DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 14, 23, and 37 are amended. Claims 1-39 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 29, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-16, filed May 29, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14, 23, and 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Parish and Marin, further in view of Yazaki (US 2019/0305673 A1).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner suggests the Applicant more clearly define the direct contact made between the semiconductor die and the underlying substrate, as well as the direct contact made between the semiconductor die and the above lying encapsulant material (e.g. wherein the semiconductor die is in direct contact and disposed on the substrate and wherein the encapsulant material is in direct contact and disposed on the semiconductor die). The Examiner is available at the number below for an interview to discuss ideas at the Applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 12-13, 15-17, 19-22, 24-26, 28, 31-33, 35-36, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parish (US 2020/0251274 A1).
Claim 1, Parish discloses a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package (embedded magnetic component devices 300a is a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package, hereinafter, transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) comprising:
a substrate (substrate 301, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5) including a cavity (substrate 301 includes a cavity 302, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5), wherein the cavity 302 includes an aperture (cavity 302 includes a via hole 307 which is an aperture, hereinafter, aperture 307, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5);
a magnetic core (magnetic core 304, [0046], Figs. 3B and 5) disposed in the cavity 302 (magnetic core 304 is disposed in the cavity 302, [0046], Figs. 3B and 5), wherein the magnetic core 304 includes a soft ferromagnetic material (magnetic core 304 includes a soft ferromagnetic material (i.e. ferrite), [0071], Figs. 3B and 5), wherein the cavity 302 is configured to provide a space between an interior surface of the cavity and an exterior surface of the magnetic core 304 (cavity 302 is configured to provide a space (i.e. opening within cavity 302) between an interior surface of the cavity 302 (i.e. bottom surface of cover layer 305) and an exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5);
a cap (cover layer 305 is a cap, hereinafter, cap 305, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5) disposed in the aperture 307 and configured to seal the aperture 307 (cap 305 is disposed in the aperture 307 and configured to seal the aperture 307, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5);
a plurality of conductive traces (metallic traces 308 are a plurality of conductive traces, hereinafter, plurality of conductive traces 308, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5) forming first and second coils (plurality of conductive traces 308 form the primary winding of the transformer 410 which is the first coil, hereinafter, first coil 410, as well as the secondary winding of the transformer 420 which is the second coil, hereinafter, second coil 420, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5) disposed about the magnetic core 304 (first coil 410 and second coil 420 are disposed about the magnetic core 304, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5), wherein the first and second coils 410/420 and magnetic core 304 are configured as a transformer (first and second coils 410/420 and magnetic core 304 are configured as a transformer, [0057], Figs. 4A and 5); and
an encapsulant material (first isolation barrier 309a and second isolation barrier 309b are formed of an encapsulant material (i.e. epoxy material, FR4), [0025] and [0051], Figs. 3F and 5) configured to encapsulate a surface of the substrate 301 (encapsulant material of the first isolation barrier 309a and second isolation barrier 309b is configured to encapsulate a surface of the substrate 301, [0051], Figs. 3F and 5), wherein the encapsulant material 309a/309b is configured to form a surface of a package body (encapsulant material 309a/309b is configured to form a surface of a package body, [0051], Figs. 3F and 5).
Claim 2, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 1.
Parish discloses wherein the space comprises a gap between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304 (within the space (i.e. opening within cavity 302), there is a gap (i.e. vertical displacement) between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5).
Claim 4, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 1.
Parish discloses further comprising at least one semiconductor die (electronic components 501/502/503/504 are semiconductor dies, hereinafter, semiconductor die 501/502/503/504, [0080], Fig. 6) disposed on the substrate 301 under the encapsulant material 309a/309b (semiconductor dies 503/504 are disposed on the substrate 301 under the encapsulant material 309a/309b, [0080], Fig. 6).
Claim 5, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 4.
Parish discloses wherein the at least one semiconductor die 501/502/503/504 comprises an integrated circuit (IC) (semiconductor die 501/502/503/504 comprises an integrated circuit (IC), hereinafter, semiconductor die IC 501/502/503/504, [0079], Fig. 6).
Claim 8, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 1.
Parish discloses wherein the magnetic core 304 comprise ferrite (magnetic core 304 comprise ferrite, [0071], Fig. 5).
Claim 9, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 1.
Parish discloses wherein the substrate 301 comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (substrate 301 comprises FR4 which is a printed circuit board (PCB), [0045], Figs. 3A and 5).
Claim 12, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 1.
Parish discloses wherein the cap 305 comprises mold material (cap 305 comprises mold material (i.e. FR4), [0047], Fig. 5).
Claim 13, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 12.
Parish discloses wherein the cap 305 comprises a plurality of coil portions of the first and second coils 410/420 (cap 305 comprises a plurality of coil portions of the first coil 410 and second coil 420, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5).
Claim 15, Parish discloses a method of making an integrated circuit (IC) and transformer package (embedded magnetic component devices 300a is a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package, hereinafter, transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5), the method comprising:
providing a substrate (substrate 301, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5) including a cavity (substrate 301 includes a cavity 302, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5), wherein the cavity 302 includes an aperture (cavity 302 includes a via hole 307 which is an aperture, hereinafter, aperture 307, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5);
providing a magnetic core (magnetic core 304, [0046], Figs. 3B and 5) disposed in the cavity 302 (magnetic core 304 is disposed in the cavity 302, [0046], Figs. 3B and 5), wherein the magnetic core 304 includes a soft ferromagnetic material (magnetic core 304 includes a soft ferromagnetic material (i.e. ferrite), [0071], Figs. 3B and 5), wherein the cavity 302 is configured to provide a space between an interior surface of the cavity and an exterior surface of the magnetic core 304 (cavity 302 is configured to provide a space (i.e. opening within cavity 302) between an interior surface of the cavity 302 (i.e. bottom surface of cover layer 305) and an exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5);
providing a cap (cover layer 305 is a cap, hereinafter, cap 305, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5) disposed in the aperture 307 and configured to seal the aperture 307 (cap 305 is disposed in the aperture 307 and configured to seal the aperture 307, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5);
providing first and second coils (plurality of conductive traces 308 form the primary winding of the transformer 410 which is the first coil, hereinafter, first coil 410, as well as the secondary winding of the transformer 420 which is the second coil, hereinafter, second coil 420, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5) disposed about the magnetic core 304 (first coil 410 and second coil 420 are disposed about the magnetic core 304, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5), wherein the first and second coils 410/420 and magnetic core 304 are configured as a transformer (first and second coils 410/420 and magnetic core 304 are configured as a transformer, [0057], Figs. 4A and 5); and
providing a molding material (first isolation barrier 309a and second isolation barrier 309b are formed of a molding/encapsulant material (i.e. epoxy material, FR4), hereinafter, molding material 309a/309b, [0025] and [0051], Figs. 3F and 5) encapsulating a surface of the substrate 301, the cap 305, and the transformer (molding material 309a/309b is configured to encapsulate a surface of the substrate 301, the cap 305, and the transformer 410/420, [0051], Figs. 3F and 5), wherein the molding material 309a/309b forms a package body (molding material 309a/309b is configured to form a surface of a package body, [0051], Figs. 3F and 5).
Claim 16, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 15.
Parish discloses wherein providing the first and second coils 410/420 disposed about the magnetic core 304 comprises connecting a first plurality of coil portions 410 disposed in the substrate 301 with a second plurality of coil portions 420 disposed exterior to the substrate 301 (providing the first and second coils 410/420 disposed about the magnetic core 304 comprises connecting a first plurality of coil portions 410 disposed in the substrate 301 with a second plurality of coil portions 420 disposed exterior to the substrate 301, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5).
Claim 17, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 16.
Parish discloses wherein the second plurality of coil portions 420 are provided after the cap 305 is disposed in the aperture 307 (second plurality of coil portions 420 are provided after the cap 305 is disposed in the aperture 307, [0049], Figs. 3C and 3E).
Claim 19, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 15.
Parish discloses wherein the substrate 301 comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (substrate 301 comprises FR4 which is a printed circuit board (PCB), [0045], Figs. 3A and 5).
Claim 20, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 15.
Parish discloses wherein the magnetic core 304 and/or cap comprise ferrite (magnetic core 304 comprise ferrite, [0071], Fig. 5).
Claim 21, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 15.
Parish discloses wherein the cap 305 comprises mold material (cap 305 comprises mold material (i.e. FR4), [0047], Fig. 5).
Claim 22, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 21.
Parish discloses wherein the cap 305 comprises a plurality of coil portions of the first and second coils 410/420 (cap 305 comprises a plurality of coil portions of the first coil 410 and second coil 420, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5).
Claim 24, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 15.
Parish discloses further comprising providing one or more semiconductor die (electronic components 501/502/503/504 are semiconductor dies, hereinafter, semiconductor die 501/502/503/504, [0080], Fig. 6) supported by the substrate 301 (die 501/502/503/504 are supported by the substrate 301, [0080], Fig. 6).
Claim 25, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 24.
Parish discloses wherein the one or more semiconductor die 501/502/503/504 comprise first and second semiconductor die comprising first and second integrated circuits (ICs) (semiconductor die IC 501/502/503/504 comprise first and second semiconductor die comprising first and second integrated circuits (ICs), hereinafter, first and second ICs 501/502/503/504, [0079], Fig. 6), respectively, and wherein the first and second coils 410/420 are connected to the first and second ICs 501/502/503/504, respectively (first and second coils 410/420 are connected to the first and second ICs 501/502/503/504, [0080], Fig. 6).
Claim 26, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 25.
Parish discloses wherein the first and second ICs 501/502/503/504 are galvanically isolated (first and second ICs 501/502/503/504 are galvanically isolated, [0011] and [0080], Fig. 6).
Claim 28, Parish discloses a voltage-isolated integrated circuit (IC) package (embedded magnetic component devices 300a is a voltage-isolated integrated circuit (IC) package, hereinafter, voltage-isolated integrated circuit (IC) package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) comprising:
a package body (second isolation barrier 309b is a package body, hereinafter, package body 309b, [0051], Figs. 3F and 5) including molding material (package body 309b includes a molding material (i.e. FR4), [0051], Figs. 3F and 5);
a substrate (substrate 301, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5) disposed within the package body 309b (substrate 301 is disposed within the package body 309b, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5), wherein the substrate 301 includes a cavity (substrate 301 includes a cavity 302, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5) having an aperture (cavity 302 includes a via hole 307 which is an aperture, hereinafter, aperture 307, [0045], Figs. 3A and 5);
a magnetic core (magnetic core 304, [0046], Figs. 3B and 5) disposed in the cavity 302 (magnetic core 304 is disposed in the cavity 302, [0046], Figs. 3B and 5), wherein the magnetic core 304 includes a soft ferromagnetic material (magnetic core 304 includes a soft ferromagnetic material (i.e. ferrite), [0071], Figs. 3B and 5);
wherein the cavity 302 is configured to provide a space between an interior surface of the cavity and an exterior surface of the magnetic core 304 (cavity 302 is configured to provide a space (i.e. opening within cavity 302) between an interior surface of the cavity 302 (i.e. bottom surface of cover layer 305) and an exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5), and wherein the magnetic core 304 is unconstrained by the substrate 301 (magnetic core 304 is unconstrained by the substrate 301, [0037], Fig. 5);
a cap (cover layer 305 is a cap, hereinafter, cap 305, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5) disposed in the aperture 307 and configured to seal the aperture 307 (cap 305 is disposed in the aperture 307 and configured to seal the aperture 307, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5);
a plurality of conductive traces (metallic traces 308 are a plurality of conductive traces, hereinafter, plurality of conductive traces 308, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5) forming first and second coils (plurality of conductive traces 308 form the primary winding of the transformer 410 which is the first coil, hereinafter, first coil 410, as well as the secondary winding of the transformer 420 which is the second coil, hereinafter, second coil 420, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5) disposed about the magnetic core 304 (first coil 410 and second coil 420 are disposed about the magnetic core 304, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5), wherein the first and second coils 410/420 and magnetic core 304 are configured as a transformer (first and second coils 410/420 and magnetic core 304 are configured as a transformer, [0057], Figs. 4A and 5);
first and second IC die (semiconductor die 501/502 comprises an integrated circuit (IC), hereinafter, semiconductor die IC 501/502, [0079], Fig. 6) connected to the first and second coils 410/420 (first and second IC die 501/502 are connected to the first and second coils 410/420, respectively, [0079], Fig. 6);
a first plurality of leads (metallic traces 505 are a first plurality of leads, hereinafter, first plurality of leads 505, [0080], Fig. 6) connected to the first IC die 501 (first plurality of leads 505 are connected to the first IC die 501, [0080], Fig. 6), wherein the first plurality of leads 505 includes exposed lead portions (exposed lead portions (i.e. land grid array (LGA) or ball grid array (BGA)), [0079], Fig. 6) accessible from the exterior of the package body 309b (exposed lead portions may be accessible from the exterior of the package body 309b, [0080], Fig. 6); and
a second plurality of leads (metallic traces 506 are a second plurality of leads, hereinafter, second plurality of leads 506, [0080], Fig. 6) connected to the second IC die 502 (second plurality of leads 506 are connected to the second IC die 502, [0080], Fig. 6), wherein the second plurality of leads 506 includes exposed lead portions (exposed lead portions (i.e. land grid array (LGA) or ball grid array (BGA)), [0079], Fig. 6) accessible from the exterior of the package body 309b (exposed lead portions may be accessible from the exterior of the package body 309b, [0080], Fig. 6).
Claim 31, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish discloses wherein the magnetic core 304 and/or cap includes ferrite (magnetic core 304 includes ferrite, [0071], Fig. 5).
Claim 32, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish discloses wherein the substrate 301 comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (substrate 301 comprises FR4 which is a printed circuit board (PCB), [0045], Figs. 3A and 5).
Claim 33, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish discloses wherein the space comprises a gap between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304 (within the space (i.e. opening within cavity 302), there is a gap (i.e. vertical displacement) between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5).
Claim 35, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish discloses wherein the cap 305 comprises mold material (cap 305 comprises mold material (i.e. FR4), [0047], Fig. 5).
Claim 36, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 35.
Parish discloses wherein the cap 305 comprises a plurality of coil portions of the first and second coils 410/420 (cap 305 comprises a plurality of coil portions of the first coil 410 and second coil 420, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5).
Claim 38, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish discloses further comprising a seal (cap 305 and substrate 301 may be bonded utilizing a lamination process (i.e. adhesive or heat activation of pre-preg material), which is a seal, [0047], Fig. 6) disposed between the cap 305 and the substrate 301 (seal is disposed between the cap 305 and the substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 6).
Claim 39, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 38.
Parish discloses wherein the seal comprises epoxy (seal comprises epoxy (i.e. epoxy resin used in FR4 and respective lamination processing), [0047], Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parish in view of Weis (US 2020/0035396 A1).
Claim 3, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 2.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the gap is between about 250 nm to about 2 mm.
However, Weis discloses wherein the gap (Weis, non-magnetic gap 130 is a gap, hereinafter, gap 130, [0097], Fig. 4; Parish, within the space (i.e. opening within cavity 302), there is a gap (i.e. vertical displacement) between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5) is between about 0.075 mm to about 2 mm (Weis, gap 130 is between about 0.075 mm to about 2 mm (i.e. 75 µm or more), [0097], Fig. 4; Parish, within the space (i.e. opening within cavity 302), there is a gap (i.e. vertical displacement) between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to vary, through routine experimentation, “the result effective variable of gap distance between the interior surface of the cavity and the exterior surface of the magnetic core (result effective at least insofar as gap distance manipulates resultant magnetic field strength and allows spatial control of magnetic properties of the resultant IC package (Weis, [0027])) in order to optimize the functionality of the device (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP §2144.05).
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed gap distance between the interior surface of the cavity and the exterior surface of the magnetic core or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 34, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 33.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the gap is between about 100 nm to about 2 mm.
However, Weis discloses wherein the gap (Weis, non-magnetic gap 130 is a gap, hereinafter, gap 130, [0097], Fig. 4; Parish, within the space (i.e. opening within cavity 302), there is a gap (i.e. vertical displacement) between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5) is between about 0.075 mm to about 2 mm (Weis, gap 130 is between about 0.075 mm to about 2 mm (i.e. 75 µm or more), [0097], Fig. 4; Parish, within the space (i.e. opening within cavity 302), there is a gap (i.e. vertical displacement) between the interior surface of the cavity 302 and the exterior surface of the magnetic core 304, [0047], Figs. 3C and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to vary, through routine experimentation, “the result effective variable of gap distance between the interior surface of the cavity and the exterior surface of the magnetic core (result effective at least insofar as gap distance manipulates resultant magnetic field strength and allows spatial control of magnetic properties of the resultant IC package (Weis, [0027])) in order to optimize the functionality of the device (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP §2144.05).
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed gap distance between the interior surface of the cavity and the exterior surface of the magnetic core or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 6-7, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parish.
Claim 6, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 5.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the IC comprises a gate driver.
However, Parish discloses wherein the IC 501/502/503/504 comprises switching devices (i.e. “components may include one or more … switching devices, such as transistors, integrated circuits, and operational amplifiers”, [0079], Fig. 6) which are known in the art to require a gate driver. The combination to utilize a gate driver within a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package would allow for the control of the switching devices therein (Parish, [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a gate driver within a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package would allow for the control of the switching devices therein (Parish, [0079]).
Claim 7, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 6.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second coils are configured as primary and secondary coils in a step-up configuration.
However, Parish discloses wherein the first and second coils are configured as primary and secondary coils (first coil 410 (i.e. primary winding of the transformer 410) and second coil 420 (i.e. secondary winding of the transformer 420) are configured as primary and secondary coils, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5) in power supply devices such as isolated DC-DC converters which are known in the art to utilize a step-up configuration (Parish, [0011]). The combination to configure the primary and secondary coils in a step-up configuration enables functionality of the embedded magnetic components as a voltage converter (i.e. DC-DC converter, etc.) (Parish, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the primary and secondary coils in a step-up configuration enables functionality of the embedded magnetic components as a voltage converter (i.e. DC-DC converter, etc.) (Parish, [0011]).
Claim 27, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 25.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the second IC comprises a gate driver.
However, Parish discloses wherein the IC 501/502/503/504 comprises switching devices (i.e. “components may include one or more … switching devices, such as transistors, integrated circuits, and operational amplifiers”, [0079], Fig. 6) which are known in the art to require a gate driver. The combination to utilize a gate driver within a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package would allow for the control of the switching devices therein (Parish, [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a gate driver within a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package would allow for the control of the switching devices therein (Parish, [0079]).
Claim 29, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the second IC die comprises a gate driver.
However, Parish discloses wherein the second IC die 502 comprises switching devices (i.e. “components may include one or more … switching devices, such as transistors, integrated circuits, and operational amplifiers”, [0079], Fig. 6) which are known in the art to require a gate driver. The combination to utilize a gate driver within a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package would allow for the control of the switching devices therein (Parish, [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a gate driver within a transformer based integrated circuit (IC) package would allow for the control of the switching devices therein (Parish, [0079]).
Claim 30, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the transformer is configured as a step-up transformer.
However, Parish discloses wherein the transformer is configured as step-up transformer (first coil 410 (i.e. primary winding of the transformer 410) and second coil 420 (i.e. secondary winding of the transformer 420) are configured as primary and secondary coils, [0057], Figs. 3E and 5) in power supply devices such as isolated DC-DC converters which are known in the art to utilize a step-up configuration (Parish, [0011]). The combination to configure the transformer (i.e. primary and secondary coils) in a step-up configuration enables functionality of the embedded magnetic components as a voltage converter (i.e. DC-DC converter, etc.) (Parish, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the primary and secondary coils in a step-up configuration enables functionality of the embedded magnetic components as a voltage converter (i.e. DC-DC converter, etc.) (Parish, [0011]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parish in view of Chen (US 2013/0056847 A1).
Claim 10, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 1.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the cap comprises soft ferromagnetic material.
However, Chen discloses wherein the cap (Chen, flux conductor layer 495 is a cap (i.e. disposed in the aperture 472/476 and configured to seal the aperture 472/476, hereinafter, cap 495, [0034], Fig. 4); Parish, Fig. 5) comprises soft ferromagnetic material (Chen, cap 495 comprises soft ferromagnetic material (i.e. nickel ferrite (NiFe), ferrite loaded epoxy layer, etc.), [0016] and [0034], Fig. 4; Parish, Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Chen, including the specific material of a soft ferromagnetic material (i.e. ferrite loaded epoxy, nickel ferrite (i.e. iron nickel), to the teachings of Parish.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as a magnetic material having a high magnetic permeability (Chen, [0034]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 11, Parish/Chen discloses the IC package (Parish, transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5; Chen, integrated circuit 400, [0027], Fig. 4) of claim 10.
Parish/Chen discloses wherein the cap comprises ferrite (Chen, cap 495 comprises ferrite (i.e. nickel ferrite (NiFe), ferrite loaded epoxy layer, etc.), [0016] and [0034], Fig. 4; Parish, Fig. 5).
Claims 14, 23, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parish in view of Marin (US 2021/0014972 A1) and further in view of Yazaki (US 2019/0305673 A1).
Claim 14, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 12.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate includes a step at the aperture, wherein the step is configured to receive the cap.
However, Marin discloses wherein the substrate (Marin, core substrate 150 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 150, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) includes a step at the aperture (Marin, substrate 150 includes a step at the aperture 111/112, [0020], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5), wherein the step is configured to receive the cap (Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5).
Parish/Marin does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate includes a step at the aperture, wherein the step is configured to receive the cap at least partially within the substrate.
However, Yazaki discloses wherein the substrate (Yazaki, ferrite multilayer substrate 31 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 31, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, core substrate 150 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 150, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) includes a step at the aperture (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes first non-magnetic layer 31a which includes a step at the aperture, hereinafter, step at the aperture 31a, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, substrate 150 includes a step at the aperture 111/112, [0020], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5), wherein the step is configured to receive the cap (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes a step at the aperture 31a which is configured to receive the cap 31a, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) at least partially within the substrate (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes a step at the aperture 31a which is configured to receive the cap 31a at least partially within the substrate 31, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5). The combination to configure the step in the aperture to receive the cap allows for overall improvement of power delivery by enhancing the electrical functionality of such package substrates with thick embedded magnetic inductors (Marin, [0015]). The specific decision for the step of the substrate to receive the cap at least partially within the substrate enables reduction in the size of the resulting inductor element and the respective inductance value may be increased by increasing the winding radius of the wire used to form the inductor (Yazaki, [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a step in the aperture to receive the cap to allow for overall improvement of power delivery by enhancing the electrical functionality of such package substrates with thick embedded magnetic inductors (Marin, [0015]) as well as to enable reduction in the size of the resulting inductor element and the respective inductance value may be increased by increasing the winding radius of the wire used to form the inductor (Yazaki, [0094]).
Claim 23, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 15.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate includes a step at the aperture, wherein the step is configured to receive the cap.
However, Marin discloses wherein the substrate (Marin, core substrate 150 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 150, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) includes a step at the aperture (Marin, substrate 150 includes a step at the aperture 111/112, [0020], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5), wherein the step is configured to receive the cap (Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5).
Parish/Marin does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate includes a step at the aperture, wherein the step is configured to receive the cap at least partially within the substrate.
However, Yazaki discloses wherein the substrate (Yazaki, ferrite multilayer substrate 31 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 31, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, core substrate 150 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 150, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) includes a step at the aperture (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes first non-magnetic layer 31a which includes a step at the aperture, hereinafter, step at the aperture 31a, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, substrate 150 includes a step at the aperture 111/112, [0020], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5), wherein the step is configured to receive the cap (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes a step at the aperture 31a which is configured to receive the cap 31a, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) at least partially within the substrate (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes a step at the aperture 31a which is configured to receive the cap 31a at least partially within the substrate 31, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5). The combination to configure the step in the aperture to receive the cap allows for overall improvement of power delivery by enhancing the electrical functionality of such package substrates with thick embedded magnetic inductors (Marin, [0015]). The specific decision for the step of the substrate to receive the cap at least partially within the substrate enables reduction in the size of the resulting inductor element and the respective inductance value may be increased by increasing the winding radius of the wire used to form the inductor (Yazaki, [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a step in the aperture to receive the cap to allow for overall improvement of power delivery by enhancing the electrical functionality of such package substrates with thick embedded magnetic inductors (Marin, [0015]) as well as to enable reduction in the size of the resulting inductor element and the respective inductance value may be increased by increasing the winding radius of the wire used to form the inductor (Yazaki, [0094]).
Claim 37, Parish discloses the IC package (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 28.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate includes a step at the aperture, wherein the step is configured to receive the cap.
However, Marin discloses wherein the substrate (Marin, core substrate 150 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 150, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) includes a step at the aperture (Marin, substrate 150 includes a step at the aperture 111/112, [0020], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5), wherein the step is configured to receive the cap (Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5).
Parish/Marin does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate includes a step at the aperture, wherein the step is configured to receive the cap at least partially within the substrate.
However, Yazaki discloses wherein the substrate (Yazaki, ferrite multilayer substrate 31 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 31, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, core substrate 150 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 150, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) includes a step at the aperture (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes first non-magnetic layer 31a which includes a step at the aperture, hereinafter, step at the aperture 31a, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, substrate 150 includes a step at the aperture 111/112, [0020], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5), wherein the step is configured to receive the cap (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes a step at the aperture 31a which is configured to receive the cap 31a, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5) at least partially within the substrate (Yazaki, substrate 31 includes a step at the aperture 31a which is configured to receive the cap 31a at least partially within the substrate 31, [0069], Figs. 5A-5C; Marin, step is configured to receive the cap 122a, [0037], Fig. 1B; Parish, substrate 301, [0047], Fig. 5). The combination to configure the step in the aperture to receive the cap allows for overall improvement of power delivery by enhancing the electrical functionality of such package substrates with thick embedded magnetic inductors (Marin, [0015]). The specific decision for the step of the substrate to receive the cap at least partially within the substrate enables reduction in the size of the resulting inductor element and the respective inductance value may be increased by increasing the winding radius of the wire used to form the inductor (Yazaki, [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a step in the aperture to receive the cap to allow for overall improvement of power delivery by enhancing the electrical functionality of such package substrates with thick embedded magnetic inductors (Marin, [0015]) as well as to enable reduction in the size of the resulting inductor element and the respective inductance value may be increased by increasing the winding radius of the wire used to form the inductor (Yazaki, [0094]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parish in view of Yazaki.
Claim 18, Parish discloses the method (transformer based IC package 300a, [0081], Fig. 5) of claim 16.
Parish does not explicitly disclose wherein the second plurality of coil portions comprises wire bonds.
However, Yazaki discloses a noise reduction element 130 including a plurality of inductors and internal IC, wherein the second plurality of coil portions comprises wire bonds (internal wire 33 and surface wire 32 include a second plurality of coil portions within the device 130, [0112], Fig. 13; Parish, Fig. 5). The combination to utilize wire bonds such that unintended formation of an inductor is prevented (Yazaki, [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize wire bonds such that unintended formation of an inductor is prevented (Yazaki, [0071]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812