Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12, 14-20, 22 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0235227).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses a package arrangement [0048], comprising: a carrier structure, comprising: an electrically insulating carrier (DCB 560), wherein the carrier is thermally conductive, the carrier comprising: a core (563) of an electrically insulating material; a first metal layer (561) applied to a first side of the core; and a second metal layer (562) applied to a second side of the core, wherein the second side is opposite the first side; and a first exposed solder layer (530) on the first metal layer; and a chip package (555) mounted on the carrier structure; wherein the chip package is soldered to the carrier structure by the first solder layer [0048].
FIG. 5 of Otremba is silent with respect to “the chip package comprises a metal carrier” and “an exposed surface of the metal carrier is soldered to the carrier structure by the first solder layer”.
FIG. 7 of Otremba discloses a similar package, wherein the chip package comprises a metal carrier (713) [0059]; and an exposed surface of the metal carrier is soldered to the carrier structure (750) by the first solder layer (717).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of FIG. 5 of Otremba, as taught by FIG. 5 of Otremba. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify FIG. 5 of Otremba in the above manner for purpose of improving the performance and reducing the cost of manufacture ([0001] of Otremba).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses the carrier structure further comprises a second exposed solder [0047] layer (566) on the second metal layer (562).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses the carrier is configured as a direct copper bonding structure [0047].
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses the metal of the first metal layer and/or of the second metal layer comprises or consists of copper, Ni, Ni/P or NiPdAu [0047].
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses a material of the first solder layer and/or a material of the second solder layer comprises a diffusion solder [0048].
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses the diffusion solder comprises at least one of a group of diffusion solders, the group consisting of: nickel-tin; copper-tin; silver-tin; gold-tin; and palladium-tin [0048].
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 5 of Otremba the electrically insulating material comprises or consists of an organic material and/or a ceramic material [0047].
Regarding Claim 9
The limitation “the first solder layer and/or the second solder layer has a melting temperature of 200° C. or higher” is related to material property. Otremba discloses identi-cal or substantially identical solder material. Where the claimed and prior art products are identi-cal or substantially identical in structure or composi-tion, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either antici-pation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP2112.01.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 5 of Otremba at least one semiconductor device (555) is connected to the second surface of the metal carrier (561).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 6 of Otremba a heat sink (650) soldered to the carrier structure by the second solder layer (617).
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 5 of Otremba a method of forming a package arrangement, the method comprising: forming a carrier structure that comprises an electrically insulating carrier (DCB 560), wherein the carrier is thermally conductive, the method comprising: forming the carrier, comprising: applying a first metal layer (561) to a first side of a core (563) of an electrically insulating material; and applying a second metal layer (562) to a second side of the core, wherein the second side is opposite the first side; forming a first exposed solder layer (530) on the first metal layer; and soldering a chip package (555) onto the carrier structure by the first solder layer.
FIG. 5 of Otremba is silent with respect to “the soldering the chip package onto the carrier structure comprises soldering an exposed surface of a metal carrier onto the carrier structure”.
FIG. 7 of Otremba discloses a similar package, wherein the soldering the chip package onto the carrier structure comprises soldering an exposed surface of a metal carrier (713) onto the carrier structure (717).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of FIG. 5 of Otremba, as taught by FIG. 5 of Otremba. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify FIG. 5 of Otremba in the above manner for purpose of improving the performance and reducing the cost of manufacture ([0001] of Otremba).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 5 of Otremba the forming the carrier structure further comprises: forming a second exposed solder [0047] layer (566) on the second metal layer (562).
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses the applying the first metal layer and/or the applying the second metal layer comprises or consists of direct copper bonding [0047].
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses the metal of the first metal layer and/or of the second metal layer comprises or consists of copper, Ni, Ni/P or NiPdAu [0047].
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses a material of the first solder layer and/or a material of the second solder layer comprises a diffusion solder [0048].
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 5 of Otremba discloses the diffusion solder comprises at least one of a group of diffusion solders, the group consisting of: nickel-tin; copper-tin; silver-tin; gold-tin; and palladium-tin [0048].
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 5 of Otremba the electrically insulating material comprises or consists of an organic material and/or a ceramic material [0047].
Regarding Claim 22
The limitation “the first solder layer, after the soldering, has a melting temperature of 200° C. or higher” is related to material property. Otremba discloses identi-cal or substantially identical solder material. Where the claimed and prior art products are identi-cal or substantially identical in structure or composi-tion, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either antici-pation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP2112.01.
Regarding Claim 24
FIG. 5 of Otremba at least one semiconductor device (555) is connected to the second surface of the metal carrier (561).
Claims 8 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba, in view of Zhao (CN 114242664, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 8
Otremba discloses Claim 1.
Otremba is silent with respect to “the electrically insulating material comprises at least one of a group of materials, the group consisting of: Al.sub.2O.sub.3; AlN; and Si.sub.3N.sub.4”.
FIG. 1 of Zhao discloses a similar package, wherein the electrically insulating material comprises at least one of a group of materials, the group consisting of: Al.sub.2O.sub.3; AlN; and Si.sub.3N.sub.4 [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otremba, as taught by Zhao. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of excellent thermal conductivity and low cost ([0033] of Zhao).
Regarding Claim 21
Otremba discloses Claim 14.
Otremba is silent with respect to “the electrically insulating material comprises at least one of a group of materials, the group consisting of: Al.sub.2O.sub.3; AlN; and Si.sub.3N.sub.4”.
FIG. 1 of Zhao discloses a similar package, wherein the electrically insulating material comprises at least one of a group of materials, the group consisting of: Al.sub.2O.sub.3; AlN; and Si.sub.3N.sub.4 [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otremba, as taught by Zhao. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of excellent thermal conductivity and low cost ([0033] of Zhao).
Claims 11, 25 and 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba, in view of Otremba2 (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0061812).
Regarding Claim 11
Otremba discloses Claim 1.
Otremba is silent with respect to “the metal carrier is partially encapsulated by packaging material”.
FIG. 5 of Otremba2 discloses a similar package, wherein the metal carrier (13) is partially encapsulated by packaging material (50) [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otremba, as taught by Otremba2. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of proving protection ([0002] of Otremba2).
Regarding Claim 25
Otremba discloses Claim 14.
Otremba is silent with respect to “the metal carrier is partially encapsulated by packaging material”.
FIG. 5 of Otremba2 discloses a similar package, wherein the metal carrier (13) is partially encapsulated by packaging material (50) [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otremba, as taught by Otremba2. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of proving protection ([0002] of Otremba2).
Regarding Claim 26
FIG. 5 of Otremba2 discloses soldering a heat sink to the carrier structure by the second solder layer [0032].
Claims 13, 23 and 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba, in view of Kokogawa (JP H09283570, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 13
Otremba discloses Claim 1.
Otremba is silent with respect to “a printed circuit board (PCB) soldered to the carrier structure by the second solder layer”.
FIG. 8 of Kokogawa discloses a similar package, comprising a printed circuit board (PCB 8) soldered to the carrier structure by the second solder layer [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otremba, as taught by Kokogawa. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of both electrically connecting and mechanically fastening the components.
Regarding Claim 23
FIG. 5 of Otremba2 discloses the soldering comprises a pressure-free solder process [0003].
Regarding Claim 27
Otremba discloses Claim 14.
Otremba is silent with respect to “soldering a printed circuit board (PCB) to the carrier structure by the second solder layer”.
FIG. 8 of Kokogawa discloses a similar method, comprising soldering a printed circuit board (PCB) to the carrier structure by the second solder layer [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Otremba, as taught by Kokogawa. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of both electrically connecting and mechanically fastening the components.
Claims 2-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba, in view of Schaible (DE 102013211117, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 13
Otremba discloses Claim 1.
Otremba is silent with respect to “a printed circuit board (PCB) soldered to the carrier structure by the second solder layer”.
FIG. 3 of Schaible discloses a similar package, comprising a printed circuit board (PCB 4) soldered to the carrier structure (1) by the second solder layer (solder joint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otremba, as taught by Schaible. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of both electrically connecting and mechanically fastening the components.
Regarding Claim 27
Otremba discloses Claim 14.
Otremba is silent with respect to “soldering a printed circuit board (PCB) to the carrier structure by the second solder layer”.
FIG. 3 of Schaible discloses a similar mrthod, comprising a printed circuit board (PCB 4) soldered to the carrier structure (1) by the second solder layer (solder joint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Otremba, as taught by Schaible. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otremba in the above manner for purpose of both electrically connecting and mechanically fastening the components.
Pertinent Art
US 20220046792.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897