Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species II, claims 1-29, 31-40 with traverse in the reply filed 07/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is persuasive and the restriction requirement is withdrawn and all claims examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 18, 34-35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the preamble recites “a micro light-emitting diode structure for an array of micro LEDs”, but it is not clear if this array of micro LEDs is part of the claimed invention or if this diode structure is meant to eventually be formed as a part of another device. For purposes of examination, it will be taken that the former is true. Appropriate correction is needed.
Regarding Claim 18, the limitation “a height of the bottom spacer is determined based on a diameter of the top hemisphere lens” appears to imply some characteristic of the device not apparent in the present claim language. If they are related, then the question as to how they are related must be clearly laid forth.
Regarding Claims 34-35, the claims recite features of “micro pixel structures” which appear to have no antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, it will be taken that the claims refer to the micro LEDs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al.(US 20230420434 A1, hereafter Zhang 2).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang 2 discloses:
A micro light-emitting diode(LED) structure(Fig. 3d) for an array of micro LEDs, wherein the micro LED structure(Fig. 3d) comprises:
a bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 3d [60]) of a first conductive type, continuously formed across the micro LED array(Fig. 3d);
a light-emitting layer(Fig. 3d [50]), formed on the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 3d [60]) and continuously formed across the micro LED array(Fig. 3d);
a top epitaxial layer(Fig. 3d [40]) of a second conductive type(Fig. 3d [40]), wherein the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 3d [40]) is formed on the light-emitting layer(Fig. 3d [50]) and continuously formed across the micro LED array(Fig. 3d); and
a first trench(Fig. 3d See figure below), formed in the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 3d [40]) and between adjacent micro LEDs(Fig. 3d See figure below).
Regarding Claim 30, Zhang 2 further discloses:
The top epitaxial layer(Fig. 2 [40]) comprises a plurality of photonic crystals(Fig. 3d [311], See paragraph 0010), each of the plurality of photonic crystals(Fig. 3d [311]) has a cylindrical shape or a conical shape(See Fig. 5a).
Above: Fig. 3d of Zhang 2 with trench and micro LED denoted by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 32-36, 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama(US 20150263229 A1, hereafter Akiyama).
Regarding Claim 1, Akiyama discloses:
A micro light-emitting diode(LED) structure(Fig. 1) for an array of micro LEDs, wherein the micro LED structure(Fig. 1) comprises:
a bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [20]) of a first conductive type(p-type), continuously formed across the micro LED array(Fig. 1);
a light-emitting layer(Fig. 1 [30]), formed on the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [20]) and continuously formed across the micro LED array(Fig. 1);
a top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10], See paragraphs 0041-0042) of a second conductive type(n-type), wherein the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10]) is formed on the light-emitting layer(Fig. 1 [30]) and continuously formed across the micro LED array(Fig. 1); and
a first trench(Fig. 1 [40a]), formed in the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10]) and between adjacent micro LEDs(Fig. 1 See figure below).
Akiyama does not specifically teach or disclose that the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [20]) is an epitaxial layer, saying only that it is formed on a light-emitting layer 30(See paragraph 0043). However, in light of the available methods of producing such a semiconductor layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would be presented with a limited number of ways by which to form the semiconductor layer, among them being epitaxy. Producing this device would have generated a predictable result in the formation of Akiyama’s device.
Regarding Claim 4, Akiyama further discloses:
A bottom of the first trench(Fig. 1 [40a]) is not lower than a bottom of the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10]).
Regarding Claim 5, Akiyama further discloses:
A top conductive layer(Fig. 1 [Fig. 1 [70] or [60]), formed on the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10]);
A bottom conductive structure(Fig. 1 [51]), formed below the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [20]); and
A top-connected structure(Fig. 1 [60] or [70]), formed in the first trench(Fig. 1 [40a]) and between adjacent micro LEDs(Fig. 1 See figure below).
Regarding Claim 6, Akiyama further discloses:
The first trench(Fig. 1 [40a]) is continuously formed across the micro LED array(Fig. 1), and the top-connected structure(Fig. 1 [60]) is continuously formed in the first trench(Fig. 1 [40a]) and across the micro LED array(Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Akiyama further discloses:
The top-connected structure(Fig. 1 [60]) forms a closed shape around the micro LED array(Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Akiyama further discloses:
A top of the top-connected structure(Fig. 1 [60]) is not lower than a top of the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10]).
Regarding Claim 9, Akiyama further discloses:
The top-connected structure(Fig. 1 [70]) comprises a conductive material(See paragraph 0026) and forms an ohmic contact(metal-metal) with the top conductive layer(Fig. 1 [70])
Regarding Claim 10, Akiyama further discloses:
The conductive material of the top-connected structure(Fig. 1 [70]) is metal(See paragraph 0026)
Regarding Claim 32, Akiyama further discloses:
The top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10]) is interconnected between adjacent micro LEDs(Fig. 1 See figure below).
Regarding Claim 33, Akiyama further discloses:
The top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [10]) forms a continuous bottom surface across the micro LED array(Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 34, Akiyama further discloses:
The light-emitting layer(Fig. 1 [30]) is interconnected between adjacent micro pixel structures(Fig. 1 See figure below)
Regarding Claim 35, Akiyama further discloses:
The bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [20]) is interconnected between adjacent micro pixel structures(See Fig. 1 below).
Regarding Claim 36, Akiyama further discloses:
The bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 1 [20]) forms a continuous top surface across the micro LED array(Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 38, Akiyama further discloses:
The first conductive type is N-type and the second conductive type is P-type; or
The first conductive type is P-type and the second conductive type is N-type.
Regarding Claim 39, Akiyama further discloses:
The top conductive layer(Fig. 1 [60]) is transparent and comprises oxide semiconductor indium tin oxide(ITO)(See paragraph 0026).
Above: Fig. 1 of Akiyama with micro LEDs denoted by examiner.
Claim(s) 2-3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Kim et al.(US 20110204387 A1, hereafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 2,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose a second trench formed in the bottom epitaxial layer and between adjacent micro LEDs wherein the second trench is continuously formed across the micro LED array.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a second trench(Fig. 3A See figure below), formed in the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 3A [12a]) and between adjacent micro LEDs(Fig. 3A [12]), wherein the second trench is continuously formed across the micro LED array. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Kim. One might have been motivated to place trenches in the lower epitaxial layer as to isolate the light-emitting elements from each other, preventing crosstalk between light-emitting elements. Producing this device would have generated a predictable result in a modified version of Akiyama’s device.
Regarding Claim 3,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose a top of the second trench is not higher than a top of the bottom epitaxial layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a second trench(See above) wherein a top of the second trench is not higher than a top of the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 3A [12a]).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to further modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Kim. The limitation presented in claim 3 is effectively a limitation that excludes zigzag or uneven layers wherein a top surface of the layer must be higher than a top of a trench formed inside it. This is the case in Kim’s device, wherein any trench formed in the layer Fig. 3A [12a]) would necessarily have a top not higher than a top of the bottom epitaxial layer, due to the geometry of the layer provided by Kim. Akiyama’s device generates a similar limitation, wherein any trench formed in the flat layer provided by Akiyama would similarly have a top not higher than a top of the layer. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a modified version of Akiyama’s device with a trench structure in the bottom epitaxial layer.
Above: Fig. 3A of Kim with the second trench denoted by examiner.
Claims 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Cho et al.(US 20240170610 A1, hereafter Cho).
Regarding Claim 11,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an array of top contacts formed between the top epitaxial layer and the top conductive layer.
In the same field of endeavor Cho discloses an array of top contacts(Fig. 1B [30a]) formed between the top epitaxial layer(Fig. 1B [122]) and the top conductive layer(Fig. 1B [30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Cho. One might have been motivated to provide an array of top contacts to operate individual light-emitting device elements. Producing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a light-emitting device operable by a top contact.
Regarding Claim 12,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the array of top contacts comprises a conductive material and forms an ohmic contact with the top conductive layer; and
The array of top contacts is respectively located at centers of the array of micro LEDs.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho discloses the array of top contacts(Fig. 1B [30a]) comprises a conductive material and forms an ohmic contact(metal-metal) with the top conductive layer(Fig. 1B [30]); and
The array of top contacts(Fig. 1B [30a]) is respectively located at centers of the array of micro LEDs(Fig. 1B [12]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Cho. One might have been motivated to provide an array of top contacts to operate individual light-emitting device elements, forming it of metal with an ohmic contact in accordance with the teachings of Cho. Producing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a light-emitting device operable by a top contact.
Regarding Claim 13,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the top-connected structure and the array of top contacts comprise a same conductive material.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho discloses an array of top contacts(Fig. 1B [30a]) and a top-connected structure(Fig. 1B [18]) both comprising gold(See paragraphs 0025-0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Cho. One might have been motivated to use alternative materials to form a top-connected structure as to optimize device performance or material and manufacturing costs of the device. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Akiyama’s device with an alternative material forming a top-connected structure.
Claim(s) 14-16, 24-29, 37, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Zhang et al.(US 20170069612 A1, hereafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 14,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an array of micro lenses formed above the top epitaxial layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses an array of micro lenses(Fig. 23 [2306]) formed above a top epitaxial layer(Fig. 23 [2312]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to include a plurality of micro lenses in order to improve the image quality and light focus of the light emitted by respective light-emitting elements. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of micro lenses placed above it.
Regarding Claim 15,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an array of micro lenses formed on the top conductive layer, wherein gaps are formed between adjacent micro lenses to expose the top-connected structure to air.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses an array of micro lenses(Fig. 23 [2306]) formed on a top conductive layer(Fig. 23 [2318]), wherein gaps are formed between adjacent micro lenses(Fig. 23 [2306]) to expose the top-connected structure(Fig. 23 [2310-4]) to air.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to include a plurality of micro lenses in order to improve the image quality and light focus of the light emitted by respective light-emitting elements in an embodiment in accordance with the disclosure of Zhang. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of micro lenses placed above it.
Regarding Claim 16, Akiyama does not teach or disclose each of the micro lenses comprises a top hemisphere lens and a bottom spacer below the top hemisphere lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Akiyama discloses a top hemisphere lens(Fig. 23 [2306]) and a bottom spacer(Fig. 23 [2304]) below the top hemisphere lens(Fig. 23 [2306]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to include a bottom spacer below the top hemisphere lens to better provide an optical path between an LED element and a top hemisphere lens. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of micro lenses placed above it with a spacer below the top hemisphere lens.
Regarding Claim 24,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an integrated circuit(IC) back plane formed below and electrically connected to the bottom conductive structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses an IC back plane(Fig. 13A [1302]) formed below and electrically connected to a bottom conductive structure(Fig. 13 [1310]) of an LED device(Fig. 13 [1314]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to include an IC back plane in order to operate the light-emitting element. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an operable set of light-emitting structures.
Regarding Claim 25,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the bottom conductive structure comprises a first dielectric layer and a first array of contact holes formed in the first dielectric layer; and
The IC back plane comprises a second dielectric layer and a second array of contact holes formed in the second dielectric layer, the second array of contact holes respectively corresponding to the first array of contact holes.
In the same field of endeavor Zhang discloses the bottom conductive structure(Fig. 13 [1310]) comprises a first dielectric layer(Fig. 13 [1308-2]) and a first array of contact holes(Fig. 13 See figure below) formed in the first dielectric layer(Fig. 13 [1308-2]); and
The IC back plane(Fig. 13 [1302]) comprises a second dielectric layer(Fig. 13 [1308-1]) and a second array of contact holes(Fig. 13 See figure below) formed in the second dielectric layer(Fig. 13 [1308-1]), the second array of contact holes respectively corresponding to the first array of contact holes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to provide this plurality of contact holes and dielectric structures in order to correctly arrange the components of the IC back plane with the light-emitting elements of each LED. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an operable set of light-emitting structures.
Regarding Claim 26,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose each contact hole in the first array has a width greater than a width of the corresponding contact hole in the second array.
In the same field of endeavor,
Zhang discloses a first contact hole(Fig. 13A See figure below) that is larger than a second contact hole(Fig. 13A See figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to provide one array of via holes as wider than another array as to give feature size matching between parts of the IC backplane versus the size of the light-emitting elements, as one might expect the LEDs to be substantially larger in the sizes of their active layers versus the size of a contact of a transistor of an IC circuit. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an operable set of light-emitting structures.
Regarding Claim 27,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the first array of contact holes and the second array of contact holes are filled with metal.
In the same field of endeavor,
Zhang discloses an array of contact holes filed with conducting material(See Fig. 13A [1310]).
It would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed limitation by modification of the device disclosed by Akiyama with the prior art of Zhang. While Zhang does not specifically cite the driver output electrode(Fig. 13A [1310]) as being made of metal, it is made of a conductive material which is deposited in a via hole, of which most commonly such depositions are performed with metal. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an operable set of light-emitting structures.
Regarding Claim 28,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose a chip circuit board formed below the second dielectric layer and the second array of contact holes.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a chip circuit board(Fig. 13A [1302]) formed below the second dielectric layer(Fig. 13A [1308-1]) and the second array of contact holes(Fig. 13A See figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to provide a circuit board to operate the LED array. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an operable set of light-emitting structures.
Regarding Claim 29,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the bottom conductive structure is bonded with the IC back plane.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a bottom conductive structure(Fig. 13A [1310]) bonded with the IC back plane(Fig. 13A [1302]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to provide bond the bottom conductive structure to the IC back plane to electrically connect it to respective components in the IC back plane. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an operable set of light-emitting structures.
Regarding Claim 37,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the bottom epitaxial layer forms an array of inverted trapezoidal shapes or an array of bowl shapes.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 23 [2312]) as forming an array of inverted trapezoidal shapes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Zhang. Providing the light-emitting elements as an inverted trapezoidal shape is a regular design feature of light-emitting elements, shaped by the necessity between etching and deposition of respective layers during device formation. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a bottom epitaxial layer of a different shape.
Regarding Claim 40,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the bottom conductive structure comprises an array of cylindrical contact holes filed with metal.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a bottom conductive structure(Fig. 23 [2310-2]) comprising an array of cylindrical contact holes filled with a metal material(See paragraph 0166).
It would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed limitation by modification of the device disclosed by Akiyama with the prior art of Zhang. Filling a contact hole with metal to conduct components in higher and lower device layers is a standard practice in the prior art. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an operable set of light-emitting structures.
Above: Fig. 13A of Zhang with first and second arrays of contact holes denoted by examiner.
Claim(s) 14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Xu et al.(US 20210384182 A1, hereafter Xu).
Regarding Claim 14,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an array of micro lenses formed above the top epitaxial layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses an array of micro lenses(Fig. 6D [620]) formed above a top epitaxial layer(See paragraph 0206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Xu. One might have been motivated to include a plurality of micro lenses in order to improve the image quality and light focus of the light emitted by respective light-emitting elements. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of micro lenses placed above it.
Regarding Claim 16,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose each of the micro lenses comprises a top hemisphere lens and a bottom spacer below the top hemisphere lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses a top hemisphere lens(Fig. 6A [602]) and a bottom spacer(Fig. 6A [604]) below the top hemisphere lens(Fig. 6A [602]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Xu. One might have been motivated to include a bottom spacer below the top hemisphere lens to better provide an optical path between an LED element and a top hemisphere lens. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of micro lenses placed above it with a spacer below the top hemisphere lens.
Regarding Claim 17,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the width of the bottom spacer is greater than a diameter of the top hemisphere lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses a bottom spacer(Fig. 6A [604]) with a diameter greater than that of a top hemisphere lens(Fig. 6A [602]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Xu. One might have been motivated to include a bottom spacer which is wider than a top hemisphere lens below the top hemisphere lens to better provide an optical path between an LED element and a top hemisphere lens. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of micro lenses placed above it with a spacer below the top hemisphere lens.
Claim(s) 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Chen et al.(US 20150137169 A1, hereafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 19,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose the array of micro LEDs respectively forms an array of sidewalls at a bottom surface of the bottom epitaxial layer, and wherein the micro LED structure further comprises a reflective layer covering the array of sidewalls.
In the same field of endeavor Chen discloses an array of sidewalls at a bottom surface of the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 2 See figure below), and comprises a reflective layer(Fig. 2 See figure below) covering the array of sidewalls.
It would have been obvious at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Chen. One might have been motivated to provide the sidewalls of the bottom epitaxial layer as well as the reflective layer to improve the emissivity of the light-emitting elements by reflecting incident light in the direction of a light-emitting surface. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an uneven lower epitaxial layer and a reflective layer below the bottom epitaxial layer.
Regarding Claim 20,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an insulating layer formed between the array of sidewalls and the reflective layer.
In the same field of endeavor Chen discloses an insulating layer(Fig. 2 [31]) formed between the array of sidewalls and the reflective layer(Fig. 2 See figure below).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Chen. One might have been motivated to provide such an insulating layer in order to avoid unwanted current flow between the lower epitaxial layer and the reflective layer which can be formed of conductive materials. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with an insulating layer and a reflective layer below the bottom epitaxial layer.
Regarding Claim 21,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an array of bottom contacts formed at a bottom surface of the bottom epitaxial layer, wherein each of the bottom contacts is surrounded by the insulating layer and electrically connected with the bottom conductive structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses an array of bottom contacts(Fig. 2 [2]) formed at a bottom surface of the bottom epitaxial layer(Fig. 2 See figure below), wherein each of the bottom contacts(Fig. 2 [2]) is surrounded by the insulating layer(Fig. 2 [31]) and electrically connected with the bottom conductive structure(Fig. 2 [3]).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Chen. One might have been motivated to provide such an array of bottom contacts in order to operate the LED structures by signal flowing two or from the bottom contacts. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of bottom contacts below the bottom epitaxial layer.
Regarding Claim 22,
As the array of bottom contacts described by Chen comprise metal(See paragraph 0027) contacting another conductive layer(Fig. 2 [3]), one of ordinary skill in the art would be of the understanding that this connection constitutes an ohmic contact. Therefore by satisfying the limitations of claim 21, claim 22 would also be satisfied by extension.
Regarding Claim 23,
Akiyama does not teach or disclose an array of bottom contacts formed at a bottom surface of the bottom epitaxial layer and electrically connected with the bottom conductive structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses an array of bottom contacts(Fig. 2 [2]) formed at a bottom surface of the bottom epitaxial layer and electrically connected with the bottom conductive structure(Fig. 2 [3]).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Akiyama along the lines of Chen. One might have been motivated to provide such an array of bottom contacts in order to operate the LED structures by signal flowing two or from the bottom contacts. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Akiyama’s device with a set of bottom contacts below the bottom epitaxial layer.
Above: Fig. 2 of Chen with bottom epitaxial layer and reflective layer denoted by examiner.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang 2 in view of Daanoune et al.(US 20240047505 A1, hereafter Daanoune)
Regarding Claim 31,
Zhang 2 discloses a plurality of photonic crystals(See rejection of claim 30 above).
Zhang 2 does not teach or disclose the plurality of photonic crystals has a height of 300 nm and a diameter of 266 nm, and adjacent photonic crystals are spaced by a distance of 50 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Daanoune discloses a photonic crystal with a height between 300 and 350 nm, a pitch of 300 nm and a diameter of 240 nm, which implies a spacing of 60 nm(See paragraphs 0094, 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to produce Zhang 2’s device with the dimensions provided by Daanoune. When producing Zhang 2’s device, one would be presented with a need to find ideal dimensions by which to produce a photonic crystal, which gives rise to a need for the disclosure provided by Daanoune. As Daanoune’s dimensions only differ from the claimed values slightly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at said dimensions through routine experimentation, generating a predictable result in the creation of Zhang 2’s device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al.(US 20100230701 A1) discloses a light emitting device with a trench in a top epitaxial layer. Wakai et al.(US 20160329465 A1) disclose a light emitting device with a trench in a top epitaxial layer.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897