comprising a first electronic device (first daughter board 274) and a second electronic device (second daughter board 274) connected to the main body (22); wherein the main body (22) and the containing casing (260) is disposed in the server casing (248).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the containing mechanism of Hack to the protective housing/containing mechanism of Roscoe according to known methods to yield the predictable results of mounting DIMMs on a circuit board. Doing so would have also provided the server of Roscoe with a DIMM holding mechanism that provided easy access to change the DIMMs, while maintaining the ability to use thinner enclosures (see col. 6, ln. 7-20 in Roscoe; see col. 46-60 and Figure 3 in Hack).
Regarding claim 16, Hack in view of Roscoe teaches the containing mechanism of claim 11, further teaches (in Roscoe) wherein the containing mechanism (protective assembly 260 in Roscoe) further includes a circuit board (motherboard 268, corresponding to 300 in Hack) disposed upright in the containing casing (248; see Figure 3), and the first electronic component (first 274) and the second electronic component (second 274) are electrically connected (via connector 252) to a main body (22) via inserting the first electronic component (first 274) and the second electronic component (second 274) into the circuit board (268).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hack (US Publication No. 2015/0311609), Bolognia (US Patent No. 6556438), and in further view of Tian (US Publication No. 2009/0303681).
Regarding claim 7, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches the server apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the first electronic component has a front cover, and the front cover is detachably locked to the containing casing when the first electronic component is mounted on the first holding portion.
However, Tian teaches a first electronic component (first DIMM 30) has a front cover (heat sink structure 10), and the front cover (10) is detachably locked to the containing casing (connector structure 36, corresponding to 110 in Hack) when the first electronic component (30) is mounted on the first holding portion (Figures 4-5, holding/latching portion of 36, corresponding to holding portion of 141 in Hack).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the cover of Tian to the electronic components of Hack as modified by Bolognia. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation for the electronic components (see Paragraphs [0013]-[0017] in Tian).
Regarding claim 17, Hack in view of Bolognia teaches containing mechanism of claim 11, but does not teach wherein the first electronic component has a front cover, and the front cover is detachably locked to the containing casing when the first electronic component is mounted on the first holding portion.
However, Tian teaches a first electronic component (first DIMM 30) has a front cover (heat sink structure 10), and the front cover (10) is detachably locked to the containing casing (connector structure 36, corresponding to 110 in Hack) when the first electronic component (30) is mounted on the first holding portion (Figures 4-5, holding/latching portion of 36, corresponding to holding portion of 141 in Hack).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the cover of Tian to the electronic components of Hack as modified by Bolognia. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation for the electronic components (see Paragraphs [0013]-[0017] in Tian).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc