DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 03/04/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. A copy of the foreign patent document “DE 102016004695 A1” was not provided, instead only a copy of CN 106136694 A (which was not cited in the IDS) was provided.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the applicant uses the term ‘rhythmic pattern’ in claim 17. The term ‘rhythmic’ is not defined in the specification of the application. The most applicable dictionary definition of this term is: occurring regularly (Oxford Languages).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the term “squarish” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “squarish” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such it is unclear to what degree the bladder cross sections must be square shaped. For example, one of ordinary skill in the art may consider a rectangular cross section to be “squarish,” similarly with a parallelogram, a trapezoid, or a rhombus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) in view of Kron (US 4059909 A).
Regarding claim 1, Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) discloses an adjustable seat comprising:
a seat body (Dhaini, figure 1, item 12);
a plurality of inflatable bladders coupled with the seat body (Dhaini, figure 1, item 22), each inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders having a rectangular cross-section in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the inflatable bladder (Dhaini, figure 1, item 22, rectangular cross section of cells);
a source of a pressurized air fluidly coupled with the plurality of inflatable bladders (Dhaini, figure 1, item 26);
a user input device configured to receive an input from a user (Dhaini, figure 1, item 70); and
a controller (Dhaini, figure 1, item 20) communicatively coupled with the user input device and operatively coupled with the source of the pressurized air (Dhaini, figure 1, controller connected with the interface and to the compressor via valves), the controller configured to obtain the input from the user input device (Dhaini, col 5 lines 35-40, data from input device communicated to controller) and to control the source of the pressurized air to direct the pressurized air into the plurality of inflatable bladders in response to receiving the input (Dhaini, col 3 lines 19-28, controller regulates flow of compressed air into cells).
Alternatively, should applicant argue that the cells of Dhaini are not inflatable bladders, Kron (US 4059909 A) teaches a seat using a plurality of inflatable bladders (Kron, figure 1, item 13, bladders)
Dhaini and Kron are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Dhaini with the air bladders of Kron with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the range of movement/expansion of cells and thereby accommodate a greater range of body shapes and sitting positions.
Regarding claim 2, Dhaini or Dhaini as modified by Kron teaches the adjustable seat of claim 1, wherein each inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders has a rectangular cross-section along the entire longitudinal axis of the inflatable bladder (Dhaini, figure 1, item 22, cells have rectangular cross section in a longitudinal direction of the cell).
Regarding claim 3, Dhaini or Dhaini as modified by Kron teaches the adjustable seat of claim 1, wherein the rectangular cross-section of each inflatable bladder comprises a squarish cross-section (Dhaini, figure 1, item 22, cells have a rectangular cross section which is square-like).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) in view of Kron (US 4059909 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Onuma (US 20180086238 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Dhaini or Dhaini as modified by Kron teaches the adjustable seat of claim 1, except:
wherein each inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders is configured to expand such that a longitudinal dimension of each inflatable bladder increases by a factor of two.
Onuma (US 20180086238 A1) teaches an inflatable bladder which is configured to expand such that a longitudinal dimension of each inflatable bladder increases by a factor of two (Onuma, figures 3 and 4, inflatable bladder can be inflated such that a height of the bladder increases by a factor of two).
Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Onuma are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the air bladders of the seat body of Dhaini as modified by Clapper with the air bladders capable of doubling in a longitudinal dimension of Onuma with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the cushion shape to vary and accommodate an occupant’s body and increase occupant comfort.
Claim(s) 5-8, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) in view of Clapper (US 20030030319 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) discloses an adjustable seat comprising:
a seat body (Dhaini, figure 1, item 12);
a plurality of inflatable bladders coupled with the seat body (Dhaini, figure 1, item 22), each inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders having a rectangular cross-section in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the inflatable bladder (Dhaini, figure 1, item 22, rectangular cross section of cells);
a source of a pressurized air (Dhaini, figure 1, item 26);
a user input device configured to receive an input from a user (Dhaini, figure 1, item 70);
a sensor configured to detect a change in a weight distribution of a seat occupant along the seat body (Dhaini, figure 1, item 40); and
a controller (Dhaini, figure 1, item 20) communicatively coupled with the user input device and with the sensor and operatively coupled with the source of the pressurized air (Dhaini, figure 1, controller connected with the interface, sensors, and to the compressor via valves), the controller configured to:
obtain the input from the user input device (Dhaini, col 5 lines 35-40, data from input device communicated to controller) and to control the source of the pressurized air to direct the pressurized air into the plurality of inflatable bladders in response to receiving the input (Dhaini, col 3 lines 19-28, controller regulates flow of compressed air into cells), and
obtain information from the sensor indicative of the change in weight distribution of the seat occupant (Dhaini, figure 2, item 64, col 6 lines 11-28), to select a selected inflatable bladder from the plurality of inflatable bladders based on the information (Dhaini, col 7, lines 34-41, selection of cells adjusted in pressure), and to control the source of the pressurized air to change an internal air pressure of the selected inflatable bladder in response to receiving the information (Dhaini, col 3, lines 19-28, valves controlled by controller control stiffness in each cell), except:
a plurality of conduits fluidly coupling the source of the pressurized air with the plurality of inflatable bladders;
the controller operatively coupled with the plurality of conduits;
the controller configured to control the plurality of conduits to change an internal air pressure of the selected inflatable bladder.
Clapper (US 20030030319 A1) teaches a plurality of conduits (Clapper, figures 3, 4 and 6, items 27, 55, 58, 59, and 65) fluidly coupling the source of the pressurized air with the plurality of inflatable bladders (Clapper, figure 3, items 30, 32, and 26, ¶32, air supply provides air to regulator, which distributes air through valves and supply lines to groupings of air bladders);
the controller operatively coupled with the plurality of conduits (Clapper, figure 6, item 30, regulator);
the controller configured to control the source of the plurality of conduits to change an internal air pressure of the selected inflatable bladder (Clapper, figure 6, items 30 and 40, regular and valve used to control air pressure through conduits).
Dhaini and Clapper are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Dhaini with the conduits of Clapper with a reasonable expectation of success in order to transmit air from the source to the bladders.
Alternatively, should applicant argue that the cells of Dhaini are not inflatable bladders, Clapper also teaches inflatable bladders (Clapper, abstract).
Dhaini and Clapper are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cells of Dhaini with the air bladders of Clapper with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the range of movement/expansion of cells and thereby accommodate a greater range of body shapes and sitting positions.
Regarding claim 6, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to identify a designated inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders based on the input from the user input device and to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to direct the pressurized air into the designated inflatable bladder in response to receiving the input (Dhaini, figures 8-11, col 6 line 62 – col 7 line 15, example of input device with settings for identifying regions for modifying pressure; controller controls foam pressure distribution).
Regarding claim 7, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, wherein a conduit of the plurality of conduits is fluidly coupled with multiple inflatable bladders thereby defining a cell of inflatable bladders (Clapper, figure 4, items 53, 56, 57, 60, 62, and 64, multiple groupings of inflatable bladders), wherein each inflatable bladder of the cell is inflated in unison with each other inflatable bladder of the cell when the controller directs pressurized air into the one conduit (Clapper, figure 7, item 66, channels interconnect bladers together).
Clapper also teaches wherein each of the conduits of the plurality of conduits are fluidly coupled with multiple inflatable bladders thereby defining a cell of inflatable bladders (Clapper, figure 4, items 53, 56, 57, 60, 62, and 64, multiple groupings of inflatable bladders), wherein each inflatable bladder of the cell is inflated in unison with each other inflatable bladder of the cell when the controller directs pressurized air into the one conduit (Clapper, figure 7, item 66, channels interconnect bladers together).
Dhaini as modified by Clapper (as previously applied) and Clapper are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the airbladders of Dhaini as modified by Clapper with the groupings bladders into cells connect to one of the conduits of Clapper with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the allow different regions of the seat to be adjusted simultaneously.
Regarding claim 8, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 7, wherein the plurality of inflatable bladders comprises a plurality of the cells of inflatable bladders, and wherein the plurality of cells of inflatable bladders corresponds with the plurality of conduits (Clapper, figures 3, 4 and 6, items 27, 55, 58, 59, and 65, conduits correspond with groupings of cells).
Regarding claim 16, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to change the internal air pressure of the selected inflatable bladder only when the change in weight distribution exceeds a predetermined amount of weight that is redistributed within a predetermined amount of time (Dhaini, col 1, lines 23-28, claim 1, controller responds to vary stiffness based on sensed change in seating position – this requires time for information to be conveyed to the sensor and for the controller to start varying the stiffness).
Regarding claim 20, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, wherein each inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders has a rectangular cross-section along the entire longitudinal axis of the inflatable bladder (Dhaini, col 3 lines 15-18, cells arranged in a grid pattern).
Alternatively, Clapper (US 20030030319 A1) also teaches each inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders having a rectangular cross-section along the entire longitudinal axis of each inflatable bladder (Clapper, figure 4, items 53, 56, 57, 60, 62, 62, and 64).
Dhaini and Clapper are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Dhaini with the bladders having a rectangular cross section of Clapper with a reasonable expectation of success in order to standardize the bladders shapes and there reduce the cost of maintenance.
Claim(s) 9-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) in view of Clapper (US 20030030319 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 20100289302 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 8, except:
wherein the controller is configured to select a selected cell from the plurality of cells based on the information, and to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to change the internal air pressure of the selected cell in response to receiving the information.
Cheng (US 20100289302 A1) teaches a controller which is configured to select a selected cell from the plurality of cells based on the information, and to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to change the internal air pressure of the selected cell in response to receiving the information (Cheng, ¶29 and ¶33, pressure information used by the controller to control inflation of each grouping of airbags).
Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Cheng are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control mechanism for inflation/deflation of the inflatable bladders of Dhaini as modified by Clapper with the valves controlling zones of inflatable bladders and controlling these bladders based on sensor and user information of Cheng with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a mechanism to reduce pressure on an occupant and to listen to occupant’s requests thereby accommodating an occupant.
Regarding claim 10, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 8, except:
wherein the controller is configured to identify a designated cell of the plurality of cells based on the input from the user input device and to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to change the internal air pressure of the designated cell in response to receiving the input.
Cheng (US 20100289302 A1) teaches a controller which is configured to identify a designated cell of the plurality of cells based on the input from the user input device and to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to change the internal air pressure of the designated cell in response to receiving the input (Cheng, ¶31 and ¶36, interface for manually adjusting inflation provided to adjust inflation of the airbag groupings by an occupant).
Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Cheng are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control mechanism for inflation/deflation of the inflatable bladders of Dhaini as modified by Clapper with the valves controlling zones of inflatable bladders and controlling these bladders based on sensor and user information of Cheng with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a mechanism to reduce pressure on an occupant and to listen to occupant’s requests thereby accommodating an occupant.
Claim(s) 11-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) in view of Clapper (US 20030030319 A1), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 20100289302 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, except:
further comprising a plurality of valves associated with one of the controller, the plurality of conduits, and the plurality of inflatable bladders, each valve of the plurality of valves configured to move between an open position and a closed position, each valve configured to permit the passage of air into and out of the plurality of inflatable bladders when the valve is in the open position and to inhibit the passage of air into and out of the plurality of inflatable bladders when the valve is in the closed position,
wherein the controller is operatively coupled with the plurality of valves and is configured to control movement of the plurality of valves from the open position to the closed position and is further configured to control inflation and deflation of the plurality of inflatable bladders by controlling the plurality of valves to move between the open position and the closed position.
Cheng (US 20100289302 A1) teaches a plurality of valves (Cheng, figure 3, item 43) associated with one of the controller (Cheng, figure 3, item 41), the plurality of conduits (Cheng, figure 3, item 47), and the plurality of inflatable bladders (Cheng, figure 3, item 30), each valve of the plurality of valves configured to move between an open position and a closed position (Cheng, ¶33), each valve configured to permit the passage of air into and out of the plurality of inflatable bladders when the valve is in the open position and to inhibit the passage of air into and out of the plurality of inflatable bladders when the valve is in the closed position (Cheng, ¶33, valves are used to change between inflation and deflation modes),
wherein the controller is operatively coupled with the plurality of valves and is configured to control movement of the plurality of valves from the open position to the closed position and is further configured to control inflation and deflation of the plurality of inflatable bladders by controlling the plurality of valves to move between the open position and the closed position (Cheng, ¶33, each airbag controlled by controller using the valves).
Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Cheng are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control mechanism for inflation/deflation of the inflatable bladders of Dhaini as modified by Clapper with the valves controlling zone of inflatable bladders and controlling these bladders using the valves of Cheng with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a mechanism to permit the inflation/deflation of the inflatable bladders.
Regarding claim 12, Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Cheng teaches the adjustable seat of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to inflate a first selected inflatable bladder disposed in a first portion of the seat body where the weight distribution of the seat occupant has decreased, and to deflate a second selected inflatable bladder disposed in a second portion of the seat body where the weight distribution of the seat occupant had increased (Cheng, ¶12, stress distribution is detected and inflation of airbags is adjusted by inflating/deflating airbags based on the sensed stress on each airbag).
Regarding claim 13, Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Cheng teaches the adjustable seat of claim 11, wherein the plurality of valves corresponds in number with the plurality of conduits (Cheng, figure 3, item 43, valves associated with each conduit).
Regarding claim 14, Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Cheng teaches the adjustable seat of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of the sensors, wherein each sensor of the plurality of the sensors is coupled with each valve of the plurality of valves (Cheng, figure 3, item 20, sensors associated with each valve and airbag).
Regarding claim 15, Dhaini as modified by Clapper and teaches the adjustable seat of claim 14, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors comprises a pressure sensor (Dhaini, col 6 lines 11-12, sensors includes pressure sensor; Cheng, ¶38, stress sensors).
Regarding claim 17, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, except:
wherein the controller is further configured to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to inflate and deflate the plurality of inflatable bladders in a rhythmic pattern in response to receiving a second input from the user input device.
Cheng (US 20100289302 A1) teaches a controller which is further configured to control the source of the pressurized air and the plurality of conduits to inflate and deflate the plurality of inflatable bladders in a rhythmic pattern in response to receiving a second input from the user input device (Cheng, ¶19, control device can provide intermittent dynamic inflation and deflation to achieve a massaging effect.
Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Cheng are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Dhaini as modified by Clapper to be configured to perform rhythmic inflation/deflation of Cheng with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a massaging effect to occupants (Cheng, ¶19).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhaini (US 10384565 B2) in view of Clapper (US 20030030319 A1), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Onuma (US 20180086238 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, except:
wherein the seat body comprises a supporting substrate, a cushion body disposed above the supporting substrate, and an outer skin disposed over the cushion body, and wherein the plurality of inflatable bladders is disposed between the supporting substrate and the cushion body.
Onuma (US 20180086238 A1) teaches a seat body,
wherein the seat body comprises a supporting substrate (Onuma, figure 3, item 22), a cushion body disposed above the supporting substrate (Onuma, figure 3, item 24), and an outer skin disposed over the cushion body (Onuma, figure 3, item 18), and wherein the inflatable bladder is disposed between the supporting substrate and the cushion body (Onuma, figure 3, item 30).
Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Onuma are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of the seat body of Dhaini as modified by Clapper with the substrate, cushion, and outer skin of Onuma with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide support for occupants regardless of the amounts of inflation of the bladders.
Regarding claim 19, Dhaini as modified by Clapper teaches the adjustable seat of claim 5, except:
wherein each inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders is configured to expand in height when inflated by a factor of two as compared with a nominal height of each inflatable bladder.
Onuma (US 20180086238 A1) teaches an inflatable bladder which is configured to expand such that a longitudinal dimension of each inflatable bladder increases by a factor of two (Onuma, figures 3 and 4, inflatable bladder can be inflated such that a height of the bladder increases by a factor of two).
Dhaini as modified by Clapper and Onuma are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of seat design and inflatable cushioning. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the air bladders of the seat body of Dhaini as modified by Clapper with the air bladders capable of doubling in a longitudinal dimension of Onuma with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the cushion shape to vary and accommodate an occupant’s body and increase occupant comfort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weber (US 11504293 B2) teaches controller which measure pressure of one bladder and uses this information to control valves and thereby inflation of other bladders
Uno (US 11028859 B2) teaches hoses connecting to bladders
Wang (US 20140020185 A1) appears to describe groups of bladders together
Sakohira (US 20160348670 A1) teaches a pump system for inflating bladders with some bladders connected together separate from other bladders – see fig 1
Yu (US 20190075932 A1) teaches interconnected blocks of bladders
/RY/
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642