DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2026 and 06/02/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 08/05/2026, claims 1-20 have been amended per the Applicant’s request. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
The previous claims rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The independent claims have been amended to include new limitations that were never previously presented; thereby, these amendments change the scope of the claims. However, newly found prior art is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kelly et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2024/0394076 A1, hereinafter “Kellye”).
Regarding claim 1, Kelly teaches one or more processors (Kelly Fig. 5), comprising:
circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, store an indication of one or more resources from one or more references to resources used by runtime software to manage execution of one or more software workloads (Kelly ¶0164, i.e., API call to generated different VDI environments based on (the functionalities/capabilities/features of recommended) vendor-provided APIs; and ¶0119, i.e., the VDI environment manager managing the execution of operation on VDs, managing workload placement among VDs).
As to claim 2, Kelly also teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API call comprises one or more parameters indicating a memory location usable to store the indication of the one or more resources (Kelly ¶0114, i.e., store (temporarily or permanently) information/data related to (i)-(xvii) in the database (212) in the back-end device 200 (see also Kelly ¶0128, i.e., the database is stored in physical storage/memory device)).
As to claim 3, Kelly also teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API call comprises one or more parameters indicating a context associated with the one or more references to resources usable to execute the one or more software workloads (Kelly ¶0119).
As to claim 5, Kelly also teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, the circuitry is to cause one or more data structures comprising the stored indication of the one or more resources to be used by another second API to allocate the indicated one or more resources to execute the one or more software workloads (Kelly ¶0119, i.e., the VDI environment).
Regarding claim 8, Kelly teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving an application programming interface (API) call indicating one or more references to resources used by runtime software to manage execution of one or more software workloads and a storage location (Kelly ¶0164, i.e., API call to generated different VDI environments based on (the functionalities/capabilities/features of recommended) vendor-provided APIs); and
in response to the API call, storing an indication one or more resources from the one or more references to resources in the storage location (Kelly ¶0114, i.e., store (temporarily or permanently) information/data related to (i)-(xvii) in the database (212) in the back-end device 200 (see also Kelly ¶0128, i.e., the database is stored in physical storage/memory device)).
Claim 9 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 2 and is similarly rejected.
As to claim 10, Kelly also teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the API call comprises one or more arguments indicating a sub-context associated with the one or more references to resources usable to manage execution of the one or more software workloads threads (Kelly ¶0119, i.e., the VDI environment).
Claim 12 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 5 and is similarly rejected.
As to claim 13, Kelly also teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the indication of the one or more resources is included in a context of one or more processors, to execute the one or more software workloads (Kelly ¶0119).
As to claim 14, Kelly also teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the indication of the one or more resources is included in a sub-context of one or more processors to execute the one or more software workloads (Kelly ¶0119).
Claim 15 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
Claim 16 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 2 and is similarly rejected.
Claim 17 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 3 and is similarly rejected.
Claim 19 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 5 and is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 11, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of YANG et al. (CN 107357661 B, hereinafter “Yang”).
As to claim 4, Kelly teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the indicated one or more resources include one or more streaming multiprocessors (SMs) available to be used to execute the one or more software workloads. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches the indicated one or more resources include one or more streaming multiprocessors (SMs) available to be used to execute the one or more software workloads (Yang page 12, i.e., “The invention claims a capacity-based streaming multiprocessor (StreamingMultiprocessor, hereinafter referred to as SM) abstract model CapSM, the CapSM as the resource management of the basic unit, one CapSM and one SM on the capacity equivalent to the maximum number of thread blocks that one CapSM is in the active state of the equivalent of the original SM. when the off-line application and online application when the GPU task submitted by a resource management API, will first analyzes the resource request from the resource management API provided by the information resource and then based on the type of task, resource request and the current system resource state of the GPU to determine final is the task distribution”, and Claim 5, i.e., “obtaining provided by each SM in the maximum active threads of the block number of the API to calculating each SM or CapSM that can be accommodated by the maximum active thread block number MaxActivePBlocki”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kelly by incorporating the teachings of Yang. The motivation would be for providing a resource management and task scheduling that not only can ensure online task performance, but also can make full use of GPU resources (Yang Abstract).
As to claim 6, Kelly teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the indication of the one or more resources is included in a context of the one or more processors. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches the indication of the one or more resources is included in a context of the one or more processors (Yang page 3, fourth paragraph, i.e., a CUDA context). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kelly by incorporating the teachings of Yang. The motivation would be for providing a resource management and task scheduling that not only can ensure online task performance, but also can make full use of GPU resources (Yang Abstract).
As to claim 7, Kelly teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the indication of the one or more resources is included in a sub-context of the one or more processors. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches the indication of the one or more resources is included in a sub-context of the one or more processors (Yang page 3, fifth paragraph, i.e., GPU resources for online and offline tasks). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kelly by incorporating the teachings of Yang. The motivation would be for providing a resource management and task scheduling that not only can ensure online task performance, but also can make full use of GPU resources (Yang Abstract).
Claim 11 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 4 and is similarly rejected.
Claim 18 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 4 and is similarly rejected.
Claim 20 recites the limitations substantially similar to those of claim 7 and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER KHONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168