DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending, and claims 1-19 are currently under review.
Claim 20 is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/15/2026.
Applicant’s arguments made on 8/25/2026 regarding the species restriction are persuasive and said species restriction has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The recitation of “received data” in claim 1 line 14 is repeated twice and should be omitted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller et al. (US 2017/0165792) alone or alternatively in view of either one of Vorontsov (US 2019/0009358) or Nelson et al. (US 2021/0260701).
Regarding claim 1, Buller et al. discloses a 3D printing system [abstract]; wherein said 3D printing system includes:
A first scanning energy beam source (121) which transforms and melts (ie. forms melt pool) the component [0077, 0156, 0162, 0165, fig.1]
A second tiling energy beam source (122) which also delivers energy to the component [0156, 0162, fig.1]
Sensing means for measuring temperature of the component [0069]
A computer controller which serves to sense temperature as stated above, followed by analyzing temperature variations over time (ie. first and second points in time) and performing control of the second tiling energy using said feedback, which would naturally include a consideration of a thermal history and performing control based on said thermal history [0059, 0069, 0157-0159]
Buller et al. further teaches that the 3D printing system can be applied to different known 3D printing systems including powder feed and direct metal laser sintering, which one of ordinary skill would readily understand to utilize a powder delivery device which directs powder to a melt pool [0142]. Alternatively, Buller et al. does not expressly teach a powder delivery device that directs a powder stream toward the melt pool as claimed. Vorontsov discloses that it is known to utilize multiple lasers to control 3D printing, said 3D printing being either powder bed printing, direct metal deposition, or other known types [abstract, 0032]. In other words, Vorontsov discloses that it is known to control laser processing in both powder bed systems (as taught by Buller et al.) and direct metal deposition systems as claimed, such that it is obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute a direct metal deposition system for the system of Buller et al. because these 3D printing systems are disclosed by Vorontsov to be art-recognized equivalents. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) & MPEP 2144.06. Alternatively, Nelson et al. discloses that it is known to utilize directed energy deposition for forming/repairing components with additive manufacturing wherein microstructural and geometric requirements may be met by controlling focus and shape of directed energy deposition [0003-0004, 0014]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of Buller et al. by utilizing directed energy deposition to achieve desirable microstructural and geometric requirements as taught by Nelson et al. The examiner notes that Nelson et al. clearly depicts a powder delivery device which directs powder to a melt pool [fig.1-2].
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. further discloses a substrate (109) (ie. stage) which supports the component, wherein the component is not disclosed to be moved during processing [fig.1]. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill would understand that the component is not removed from the stage as claimed. Nelson et al. further teaches forming the component on the substrate (26), such that the prior art combination suggests forming the component on the substrate (as taught by Nelson et al.) wherein further temperature sensing is performed during process (as taught by Buller et al.)[0026, fig.1-2].
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches sensing temperature variations over time as stated above, wherein a cooling rate of the melt pool can then be desirably controlled [0221]. One of ordinary skill would readily understand that achieving desired control of a cooling rate would naturally entail calculation/determination of said cooling rate in order to determine whether said cooling rate was desirable or not.
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the limitations of claim 4 pertain to the material worked upon by the claimed system, which merely imparts a system structure that is capable of achieving tailored properties as claimed. See MPEP 2115. The examiner notes that the laser processing control of Buller et al. would be entirely capable of achieving tailored, local properties as claimed. Nonetheless, Buller et al. further expressly teaches locally controlling microstructure of the component [0154, 0289, 0347].
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the prior art combination would suggest a powder feed head and axis that is integral with the scanning melting laser of Buller et al., which meets the limitation of a first energy device coincident with the axis of the deposition head. Buller et al. further depicts embodiments wherein the tiling laser and scanning laser are not coincident with each other, which meets the claimed features [fig.1].
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 4 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches controlling/changing cooling rate as desired to form different microstructures [0078, 0154, 0162-0163].
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches that the first and second energy beams are lasers [0041, 0161, 02026, fig.1].
Regarding claim 9, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. does not expressly teach a third energy source as claimed. However, the examiner notes that this limitation merely recites another energy source, which one of ordinary skill would recognize to be a mere duplication of parts which is prima facie obvious absent evidence of a patentably distinct result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claims 10-11, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches that the controlled cooling (ie. with the second energy source) can occur before, during, and/or after laser irradiation (ie. with the first energy source) [0069, 0162-0163].
Regarding claim 12, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 4 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches sensing temperature variations over time as stated above, wherein a cooling rate of the melt pool can then be desirably controlled with the laser to control a desired solidification rate [0163]. One of ordinary skill would readily understand that achieving desired control of a solidification rate would naturally entail calculation/determination of said solidification rate in order to determine whether said solidification rate was desirable or not.
Regarding claim 13, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches controlling the laser as stated above, wherein laser parameters to be adjusted include power density, scanning speed, etc. [0012, 0030, 0069, 0159].
Regarding claims 14-15, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches monitoring the desired microstructure using microscopy or a non-contact method, which one of ordinary skill would readily understand to include x-ray imaging, ultrasound, or acoustic monitoring as claimed [0325]. Nonetheless, Buller et al. also expressly teaches x-ray microscopy [0324].
Regarding claim 17, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). Buller et al. further teaches a cooling member such as a heat sink for controlled cooling [0069, 0244]. The examiner notes that a cooling member for the purpose of controlled cooling as taught by Buller et al. would naturally be controlled by the computer control of Buller et al.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller et al. (US 2017/0165792) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Craig et al. (US 2017/0151628).
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach calculation of a cooling rate as claimed. Craig et al. discloses temperature control/sensing for controlling melt pools during additive manufacturing wherein measurement of temperature as a function of time allows for determination (ie. calculation) of cooling rate [0036]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of the aforementioned prior art by determining cooling rate to control melt pool parameters during additive manufacturing as taught by Craig et al.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller et al. (US 2017/0165792) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mann et al. (2019, New sensor and system technology for higher process stability in LMD) alone or alternatively further in view of Lalande et al. (US 2024/0109245).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach mass sensors as claimed. Mann et al. discloses providing a laser material deposition head with a powder feed measurement system in order to determine powder feed into the melt pool because this is a factor of crucial importance [abstract]. The measurement system of Mann et al. includes a laser illumination device to illuminate the powder feed, in addition to an optical camera system (ie. imaging device) along a plane of the deposition axis which monitors the number of powder particles and calculates a powder flow rate [p.2-3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of the aforementioned prior art by including the powder feed measurement system of Mann et al. for the aforementioned benefit.
The prior art combination does not expressly teach a plurality of sensors as claimed. However, the examiner notes that this limitation merely recites another sensor, which one of ordinary skill would recognize to be a mere duplication of parts which is prima facie obvious absent evidence of a patentably distinct result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Alternatively, Lalande et al. discloses that it is known to utilize multiple sensors, detectors, and cameras for monitoring additive manufacturing process variables in multiple locations [0017]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing a plurality of powder feed sensors to monitoring conditions in multiple locations as taught by Lalande et al.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller et al. (US 2017/0165792) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thomas (US 2024/0100600).
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach first and second energy beam orientations as claimed. Thomas discloses a direct metal deposition additive manufacturing system [abstract, fig.1]; wherein a first laser (108) is coincident with a deposition head and powder feed (110, 102) and a second energy source for locally controlling microstructure trailing and offset from an axis of the deposition head and powder feed for subsequent control of microstructure after melting [0037-0039, fig.1-2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing the system orientation of Thomas for desirably controlling microstructure in localized locations [0037-0039].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller et al. (US 2017/0165792) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (2007, Measurement of mass flow rate of particulate solids in gravity chute conveyor based on laser sensing array).
Regarding claim 18, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a topology sensor to measure powder mass as claimed. Zheng et al. discloses measuring mass flow rate of powders to provide control of industrial processes and achieve desired quality [p.298]; wherein said measuring includes utilizing a laser sensor array to determine powder shape (ie. topology sensor) and calculate mass flow rate based on known powder density [p.299-301]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing the measurement system of Zheng et al. for the powder feed material deposited to the melt pool of the aforementioned prior art in order to obtain the benefits disclosed by Zheng et al.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller et al. (US 2017/0165792) and others as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Colin et al. (US 2015/0298259).
Regarding claim 19, the aforementioned prior art discloses the system of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach calculating a capture efficiency as claimed. Colin et al. discloses optimizing direct metal deposition by improving melting mass efficiency during additive manufacturing, wherein melting mass efficiency is calculated as the ratio of an amount of material forming the part (ie. mass of powder added to melt pool) to an amount of material projected from the nozzle (ie. mas of powder leaving the powder delivery device) [0048-0051]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of the aforementioned prior art by determining a melting mass efficiency as taught by Colin et al. in order to optimize direct metal deposition as stated above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/593,438 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the overlap in scope is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,708,940 in view of the above prior art. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the instant claims and patented claims is that the patented claims are directed to measuring residual stresses rather than temperatures. However, it would have been obvious to measure temperature as explained in the above rejections.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734