DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on April 13, 2026 in this application Schedler, U.S. Patent Application No. 18/593244, (Filed March 1, 2024) claiming priority to EP23189912.1 (8/7/2023) and DE102023105179.2 (3/2/2023) (“Schedler”). Claims 1 – 8 were pending. Claims 1 and 8 are amended. Claims 9 – 17 are new. Claims 1 - 17 are pending.
Applicants' arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered and found not persuasive. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
1. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pg. 7 of the Applicant’s Remarks (“Remarks”) that the newly added limitation of claim 8 overcomes the 101 rejection for a computer program per se, examiner respectfully disagrees. See infra § Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101.
The newly added term “computer processing unit” does not appear to be disclosed in the specification. While one of ordinary skill in the art when viewing the specification would conclude that a computer processing unit is a unit which performs processing on a computer, similar to the other units discussed in the specification like computing unit, they would not be able to draw any conclusions as to whether the claimed computer processing unit is hardware or software. It is noted that the subject matter of the application is emulation/simulation and the specification contains much discussion of software units. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the newly added term “computer processing unit” as software the amendment fails to add a hardware element to the system claim 8 and the claim remains rejected as a computer program per se under 35 USC 101.
2. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 7 - 9 of the Remarks stating that Morrison fails to teach capturing stack traces based on “the precondition of the result of the comparison between the simulator real time and the discrete simulation time,” examiner respectfully neither agrees nor disagrees. See infra § Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103 § Claim 1. Morrison is not used to teach the precondition, rather it is the combination of Scheduler and Ma, therefore this argument is moot.
It is noted that Schedler is used to teach monitoring for performing a management action when the simulator real time and the discrete simulation time vary. Schedler at ¶¶ 0014 – 0018, 0038, 0040 -0042. Ma is used to teach where the management action performed is capturing a stack trace and is based on a threshold amount of time difference. Ma at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0058 – 0061, 0070, 0107, 0109; id. at ¶¶ 00065 – 0067 (non-maskable interrupt stack trace).
Therefore, the current prior art reference teaches capturing stack traces based on “the precondition of the result of the comparison between the simulator real time and the discrete simulation time.”
Double Patenting
In light of the Abandonment of application 16950422 the rejections made under the doctrine of Double Patenting are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
In light of Applicant’s amendments the previous Objections to the claims are withdrawn.
Claim 12 is objected to for the following informality: Claim 12 contains the word “either” which appears to be a typo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed inventions do not fall within a statutory category of invention because they are neither a process, machine, manufacture, nor composition of matter.
Claim 8 covers a computer program per se and fails to recite any device or structure comprising the invention because under the broadest reasonable interpretation they include purely software embodiments. See Interim Guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility, U.S. Patent and Trademark Off. (December 16, 2014) available at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2014-12-16/pdf/2014-29414.pdf; see also MPEP 2106(I); see also Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, U.S. Patent and Trademark Off. (Aug. 24, 2009), available at http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/dapp/opla/2009-08-25_interim_101_instructions.pdf.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schedler et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0081585 (Published March 18, 2021, filed November 17, 2020) (“Schedler”) in view of Ma et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0225143 (Published August 9, 2018, filed April 6, 2018) (“Ma”), and Morrison et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0072423 (Published March 22, 2012, filed September 20, 2010) (“Morrison”).
Claims 1 and 8
With respect to claims 1 and 8, Schedler teaches the invention as claimed including a computer-implemented method to test an execution of at least one control unit function of a control unit via at least one computing unit (5) of a simulation environment on a simulator, the control unit function being executed with a zero-time assumption of a discretely advancing simulation time between successive simulation steps in an event-oriented discrete simulation on the simulator, the method comprising:
comparing, via an observation service that is operated on the simulator, an advance of a discrete simulation time with an advance of a simulator real time; creating at least indirectly, if the advance of the simulator real time beyond the advance of the discrete simulation time {A control unit zero-time event-based simulator tracks time differences between simulation time and the real time of the simulator being executed and when the time difference reaches a threshold amount, such as “the time difference between these two simulation times – the past and the new simulation step” the method advances the simulation time to the real time to allow simulations to be performed in real time without the constraint of adhering to the original simulation time. Schedler at ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0011, 0014 – 0018, 0038, 0040 -0042, 0049.}
However, Schedler doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
[time] exceeds a predetermined limit value, {Ma does teach this limitation. Ma teaches that staggering updates in light of errors, as taught in Schedler, may include where a watchdog timer may be used as a mechanism to set a threshold amount of time difference between two events such that the watchdog may trigger a non-maskable interrupt to save stack a trace when the threshold amount to of time is reached. Ma at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0058 – 0061, 0070, 0107, 0109; id. at ¶¶ 00065 – 0067 (non-maskable interrupt stack trace).
Schedler and Ma are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software monitoring, and both are trying to solve the problem of how collect software performance data.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a software simulator, as taught in Schedler with using an interrupt to collect software performance data at intervals, as taught in Ma. Ma teaches that a non-masking interrupt is needed to ensure data collection is performed. Id. at ¶ 0005. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine a software simulator, as taught in Schedler with using an interrupt to collect software performance data at intervals, as taught in Ma, for the purpose of using a known method of collecting performance data with a simulator that requires collecting performance data.}
However, Schedler and Ma doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
a plurality of stack traces of the at least one computing unit; identifying, in an analysis step, at least the most frequent control unit function that the at least one computing unit has executed most frequently at the time of creation of the respective stack trace by analysis of the stack traces; and displaying and/or further processing the identified most frequent control unit function. {Morrison does teach this limitation. Morrison teaches that staggering updates in light of errors, as taught in Schedler and Ma, may include using a simulator by a code profiler to run code and use operating system interrupt to collect stack traces of function calls, identify the “hottest” or most frequently called functions, and display the frequencies of the executed functions. Morrison at ¶¶ 0001 – 0003, 0021 – 0024, 0157, 0191, 0192; id. at ¶ 0151 (function node count is the number of incoming arcs to the node, i.e. number of times called). 0002 0165
Schedler, Ma, and Morrison are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software monitoring, and both are trying to solve the problem of how collect software performance data.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a software simulator that collects stack data, as taught in Schedler and Ma with using a simulator to collect and display data from stack traces, as taught in Morrison. Morrison teaches that interrupts may be used for collecting stack trace information from a simulator. Id. at ¶ 0002. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine a software simulator that collects stack data, as taught in Schedler and Ma with using a simulator to collect and display data from stack traces, as taught in Morrison, for the purpose of using a known method for collecting and display stack trace data from simulators with a system that collects stack trace data from a simulator.}
Claim 2
With respect to claim 2, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the observation service is executed as a component of the simulation environment. {A control unit zero-time event-based simulator tracks time differences between simulation time and the real time of the simulator being executed and when the time difference reaches a threshold amount, such as “the time difference between these two simulation times – the past and the new simulation step” the method advances the simulation time to the real time to allow simulations to be performed in real time without the constraint of adhering to the original simulation time. Schedler at ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0011, 0014 – 0018, 0038, 0040 -0042, 0049.}
Claim 3
With respect to claim 3, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the observation service either triggers at least one non-maskable interrupt of the computing unit of the simulation environment, which triggers the creation of the plurality of stack traces of the at least one computing unit of the simulation environment, or wherein the observation service triggers a non-maskable interrupt of the computing unit of the simulation environment multiple times, each of which triggers the creation of a stack trace of the at least one computing unit of the simulation environment so that a plurality of stack traces is also created. {A non-maskable interrupt may be triggered to save stack a trace. Ma at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 00065 – 0067 (non-maskable interrupt stack trace).}
Claim 4
With respect to claim 4, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the observation service unconditionally records the plurality of stack traces one after another, or records at fixed intervals of simulator real time. {A watchdog timer may be used as a mechanism to set a threshold amount of time difference between two events such that the watchdog may trigger a non-maskable interrupt to save stack a trace when the threshold amount to of time is reached. Ma at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0058 – 0061, 0070, 0107, 0109; id. at ¶¶ 00065 – 0067 (non-maskable interrupt stack trace).}
Claim 5
With respect to claim 5, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the plurality of stack traces are created for all computing units of the simulation environment, and wherein, in the analysis step, the stack traces of all computing units are analyzed together and the most frequently executed control unit function is identified and is displayed. {A simulator is used by a code profiler to run code and use operating system interrupt to collect stack traces of function calls, identify the “hottest” or most frequently called functions, and display the frequencies of the executed functions. Morrison at ¶¶ 0001 – 0003, 0021 – 0024, 0157, 0191, 0192; id. at ¶ 0151 (function node count is the number of incoming arcs to the node, i.e. number of times called).}
Claim 6
With respect to claim 6, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein, in the analysis step, the n most frequent control unit functions that the at least one computing unit has executed most frequently at the time of the creation of the respective stack trace are identified, and/or wherein the identified n most frequent control unit functions are displayed. {A simulator is used by a code profiler to run code and use operating system interrupt to collect stack traces of function calls, identify the “hottest” or most frequently called functions, and display the frequencies of the executed functions. Morrison at ¶¶ 0001 – 0003, 0021 – 0024, 0157, 0191, 0192; id. at ¶ 0151 (function node count is the number of incoming arcs to the node, i.e. number of times called).}
Claim 7
With respect to claim 7, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein at least the most frequent control unit function that the respective computing unit has executed most frequently at the time of the creation of the respective stack trace is identified for multiple computing units in the analysis step, and wherein the identified most frequent control unit function for the respective computing unit is displayed and/or at least the most frequent control unit function is identified for all computing units. {A simulator is used by a code profiler to run code and use operating system interrupt to collect stack traces of function calls, identify the “hottest” or most frequently called functions, and display the frequencies of the executed functions. Morrison at ¶¶ 0001 – 0003, 0021 – 0024, 0157, 0191, 0192; id. at ¶ 0151 (function node count is the number of incoming arcs to the node, i.e. number of times called).}
Claim 9
With respect to claim 9, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the plurality of stack traces is created only when the advance of the [simulator real] time beyond the advance of the [discrete simulation] time exceeds the predetermined limit value. {A watchdog timer may be used as a mechanism to set a threshold amount of time difference between two events such that the watchdog may trigger a non-maskable interrupt to save stack a trace when the threshold amount to of time is reached. Ma at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0058 – 0061, 0070, 0107, 0109; id. at ¶¶ 00065 – 0067 (non-maskable interrupt stack trace).
when the advance of the simulator real time beyond the advance of the discrete simulation time exceeds {A control unit zero-time event-based simulator tracks time differences between simulation time and the real time of the simulator being executed and when the time difference reaches a threshold amount, such as “the time difference between these two simulation times – the past and the new simulation step” the method advances the simulation time to the real time to allow simulations to be performed in real time without the constraint of adhering to the original simulation time. Schedler at ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0011, 0014 – 0018, 0038, 0040 -0042, 0049.}
Claim 10
With respect to claim 10, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the event-oriented discrete simulation has no dependence on the simulator real time. {A control unit zero-time event-based simulator tracks time differences between simulation time and the real time of the simulator being executed and when the time difference reaches a threshold amount, such as “the time difference between these two simulation times – the past and the new simulation step” the method advances the simulation time to the real time to allow simulations to be performed in real time without the constraint of adhering to the original simulation time. Schedler at ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0049.}
Claim 11
With respect to claim 11, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the plurality of stack traces includes an image of an internal operating system information regarding the at least one control unit function of the control unit. {OS system information is captured in the form of stack traces. Morrison at ¶¶ 0001 – 0003, 0021 – 0024, 0157, 0165, 0191, 0192; Ma at ¶¶ 0065 - 0067.}
Claim 12
With respect to claim 12, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the observation service either triggers …. of the simulation environment, … of the simulation environment. {A control unit zero-time event-based simulator tracks time differences between simulation time and the real time of the simulator being executed and when the time difference reaches a threshold amount, such as “the time difference between these two simulation times – the past and the new simulation step” the method advances the simulation time to the real time to allow simulations to be performed in real time without the constraint of adhering to the original simulation time. Schedler at ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0011, 0014 – 0018, 0038, 0040 -0042, 0049.}
at least one non-maskable interrupt of the computing unit which triggers the creation of the plurality of stack traces of the at least one computing unit {A watchdog timer may be used as a mechanism to set a threshold amount of time difference between two events such that the watchdog may trigger a non-maskable interrupt to save stack a trace when the threshold amount to of time is reached. Ma at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0058 – 0061, 0070, 0107, 0109; id. at ¶¶ 00065 – 0067 (non-maskable interrupt stack trace).}
Claim 13
With respect to claim 13, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the observation service triggers …. of the simulation environment, … of the simulation environment. {A control unit zero-time event-based simulator tracks time differences between simulation time and the real time of the simulator being executed and when the time difference reaches a threshold amount, such as “the time difference between these two simulation times – the past and the new simulation step” the method advances the simulation time to the real time to allow simulations to be performed in real time without the constraint of adhering to the original simulation time. Schedler at ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0011, 0014 – 0018, 0038, 0040 -0042, 0049.}
a non-maskable interrupt of the computing unit … multiple times, each of which triggers the creation of a stack trace of the at least one computing unit …so that a plurality of stack traces is also created. {A watchdog timer may be used as a mechanism to set a threshold amount of time difference between two events such that the watchdog may trigger a non-maskable interrupt to save stack a trace when the threshold amount to of time is reached. Ma at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0058 – 0061, 0070, 0107, 0109; id. at ¶¶ 00065 – 0067 (non-maskable interrupt stack trace).}
Claim 14
With respect to claim 14, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the observation service unconditionally records the plurality of stack traces at fixed intervals of the simulator real time. {Morrison at ¶ 0156.}
Claim 15
With respect to claim 15, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the observation service unconditionally records the plurality of stack traces one after another. {Morrison at ¶ 0156.}
Claim 16
With respect to claim 16, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
includes a plurality of computing units, and wherein the plurality of stack traces are created for each of the plurality of computing units. {A control unit zero-time event-based simulator tracks time differences between simulation time and the real time of the simulator being executed and when the time difference reaches a threshold amount, such as “the time difference between these two simulation times – the past and the new simulation step” the method advances the simulation time to the real time to allow simulations to be performed in real time without the constraint of adhering to the original simulation time. Schedler at ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0011, 0014 – 0018, 0038, 0040 -0042, 0049.}
wherein the simulation environment {A simulator may be used by a code profiler to run code and use operating system interrupt to collect stack traces of function calls, identify the “hottest” or most frequently called functions, and display the frequencies of the executed functions. Morrison at ¶¶ 0001 – 0003, 0021 – 0024, 0157, 0191, 0192; id. at ¶ 0151 (function node count is the number of incoming arcs to the node, i.e. number of times called).}
Claim 17
With respect to claim 17, Schedler, Ma, and Morrison, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the plurality of stack traces for each of the plurality of computing units are analyzed together during the analysis step.{A simulator may be used by a code profiler to run code and use operating system interrupt to collect stack traces of function calls, identify the “hottest” or most frequently called functions, and display the frequencies of the executed functions. Morrison at ¶¶ 0001 – 0003, 0021 – 0024, 0157, 0191, 0192; id. at ¶ 0151 (function node count is the number of incoming arcs to the node, i.e. number of times called); id. at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0156 (multiple computing unit’s stack traces).}
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
//T.H./ September 23, 2026
Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199