DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aikata et al. US20200194819A1, hereinafter Aikata.
Regarding Claim 1, Aikata discloses a battery cell [Aikata throughout], characterized by comprising:
an electrode assembly [Aikata 0031 and throughout, electrode assembly 3];
a shell adapted for receiving the electrode assembly [Aikata 0031 and throughout, case 2]; and
a cap assembly adapted for closing an opening of the shell [Aikata 0024, 0045, and throughout, lid plate 9 with terminals 4 and 5 as described throughout],
wherein the shell comprises a first wall and two second walls opposite each other [Aikata 0032 and throughout, Figs. 2-6, rear wall 10 as first wall and pair of side walls 11 as the two second walls],
the first wall is adapted to connect the two second walls [Aikata 0032 and throughout, Figs. 2-6, particularly Fig. 4 shows two second walls 11 connected by first wall 10],
the first wall has a wall thickness greater than that of the second wall [Aikata 0047 and throughout, Aikata teaches the thickness of wall 10 is larger than the thickness of the pair of side walls 11], the first wall is provided with a pressure relief mechanism [Aikata 0038-0040, 0073-0075, 0084-0086, Figs. 2-4, 6, rupture valve 6 as the pressure relief mechanism in first wall 10] , and
the pressure relief mechanism is adapted to be activated so as to release the pressure when a gas pressure inside the shell reaches a threshold [Aikata 0039 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 3, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the wall thickness of the first wall is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm [Aikata 0047 and throughout, Wall 10 is 0.5 mm to 1.8 mm, which sufficiently anticipates the claimed range].
Regarding Claim 7, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the first wall has an area smaller than that of the second wall [Aikata abstract, 0012, 0024, 0032 and throughout, First wall 10 has a smaller area than bottom wall and ceiling walls 7 and 8 and second walls 11 have a larger area than bottom wall and ceiling walls 7 and 8; thus, the limitation is met.] .
Regarding Claim 15, Aikata discloses a battery [Aikata 0087-0102 and throughout, Figs. 5-6], characterized by comprising:
the battery cell according to claim 1 [Aikata 0087-0102 and throughout, Figs. 5-6]; a cooling component that covers at least part of the shell and is adapted to cool the battery cell [Aikata 0087-0102 and throughout, Figs. 5-6, Cooling member 33 as the cooling component covers the bottom wall of shell case 2 and cools the battery cells using a refrigerant media [0100].].
Regarding Claim 18, Aikata discloses an electric-powered device, characterized by comprising the battery according to claim 15, wherein the battery is adapted to provide electrical energy [Aikata 0002, 0008, Aikata teaches the energy storage module can be used to power a vehicle.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata as applied to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the wall thickness of the first wall is D1, the wall thickness of the second wall is D2, and D1 and D2 meet the following requirements: 0.05 mm ≤ D1-D2 ≤ 3 mm [Aikata 0047 and throughout, Aikata teaches the first wall 10 has a thickness of 0.5 mm to 1.8 mm, which reads on D1, and the two second walls have a thickness of 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm, which reads on D2. Aikata further teaches the first wall is thicker than the two second walls. Thus, Aikata’s range of D1-D2 is more than 0 mm to 1.3 mm, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a difference in thickness between the first and second walls from the teachings of Aikata for the predictable result of a battery cell with sufficient wall thicknesses.
Regarding Claim 4, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1. Though Aikata does not explicitly teach wherein in a width direction of the first wall, a minimum distance d between an edge of the first wall and the pressure relief mechanism is greater than 2 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to consider the relative dimensions of the distance between an edge of the first wall 10 and the pressure relief mechanism in the battery shown in Aikata’s Fig. 4. For example, since the thickness of second wall 11 is 0.5 to 1.5 mm [Aikata 0047] it would be expected that the distance between the edge of the first wall and the pressure relief mechanism in Fig. 4 is greater than 2 mm. Further, Aikata teaches that the location of the pressure release valve is centered on the wall [Aikata 0012-0013]. The skilled artisan would expect this configuration so that in the event of a rupture, the pressure release valve is aligned with the pathway of gases and other materials expelled from the cell to rapidly reduce the pressure in the cell [Aikata 0027-0028]. Further, Aikata teaches the location of the pressure release valve as a design choice, which depends on specific requirements the battery such as the energy density and the configuration of the battery relative to other batteries in the module [Aikata 0026 and throughout]. Additionally, the skilled artisan would know that other design factors such as the size of the valve, materials used, manufacturing process, and the dimensions of the battery would affect the placement of the pressure relief valve relative to the edge of the first wall. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Aikata’s teachings as described above including the relative dimensions of Fig. 4 to arrive at the limitations of claim 4 to meet the requirements of a specific battery design. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious if the same affect is obtained per MPEP 2144.04 IV, A. Since Aikata teaches a pressure relief mechanism for venting a battery [Aikata throughout], such changes in size/proportion would be obvious for specific design and/or manufacturing requirements of a battery.
Regarding Claim 5, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1. Though Aikata does not explicitly teach wherein the pressure relief mechanism has a length L and a width D, and L and D meet the following requirements: L/D ≤ 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to consider the relative dimensions of the length and width of Aikata’s pressure relief mechanism 6 in the battery shown in Aikata’s Fig. 2, which would be expected to be significantly less than 8. Aikata teaches the area of the opening of the rupture valve is selected such that an internal pressure of the case reaches a predetermined pressure in an abnormal situation such that the rupture valve opens with certainty for purposes of safety [Aikata 0084 and throughout]; thus, the skilled artisan would know that the dimensions of the pressure relief mechanism are chosen to meet the specific design requirements for the specific application. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious if the same affect is obtained per MPEP 2144.04 IV, A. Since Aikata teaches a pressure relief mechanism for venting a battery consistently and rapidly [Aikata throughout], such changes in size/proportion would be obvious for specific design and/or manufacturing requirements of a battery.
Regarding Claim 6, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein a size of the pressure relief mechanism in a length direction of the first wall is the length L [Aikata Fig. 2, length is the up-down direction of Fig. 2], a size of the pressure relief mechanism in the width direction of the first wall is D [Aikata Fig. 2, width is the left-right direction of Fig. 2]. Aikata does not explicitly teach L and D meet the requirements of L>D; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to consider the relative dimensions of the length and width of Aikata’s pressure relief mechanism 6 in the battery shown in Aikata’s Fig. 2, which would be expected to meet the requirement. Aikata teaches the area of the opening of the rupture valve is selected such that an internal pressure of the case reaches a predetermined pressure in an abnormal situation such that the rupture valve opens with certainty for purposes of safety [Aikata 0084 and throughout]; thus, the skilled artisan would know that the dimensions of the pressure relief mechanism are chosen to meet the specific design requirements for the specific application. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious if the same affect is obtained per MPEP 2144.04 IV, A. Since Aikata teaches a pressure relief mechanism for venting a battery consistently and rapidly [Aikata throughout], such changes in size/proportion would be obvious for specific design and/or manufacturing requirements of a battery.
For purpose of compact prosecution, alternative rejections are provided for claims 4-6:
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Ootsuka US20150311488A1.
Regarding Claim 4, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1. Though Aikata does not explicitly teach wherein in a width direction of the first wall, a minimum distance d between an edge of the first wall and the pressure relief mechanism is greater than 2 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to consider the relative dimensions of the distance between an edge of the first wall 10 and the pressure relief mechanism in the battery shown in Aikata’s Fig. 4. For example, since the thickness of second wall 11 is 0.5 to 1.5 mm [Aikata 0047] it would be expected that the distance between the edge of the first wall and the pressure relief mechanism in Fig. 4 is greater than 2 mm. Further, Aikata teaches that the location of the pressure release valve is centered on the wall [Aikata 0012-0013]. The skilled artisan would expect this configuration so that in the event of a rupture, the pressure release valve is aligned with the pathway of gases and other materials expelled from the cell to rapidly reduce the pressure in the cell [Aikata 0027-0028]. Further, Aikata teaches the location of the pressure release valve as a design choice, which depends on specific requirements the battery such as the energy density and the configuration of the battery relative to other batteries in the module [Aikata 0026 and throughout]. Additionally, the skilled artisan would know that other design factors such as the size of the valve, materials used, manufacturing process, and the dimensions of the battery would affect the placement of the pressure relief valve relative to the edge of the first wall. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Aikata’s teachings as described above including the relative dimensions of Fig. 4 to arrive at the limitations of claim 4 to meet the requirements of a specific battery design. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious if the same affect is obtained per MPEP 2144.04 IV, A. Since Aikata teaches a pressure relief mechanism for venting a battery [Aikata 0028 and throughout], such changes in size/proportion would be obvious for specific design and/or manufacturing requirements of a battery.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Ootsuka teaches wherein in a width direction of the first wall, a minimum distance d between an edge of the first wall and the pressure relief mechanism is greater than 2 mm [Ootsuka 0027 and throughout, Fig. 1, Ootsuka teaches a wall 4 with a safety valve 5 with the dimensions of a 10 mm x 15 mm ellipse centered within a flat portion 61 with dimensions 20 mm x 24 mm where the width of 40 the wall 4 is 40 mm. With such configuration, the distance between an edge of wall 4 and the pressure relief valve 5 is greater than 2 mm, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ootsuka’s teaching with Aikata for the predictable result of a battery with a pressure relief valve to relief the internal pressure within the battery cell [Aikata 0028 and throughout; Ootsuka 0008 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 5, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1. Though Aikata does not explicitly teach wherein the pressure relief mechanism has a length L and a width D, and L and D meet the following requirements: L/D ≤ 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to consider the relative dimensions of the length and width of Aikata’s pressure relief mechanism 6 in the battery shown in Aikata’s Fig. 2, which would be expected to be significantly less than 8. Aikata teaches the area of the opening of the rupture valve is selected such that an internal pressure of the case reaches a predetermined pressure in an abnormal situation such that the rupture valve opens with certainty for purposes of safety [Aikata 0084 and throughout]; thus, the skilled artisan would know that the dimensions of the pressure relief mechanism are chosen to meet the specific design requirements for the specific application. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious if the same affect is obtained per MPEP 2144.04 IV, A. Since Aikata teaches a pressure relief mechanism for venting a battery consistently and rapidly [Aikata throughout], such changes in size/proportion would be obvious for specific design and/or manufacturing requirements of a battery.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Ootsuka teaches wherein the pressure mechanism has a length L and a width D and L and D meet the following requirements: L/D≤8 [Ootsuka 0027-0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, Ootsuka teaches a wall 4 with a safety valve 5 with the dimensions of a 10 mm x 15 mm ellipse, where L is 15 mm and D is 10 mm. Thus, Ootsuka’s example anticipates the range of L/D. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ootsuka’s teaching with Aikata for the predictable result of a battery with a pressure relief valve to relief the internal pressure within the battery cell [Aikata 0028 and throughout; Ootsuka 0008 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 6, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein a size of the pressure relief mechanism in a length direction of the first wall is the length L [Aikata Fig. 2, length is the up-down direction of Fig. 2], a size of the pressure relief mechanism in the width direction of the first wall is D [Aikata Fig. 2, width is the left-right direction of Fig. 2]. Aikata does not explicitly teach L and D meet the requirements of L>D; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to consider the relative dimensions of the length and width of Aikata’s pressure relief mechanism 6 in the battery shown in Aikata’s Fig. 2, which would be expected to meet the requirement. Aikata teaches the area of the opening of the rupture valve is selected such that an internal pressure of the case reaches a predetermined pressure in an abnormal situation such that the rupture valve opens with certainty for purposes of safety [Aikata 0084 and throughout]; thus, the skilled artisan would know that the dimensions of the pressure relief mechanism are chosen to meet the specific design requirements for the specific application. See MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious if the same affect is obtained per MPEP 2144.04 IV, A. Since Aikata teaches a pressure relief mechanism for venting a battery consistently and rapidly [Aikata throughout], such changes in size/proportion would be obvious for specific design and/or manufacturing requirements of a battery.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Ootsuka teaches wherein a size of the pressure relief mechanism in a length direction of the first wall is the length L [Ootsuka 0028-0029, Fig. 2, L is dimension 10 as shown], a size of the pressure relief mechanism in the width direction of the first wall is D [Ootsuka 0028-0029, Fig. 2, D is dimension 8 as shown], and L and D meet the requirements of L>D [Ootsuka 0028, L is 15 mm and D is 10 mm]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ootsuka’s teaching with Aikata for the predictable result of a battery with a pressure relief valve to relief the internal pressure within the battery cell [Aikata 0028 and throughout; Ootsuka 0008 and throughout].
End of alternative rejections for claims 4-6.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Zhu et al. CN1112838325A with US20230017407A1 relied upon for translation.
Regarding Claim 8, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, the shell further comprises a third wall adapted for connecting the two second walls, the third wall is disposed opposite to the first wall [Aikata 0045 and throughout, Figs. 3-4 and 5, wall 9 as the third wall opposite first wall 10], the wall thickness of the first wall is greater than or equal to that of the third wall [Aikata 0045-0047, The thickness of the first wall 10 is 0.5 mm to 1.8 mm and the thickness of the third wall 9 is 0.5 mm to 2 mm. Though Aikata teaches the thickness third wall 9 can be greater than the rear wall [Aikata 0047], Aikata also teaches thickness ranges for the first and third walls such that it is possible for the thickness of the first wall 10 to be equal to or greater than the thickness of the third wall 9. Further, Aikata teaches the thickness chosen for the wall is a design choice related to the size of the energy storage device and the material used for making the shell [Aikata 0047]. Further, the purpose of the walls of the shell is to provide a protective environment for the electrode assembly, and from Aikata’s teaching the skilled artisan would understand that the thickness would be adjusted as necessary for factors such as strength and safety for the specific use requirements. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Aikata’s teaching in selecting a thickness range as described above for the predictable result of a battery cell where the shell thickness is chosen to support the design requirements. Further, changes in size/proportion are obvious if the same affect is obtained per MPEP 2144.04 IV, A.],
and the wall thickness of the third wall is greater than that of the second wall [Aikata 0045-0047, Third wall 9 has a thickness range of 0.5 mm to 2 mm and second wall 11 has a thickness range of 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm. Further, Aikata teaches it is preferable from the first wall 10 and third wall 9 to have thicknesses larger than the second walls 11 [Aikata 0047]. Thus, Aikata meets the limitations] .
Aikata is silent to wherein two ends of the shell are both formed with openings, and each opening is closed with the cap assembly; however, Zhu teaches this configuration as a known battery design with an opening in each end of shell 11 which are closed with end caps 121 [Zhu 0064 and throughout, Figs. 1-4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Zhu’s teaching with Aikata for the predictable result of a battery cell with end caps on each end sealing the internal space of the shell [Zhu 0049].
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Li et al. CN205657091U, as provided on the IDS dated 3/4/2024, machine translation relied upon provided, hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 9, Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 but is silent to wherein the first wall comprises a through hole extending in a thickness direction of the first wall, the pressure relief mechanism is disposed inside the through hole, and in the thickness direction, at least one of a surface of the first wall facing the electrode assembly and a surface of the first wall facing away from the electrode assembly is spaced apart from the pressure relief mechanism.
Li discloses a battery cell with a shell 10 for receiving the electrode assembly 70 in space 100 where the cap assembly 60 closes the opening in shell 10 and a pressure relief mechanism 20 in first wall 12 at the bottom of shell 10 and connecting two second walls (largest area sidewalls as shown in Fig. 6) [Li 0031-0038 and throughout, Figs. 1-8].] wherein the first wall comprises a through hole extending in a thickness direction of the first wall [Li 0032-0033 and throughout, Figs. 1-8, through hole 16 extending in the thickness direction of first wall 12], the pressure relief mechanism is disposed inside the through hole [Li 0032-0033 and throughout, Figs. 1-8, pressure relief mechanism 20 in through hole 16], and in the thickness direction, at least one of a surface of the first wall facing the electrode assembly and a surface of the first wall facing away from the electrode assembly is spaced apart from the pressure relief mechanism [Li 0032-0034 and throughout, Figs. 1-8, With the protrusion 14 provided in the first wall 12, both the surface of the first wall 12 facing the electrode assembly and the surface of the first wall facing away from the electrode assembly are spaced apart from pressure relief mechanism 20 as shown in annotated Fig. 5 below]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Li’s teachings in Aikata’s battery cell for the predictable result of a reliable pressure relief mechanism in a battery cell with the required strength of the housing and airtightness of the battery cell [Li 0018 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 9 wherein the through hole is formed as a stepped hole and comprises a first hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Fig. 3 and throughout, upper hole in protrusion 14], a second hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Fig. 3 and throughout, hole 140], and a first step surface connected between the first hole segment and the second hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Fig. 3 and throughout, stepped surface between the upper hole in 14 and hole 140], the first hole segment has an aperture size smaller than that of the second hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Fig. 3 and throughout, upper hole in 14 has a smaller diameter than hole 140], the second hole segment is located on a side of the first hole segment facing away from the electrode assembly [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Fig. 3 and throughout, hole 140 on the side of protrusion 14 and the upper though hole that is away from the electrode assembly side], the pressure relief mechanism is disposed in the second hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Fig. 3 and throughout, in hole 140], and the first step surface is adapted to support the pressure relief mechanism [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Figs. 3, 5 and throughout, pressure relief mechanism 20 rests on the step as shown in Fig. 5.]. See annotated Fig. below for clarity. Claim 10 is obvious for the same reasons as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 10 wherein the through hole segment further comprises a third hole segment and a second step surface [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Figs. 3, 5 and throughout, third hole segment is hole 142 and the second step is between hole 142 and hole 140], the third hole segment is located on a side of the second hole segment facing away from the first hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Figs. 3, 5 and throughout, third hole segment is hole 142 on the side of second hole 140 facing away from the first hole segment as described above in claims 9-10], and the second step surface is connected to the second hole segment and the third hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Figs. 3, 5 and throughout]. See below for clarity. Claim 11 is obvious for the same reasons as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 11 wherein the battery cell further comprises a protective film [Li 0032-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, protective film 30], the protective film is disposed on a side of the pressure relief mechanism facing away from the electrode assembly and is spaced apart from the pressure relief mechanism [Li 0032-0046, Figs. 1-7, protective film 30 is disposed in recessed hole 144, which is furthest from the battery cell housing space], and a chamber is formed among the protective film, a hole wall of the through hole, and the pressure relief mechanism [Li 0032-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-7 and throughout, chamber is as shown in the hole in protrusion 14 with holes hole 16, 140, 142, 144 in Fig. 3 before the pressure relief mechanism 20 and protective film 30 are installed in the holes 16, 140, 142, 144 and Fig. 5 shows after installation.]. Claim 12 is obvious for the same reasons as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 12, wherein the protective film is adhered to the surface of the first wall facing away from the electrode assembly [Li 0032-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, specifically Fig. 5], and the surface of the first wall facing away from the electrode assembly is provided with a communicating mechanism [Li 0032-0046, Figs. 3, 5, see annotated fig. below where the communication mechanism is circled], one end of which is communicated with the chamber, and the other end is communicated with an external space [Li 0032-0046, Figs. 3, 5, see annotated fig. below]. Claim 13 is obvious for the same reasons as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Aikata discloses the battery cell according to claim 12, wherein the through hole further comprises a fourth hole segment and a third step surface [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Figs. 3, 5 and throughout, fourth hole segment is hole 144 and the third step is between hole 142 and hole 144], wherein the fourth hole segment is located on a side of the third hole segment facing away from the second hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Figs. 3, 5 and throughout, fourth hole segment is hole 144 on the side of hole 142 facing away from the second hole segment 140 as described above in claims 9-12], and the third step surface is connected to the third hole segment and the fourth hole segment [Li 0032-0035 and throughout, Figs. 3, 5 and throughout, see annotated fig. below]; and the third step surface is provided with a communicating mechanism [Li 0032-0046, Figs. 3, 5, see annotated fig. below where the communication mechanism is circled], one end of which is communicated with the chamber, and the other end is communicated with an external space [Li 0032-0046, Figs. 3, 5, see annotated fig. below]. Claim 14 is obvious for the same reasons as Claim 9.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata, as applied to claim 1 and 15, and in further view of Miler et al. [US20190157636A1], hereinafter Miler.
Regarding Claim 16, Aikata discloses the battery according to claim 15 but does not teach the configuration wherein in a thickness direction of the first wall, the cooling component is at least partially spaced apart from and opposite to the first wall, and the cap assembly is located between the cooling component and the first wall. Miler teaches a battery cells 102, 402, 502, 610 etc. [Miler 0045, 0135 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 4-8 and throughout] with a pressure relief valve 112, 162, 164, 406, 506, 614 in a wall on the bottom of the battery cells [Miler 0044, 0135 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 4-8], where the bottom wall can be the first wall and further teaches battery cells in a battery module [Miler Fig. 8] wherein in a thickness direction of the first wall (bottom wall), the cooling component is at least partially spaced apart from and opposite to the first wall [Miler 0127, 0162-0169 and throughout, Fig. 8 using the battery cell embodiments where the pressure relief mechanism is on the bottom of the cells as described above and cooling component is heat exchanger 815 on the upper surface of the battery module], and the cap assembly is located between the cooling component and the first wall [Miler 0127, 0162-0169 and throughout, Fig. 8, where the cap assembly is the surface where the battery terminals are located opposite to the first wall with pressure relief valve (embodiment shown in Figs. 3-5).]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Miler’s embodiments for the predictable result of a battery module able to vent exhaust as described throughout [Miler 0006-0008 and throughout] and to transfer heat generated by operation of the battery pack [Miler 0163 and throughout]. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Miler’s teaching with Aikata’s battery for the same reasons, which would merely require rearrangement of parts, such as orienting Aikata’s battery cell in a configuration where the first wall faces down with Miler’s cooling plate on the upper surface, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, as a matter of design choice for a specific battery application. See MPEP 2144.04 I.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata, as applied to claim 1 and 15, and Scharner et al [DE102017212223A1, machine translation relied upon is provided], hereinafter Scharner, and in further view of Miler et al. [US20190157636A1], hereinafter Miler.
Regarding Claim 17, Aikata discloses the battery according to claim 15 but does not teach the configuration wherein the cooling component comprises a first cooling plate and a second cooling plate spaced apart in the thickness direction, the first cooling plate is provided with an avoiding hole and is adapted to cover the first wall where the pressure relief mechanism is located and the avoiding hole is adapted to avoid the pressure relief mechanism, while the second cooling plate is adapted to cover a side of the shell facing away from the pressure relief mechanism. Scharner teaches a battery 6 [Scharner abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-4, embodiment of 1a] with a first cooling plate 18 provided with an avoiding hole 20 and adapted to cover the first wall [Scharner abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-4, where the first wall is the bottom wall of shell 14 which faces cooling plate 18 and the avoiding hole is the passage in the cooling plate 18 as shown in Figs. 1a, 2 and others.] where the pressure relief mechanism is located [Scharner abstract, 0045, and throughout, Figs. 1a, 2-4 rupture membrane 28] and the avoiding hole is adapted to avoid the pressure relief mechanism [Scharner abstract and throughout, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Scharner is that passage 20 of the cooling plate avoids the pressure relief mechanism by providing an opening.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Scharner’s teaching with Aikata’s battery for the predictable result of a battery with a cooling plate configured to permit gas to escape the battery and to provide cooling to prevent or mitigate thermal runaway [Scharner 0004-0008 and throughout], which would merely require rearrangement of parts, such as orienting Aikata’s battery cell in a configuration where the first wall faces down with Scharner’s cooling plate facing the first wall, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, as a matter of design choice for a specific battery application. See MPEP 2144.04 I.
Scharner does not teach a second cooling plate.
Miler teaches a battery cells 102, 402, 502, 610 etc. [Miler 0045, 0135 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 4-8 and throughout] with a pressure relief valve 112, 162, 164, 406, 506, 614 in a wall on the bottom of the battery cells [Miler 0044, 0135 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 4-8], where the bottom wall can be the first wall and further teaches battery cells in a battery module [Miler Fig. 8] with a cooling plate [Miler 0127, 0162-0169 and throughout, Fig. 8 using the battery cell embodiments where the pressure relief mechanism is on the bottom of the cells as described above and cooling plate is heat exchanger 815 on the upper surface of the battery module]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Miler’s embodiments for the predictable result of a battery module able to vent exhaust as described throughout [Miler 0006-0008 and throughout] and to transfer heat generated by operation of the battery pack [Miler 0163 and throughout]. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Miler’s teaching with Aikata’s battery modified by Scharner for the same reasons, which would merely require rearrangement of parts such as orienting Aikata’s battery cell in a configuration where the first wall faces down with Scharner’s cooling plate facing the first wall and Miler’s cooling plate is on the upper surface, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, as a matter of design choice for a specific battery application. See MPEP 2144.04 I. With the modifications of combining Miler’s first cooling plate on the upper surface of the battery and Scharner’s cooling plate on the lower surface, the first cooling plate and the second cooling plate are spaced apart in the thickness direction of the first wall and all the limitations of the claim are met.
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724