DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the election received on 07/20/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A and Species 2 in the reply filed on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 6, 8, and 12-16 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2024, 09/11/2025, and 02/12/2026 has/have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 17, 23, 24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0393069 A1; Paranjpe et al.; 12/2019; (“Paranjpe”).
Regarding Claim 1. Paranjpe discloses A method for fabricating a micro-LED display (Figures 2A-4D, [0017]-[0027], the process of forming and transferring the LEDs), the method comprising:
growing a two-dimensional array of LEDs (#18/#20, Figures 1 and 2E, micro-LED structures in an array) on a growth substrate (#10, Figure 2E, growth substrate) ([0067] and [0071], Figures 2A-2E, growth process of forming the array of LEDs), the two-dimensional array having LEDs spaced apart by a first pitch (Figures and 2E, #18s/#20s are spaced apart by a first pitch #S);
transferring the two-dimensional array of LEDs to a carrier substrate (#230A, Figures 3A-3G, the two dimensional array is transferred to first carrier #230A), the two- dimensional array of LEDs held to the carrier substrate by a release layer (#210A, Figure 3F, first releasable bonding layer holding the #20s to #230A);
bringing together the carrier substrate and a back-plane substrate (#261, Figure 4A, backplane substrate) so that electrical pads of the LEDs at pixel locations of micro-LED display (#60, Figures 2E and 4A, contacts of the LEDs which are not numbered in Figure 4A) are attached to corresponding bond pads (#264, Figure 4A, bonding pads) on the back-plane substrate (Figures 4A-4B, #230A and #261 are brought together so that #60s and #264s may be attached, see [0098]);
activating the release layer to generate an activated release layer at the pixel locations of the micro-LED display (Figure 4C, [0099], light based debonding process using light #352 which weakens the bonding capability of the release material according to [0091]); and
pulling apart the carrier substrate and the back-plane substrate so that the LEDs at the pixel locations of the micro-LED display are transferred from the carrier substrate to the back-plane substrate by the activated release layer (Figures 4C-4D, carrier substrate #230A is removed and #20Bs remain on the back plane substrate by release of the activated release layer), wherein the LEDs of the micro-LED display are spaced apart by a second pitch (#G, Figures 4A and 4D, gap) that is greater than the first pitch ([0097], gaps G are larger that spacing S given that gap G previously comprised two other LEDs on the growth substrate).
Regarding Claim 2. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim 1, where a first bond between a first LED and the activated release layer has a bond strength that is less than a second bond between a second LED and the release layer without activation ([0091], [0111], and [0012], light exposure causes the release material to de-bond from the LED such that the bond strength is reduced by the exposure of the light).
Regarding Claim 3. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein a first portion of the two-dimensional array of LEDs are transferred to from the carrier substrate to the back-plane substrate and a second portion of the two-dimensional array of LEDs are not transferred from the carrier substrate to the back-plane substrate (Figures 3H-3M, a first portion of the #20s which are kept on #230A are transferred to the back-plane while a second portion are instead transferred earlier on to a second carrier #230B and not transferred to the back-plane substrate).
Regarding Claim 4. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the micro-LED display is a first micro-LED display and the method further comprises:
using the second portion not transferred to the back-plane substrate to fabricate a second micro-LED display ([0096], micro LEDs which are transferred to the second carrier #230B are used in a different step for the formation of another display backplane).
Regarding Claim 9. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim1, wherein bringing together the carrier substrate and the back-plane substrate (Figures 4A-4C, [0097]-[0098]) includes:
aligning the electrical pads of the LEDs and the corresponding bond pads of the back-plane substrate (Figure 4A, #60s of #20s and #264s of #261 are aligned with one another); and
pressing the electrical pads to the corresponding bond pads to form a bond ([0098], micro-LEDs and display backplane are permanently or tack bonded).
Regarding Claim 17. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein transferring the two- dimensional array of LEDs to the carrier substrate includes:
bonding, at a side opposite the growth substrate, the two-dimensional array of LEDs to a handle substrate (#110, Figures 2E-3A, lift-off handle which is bonded to the array of LEDs opposite to the growth substrate #10);
removing the growth substrate from the two-dimensional array of LEDs (Figures 3A-3B, #10 is removed); and
bonding the LEDs to the release layer on the carrier substrate in place of the growth substrate (Figures 3D-3F, LEDs are bonded to #210 A of the carrier #230A in place of #10).
Regarding Claim 23. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the activating the release layer includes reducing a bond strength of the release layer through a photochemical process or a photothermal process ([0062], the actinic light induces a chemical reaction to weaken the bond, i.e. photochemical).
Regarding Claim 24. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein prior to bringing together the carrier substrate and the back-plane substrate, the release layer is separated between the LEDs using an etching process (Figures 3F-3G, [0087], portions of #210A between adjacent LEDs is etched away, using dry etching for example in [0087], to form separated portion #212A under each respective LED).
Regarding Claim 26. Paranjpe discloses The method according to claim 9, wherein the pressing the electrical pads to the corresponding bond pads to form a bond includes forming a diffusion bond between the electrical pads and their corresponding bond pads (Figures 2E and 4D, [0100], an anneal may be performed to make the bond between #60 and #50 of the LEDs and #264 of #261 which includes metal contact pads in contact with encapsulation layers forming a hybrid or diffusion bond, see [0029] of the instant application “a hybrid bond (i.e., diffusion bond)”).
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, and 23, 25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0343567 A1; Han et al.; 11/2021; (“Han”).
Regarding Claim 1. Han discloses A method for fabricating a micro-LED display (Figures 2-11, flowchart and method for manufacturing a micro-LED display), the method comprising:
growing a two-dimensional array of LEDs (#104, Figure 3, [0035], array of micro LEDs) on a growth substrate (#101, Figure 3, [0035], epitaxial wafer the #104s are grown on), the two-dimensional array having LEDs spaced apart by a first pitch (#P, Figure 3, size p of an interval between LEDs on #101);
transferring the two-dimensional array of LEDs to a carrier substrate (#102, Figures 3-4, transfer substrate #104s are transferred to), the two- dimensional array of LEDs held to the carrier substrate by a release layer (#103, Figure 4, UV photodegradable release layer holding #104s to #102);
bringing together the carrier substrate (#102) and a back-plane substrate (#301, Figure 5, driving substrate) so that electrical pads of the LEDs at pixel locations of micro-LED display are attached to corresponding bond pads (#302, Figure 5, corresponding pads) on the back-plane substrate (Figure 6, pads #302 are attached to necessary electrical pads of the LEDs);
activating the release layer to generate an activated release layer at the pixel locations of the micro-LED display (Figure 6, [0052], UV light causes the adhesive layer to fail or be activated for release); and
pulling apart the carrier substrate and the back-plane substrate so that the LEDs at the pixel locations of the micro-LED display are transferred from the carrier substrate to the back-plane substrate by the activated release layer (Figures 6-8, selected LEDs are left on the driving substrate after transfer from the transfer substrate while others are transferred), wherein the LEDs of the micro-LED display are spaced apart by a second pitch that is greater than the first pitch (Figures 6-8, the spacing between LEDs which are transferred is greater than the space between all of the LEDs on the original growth substrate since only some are transferred).
Regarding Claim 2. Han discloses The method according to claim 1, where a first bond between a first LED and the activated release layer has a bond strength that is less than a second bond between a second LED and the release layer without activation (Figure 6, [0052], UV light causes the adhesive layer to fail or be activated for release such that the activated layer has a reduced bond strength due to the UV exposure compared to the un-activated layer).
Regarding Claim 3. Han discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein a first portion of the two-dimensional array of LEDs are transferred to from the carrier substrate to the back-plane substrate and a second portion of the two-dimensional array of LEDs are not transferred from the carrier substrate to the back-plane substrate (Figure 8, [0052], a remaining portion of the LEDs are not transferred to the initial driving substrate and are instead transferred to a subsequent driving substrate #301’).
Regarding Claim 4. Han discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the micro-LED display is a first micro-LED display (#301) and the method further comprises:
using the second portion not transferred to the back-plane substrate to fabricate a second micro-LED display (Figure 8, [0052], a remaining portion of the LEDs are not transferred to the initial driving substrate and are instead transferred to a subsequent driving substrate #301’).
Regarding Claim 9. Han discloses The method according to claim1,wherein bringing together the carrier substrate and the back-plane substrate (Figure 6) includes:
aligning the electrical pads of the LEDs and the corresponding bond pads of the back-plane substrate (Figure 6, pads #302 are aligned and attached with necessary electrical pads of the LEDs); and
pressing the electrical pads to the corresponding bond pads to form a bond (Figures 6 and 9, the devices are pressed together to form a bond, this bond may be further enhanced by an adhesive layer #402).
Regarding Claim 10. Han discloses The method according to claim 9, wherein activating the release layer to generate the activated release layer at the pixel locations of the micro-LED display includes:
applying a mask (#401, Figure 6, mask plate) to a side of the carrier substrate opposite to the LEDs and the release layer (Figure 6, #401 is applied to a side of #102 opposite to #103 and #104s), the mask including openings at the pixel locations of the micro-LED display (Figure 6, #401 includes openings at the locations of the LEDs intended to be transferred); and
transmitting light to the mask (Figure 6, UV light is transmitted to #401) wherein the mask:
passes the light to the release layer at the openings; and blocks the light otherwise (Figure 6, [0052], the UV light passes the mask at the openings and is blocked by the mask otherwise).
Regarding Claim 11. Han discloses The method according to claim 10, wherein pulling apart the carrier substrate and the back-plane substrate includes transferring the LEDs coupled to the activated release layer to the back-plane substrate (Figures 6-8, selected LEDs under the adhesive layer which was activated are transferred), the activated release layer having a bond strength that is less than the bond between the electrical pads and the corresponding bond pads ([0052] and [0054], the bond strength between #301 and the LEDs must be greater than that of the activated release layer in order for transfer to take place).
Regarding Claim 23. Han discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the activating the release layer includes reducing a bond strength of the release layer through a photochemical process or a photothermal process ([0045] and [0052], #103 is broken down through a photochemical process with the UV light causing failure in the bonding strength).
Regarding Claim 25. Han discloses The method according to claim 4, the activating the release layer includes applying a first mask (#401, Figure 6, mask plate) to the carrier substrate (Figure 6, #401 is applied to a side of #102 opposite to #103 and #104s), and wherein the second micro-LED display (#301’, Figure 8) is fabricated by operations including:
removing the first mask from the carrier substrate ([0053], “mask plate 401 and the transfer substrate 102 are removed”);
applying a second mask to the carrier substrate, the second mask including openings at pixel locations of the second micro-LED display (Figure 8, [0054], mask #401 is applied to #102 over the second driving substrate #301’ with openings aligned to new locations for the pixels. Examiner notes that [0052] states “the same mask plate 401 can be used, thereby reducing the manufacturing cost”, use of the word “can” here is interpreted to encompass scenarios where a different mask is used in subsequent displays); and
transferring the second portion of the two-dimensional array of LEDs to a second back-plane substrate using the second mask (Figure 8, a second portion of the LEDs are transferred to #301’).
Regarding Claim 27. Han discloses The method according to claim 10, wherein the transmitting the light to the mask includes scanning the light over the carrier substrate (Figure 6, [0052], UV light is scanned or distributed over the surface of the carrier substrate through each of the openings in the mask to activate the release layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0343567 A1; Han et al.; 11/2021; (“Han”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0386173 A1; Chen et al.; 12/2019; (“Chen”).
Regarding Claim 5. Han discloses The method according to claim 1,
Han does not disclose that transferring the two-dimensional array of LEDs to the carrier substrate includes: grinding or spin etching to remove the growth substrate after transferring the two-dimensional array of LEDs to the carrier substrate. However, Han does disclose generically that the epitaxial layer is removed after transfer to the transfer substrate (Figures 3-4 and [0067]).
Chen teaches a method for fabricating a micro LED display (Figures 1-23) comprising growing an array of LEDs on a growth substrate (Figure 1, array of LEDs 10B, 10G, or 10R on growth substrates 100B, 100G, and 100R) and transferring the array of LEDs to a carrier substrate (Figures 2-3, LEDs are transferred to carrier substrates 200B, 200G, and 200R), wherein transferring the two-dimensional array of LEDs to the carrier substrate includes: grinding or spin etching to remove the growth substrate after transferring the two-dimensional array of LEDs to the carrier substrate [0076], “if the growth substrate 100 is a silicon substrate, the growth substrate 100 can be removed by . . . grinding”).
Since Han is silent regarding the method for removal of the growth substrate, this would motivate one of ordinary skill to seek out teachings such as Chen in order to practice the invention of Han. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to consider using the technique of grinding away the growth substrate from Chen in the method of Han since doing so is a known method for removing the growth substrate (see [0076] of Chen) and grinding does not require the introduction of etchants or impurities which may damage other devices. The prior art has recognized the use of grinding to remove the growth substrate as suitable for the intended purpose (see MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0343567 A1; Han et al.; 11/2021; (“Han”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0190633 A1; Thompson, Daniel Bryce; 07/2018; (“Thompson”).
Regarding Claim 7. Han discloses The method according to claim 1.
Han does not disclose that the release layer is inorganic. However, Han does disclose that the release layer may be an organic material ([0045], an organic monomer may be used in the manufacturing of the UV photo-degradable adhesive).
Thompson teaches a method for fabricating a micro LED display (Figures 36A—36H) comprising transferring an array of LEDs between a transfer substrate and a target substrate (Figures 36B-36D, LEDs #10 are transferred to #900 from #800), wherein an adhesive layer is used to attach the LEDs to the target substrate (Figure 36F, #30A attaches #10s to #900 and may function to release the LEDs under laser light exposure, see for example Figure 13 and [0091]) wherein the release layer is inorganic ([0320], “an inorganic adhesive material may be employed for the first adhesion layer 30A”).
This is interpreted by the examiner as obvious substitution of equivalents known for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06.II) in view of the cited prior art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider using the inorganic adhesive release layer of Thompson as the adhesive release layer in Han since both material types are known in the prior art to be capable of use for the same purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0335659 A1; Park et al.; 10/2020 – Figures 3-16 disclose a method for transferring a plurality of LEDs in an array on a growth substrate (#20) to a temporary substrate (#25) then to a relay substrate (#30) and finally to a target substrate (#70) wherein the LEDs are adhered to the relay substrate (#30) by an adhesive layer (#33) which may be activated to release the LEDs by light exposure from a laser (#11) and a mask (#13) scanned over the relay substrate.
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812