Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0101453) of record, in view of Park (KR 960015323) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1H of Lin discloses a device, comprising: an epitaxial layer (102) of a first conductivity type (p) over a substrate (100); a plurality of wells (210/214/218) of a second conductivity type (n) in the epitaxial layer; a first slot region (212) of the first conductivity type in the epitaxial layer, the first slot region interposing a first one and a second one of the plurality of wells of the second conductivity type; a well (216) of the first conductivity type forming an interface with a third one (214) of the plurality of wells of the second conductivity type; a gate structure (226) over the interface of the well of the first conductivity type and the third one of the plurality of wells of the second conductivity type; (FIG. 1D) a first source/drain region (118) in the well of the first conductivity type (112); and a second source/drain region (116) in the first one and the second one of the plurality of wells of the second conductivity type (110), and over the first slot region of the first conductivity type, wherein the first slot region of the first conductivity type forms a p-n junction with the first one of the plurality of wells of the second conductivity type.
Lin is silent with respect to “the p-n junction meets the second source/drain region at a bottom surface of the second source/drain region”.
FIG. 7 of Park discloses a similar device, wherein the first slot region (503) of the first conductivity type forms a p-n junction with the first one (505) of the plurality of wells of the second conductivity type, wherein the p-n junction meets the second source/drain region (506) at a bottom surface of the second source/drain region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin, as taught by Park. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in the above manner for purpose of high voltage and current (text of Park).
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 1H of Lin discloses the first slot region (212) of the first conductivity type has a height less than a height of the well of the first conductivity type (216).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 7 of Park discloses a second slot region of the first conductivity type in the epitaxial layer and interposing the second one and the third one of the plurality of wells of the second conductivity type.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 7 of Park discloses the second slot region of the first conductivity type has a top surface higher than a top surface of the first slot region.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 7 of Park discloses the gate structure overlaps with the second slot region of the first conductivity type.
Claims 2 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Park, in view of Yashita (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0155257) of record.
Regarding Claim 2
Lin as modified by Park discloses Claim 1.
Lin as modified by Park is silent with respect to “the first slot region of the first conductivity type has a bottom surface interfacing the substrate”.
FIG. 2 of Yashita discloses a similar device, wherein the first slot region of the first conductivity type (54) has a bottom surface interfacing the substrate (50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin, as taught by Yashita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in the above manner for purpose of avoiding undesired substrate current injection ([0005] of Yashita).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 2 of Yashita discloses the first slot region of the first conductivity type has a top surface interfacing the second source/drain region.
Claims 8-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Park, in view of Yeh (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0271511) of record.
Regarding Claim 8
Lin as modified by Park discloses Claim 5.
Lin as modified by Park is silent with respect to “a reduced surface field (RESURF) oxide layer extending from below the gate structure to the second source/drain region, wherein the RESURF oxide layer is over the second slot region of the first conductivity type”.
FIG. 4 of Yeh discloses a similar device, comprising a reduced surface field (RESURF) oxide layer (46) extending from below the gate structure (24) to the second source/drain region (20), wherein the RESURF oxide layer is over the second slot (40) region of the first conductivity type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin, as taught by Yeh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lin in the above manner for purpose of high voltage/current ([0003] of Yeh).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 4 of Yeh discloses the RESURF oxide layer (46) non-overlaps with the first slot region of the first conductivity type.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 4 of Yeh discloses the gate structure comprises a gate dielectric layer (22) and a gate electrode (24) over the gate dielectric layer, and the RESURF oxide layer (46) has a thickness greater than a thickness of the gate dielectric layer.
Claims 11-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0011021) of record, in view of Chiang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0091085) of record, in view of Yeh.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 2 (annotated below) of Schneider discloses a device, comprising: a p-type epitaxial layer (up portion of 7 forming p/n wells) over a substrate (7); a plurality of n-type wells (11) in the p-type epitaxial layer, each of the plurality of n-type wells having a bottom surface entirely in contact with the substrate; a p-type well (9) interfacing a first one of the plurality of n-type wells; a first n-type buried layer (8) in the substrate, the p-type well overlapping with the first n-type buried layer.
Schneider is silent with respect to “a source region in the p-type well; a drain region in a second one of the plurality of n-type wells; and a gate structure laterally between the source region and the drain region” and “the first n-type buried layer has a width less than a width of the p-type well when measured in a direction parallel with a top surface of the substrate”.
FIG. 13 of Chiang discloses a similar device, comprising a source region (224) in the p-type well (220); a drain region (224) in a second one (210) of the plurality of n-type wells, wherein the p-type well (220) overlapping with an entirety of the first n-type buried layer (216, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand 210 and 216 can be n type and 220 can be p type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Schneider, as taught by Chiang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schneider in the above manner for purpose of avoiding undesired substrate current injection ([0005] of Chiang).
Schneider as modified by Chiang is silent with respect to “the first n-type buried layer has a width less than a width of the p-type well when measured in a direction parallel with a top surface of the substrate”.
FIG. 1 of Yeh discloses a similar device, wherein the first n-type buried layer (42, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand 42 can be n type and 38 can be p type) has a width less than a width of the p-type well (38) when measured in a direction parallel with a top surface of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Schneider, as taught by Yeh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schneider in the above manner for purpose of high voltage/current ([0003] of Yeh).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 (annotated above) of Schneider discloses the first n-type buried layer has opposite sidewall boundaries laterally set back from opposite sidewall boundaries of the p-type well, respectively.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 2 (annotated above) of Schneider discloses the first n-type buried layer overlaps with none of the plurality of n-type wells.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 13 of Chiang discloses a first p-type slot region (210) directly below the gate structure, the first p-type slot region spacing apart the first one of the n-type wells from the second one of the n-type wells.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 4 of Yeh discloses a second p-type slot region (40A) directly below the drain region (126), the second p-type slot region spacing apart the second one of the n-type wells from a third one of the n-type wells.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 13 of Chiang discloses the first p-type slot region (left 210) has a top surface higher than a top surface of the second p-type slot region (right 210).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider, Chiang and Yeh, in view of Mellin (EP 1271659) of record
Regarding Claim 17
Schneider as modified by Chiang and Yeh discloses Claim 11.
Schneider as modified by Chiang and Yeh is silent with respect to “a second n-type buried layer cupping an underside of the first n-type buried layer, the second n-type buried layer has an n-type impurity concentration lower than an n-type impurity concentration of the first n-type buried layer”.
FIG. 2 of Mellin discloses a similar device, comprising a second n-type buried layer (3) cupping an underside of the first n-type buried layer (4), the second n-type buried layer has an n-type impurity concentration lower than an n-type impurity concentration of the first n-type buried layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Schneider, as taught by Mellin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schneider in the above manner for purpose of increasing the parasitic PNP triggering voltage (text of Mellin).
Claims 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider, in view of Chiang, in view of Salcedo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0339601) of record, in view of Yeh.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 2 (annotated above) of Schneider discloses a method, comprising: forming an n-type buried layer (8) in a substrate (7); forming a p-type well (9) over the n-type buried layer, the p-type well having a bottom surface extending past opposite sidewall boundaries of the n-type buried layer; forming a plurality of n-type wells (11) in the p-type epitaxial layer, wherein the plurality of n-type wells are alternately arranged a plurality of slot regions within the p-type epitaxial layer.
Schneider is silent with respect to “epitaxially growing a p-type epitaxial layer over the substrate and the n-type buried layer”; “the n-type buried layer has a width less than a width of the p-type well when measured in a direction parallel with a top surface of the substrate”; and “forming a gate structure extending across an interface between the p-type well and a first one of the n-type wells; forming a source region in the p-type well; and forming a drain region over a first one of the slot regions”.
FIG. 13 of Chiang discloses a similar method, comprising forming a gate structure (240) extending across an interface between the p-type well and a first one of the n-type wells; forming a source region (224) in the p-type well; and forming a drain region (224) over a first one of the slot regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Schneider, as taught by Chiang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schneider in the above manner for purpose of avoiding undesired substrate current injection ([0005] of Chiang).
Schneider as modified by Chiang is silent with respect to “epitaxially growing a p-type epitaxial layer over the substrate and the n-type buried layer” and “the n-type buried layer has a width less than a width of the p-type well when measured in a direction parallel with a top surface of the substrate”.
FIG. 3 of Salcedo discloses a similar method, comprising epitaxially growing a p-type epitaxial layer (91) over the substrate (81) and the n-type buried layer (89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Schneider, as taught by Salcedo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schneider in the above manner for purpose of improving protection ([0029] of Salcedo).
Schneider as modified by Chiang and Salcedo is silent with respect to “the n-type buried layer has a width less than a width of the p-type well when measured in a direction parallel with a top surface of the substrate”.
FIG. 1 of Yeh discloses a similar device, wherein the first n-type buried layer (42, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand 42 can be n type and 38 can be p type) has a width less than a width of the p-type well (38) when measured in a direction parallel with a top surface of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Schneider, as taught by Yeh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schneider in the above manner for purpose of high voltage/current ([0003] of Yeh).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 13 of Chiang discloses the gate structure (240) is formed over a second one of the slot regions.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 2 (annotated above) of Schneider discloses each of the plurality of n-type wells has a bottom surface entirely in contact with the substrate.
Pertinent Art
US 20140070315, 20170272093, 20210118987, 20170358570, 20080290410; CN 211555896, 104620388, 114093866; JP 2006210861, H03205832, H0444261; KR 20010037586.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 11 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897