DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to applicant’s RCE filed 1/30/2026, claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn (US 2014/0065585) in view of Fraser et al. (US 11,244,385).
Regarding claims 1 and 15-16, Osborn discloses a system for automated therapy that comprises a system that engages a user in conversation based upon a pre-defined protocol to form a relationship with the user and guide the user with the therapy. See paragraphs 0040 and 0046. Osborn discloses wherein the system can be represented by an avatar. See paragraph 0142. Osborn discloses wherein the system tracks the user’s behavior and measures over time and guides the user to comply with the therapy. See paragraphs 0043 and 0047. Osborn discloses wherein the system tracks and measures the user’s state of mind with regard to a pre-defined psychotherapeutic protocol and behavioral model. See paragraph 0043.
Osborn does not explicitly disclose wherein the therapy involves a conversation with a real-time response, wherein the subsequent real-time communication from the avatar is adapted based upon this response. However, this concept is established with regard to therapy systems, as is disclosed by the coaching system of Fraser in col. 19: 5-13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Osborn system, so as to provide responsive therapy (the advantage of the concept in Fraser).
Regarding claim 2, Osborn discloses wherein the avatar contacts the user at useful times. See paragraph 0055.
Regarding claim 3, Fraser discloses wherein the avatar can generate a contextual response based upon a stimulus from the user. See col. col. 10: 34-43.
Regarding claim 4, Osborn discloses wherein past interactions are analyzed and interactions are personalized based thereon. See paragraph 0047.
Regarding claim 5, Osborn discloses wherein the system can be used for various types of therapy. See paragraph 0040.
Regarding claims 6-7, Osborn discloses wherein the program encourages treatment compliance and habit changing and cooperation. See paragraph 0040.
Regarding claim 8, Osborn discloses wherein the system gathers and monitors metrics regarding user performance to determine effectiveness. See paragraph 0043.
Regarding claims 9-10, Osborn discloses wherein the interactions are refined over iterations and sessions. See paragraph 0054.
Regarding claim 11, Osborn discloses wherein the avatar is rendered by a device with modular subsystems and inputs and outputs. See figs. 1a and 1b.
Regarding claims 13-14, Osborn discloses self-help with cognitive issues in paragraph 0045.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn (US 2014/0065585) in view of Fraser et al. (US 11,244,385) and also Burstein et al. (US 2022/0142535).
Regarding claim 12, Osborn discloses monitoring user performance in paragraph 0043, but does not disclose monitoring pitch, tone, and facial expressions, and NLP processing, to determine outputs to help the user reach their goals. However, these parameters are known to be monitored in similar systems, as is disclosed by the monitoring system of Burstein in paragraphs 0089 and table 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this with the Osborn system, in order to provide effective monitoring of the user.
Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments and remarks dated 1/30/2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715