DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 12-19) in the reply filed on 02/19/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 1-11, 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/19/2026.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 14, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 14, the examiner suggest to amend to “a top surface” rather than “the top surface” because the phrase “the top surface” lacks antecedent basis. The limitation “a top surface” is similar to how the applicants recited it in claim 13.
In line 5 of claim 17, the limitation “the second position” lacks antecedent basis. The examiner assumes that the applicants intended to previously recite “a second position” rather than “a second location” (in line 4) since the applicants previously recited “a first position”. The examiner suggests replacing “a second location” in line 4 to “a second position” for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 2018/0254199 A1).
As to claim 12, Suzuki discloses a substrate processing method of processing a substrate, the substrate processing method comprising:
a processing operation of supplying a treatment liquid through a nozzle (411A) onto a substrate (W) rotating while being seated on a support unit (31) (See Fig 3-Fig 5C; paragraph 0041, 0053-0055, 0064); and
a rinse operation of supplying another treatment liquid through a nozzle (412A or 412B) onto the substrate (W) rotating while being seated on the support unit to remove the treatment liquid (Fig 3, paragraph 0047-0054);
wherein in the processing operation, when viewed from above, the nozzle (412A) is spaced apart from a center of the substrate (W) such that when the treatment liquid is supplied to the substrate rotated by the support unit (31), the treatment liquid is not sprayed at a position overlapping the center of the substrate (Fig 5C, Fig 7B-7C; paragraph 0064, 0072-0073).
As to claim 13, Suzuki discloses in the processing operation, the nozzle (411A) is disposed at a predetermined distance apart in an upward direction from a top surface of the substrate to supply the treatment liquid (Fig 5C, Fig 7B, 7C; paragraph 0064-0065, 0072-0074).
As to claim 14, Suzuki discloses in the processing operation, the nozzle (411A) supplies the treatment liquid in a direction vertical to the top surface of the substrate (Fig 5C, Fig 7B, 7C; paragraph 0064-0065, 0072-0074).
As to claim 15, Suzuki discloses wherein in the processing operation, the nozzle (411A) discharges the treatment liquid at a location close to the center of the substrate between a distance to the center of the substrate and a distance to an edge of the substrate (See Fig 5C, Fig 6, Fig 7B; paragraph 0069-0072; Note: the nozzle position is shifted by 20 mm from the center of the wafer; the outermost peripheral position is 150 mm from the center).
As to claim 16, Suzuki discloses wherein in the processing operation, the treatment liquid supplied to the substrate is spread to each of a center side of the substrate and to an edge side of the substrate (Fig 3, Fig 7B, Fig 7C, paragraph 0072-0075).
As to claim 17, Suzuki discloses wherein in the processing operation, when a location from which the treatment liquid is supplied is referred to as a first position (e.g. 20 nm off center), and a center of the distance from the center of the substrate to the edge of the substrate is referred to as a second position, the first position is located closer to the center of the substrate than the second position (See Fig 5C, Fig 6, Fig 7B; paragraph 0069-0072; Note: First position: the nozzle position is shifted by 20 mm from the center of the wafer; second position: the outermost peripheral position is 150 mm from the center).
As to claim 18, Suzuki wherein in the processing operation, when the distance from the center of the substrate to the edge of the substrate is referred to as a first distance (e.g. 150 nm from the center; See paragraph 0069), the first position (20 nm from the center) is selected within a range 13.33 % of the first distance from the center of the substrate. (Note: (20 nm/ 150 nm) * 100% = 13.33 %, within applicants range of “5% to 15%”; See paragraph 059, 0072).
As to claim 19, Suzuki discloses the treatment liquid contains an ammonia component (paragraph 0053).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713