DETAILED ACTION
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON DOUBLE PATENTING
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,954,587. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the SoC described in claim 1 of the instant application (18/954,928) are taught in claim 1 of the patented application (U.S. Patent No. 11,954,587). (Please note that as both the instant and patented applications claimed similar subject matters, the examiner is selecting one of the independent claims from the instant and patented applications for the instant double patenting rejection)
II. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0206068) in view of SONG et al. (US Pub.: 2020/0082263) and Asano (US Pub.: 2004/0041547).
As per claim 1, Kim teaches/suggests a system-on-chip (SoC) comprising a neural processing unit (NPU) configured to perform operations of an artificial neural network (ANN), the SoC comprising: a first circuitry, disposed on a semiconductor substrate, provided for a first NPU and a second NPU ([0008]; [0016]; [0021]-[0022]; [0088]; [0101]); and a second circuitry, disposed on the semiconductor substrate, configured to operate accordingly ([0008]; [0016]; [0021]-[0022]; [0088]; [0101]), wherein each of the first NPU and the second NPU includes a plurality of processing elements (PEs), and the plurality of PEs include an adder, a multiplier, and an accumulator (Fig. 1-3; [0150]-[0155]) (Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; and [0143]-[0155])
Kim does not teach the SoC comprising:
configured to generate a control signal to selectively output one or more clock signals,
wherein the control signal to selectively output the one or more clock signals is generated based on a power measured by a power management integrated circuit,
wherein the one or more clock signals include clock signals having different phases.
SONG teaches/suggests a system comprising: configured to generate a control signal to selectively output one or more clock signals, wherein the control signal to selectively output the one or more clock signals is operating accordingly, wherein the one or more clock signals include clock signals (Fig. 1; [0026]; and [0031]-[0035]).
Asano teaches/suggests a system comprising: generated based on a power measured by a power management integrated circuit, and having different phases ([0010]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include SONG’s clock signaling architecture and Asano’s different clock phases into Kim’s system for the benefit of lowering costs and/or power consumption (SONG, [0032]) and inhibiting fluctuation of power supply voltage (Asano, [0010]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC comprising: wherein a first clock signal among the one or more clock signals is a first input signal of the first NPU, and wherein a second clock signal among the one or more clock signals is a second input signal of the second NPU (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 3, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC comprising: wherein the first clock signal or the second clock signal is delayed in phase by a preset amount compared to a phase of an original clock signal (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 4, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC further comprising: a third circuitry, disposed on the semiconductor substrate, configured to generate the one or more clock signals including an original clock signal and one or more phase-delayed clock signals, based on the control signal (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 5, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 4 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC comprising: wherein the third circuitry comprises: one or more phase shifters connected in series, wherein the one or more phase shifters include a first phase shifter configured to receive the original clock signal; and a selector, connected to the one or more phase shifters, configured to select at least one clock signal among the original clock signal and one or more outputs of the one or more phase shifters (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 6, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC further comprising: a third circuitry configured to generate one or more phase-delayed clock signals based on an original clock signal according to the control signal (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 7, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 6 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC comprising: wherein a phase of the one or more phase-delayed clock signals is adjusted so as to reduce the measured power for the first NPU or the second NPU (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 8, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 6 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC comprising: wherein based on a determination that a utilization rate of the first NPU or the second NPU is to be increased, a phase of the one or more phase-delayed clock signals is shifted or drifted compared to the phase of the original clock signal (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 9, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC comprising: wherein the first clock signal has a first phase, and wherein the second clock signal has a second phase delayed from the first phase (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 10, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the SoC comprising: wherein a phase of the first clock signal is identical to the phase of an original clock signal, and wherein a phase of the second clock signal is delayed from the phase of the first clock signal (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 12, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system comprising: wherein a first clock signal among the one or more clock signals is a first input signal of the first NPU, and wherein a second clock signal among the one or more clock signals is a second input signal of the second NPU (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 13, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system comprising: wherein the first clock signal or the second clock signal is delayed in phase by a preset amount compared to a phase of an original clock signal (Kim, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 6; [0095]-[0101]; [0143]-[0155]; SONG, Fig. 1; [0026]; [0031]-[0035]; and Asano, Fig. 2; [0010]; [0030]-[0034]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 14, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system further comprising: a third semiconductor chip, mounted on the substrate, configured to generate the one or more clock signals including an original clock signal and one or more phase-delayed clock signals, based on the control signal.
As per claim 15, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 14 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system comprising: wherein the third semiconductor chip comprises: one or more phase shifters connected in series, wherein the one or more phase shifters include a first phase shifter configured to receive the original clock signal; and a selector, connected to the one or more phase shifters, configured to select at least one clock signal among the original clock signal and one or more outputs of the one or more phase shifters.
As per claim 16, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system further comprising: a third semiconductor chip configured to generate one or more phase-delayed clock signals based on an original clock signal according to the control signal.
As per claim 17, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 16 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system comprising: wherein a phase of the one or more phase-delayed clock signals is adjusted so as to reduce the measured power for the first NPU or the second NPU.
As per claim 18, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system comprising: wherein based on a determination that a utilization rate of the first NPU or the second NPU is to be increased, a phase of the one or more phase-delayed clock signals is shifted or drifted compared to the phase of the original clock signal.
As per claim 19, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system comprising: wherein the first clock signal has a first phase, and wherein the second clock signal has a second phase delayed from the first phase.
As per claim 20, Kim, SONG, and Asano teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Kim, SONG, and Asano further teach/suggest the system comprising: wherein a phase of the first clock signal is identical to the phase of the original clock signal, and wherein a phase of the second clock signal is delayed from the phase of the first clock signal.
III. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-20 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 August 29, 2026