DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2006/0214500 (Hall) in view of US 2011/0139530 (Ananthakrishna).
Regarding claim 1, Hall teaches a vehicle [0087] comprising: a wheel (Fig. 1 shows wheel 10) comprising a rim portion (Fig. 1 shows rim 12), a disk portion (Fig. 1 shows central portion 11), and a battery (Fig. 7 shows battery 81 in a metal band around the rim); and a vehicle body (a vehicle having a vehicle body) [0087], wherein the rim portion has an inside rim face and an outside rim face (Fig. 1 shows rim 12 having an inside rim face and an outside rim face), and wherein the battery has a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion (Fig. 7 shows battery 81 fixedly positioned on the outside rim face 12A wherein battery is encased in a metal band that extends around the circumference of the rim) [0136].
However, Hall does not teach the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face.
However, Ananthakrishna teaches the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face (Fig. 5 shows belt of portable power pack being embedded in the rim 502 thereby being between the inside rim face and the outside rim face) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face as taught by Ananthakrishna in order to protect the battery from outside environmental conditions.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2006/0214500 (Hall) in view of US 2011/0139530 (Ananthakrishna) further in view of US 2015/0349158 (Kanemoto).
Regarding claim 2, Hall teaches a vehicle [0087] comprising: a wheel (Fig. 1 shows wheel 10) comprising a rim portion (Fig. 1 shows rim 12), a disk portion (Fig. 1 shows central portion 11), and a battery (Fig. 7 shows battery 81 in a metal band around the rim); and a vehicle body (a vehicle having a vehicle body) [0087], wherein the rim portion has an inside rim face and an outside rim face (Fig. 1 shows rim 12 having an inside rim face and an outside rim face), and wherein the battery has a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion (Fig. 7 shows battery 81 fixedly positioned on the outside rim face 12A wherein battery is encased in a metal band that extends around the circumference of the rim) [0136].
However, Hall does not teach the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face.
However, Ananthakrishna teaches the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face (Fig. 5 shows belt of portable power pack being embedded in the rim 502 thereby being between the inside rim face and the outside rim face) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face as taught by Ananthakrishna in order to protect the battery from outside environmental conditions.
However, Hall and Ananthakrishna does not teach belt-like shaped battery wrapped more than one lap.
However, Kanemoto teaches belt-like shaped battery wrapped more than one lap (Fig. 2 shows multiple layers of positive electrode plates 31 and negative electrode plates 32 thereby forming the structure where the battery is wrapped for more than one lap) [0053-0054].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have belt-like shaped battery wrapped more than one lap as taught by Kanemoto in order to increase the amount of battery present in the wheel rim thereby increasing the power capacity.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2010- 036823 (Tanaka) in view of US 2011/0139530 (Ananthakrishna).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a vehicle (Fig. 1 shows wheel 120 A-B that would be mounted on an automobile 100) comprising: a wheel comprising a rim portion (Fig. 2 shows a wheel 120B comprising a rim 123), a disk portion (Fig. 2 shows disk portion 124), and a battery (Fig. 2 shows battery 130); and a vehicle body (Fig. 1 shows vehicle body); wherein the rim portion has an inside rim face and an outside rim face (Fig. 2 shows a rim 123 having an inside rim face and an outside rim face); and wherein the battery has a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion (Fig. 2 shows battery 130 having a ring like shape i.e. belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion 123).
However, Tanaka does not teach the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face.
However, Ananthakrishna teaches the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face (Fig. 5 shows belt of portable power pack being embedded in the rim 502 thereby being between the inside rim face and the outside rim face) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face as taught by Ananthakrishna in order to protect the battery from outside environmental conditions.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2010- 036823 (Tanaka) in view of US 2011/0139530 (Ananthakrishna) further in view of US 2015/0349158 (Kanemoto).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka teaches a vehicle (Fig. 1 shows wheel 120 A-B that would be mounted on an automobile 100) comprising: a wheel comprising a rim portion (Fig. 2 shows a wheel 120B comprising a rim 123), a disk portion (Fig. 2 shows disk portion 124), and a battery
(Fig. 2 shows battery 130); and a vehicle body (Fig. 1 shows vehicle body); wherein the rim portion has an inside rim face and an outside rim face (Fig. 2 shows a rim 123 having an inside rim face and an outside rim face); and wherein the battery has a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion (Fig. 2 shows battery 130 having a ring-like shape 1.e. belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion 123).
However, Tanaka does not teach the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face.
However, Ananthakrishna teaches the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face (Fig. 5 shows belt of portable power pack being embedded in the rim 502 thereby being between the inside rim face and the outside rim face) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face as taught by Ananthakrishna in order to protect the battery from outside environmental conditions.
However, Tanaka and Ananthakrishna does not teach battery wrapped for more than one lap.
However, Kanemoto teaches battery wrapped for more than one lap (Fig. 2 shows multiple layers of positive electrode plates 31 and negative electrode plates 32 thereby forming the structure where the battery is wrapped for more than one lap) [0053-54].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have battery wrapped for more than one lap as taught by Kanemoto in order to increase the amount of battery present in the wheel rim thereby increasing the power capacity of the wheel.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0149167 (Jung) in view of US 2011/0139530 (Ananthakrishna).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a vehicle [0059] comprising: a wheel comprising a rim portion (vehicle comprising a wheel with a rim portion) [0059], a disk portion (wheel having a disk portion) [0059], and a battery (battery module 200); and a vehicle body (vehicle as mentioned having a vehicle body) [0059]; wherein the rim portion has an inside face and an outside rim face (vehicle rim has an inside rim face and an outside rim face); and wherein the battery has a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion (battery 200 installed along the outer circumference of a wheel of a vehicle thereby forming a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion) [0059].
However, Jung does not teach the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face.
However, Ananthakrishna teaches the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face (Fig. 5 shows belt of portable power pack being embedded in the rim 502 thereby being between the inside rim face and the outside rim face) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face as taught by Ananthakrishna in order to protect the battery from outside environmental conditions.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0149167 (Jung) in view of US 2011/0139530 (Ananthakrishna) further in view of US 2015/0349158 (Kanemoto).
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches a vehicle [0059] comprising: a wheel comprising a rim portion (vehicle comprising a wheel with a rim portion) [0059], a disk portion (wheel having a disk portion) [0059], and a battery (battery module 200); and a vehicle body (vehicle as mentioned having a vehicle body) [0059]; wherein the rim portion has an inside face and an outside rim face (vehicle rim has an inside rim face and an outside rim face); and wherein the battery has a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion (battery 200 installed along the outer circumference of a wheel of a vehicle thereby forming a belt-like shape wrapped around a cylindrical portion of the rim portion) [0059].
However, Jung does not teach the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face.
However, Ananthakrishna teaches the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face (Fig. 5 shows belt of portable power pack being embedded in the rim 502 thereby being between the inside rim face and the outside rim face) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery between the inside rim face and the outside rim face as taught by Ananthakrishna in order to protect the battery from outside environmental conditions.
However, Jung and Ananthakrishna does not teach battery wrapped for more than one lap.
However, Kanemoto teaches battery wrapped for more than one lap (Fig. 2 shows multiple layers of positive electrode plates 31 and negative electrode plates 32 thereby forming the structure where the battery is wrapped for more than one lap) [0053-54].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have battery wrapped for more than one lap as taught by Kanemoto in order to increase the amount of battery present in the wheel rim thereby increasing the power capacity of the wheel.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2006/0214500 (Hall) in view of US 2011/0139530 (Ananthakrishna) and US 2015/0349158 (Kanemoto) further in view of US 2017/0008385 (Fujimoto).
Regarding claim 3, Hall, Ananthakrishna and Kanemoto does not teach further comprising an electric power transmission mechanism including a circuit and an antenna, wherein the circuit is electrically connected to the battery through a cable, and wherein the antenna is electrically connected to the circuit.
However, Fujimoto teaches an electric power transmission mechanism including a circuit and an antenna, wherein the circuit is electrically connected to the battery through a cable, and wherein the antenna is electrically connected to the circuit [0036-0037].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electric power transmission mechanism including a circuit and an antenna, wherein the circuit is electrically connected to the battery through a cable, and wherein the antenna is electrically connected to the circuit as taught by Fujimoto in order to ensure receiving and transmitting power wirelessly thereby bypassing the usage of wiring and saving space in the system.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836