DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are the subject of this FINAL Office Action.
Claim Interpretations
The only “melt pool monitor” (MPM) disclosed is a generic “melt pool monitoring system” (MPMS) as shown in Figure 1:
However, claim 1 requires a “sensor” which is also shown in Figure 1. How are these two distinct entities the same thing? To resolve this conundrum, the Examiner interprets the elected MPM as the MPMS. The specification discloses that the MPMS is a heat sensor (para. 0056). Apparently, this further encompasses a thermal camera (para. 0027). In an attempt to give meaning to the elected MPM sensor, the Examiner interprets it as any thermal/heat sensor.
Another dilemma is that Applicants also elect a melt pool size process characteristic measured by the MPM. However, a thermal/heat sensor is not set up for this. To the extent that a camera is used, this could possibly measure the dimensions of a melt pool. However, in reality, only a very specific high-speed camera, with specific magnification, specific frame rates, and specific optics can do this in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM (see Haley et al, Observations of particle-melt pool impact events in directed energy deposition, Additive Manufacturing, Volume 22, August 2018, Pages 368-374). Applicants have not disclosed any of these necessary highly-optimized parameters. Without this critical information, the elected MPM encompasses any camera.
As to “predictive model data,” the only such model disclosed is “determining a change in the powder feed rate associated with a change in the at least one powder control parameter” (para. 0061). As elected, this means determining a change in the powder feed rate associated with a change in the powder feeder geometry. As explained below, this makes no sense, nor is it disclosed in the specification in enough detail to demonstrate possession.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112- Written Description
Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Specification fails to reasonably convey to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that Applicants were in possession of determining and controlling powder feeder geometry to effect powder feed rate. The claims, as elected, require “determine, based on melt pool monitor measured melt pool size and a predictive model data, powder feeder geometry configured to achieve a predetermined powder feed rate of the powder stream; and control, based on the powder feeder geometry, the energy delivery device and the powder delivery device to deposit a plurality of layers. Absent a specific definition in the specification, the powder feeder geometry is interpreted as the shape and size of the powder feeder, or hopper (see e.g. He at al, In-situ monitoring and deformation characterization by optical techniques; part I: Laser-aided direct metal deposition for additive manufacturing, Optics and Lasers in Engineering, Volume 122, November 2019, Pages 74-88, Fig. 10). To this end, the claims require the AM system to automatically control or change the feeder or hoper geometry to effect the powder flow rate (see e.g. claim 5, change powder control parameter, or feeder geometry). However, the specification fails to disclose a feeder with adjustable geometry, much less during a print. Stated another way, the feeder is static in geometry, it does not change. There is no disclosure of a dynamic or changing feeder geometry such that it is a “control parameter.” Such a static geometry feeder would not yield any reasonable “control parameter” of feeder geometry.
Furthermore, this feeder geometry is never disclosed in any detail as effecting melt pool size, or vice versa. Feeder geometry is simply mentioned, with no detail.
Response to Arguments
The rejection is maintained because Applicants fail to address the issue. Specifically, the claims are so broad that they read on any geometric change of any part of the powder feeder, none of which is disclosed in ay detail whatsoever in the specification. Applicants hand-wave the actual issue away by arguing that “a component in a system may exhibit a change in geometry in view of commonplace phenomenon or occurrences such as (i) wear of the component, (ii) a deviation in a geometry of the component from nominal specifications arising during manufacturing, or (iii) replacement of the component by another unit or type of the component (replacing a worn component with a new component, replacing one type of component with another, changing a supplier of a component, etc.).” However, even this “commonplace” occurrence is never discussed in the specification. The issue is what the specification discloses, compared to what is claimed. The specification completely fails to disclose any of the above, which is why Applicants never point to any part of the specification- they can’t.
And the amendments only add problems. As to “predictive model data,” the only such model disclosed is “determining a change in the powder feed rate associated with a change in the at least one powder control parameter” (para. 0061). As elected, this means determining a change in the powder feed rate associated with a change in the powder feeder geometry. However, the claim amendment now requires “powder stream is maintained at the predetermined powder feed rate.” If the powder feed rate changes then how can it be maintained? These are contradictory statements, and not disclosed in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Maintained
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He at al, In-situ monitoring and deformation characterization by optical techniques; part I: Laser-aided direct metal deposition for additive manufacturing, Optics and Lasers in Engineering, Volume 122, November 2019, Pages 74-88, in view of Haley et al, Observations of particle-melt pool impact events in directed energy deposition, Additive Manufacturing, Volume 22, August 2018, Pages 368-374, in further view of Mazzucato et al, Monitoring Approach to Evaluate the Performances of a New Deposition Nozzle Solution for DED Systems, Technologies, vol. 5, no. 2, p. 29, May 2017, doi: 10.3390/technologies5020029 and Sheila Moroney, IN-SITU PROCESS MONITORING OF DIRECTED ENERGY DEPOSITION POWDER FLOW TO DETECT ANOMALIES, Thesis, published May 2023, pgs. 1-76 and US 20080178994.
This rejection is presented in an effort to give reasonable meaning to the elected invention in light of the specification. This is difficult. However, for prior art purposes, the Examiner interprets the claims to require using a camera (e.g. high-speed camera) to determine melt pool size (e.g. geometry, outline, length, width, etc.), which is used to determine melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency, which is fed back to control energy device (e.g. laser) and/or powder delivery device (e.g. nozzle).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use familiar automatic feedback parameters such as melt pool size to calculate melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency in order to control energy device (e.g. laser) and/or powder delivery device (e.g. nozzle) in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 1-8 and 11-18, He teaches that high-speed cameras are routinely used in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM to monitor melt pools for closed-loop feedback control of powder delivery components such as nozzles and lasers (Fig. 10, pgs. 80-81). This measurement includes morphology, or size of the melt pool (pg. 81, col. 2). Powder feed rate is also a known process parameter that effects melt pool and its size (pg. 81, col. 2).
He does not explicitly teach to determine pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency for feedback control. However, He suggests as much. Specifically, He points to “Haley et al. [which] have recently and impressively presented a work on the direct observation of interactions between the powder particles and the melt pool using four high-speed cameras (up to 200,000 frames/s), four lens systems, and three illumination systems” (pg. 81, col. 1). He then explicitly states that this work from Haley is directly applicable to “in-situ monitoring of the melt pool temperature characteristics (e.g., maximum temperature and thermal gradient) [which] is underway, and high-speed visual observation techniques are available with different algorithms of digital images developed to characterize the morphology (e.g., length, width and surface area) of the melt pool” (pg. 81, cols. 1-2). In fact, “[a] promising trend is to integrate various inspection techniques into the DLD fabrication equipment for closed-loop control of multiple process parameters ensuring a high part quality, as shown in Fig. 10” (pg. 81, col. 2). “It is also interesting to develop analytical models based on the experimental efforts to better understand the mechanism of the melt pool and the entire process” (id.)
Thus, He explicitly suggests the claimed invention, aside from determine pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency for feedback control.
Yet, as explained above, He suggests that the work of Haley should be integrated into these feedback techniques. Just like in He, Haley teaches that measuring melt pool size and capture probability are routine (pg. 368, col. 2 (“In order to parse the many physical aspects of the L-DED and other laser based additive manufacturing systems, numerous studies have employed optical in-situ characterization techniques. These measurements tend to focus on two key areas: the trajectories and mass capture probabilities of feedstock particles after they exit the nozzle [2,5,6], and the size, shape [7] and temperature distribution of the melt pool”)). Haley goes on to teach that capture efficiency (AKA capture capability) is a function of melt pool dimensions (Apool) (Section 4.4).
This is well-known and routinely used (see e.g. US 20080178994, para. 0039 (“a larger melt pool is needed to have higher powder capture efficiency, so that the deposit layer has enough material to support the next layer without slumping”)). Haley makes clear that capture efficiency is well-known to be affected by powder feed rate (F) (id.) Thus, He in light of Haley specifically suggests that melt pool capture efficiency, which requires melt pool size and powder feed rate data, which is dependent on feeder type and geometry, should be incorporated into feedback control.
In fact, powder feed rate is well-known to be affected by powder feeder geometry and melt pool size; and capture efficiency by laser power and powder flow rate (Mazzacuto, pg. 2, first para.; Moroney, pgs. 5, 6, 62). Further, capture efficiency is “often used as a metric to determine the quality of powder flow” (Moroney, pg. 5). In other words, the prior art makes clear that a skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency, including parameters of powder flow rate, powder feeder geometry, and melt pool size, into the familiar feedback control techniques. To this end, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to use familiar automatic feedback parameters such as melt pool size to calculate melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency in order to control energy device (e.g. laser) and/or powder delivery device (e.g. nozzle, feeder) in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
The rejection is maintained because Applicants’ core assertions that the prior art does not teach a predictive model or achieving and maintaining a desired powder feed rate are found wanting. First, “predictive model” is so generic that it encompasses any model with any prediction, not just AI (despite the fact that AI as of the effective filing date was incredibly familiar in every field of endeavor). To this end, the Examiner made clear that He explicitly suggests such a model as it is a very familiar technique even in powder-based 3D printing. Applicants proceed to accuse the Office of making “broad assertions,” when in fact the Examiner provided a detailed rationale that any skilled artisan with common sense and knowledge of the art would apply based on the prior art. Applicants will not overcome this art by attacking it piecemeal.
Second, as to maintaining a powder feed rate, this, too was discussed in detail by the Examiner. As explained in detail, all of He, Haley, Mazzacuto, and Moroney discuss how powder feed rate affects melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency. In other words, maintaining powder feed rate while other variables change is well within the knowledge and skill of an artisan.
Applicants should take a second look at their “broad assertions” in their claims. The claims very broadly assert to use “sensor data” and “predictive model” to maintain a “predetermined powder feed rate” using a “powder control parameter.” The prior art broadly demonstrates that these broad assertions are at least very obvious as they encompass something as simple as maintaining a powder feed rate based on a sensor that detects amount of powder in a hopper (or any other sensed thing) and a “model” threshold that dictates increasing the powder into the hopper to maintain powder feed. There are innumerable combinations in the art that fall within this very broad claim. Even so, the elected species, which is itself quite broad, is still found within the prior art above, which a skilled artisan would have been motivated from to achieve the claimed, elected invention.
Applicants are very strongly urged to amend their claims to recite the specific sensor, specific “predictive model” (if one is even disclosed in the specification), and specific “control parameter.”
Double Patenting- Obvious Type - Maintained
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Instant claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over conflicting claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/932959.
The instant claims are obvious over the conflicting claims because the conflicting claims anticipate the instant by teaching an energy delivery device configured to deliver energy to a build surface of a component to form a melt pool in the build surface of the component (claim 1, the additive manufacturing system is configured to simultaneously
deliver energy to form a melt pool in the build surface); a powder delivery device configured to direct a powder stream toward the melt pool (claim 1, and deliver the powder stream to the melt pool); at least one sensor configured to generate sensor data representative of at least one process characteristic (image data of powder stream, claim 1); and a computing device configured to: receive the sensor data from the at least one sensor (claim 1); determine, based on the sensor data and a predictive model data, at least one powder control parameter configured to achieve a predetermined powder feed rate of the powder stream (claims 1 & 2, determine at least one metric associated with the powder stream based on the received image data, determining a mass flow rate or powder distribution within the powder stream); and control, based on the at least one powder control parameter, the energy delivery device and the powder delivery device to deposit a plurality of layers (claims 1 & 7-9, cause the additive manufacturing system to perform at least one action in response to the at least one metric indicating the abnormal state, controlling at least one operating parameter of the additive manufacturing system, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at
least one of a powder feed rate or a carrier gas flow rate, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a powder feed rate to a selected nozzle of the powder delivery device or a carrier gas flow rate to a selected nozzle of the powder delivery device).
Instant claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over conflicting claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/932945, in view of He at al, In-situ monitoring and deformation characterization by optical techniques; part I: Laser-aided direct metal deposition for additive manufacturing, Optics and Lasers in Engineering, Volume 122, November 2019, Pages 74-88, in view of Haley et al, Observations of particle-melt pool impact events in directed energy deposition, Additive Manufacturing, Volume 22, August 2018, Pages 368-374, in further view of Mazzucato et al, Monitoring Approach to Evaluate the Performances of a New Deposition Nozzle Solution for DED Systems, Technologies, vol. 5, no. 2, p. 29, May 2017, doi: 10.3390/technologies5020029 and Sheila Moroney, IN-SITU PROCESS MONITORING OF DIRECTED ENERGY DEPOSITION POWDER FLOW TO DETECT ANOMALIES, Thesis, published May 2023, pgs. 1-76.
The instant claims are obvious over the conflicting claims because the conflicting claims anticipate the instant by teaching an energy delivery device configured to deliver energy to a build surface of a component to form a melt pool in the build surface of the component (claims 1 & 10, further comprising an energy delivery device configured to deliver energy to the build surface of the component to form a melt pool, and wherein the powder delivery device is configured to direct the powder stream toward the melt pool); a powder delivery device configured to direct a powder stream toward the melt pool (claim 1, powder delivery device configured to direct a powder stream toward a build surface of a component, wherein the powder delivery device defines a longitudinal axis oriented toward the build surface); at least one sensor configured to generate sensor data representative of at least one process characteristic (claim 1, powder flow monitoring system comprising: an illumination device configured to illuminate at least some powder the powder stream between the powder delivery device and the build surface; and an imaging device configured to image the illuminated powder at an image
plane that intersects the longitudinal axis, wherein the illumination device and the imaging device are registered to the powder delivery device in a plane substantially orthogonal to the longitudinal axis). This imaging device is almost identical to that disclosed in Moroney (Figs. 3-1 to 3-11), and very similar to those in He (Fig. 10). As disclosed therein, and explained below, these imaging devices are used to monitor powder flows for feedback control of powder flow and laser in DED AM.
Conflicting claims do not explicitly teach a computing device configured to: receive the sensor data from the at least one sensor; determine, based on the sensor data and a predictive model data, at least one powder control parameter configured to achieve a predetermined powder feed rate of the powder stream; and control, based on the at least one powder control parameter, the energy delivery device and the powder delivery device to deposit a plurality of layers.
However, such a process was well-known in the art. For example, He teaches that high-speed cameras are routinely used in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM to monitor melt pools for closed-loop feedback control of powder delivery components such as nozzles and lasers (Fig. 10, pgs. 80-81). This measurement includes morphology, or size of the melt pool (pg. 81, col. 2). Powder feed rate is also a known process parameter that effects melt pool and its size (pg. 81, col. 2).
He does not explicitly teach to determine pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency for feedback control. However, He suggests as much. Specifically, He points to “Haley et al. [which] have recently and impressively presented a work on the direct observation of interactions between the powder particles and the melt pool using four high-speed cameras (up to 200,000 frames/s), four lens systems, and three illumination systems” (pg. 81, col. 1). He then explicitly states that this work from Haley is directly applicable to “in-situ monitoring of the melt pool temperature characteristics (e.g., maximum temperature and thermal gradient) [which] is underway, and high-speed visual observation techniques are available with different algorithms of digital images developed to characterize the morphology (e.g., length, width and surface area) of the melt pool” (pg. 81, cols. 1-2). In fact, “[a] promising trend is to integrate various inspection techniques into the DLD fabrication equipment for closed-loop control of multiple process parameters ensuring a high part quality, as shown in Fig. 10” (pg. 81, col. 2). “It is also interesting to develop analytical models based on the experimental efforts to better understand the mechanism of the melt pool and the entire process” (id.)
Thus, He explicitly suggests the claimed invention, aside from determine pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency for feedback control.
Yet, as explained above, He suggests that the work of Haley should be integrated into these feedback techniques. Just like in He, Haley teaches that measuring melt pool size and capture probability are routine (pg. 368, col. 2 (“In order to parse the many physical aspects of the L-DED and other laser based additive manufacturing systems, numerous studies have employed optical in-situ characterization techniques. These measurements tend to focus on two key areas: the trajectories and mass capture probabilities of feedstock particles after they exit the nozzle [2,5,6], and the size, shape [7] and temperature distribution of the melt pool”)). Haley goes on to teach that capture efficiency (AKA capture capability) is a function of melt pool dimensions (Apool) (Section 4.4).
Haley makes clear that capture efficiency is well-known to be affected by powder feed rate (F) (id.) Thus, He in light of Haley specifically suggests that melt pool capture efficiency, which requires melt pool size and powder feed rate data, which is dependent on feeder type and geometry, should be incorporated into feedback control.
In fact, powder feed rate is well-known to be affected by powder feeder geometry and melt pool size; and capture efficiency by laser power and powder flow rate (Mazzacuto, pg. 2, first para.; Moroney, pgs. 5, 6, 62). Further, capture efficiency is “often used as a metric to determine the quality of powder flow” (Moroney, pg. 5). In other words, the prior art makes clear that a skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency, including parameters of powder flow rate, powder feeder geometry, and melt pool size, into the familiar feedback control techniques. To this end, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to use familiar automatic feedback parameters such as melt pool size to calculate melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency in order to control energy device (e.g. laser) and/or powder delivery device (e.g. nozzle, feeder) in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over conflicting claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12333737, in view of He at al, In-situ monitoring and deformation characterization by optical techniques; part I: Laser-aided direct metal deposition for additive manufacturing, Optics and Lasers in Engineering, Volume 122, November 2019, Pages 74-88, in view of Haley et al, Observations of particle-melt pool impact events in directed energy deposition, Additive Manufacturing, Volume 22, August 2018, Pages 368-374, in further view of Mazzucato et al, Monitoring Approach to Evaluate the Performances of a New Deposition Nozzle Solution for DED Systems, Technologies, vol. 5, no. 2, p. 29, May 2017, doi: 10.3390/technologies5020029 and Sheila Moroney, IN-SITU PROCESS MONITORING OF DIRECTED ENERGY DEPOSITION POWDER FLOW TO DETECT ANOMALIES, Thesis, published May 2023, pgs. 1-76.
The instant claims are obvious over the conflicting claims because the conflicting claims anticipate the instant by teaching an energy delivery device configured to deliver energy to a build surface of a component to form a melt pool in the build surface of the component (claim 1, the blown powder additive manufacturing process includes adding material via a powder delivery device to a build surface of a component in sequential layers, requires energy source as shown in Figures); a powder delivery device configured to direct a powder stream toward the melt pool (claim 1, powder delivery device); at least one sensor configured to generate sensor data representative of at least one process characteristic (claim 1, powder flow monitoring system- illumination device w/ imaging device). This powder flow monitoring system is almost identical to that disclosed in Moroney (Figs. 3-1 to 3-11), and very similar to those in He (Fig. 10). As disclosed therein, and explained below, these imaging devices are used to monitor powder flows for feedback control of powder flow and laser in DED AM.
Conflicting claims do not explicitly teach a computing device configured to: receive the sensor data from the at least one sensor; determine, based on the sensor data and a predictive model data, at least one powder control parameter configured to achieve a predetermined powder feed rate of the powder stream; and control, based on the at least one powder control parameter, the energy delivery device and the powder delivery device to deposit a plurality of layers.
However, such a process was well-known in the art. For example, He teaches that high-speed cameras are routinely used in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM to monitor melt pools for closed-loop feedback control of powder delivery components such as nozzles and lasers (Fig. 10, pgs. 80-81). This measurement includes morphology, or size of the melt pool (pg. 81, col. 2). Powder feed rate is also a known process parameter that effects melt pool and its size (pg. 81, col. 2).
He does not explicitly teach to determine pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency for feedback control. However, He suggests as much. Specifically, He points to “Haley et al. [which] have recently and impressively presented a work on the direct observation of interactions between the powder particles and the melt pool using four high-speed cameras (up to 200,000 frames/s), four lens systems, and three illumination systems” (pg. 81, col. 1). He then explicitly states that this work from Haley is directly applicable to “in-situ monitoring of the melt pool temperature characteristics (e.g., maximum temperature and thermal gradient) [which] is underway, and high-speed visual observation techniques are available with different algorithms of digital images developed to characterize the morphology (e.g., length, width and surface area) of the melt pool” (pg. 81, cols. 1-2). In fact, “[a] promising trend is to integrate various inspection techniques into the DLD fabrication equipment for closed-loop control of multiple process parameters ensuring a high part quality, as shown in Fig. 10” (pg. 81, col. 2). “It is also interesting to develop analytical models based on the experimental efforts to better understand the mechanism of the melt pool and the entire process” (id.)
Thus, He explicitly suggests the claimed invention, aside from determine pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency for feedback control.
Yet, as explained above, He suggests that the work of Haley should be integrated into these feedback techniques. Just like in He, Haley teaches that measuring melt pool size and capture probability are routine (pg. 368, col. 2 (“In order to parse the many physical aspects of the L-DED and other laser based additive manufacturing systems, numerous studies have employed optical in-situ characterization techniques. These measurements tend to focus on two key areas: the trajectories and mass capture probabilities of feedstock particles after they exit the nozzle [2,5,6], and the size, shape [7] and temperature distribution of the melt pool”)). Haley goes on to teach that capture efficiency (AKA capture capability) is a function of melt pool dimensions (Apool) (Section 4.4).
Haley makes clear that capture efficiency is well-known to be affected by powder feed rate (F) (id.) Thus, He in light of Haley specifically suggests that melt pool capture efficiency, which requires melt pool size and powder feed rate data, which is dependent on feeder type and geometry, should be incorporated into feedback control.
In fact, powder feed rate is well-known to be affected by powder feeder geometry and melt pool size; and capture efficiency by laser power and powder flow rate (Mazzacuto, pg. 2, first para.; Moroney, pgs. 5, 6, 62). Further, capture efficiency is “often used as a metric to determine the quality of powder flow” (Moroney, pg. 5). In other words, the prior art makes clear that a skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency, including parameters of powder flow rate, powder feeder geometry, and melt pool size, into the familiar feedback control techniques. To this end, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to use familiar automatic feedback parameters such as melt pool size to calculate melt pool capture/absorption capability/efficiency in order to control energy device (e.g. laser) and/or powder delivery device (e.g. nozzle, feeder) in DED, PBF, SLM and EBM with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over conflicting claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/593538.
The instant claims are obvious over the conflicting claims because the conflicting claims anticipate the instant by teaching an energy delivery device configured to deliver energy to a build surface of a component to form a melt pool in the build surface of the component (claims 1, energy delivery device); a powder delivery device configured to direct a powder stream toward the melt pool (claim 1, powder delivery device); at least one sensor configured to generate sensor data representative of at least one process characteristic (claim 1, powder flow monitoring system comprising optical system). This imaging device is almost identical to that disclosed in Moroney (Figs. 3-1 to 3-11), and very similar to those in He (Fig. 10); computing device configured to: receive the sensor data from the at least one sensor (claim 1, computing device); determine, based on the sensor data and a predictive model data, at least one powder control parameter configured to achieve a predetermined powder feed rate of the powder stream (claim 12); and control, based on the at least one powder control parameter, the energy delivery device and the powder delivery device to deposit a plurality of layers (claim 1).
Response to Arguments
The rejection is maintained for the reasons explained above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/YUNG-SHENG M TSUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743