Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features that correlate to paragraphs of the specification [0006-0009, 0028-0045, and 0051] relating to clustering techniques must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “some” in claim 1, 6, 8, 10, 15 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “some” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner suggests adding a definition to what is considered to be “some”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Tabak (US 20240290069 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Tabak discloses obtaining a group of untagged images, each untagged image captures an instance of an item ([0029] Method 100 may start by step 110 of obtaining a group of untagged images, each untagged image captures an instance of an item.);
wherein at least some of the untagged images capture different instances of the item ([0029] At least some of the untagged images capture different instances of the item.);
obtaining multiple sets of item pixels from the untagged images of the group, each set originated from an untagged image of the group and comprises multiple item pixels ([0030] Step 110 may be followed by step 120 of obtaining multiple sets of item pixels from the untagged images of the group, each set originated from an untagged image of the group and may include multiple item pixels.);
determining item features of the item for each set, based on the multiple item pixels of the set and ([0031] Step 120 may be followed by step 130 of determining item features of the item for each set, based on the multiple item pixels of the set.);
repeating, until reaching an end condition the steps of ("[0032] Step 130 may be followed by step 140 of executing a repetitive clustering process.
[0033] Step 140 may include step 141 of repeating, until reaching an end condition, steps 142, 143, and 144."):
a. selecting some of the sets as centroids ([0034] Step 142 may include selecting some of the sets as centroids.);
b. clustering the item features of the some of the sets to provide clusters, wherein the clustering is based, at least in part, on the centroids ([0035] Step 143 may include clustering the item features of the some of the sets to provide clusters, wherein the clustering is based, at least in part, on the centroids.); and
c. removing members of a cluster that has less members than another cluster ([0036] Step 144 may include removing members of a cluster that has less members than another cluster.);
defining untagged images that are associated with a member of any remaining cluster as reference images or as reference image candidates ([0037] After completing the repetitions of steps 141-144—jumping to step 145 of defining untagged images that are associated with a member of the remaining cluster as reference images or as reference image candidates.).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Tabak discloses wherein the end condition is fulfilled when a number of remaining members is below a predefined member number threshold ([0038] The end condition may be fulfilled when a number of remaining members is below a predefined member number threshold.).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Tabak discloses wherein the end condition is fulfilled when differences between remaining members are below a difference predefined threshold ([0039] The end condition may be fulfilled when differences between remaining members are below a difference predefined threshold.).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Tabak discloses wherein the end condition is fulfilled when a variance of the remaining members is below a variance predefined threshold ([0040] The end condition may fulfilled when a variance of the remaining members is below a variance predefined threshold.).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Tabak discloses wherein the selecting comprises selecting a first centroid in a random manner and selecting a second centroid based on a distance to the first centroid ([0034] Step 142 may include selecting some of the sets as centroids. Step 142 may include selecting a first centroid in a random manner and selecting a second centroid based on a distance to the first centroid.).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Tabak discloses wherein the determining of the item features is executed by a non-item specific neural network, the non-item specific neural network is pre-trained to perform feature extraction of objects, at least some of the objects differ from the item ([0041] Step 140 may be executed by a non-item specific neural network, the non-item specific neural network is pre-trained to perform feature extraction of objects, at least some of the objects differ from the item.).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Tabak discloses finding reference images out of the reference image candidates ([0043] Method 100 may also include step 150 of finding reference images out of the reference image candidates.).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Tabak discloses wherein the determining of the item features is executed by a non-item specific neural network, the non-item specific neural network is pre-trained to perform feature extraction of objects, at least some of the objects differ from the item ([0041] Step 140 may be executed by a non-item specific neural network, the non-item specific neural network is pre-trained to perform feature extraction of objects, at least some of the objects differ from the item.).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Tabak discloses re-training a non-item specific neural network with the reference images ([0047] Step 140 may include re-training a non-item specific neural network with the reference image candidates.).
The examiner also notes that claims 1-18 of the instant application and claims 1-18 of the reference application are the exact same. Therefore, claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Tabak.
Conclusion
/AHMED A NASHER/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/ANDREW M MOYER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2675