DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed July 17th, 2026 are noted. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification to overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/23/2026 are noted. Applicant’s amendment(s) to the Specification have overcome the objection(s) to the Title previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/23/2026, so the objection(s) to the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment(s) to the Claims have overcome the objection(s) to minor grammatical informalities previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/23/2026, so the objection(s) to minor grammatical informalities have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-20 have been fully considered in examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Son teaches a display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] comprising:
a display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] including a first area (A1) [see annotated fig. 7 below], a second area (A2), and a bending area (BA) disposed (vertically) between the first area (A1) and the second area (A2);
a first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] disposed on the first area (A1);
a cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] disposed on the first adhesive layer (734); and
a bending protection layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] disposed on (partially in) the bending area (BA) and disposed on (partially in) a portion of the first area (A1) disposed adjacent to the bending area (BA),
wherein a portion (PB) of the bending protection layer (740) is disposed (diagonally) between the display panel (710) and the first adhesive layer (734) (portion PB of 740 disposed diagonally-between 710 and 734; see annotated fig. 7 below) and directly contacts the display panel (710) (lowermost surface of PB directly contacts 710; see annotated fig. 7 below), and the portion (PB) of the bending protection layer (740) disposed (diagonally) between the display panel (710) and the first adhesive layer (734) includes an inclined surface (IS) (IS defined as top of PB of 740, locally inclined against 734) (see annotated fig. 7 of Son below).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lowermost surface of PB, in direct contact with 710, and diagonally between 734 and 710)][AltContent: textbox (Diagonal line below which region(s) of 740 are diagonally between 734 and 710)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (IS)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (PB)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A2)][AltContent: textbox (A1)][AltContent: textbox (BA)][AltContent: ][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 7 of Son
Regarding claim 2, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 1. Son also teaches wherein a portion of the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] is disposed (directly) on the inclined surface (IS) of the bending protection layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] (see annotated fig. 7 of Son above).
Regarding claim 3, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 1. Son also teaches wherein a thickness of the portion (PB) [see annotated fig. 7 above] of the bending protection layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] disposed (vertically) between the display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] and the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] increases toward the bending area (BA) (thickness of PB increases from left to right, in direction from A1 towards BA – as defined in annotated fig. 7 of Son above).
Regarding claim 5, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 1. Son also teaches wherein the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] protrudes more than the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] toward the bending area (BA) (736 protrudes further right than 734) (see annotated fig. 7 of Son above).
Regarding claim 6, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 5. Son also teaches, wherein, one (right sidewall) side of the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] disposed adjacent to the bending area (BA) is disposed closer to the bending area (BA) than one (right sidewall) side of the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] disposed adjacent to the bending area (BA) in a plan view (evident from annotated fig. 7 above that right sidewall of 736 is disposed closer to BA than right sidewall of 734 in/within both cross-sectional and corresponding plan view).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0267569A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 4, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 1. Son also teaches wherein the display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] includes a first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710) and a second panel surface (lowermost surface of 710) opposite to the first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710), the bending protection layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] is disposed (directly) on the first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710).
However, Son does not explicitly disclose and a first angle between the inclined surface (IS) (see label in annotated fig. 7 of Son) of the bending protection layer (740) and the (horizontally-oriented) first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710) is from about 2° to about 14° (angle of inclined surface of 740 with respect to horizontal plane not explicitly disclosed).
Kim teaches a display apparatus [0110] wherein a first angle [0126] between the inclined surface (interface of 200/300 indicated by 230) fig. 5 [0126] of the bending protection layer (300) fig. 5 [0126] and the first panel surface (top of 20) fig. 5 [0087] is from about 2° to about 14° (acute inclination angle [0126] of 300, with respect to horizontal-plane top of 20, may range from 0-89 degrees [0126]) (see also placement of bending protection layer 300 in [see fig. 15J, 0166]).
With respect to the underlined disclosure of ‘about 0° to 89°’ from [0126] of Kim compared to the claimed limitation of “about 2° to about 14°” above, Kim’s range of about 0-89° for the angle of the inclined surface of the bending protection layer overlaps with and encompasses the claimed range of about 2-14°. Therefore, in the absence of specific evidence of criticality for the narrower, claimed range – the claimed range of “about 2° to about 14°” is considered to be rendered obvious in view of the broader range of angles (0-89°) specifically disclosed by [0126] of Kim. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son such that the inclination angle of the bending protection layer [0126] interfacing with adjacent layers of the display apparatus is slanted [0126] over the range of acute angles disclosed by [0126] of Kim in order to favorably increase the contact area [0128] of the slanted interface(s) defined by the bending protection layer and adjacent layer(s) [0126-0128] so as to increase the adhesive force [0128] of the bending protection layer [0128], as taught by Kim.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Jin (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0136066A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 7, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 1. However, Son does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a functional layer disposed between the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] and the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] (Son discloses a functional, polarizing layer 732, however, it is not positioned between 734 and 736); and
a second adhesive layer disposed between the functional layer and the cover window (736).
Jin teaches a display apparatus (100) fig. 3 [0077-0079] further comprising:
a functional layer (143) fig. 3 [0078] (polarizing layer [0078]) disposed (vertically) between the first adhesive layer (141) fig. 5 [0077] and the cover window (146) fig. 5 [0079]; and
a second adhesive layer (144) fig. 3 [0079] disposed (vertically) between the functional layer (143) and the cover window (146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son such that the functional, polarizing film is repositioned [0078] between the first adhesive layer and cover window [0077-0079] in order to minimize the effect of external incident light on the adhesive layer [0078] as well as underlying components [0078] and possibly make room for additional circuitry between the first adhesive layer and cover window [0077-0078], such as high touch sensitivity touch sensing layer(s) [0077-0078], as taught by Jin.
Regarding claim 8, Son in view of Jin teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 7. Son in view of Jin (with reference to Jin) also teaches wherein the functional layer (143) fig. 3 [0078] (polarizing layer [0078]) includes a polarizing film [0078].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Ha (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0328175A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 1. However, Son does not explicitly disclose wherein the first area (A1) (refer to annotated fig. 7 for labels) includes a first non-folding area, a second non-folding area, and a foldable area disposed between the first non-folding area and the second non-folding area, and
wherein the first non-folding area is disposed spaced apart from the bending area (BA), the second non-folding area is disposed adjacent to the bending area (BA), and the display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] is foldable in the foldable area.
Ha teaches a display apparatus (10) figs. 1-3 [0060, 0064] wherein the first area (comprising NFA2, FA, NFA1 of DM) fig. 2 [0065] includes a first non-folding area (NFA1) [0065-0066], a second non-folding area (NFA2) [0065-0066], and a foldable area (FA) [0065] disposed between the first non-folding area (NFA1) and the second non-folding area (NFA2), and
wherein the first non-folding area (NFA1) is disposed spaced apart from the bending area (overlapping AX2) fig. 1 [0071], the second non-folding area (NFA2) is disposed adjacent to the bending area (overlapping AX2), and the display panel (DM) fig. 3 [0062-0064] is foldable [see figs. 2-3, 0064-0066] in the foldable area (FA overlapping AX1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son to include the folding-area and non-folding area(s) [0062-0066] of Ha in order to enable the implementation of a larger display [0004] which can be touched and folded [0006-0007] by a user with minimal damage [0002, 0006-0007], as taught by Ha.
Regarding claim 10, Son teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 1. However, Son does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
an upper protective layer disposed on the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066]; and
an upper protective layer adhesive layer disposed between the cover window (736) and the upper protective layer.
Ha teaches a display apparatus (10) fig. 4 [0079-0080] further comprising:
an upper protective layer (210) fig. 4 [0093] disposed on the cover window (220) fig. 4 [0091]; and
an upper protective layer adhesive layer (251) fig. 4 [0094] disposed between the cover window (220) and the upper protective layer (210) (“to bond them together” [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son to include the cover window protection layer(s) [0093-0094] bonded to the cover window [0091] in order to provide one or more of “shatter prevention, shock absorption, dent prevention, fingerprint prevention, and anti-glare functions for the cover window” [0093], as taught by Ha.
Claims 11-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record) in view of Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0152892A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 11, Son teaches a display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] comprising:
a display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] including a first area (A1) [see annotated fig. 7 below], a second area (A2), and a bending area (BA) disposed (vertically) between the first area (A1) and the second area (A2);
a first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] disposed on the first area (A1);
a cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] disposed on the first adhesive layer (734); and
a bending protection layer (770) fig. 7 [0060] (having bent-shape [0060]) disposed on (partly-in) the bending area (BA) and disposed on (partly-in) a portion of the first area (A1); and
a slip auxiliary layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] disposed (partially, vertically) between the bending protection layer (770) and the first adhesive layer (734) (portion PB of 740 disposed vertically-between 770 and 734; see annotated fig. 7 below) and including a material (740/240 formed of organic resin [0065] such as acryl-resin [0054, 0065]),
wherein the bending protection layer (770) and the slip auxiliary layer (740) are disposed on (supported by) an upper surface (US) of the display panel (710) (local upper surface of 710 “US”, disposed above relative lower surface of 710; upper surface “US” corresponding to an underlying portion of 710, supporting overlying 770 and 740),
wherein a portion (PB) of the slip auxiliary layer (740) is disposed (vertically) between the display panel (710) and the first adhesive layer (734), and the portion (PB) of the slip auxiliary layer (740) disposed (vertically) between the display panel (710) and the first adhesive layer (734) includes an inclined surface (IS) (IS defined as top of PB of 740, locally inclined against 734) (see annotated fig. 7 of Son below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Local, Upper surface US of 710)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Local, Lower surface of 710)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (IS)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (PB)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A2)][AltContent: textbox (A1)][AltContent: textbox (BA)][AltContent: ][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 7 of Son
However, Son does not explicitly disclose the slip auxiliary layer (740) including a material (740/240 formed of organic resin [0065] such as acryl-resin [0054, 0065]) that is different from a material included in the bending protection layer (770) (material of “supporting member” 770 not explicitly disclosed).
Kim teaches a display apparatus (500) fig. 5A [0122] comprising the slip auxiliary layer (‘micro-coating’ in bending area B/A [0128]; not explicitly shown) including a material (acryl-resin [0128]) that is different from a material (PET and/or PEN [0128]) included in the bending protection layer (555) fig. 5A [0125] (material of “support member” 555 [0128] one or more non-acrylic plastics such as PET and/or PEN [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support/protection member disposed in the bending area to be composed of one or more non-acrylic plastics such as PET and/or PEN [0125] while the coating is composed of an acryl-based resin [0128] in order to selectively enhance the thickness and rigidity [0125] of the bending area support/protection member [0124-0125], as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 12, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 11. Son also teaches wherein a portion of the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] is disposed (directly) on the inclined surface (IS) of the slip auxiliary layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] (see annotated fig. 7 of Son above).
Regarding claim 13, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 11. Son also teaches wherein a thickness of the portion (PB) [see annotated fig. 7 above] of the slip auxiliary layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] disposed (vertically) between the display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] and the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] increases toward the bending area (BA) (thickness of PB increases from left to right, in direction from A1 towards BA – as defined in annotated fig. 7 of Son above).
Regarding claim 15, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 11. Son also teaches wherein the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] protrudes more than the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] toward the bending area (BA) (736 protrudes further right than 734) (see annotated fig. 7 of Son above).
Regarding claim 16, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 15. Son also teaches, wherein one (right sidewall) side of the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] disposed adjacent to the bending area (BA) is disposed closer to the bending area (BA) than one (right sidewall) side of the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] disposed adjacent to the bending area (BA) in a plan view (evident from annotated fig. 7 above that right sidewall of 736 is disposed closer to BA than right sidewall of 734 in/within both cross-sectional and corresponding plan view).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record) modified by Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0152892A1) (of record), as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of Kim-II (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0267569A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 14, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 11. Son also teaches wherein the display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] includes a first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710) and a second panel surface (lowermost surface of 710) opposite to the first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710), the slip auxiliary layer (740) fig. 7 [0058] is disposed (directly) on the first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710).
However, Son does not explicitly disclose and a first angle between the inclined surface (IS) (see label in annotated fig. 7 of Son) of the slip auxiliary layer (740) and the (horizontally-oriented) first panel surface (uppermost surface of 710) is from about 2° to about 14° (angle of inclined surface of 740 with respect to horizontal plane not explicitly disclosed).
Kim-II teaches a display apparatus [0110] wherein a first angle [0126] between the inclined surface (interface of 200/300 indicated by 230) fig. 5 [0126] of the slip auxiliary layer (300) fig. 5 [0126] and the first panel surface (top of 20) fig. 5 [0087] is from about 2° to about 14° (acute inclination angle [0126] of 300, with respect to horizontal-plane top of 20, may range from 0-89 degrees [0126]) (see also placement of bending protection layer 300 in [see fig. 15J, 0166]).
With respect to the underlined disclosure of ‘about 0° to 89°’ from [0126] of Kim-II compared to the claimed limitation of “about 2° to about 14°” above, Kim-II’s range of about 0-89° for the angle of the inclined surface of the slip auxiliary layer overlaps with and encompasses the claimed range of about 2-14°. Therefore, in the absence of specific evidence of criticality for the narrower, claimed range – the claimed range of “about 2° to about 14°” is considered to be rendered obvious in view of the broader range of angles (0-89°) specifically disclosed by [0126] of Kim-II. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son such that the inclination angle of the bending protection layer [0126] interfacing with adjacent layers of the display apparatus is slanted [0126] over the range of acute angles disclosed by [0126] of Kim-II in order to favorably increase the contact area [0128] of the slanted interface(s) defined by the bending protection layer and adjacent layer(s) [0126-0128] so as to increase the adhesive force [0128] of the bending protection layer [0128], as taught by Kim-II.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record) modified by Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0152892A1) (of record), as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of Jin (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0136066A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 17, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 11. However, Son does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a functional layer disposed between the first adhesive layer (734) fig. 7 [0065] and the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066] (Son discloses a functional, polarizing layer 732, however, it is not positioned between 734 and 736); and
a second adhesive layer disposed between the functional layer and the cover window (736).
Jin teaches a display apparatus (100) fig. 3 [0077-0079] further comprising:
a functional layer (143) fig. 3 [0078] (polarizing layer [0078]) disposed (vertically) between the first adhesive layer (141) fig. 5 [0077] and the cover window (146) fig. 5 [0079]; and
a second adhesive layer (144) fig. 3 [0079] disposed (vertically) between the functional layer (143) and the cover window (146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son such that the functional, polarizing film is repositioned [0078] between the first adhesive layer and cover window [0077-0079] in order to minimize the effect of external incident light on the adhesive layer [0078] as well as underlying components [0078] and possibly make room for additional circuitry between the first adhesive layer and cover window [0077-0078], such as high touch sensitivity touch sensing layer(s) [0077-0078], as taught by Jin.
Regarding claim 18, Son in view of Kim and Jin teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 17. Son in view of Kim and Jin (with reference to Jin) also teaches wherein the functional layer (143) fig. 3 [0078] (polarizing layer [0078]) includes a polarizing film [0078].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0047547A1) (of record) modified by Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0152892A1) (of record), as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of Ha (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0328175A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 19, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 11. However, Son does not explicitly disclose wherein the first area (A1) (refer to annotated fig. 7 for labels) includes a first non-folding area, a second non-folding area, and a foldable area disposed between the first non-folding area and the second non-folding area, and
wherein the first non-folding area is disposed spaced apart from the bending area (BA), the second non-folding area is disposed adjacent to the bending area (BA), and the display panel (710) fig. 7 [0060] is foldable in the foldable area.
Ha teaches a display apparatus (10) figs. 1-3 [0060, 0064] wherein the first area (comprising NFA2, FA, NFA1 of DM) fig. 2 [0065] includes a first non-folding area (NFA1) [0065-0066], a second non-folding area (NFA2) [0065-0066], and a foldable area (FA) [0065] disposed between the first non-folding area (NFA1) and the second non-folding area (NFA2), and
wherein the first non-folding area (NFA1) is disposed spaced apart from the bending area (overlapping AX2) fig. 1 [0071], the second non-folding area (NFA2) is disposed adjacent to the bending area (overlapping AX2), and the display panel (DM) fig. 3 [0062-0064] is foldable [see figs. 2-3, 0064-0066] in the foldable area (FA overlapping AX1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son to include the folding-area and non-folding area(s) [0062-0066] of Ha in order to enable the implementation of a larger display [0004] which can be touched and folded [0006-0007] by a user with minimal damage [0002, 0006-0007], as taught by Ha.
Regarding claim 20, Son in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus (700) fig. 7 [0060] of claim 11. However, Son does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
an upper protective layer disposed on the cover window (736) fig. 7 [0066]; and
an upper protective layer adhesive layer disposed between the cover window (736) and the upper protective layer.
Ha teaches a display apparatus (10) fig. 4 [0079-0080] further comprising:
an upper protective layer (210) fig. 4 [0093] disposed on the cover window (220) fig. 4 [0091]; and
an upper protective layer adhesive layer (251) fig. 4 [0094] disposed between the cover window (220) and the upper protective layer (210) (“to bond them together” [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Son to include the cover window protection layer(s) [0093-0094] bonded to the cover window [0091] in order to provide one or more of “shatter prevention, shock absorption, dent prevention, fingerprint prevention, and anti-glare functions for the cover window” [0093], as taught by Ha.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments of claim 1, Applicant’s arguments are rendered largely moot by a reinterpretation of the region “PB” of Son (see annotated fig. 7 reproduced below) to be a larger swath of element 740, all of which is diagonally between elements 734 and 710 of Son; a lowermost surface of this portion PB is in direct contact with display panel 710, as is visually-evidenced by annotated fig. 7 of Son, as applied to claim 1, reproduced below.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments of claim 11, it is noted that the underlying section of display panel 710 in area A2 possesses both a lower surface, at a bottom of a thickness of 710, and a local upper surface, denoted by US (see annotated fig. 7 below), disposed at a top of a thickness of 710. Thus, portions of both 770 and 740 are disposed on (supported by) a same side they are both positioned above, relative to this upper surface “US” of 710. See annotated fig. 7 of Son, as applied to claim 11, reproduced below.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form (of record) are all considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature foldable displays with bending-area protection layers and adhesive layers.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 10/07/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892