DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 recites “wherein a height of the bottom surface of the first recess is greater than that of the bottom surface of the second recess” the examiner notes that a starting point is not referenced. As such, the examiner is interpreting this from starting from the bottom of the cover plate. As interpreted in light of the instant specification [0069, fig. 6].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN213483849U; filed IDS 03/04/24).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a battery cover plate assembly, comprising: a cover plate (1) provided with a filling port (5) [0027-0028, fig. 2-3, Wang]; and a sealing pin (3) for sealing the filling port [0012, fig. 2, Wang]; wherein the sealing pin comprises a main body portion and a welding portion [0012, 0015, fig. 2, Wang], and the welding portion is located at a periphery of the main body portion and extends from the main body portion toward an outer circumferential side [0015, fig. 2, Wang]; and the cover plate is provided with a second recess (6) and a first recess (7) [0028, fig. 3, Wang], which are sequentially arranged from an inside to an outside at a periphery of the filling port [fig. 3, Wang], the main body portion is located in the second recess [fig. 2, Wang], and the welding portion is welded to a bottom surface of the first recess [0012, 0015, fig. 2, Wang].
For clarity of the record, Wang discloses that the safety valve consists of a safety valve body (2) and safety valve cap (“sealing pin”) that are welded to a safety valve mounting position and notes that the “sealing pin” is fixed to the first recess (“second step”). This reads on a “welding portion is welded to a bottom surface of the first recess”.
Annotated fig. 2, Wang
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the battery cover plate assembly according to claim 1, wherein a height of the bottom surface of the first recess is greater than that of the bottom surface of the second recess [fig. 3, Wang].
Annotated fig. 3, Wang
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the battery cover plate assembly, wherein cross-sections of the first recess and the second recess are circular in shape [0027, fig. 1-2, Wang].
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the battery cover plate assembly, wherein a diameter of the bottom surface of the first recess is greater than a diameter of the sealing pin [fig. 2, Wang].
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the battery cover plate assembly, wherein a depth of the first recess is greater than a thickness of the welding portion [fig. 2, Wang].
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the battery cover plate assembly, wherein a buffer portion is provided between the main body portion and the welding portion, and the buffer portion is arched in a thickness direction of the main body portion [fig. 2-3, Wang].
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the battery cover plate assembly, wherein the bottom surface of the first recess is a flat surface [fig. 3, Wang].
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the battery cover plate assembly, wherein an angle of the bottom surface of the first recess with respect to a horizontal plane is 0° [fig. 3, Wang]
Wang’s disclosure anticipates the applicants claimed range of 0° to 10°.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses a battery cell, comprising: a shell (11) [0012, 0030, fig. 4, Wang]; an electrode assembly arranged in the shell [0012, fig. 4, Wang]; and a cover plate assembly [0012, 0030, Wang], which is the battery cover plate assembly of claim 1 and is connected to the shell in a sealing manner [0012, Wang].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Chen (CN208368558U; filed IDS 03/04/24).
Regarding claim 7, Wang is silent to the buffer portion being arched from the main body portion toward the second recess.
However, Chen discloses a battery cover plate (31) with a sealing pin (32) for sealing a filling port (311) via a welding portion located at a periphery of the main body portion and extends from the main body portion toward an outer circumferential side [0047, 0058, fig. 5, Chen]. The cover plate is provided with a first recess (3111) and a second recess (3112) [0047, fig. 5, Chen]. The sealing pin has a buffer portion that contours (“arches”) from a main body portion (center of 32) towards the second recess [0058, fig. 5, Chen].
The examiner additionally notes that Chen additionally teaches of a sealing nail (33, equivalent to a safety valve body (2, Wang)) that is sealed to the interior of the filling port [0048, fig. 5, Chen].
Annotated fig. 5, Chen
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Wang such that the buffer portion is arched from the main body portion to the second recess portion. Doing so would allow for the “sealing pin” to contour to the inner peripheral contour of the “second recess” [0058, fig. 1, Chen].
While not present in claim 7, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that the present modification would coincide with the edges of the safety valve body (2) of Wang. As such, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to further modify Wang such that the safety valve body of Wang was replaced with the sealing nail (33) of Chen. Doing so would create a sealing space with an increased volume that can accommodate gas pressure produced during welding [0048, 0060, Chen].
For clarity of the record the examiner has provided an examiner figure depicting the present modification.
Annotated examiner figure depicting present modification
Regarding claim 8, Modified Wang is silent to 1) a side wall of the second recess being an inclined surface. 2) the buffer portion having gaps from the inclined surface and a bottom surface of the second recess.
However, Chen discloses a battery cover plate assembly where the side wall of the second recess is an inclined surface [fig. 6, Chen]. Chen additionally teaches and depicts the “buffer portion” having gaps from an inclined surface (of the first recess) and a bottom surface (H) of the first recess [fig. 1, 5-6, Chen].
Annotated fig. 5, Chen
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Wang, such that the side wall of the second recess has an inclined surface [0051, fig. 6]. Doing so may reduce the impact force of the electrolyte on the cover plate [0051, Chen].
Additionally, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to include gaps between the buffer portion and the inclined and bottom surface of the second recess. Introducing gaps between the surfaces of the cover plate and sealing pin/buffer portion allow for exhaust gas generated during welding to enter the sealed space [0055, Chen].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirayama (JP2002358948A).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Wang discloses that the safety valve consists of a safety valve body (2) and safety valve cap (“sealing pin”) that are welded to a safety valve mounting position and notes that the “sealing pin” is fixed to the first recess (“second step”) [0012, 0015, fig. 2, Wang].
Modified Wang is explicitly silent to the location of welding/fixing seams.
However, Hirayama teaches of a lid (4, “cover plate”) with a sealing pin (7) and an injection port (5) [0010, fig. 1, Hirayama]. Where the sealing pin is welded (13) to a bottom of a tapered portion (9, “first recess”) [0010, fig. 1d, Hirayama].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Wang such that one or more welding seams are welded between the welding portion and the bottom surface of the first recess. Doing so would allow for the welding portion and first recess to form a single unit [0010, Hirayama].
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yamane (US20020028376A1).
Regarding claim 13 and 14, Modified Wang is silent to 1) a case configured to accommodate the battery cell. 2) a power consuming device comprising a battery for supplying electric energy.
Yamane discloses a case (2) for housing cylindrical batteries (claim 13) and being used to power an electric vehicle (claim 14) [0001, fig. 1, Yamane].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Wang such that a case was used to house a battery cell (claim 13) and used to power a power consuming device such as an electric vehicle (claim 14). Doing so allows for one to connect a plurality of battery cells such that they may be mounted and used to power an electronic device such as an electric vehicle [0002, 0041, 0061, Yamane].
Conclusion
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724