DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
2. The preliminary amendment filed 05 March 2024 has been entered in full. Claims 1-6 have been canceled, and claims 7-16 have been added. Therefore, claims 7-16 are pending and the subject of this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05 March 2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to because Figure 3 is too faint/blurred to read. 37 C.F.R. 1.52(a)(1)(v) requires that all papers be presented in a form having sufficient clarity and contrast between the paper and the writing thereon to permit the direct reproduction of readily legible copies in any number by use of photographic, electrostatic, photo-offset, and microfilming processes and electronic capture by use of digital imaging and optical character recognition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
7. Claim 10 is rejected as being indefinite because the claims do not have a step that clearly relates back to the preamble. For example, there is no step indicating that administration of the histidine-rich glycoprotein results in treatment, or what the intended outcome is, such as treatment of the infectious disease (i.e., therapeutically effective). Furthermore, it is unclear if the limitation ‘administering the agent to a subject” refers to any subject, or a subject with an infectious disease. It is thus unclear what the claimed method is intending to accomplish. Amending the claim to recite, for example, “A method for treating an infectious disease in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an agent comprising histidine-rich glycoprotein and a pharmacologically acceptable carrier, wherein the treatment is due to enhancing phagocytosis ability of neutrophils” would be remedial.
8. Claims 11-16 are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Scope of Enablement)
10. Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating a bacterial infection in a subject, does not reasonably provide enablement for the breadth of infectious diseases either recited or encompassed by the claims. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
11. Factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure enables one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention in its full scope without resorting to undue experimentation include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary; (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (3) the presence or absence of working examples; (4) the nature or complexity of the invention; (5) the state of the prior art; (6) the relative skill of those in the art; (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; and (8) the breadth of the claims. See In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d. 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
12. In the instant case, the claims are broadly drawn to a method for treating an infectious disease, comprising: preparing an agent containing a histidine-rich glycoprotein as an active ingredient and a pharmacologically acceptable carrier, and administering the agent to a subject, wherein the treatment is due to enhancing phagocytosis ability of neutrophils. The claims also recite wherein the infectious disease is caused by a pathogen derived from one or a plurality of species selected from bacteria, viruses, fungi, and parasites, or wherein the infectious disease is any one of infectious diseases selected from the group of a respiratory infectious disease, a urinary tract infectious disease, a biliary tract infectious disease, a gastrointestinal infectious disease and a central nervous system infectious disease. Thus the claims encompass complex and unpredictable subject matter, involving the effects of complex biological molecules on diseased physiological states.
13. As was found in Ex parte Hitzeman, 9 USPQ2d 1821 (BPAI 1987), a single embodiment may provide broad enablement in cases involving predictable factors such as mechanical or electrical elements, but more will be required in cases that involve unpredictable factors such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity. This invention is in a class of invention which the CAFC has characterized as “the unpredictable arts such as chemistry and biology”, Mycogen Plant Sci., Inc. v. Monsanto Co., 243 F.3d 1316, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2001). See also In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970); Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1212, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1026 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 502 U.S. 856 (1991).
14. The specification provides detailed direction and guidance regarding the effects of the histidine-rich glycoprotein on enhancing the phagocytosis of neutrophils and opsonin enhancing effect against Escheria coli and Staphylococcus aureus (See Examples 2-4 at pp. 17-21). However, the data presented in the Specification does not provide any guidance on the treatment of every infectious disease, or an infectious disease that is caused by a pathogen derived from one or a plurality of species of viruses, fungi, and parasites, or any respiratory infectious disease, a urinary tract infectious disease, a biliary tract infectious disease, a gastrointestinal infectious disease and a central nervous system infectious disease.
15. Therefore, while administration of the histidine-rich glycoprotein would be expected to treat a bacterial infection, one skilled in the art would not predict that administration of the recited histidine-rich glycoprotein would be sufficient to treat the breadth of diseases recited in the claims. There are no working examples provided in the instant application which demonstrate that the recited histidine-rich glycoprotein is capable of treating anything other than bacterial infection.
16. While the level of skill in the art is high, the amount of guidance provided regarding how to use the recited histidine-rich glycoprotein to effectively treat anything other than bacterial infection is completely lacking. Accordingly, the amount of experimentation required to determine how to use the recited histidine-rich glycoprotein in this manner is quite extensive.
17. Due to the large quantity of experimentation necessary to determine how to use the recited histidine-rich glycoprotein to treat every infectious disease, or an infectious disease that is caused by a pathogen derived from one or a plurality of species of viruses, fungi, and parasites, or any respiratory infectious disease, a urinary tract infectious disease, a biliary tract infectious disease, a gastrointestinal infectious disease and a central nervous system infectious disease, the lack of direction/guidance presented in the specification regarding the same, the absence of working examples directed to the same, the complex nature of the invention, the unpredictability of the effects of complex biological molecules on diseased physiological systems, undue experimentation would be required of the skilled artisan to make and/or use the claimed invention in its full scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
20. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shoji et al. (WO 2013/183494; published 12 December 2013; cited by Applicant). It is noted that the Examiner has provided an English translation of the reference as an Appendix to this Office action.
21. Shoji et al. teach a method of treatment which utilizes a histidine-rich glycoprotein as the active ingredient. While Shoji et al. does not teach enhancing phagocytosis ability of neutrophils, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963)), as are their processes and yields (In re Von Schick, 362 F.2d 821, 150 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1966)). Thus, Shoji et al. meets all the limitations of claim 7.
22. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishibori et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,504,731; issued 29 November 2019; cited by Applicant).
23. Nishibori et al. teach a method of treatment which utilizes a histidine-rich glycoprotein as the active ingredient. While Shoji et al. does not teach enhancing phagocytosis ability of neutrophils, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963)), as are their processes and yields (In re Von Schick, 362 F.2d 821, 150 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1966)). Thus, Nishibori et al. meets all the limitations of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
27. Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji et al. or Nishibori et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of (U.S. Pat. No. 5,116,964; issued 26 May 1992; cited by Applicant).
28. The teachings of Shoji et al. and Nishibori et al. are set for supra. Neither reference teaches wherein the histidine-rich glycoprotein is fused with an Fc region of an antibody, or wherein the Fc region is derived from IgG2.
29. However, Capon et al. teaches fusion proteins comprising immunoglobulin polypeptides fused to "ligand binding partners" (see column 2, lines 14-19). At column 4, lines 38-43, Capon states that the immunoglobulin (Ig) fusions of the invention, including the Fc portion, "serve to prolong the in vivo plasma half-life of the ligand binding partner...", "facilitate its purification by protein A" and “combine the adhesive and targeting characteristics of a ligand binding partner with immunoglobulin effector functions such as complement binding, cell receptor binding and the like.” Capon also Fc regions from IgG2 antibodies as a preferred embodiment (see column 14, lines 40-45).
30. At the time of the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of either Shoji et al. or Nishibori et al. and make a fusion protein comprising a histidine-rich glycoprotein as taught by both Shoji et al. and Nishibori et al. fused to Fc immunoglobulin polypeptides as taught by Capon et al. in view of Capon et al.’s suggestion that it would be desirable to do so, for the reasons cited above. The expectation of success is high since fusion proteins comprising an Fc polypeptide are well-known in the art. Thus at the time the invention was filed, claims 8-9 are prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the art.
Double Patenting
32. Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 9,504,731. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘731 Patent recite a method of treatment which utilizes a histidine-rich glycoprotein as the active ingredient. While the claims of the ‘731 patent do not recite enhancing phagocytosis ability of neutrophils, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963)), as are their processes and yields (In re Von Schick, 362 F.2d 821, 150 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1966)).
33. Claims 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 9,504,731 in view of Capon (U.S. Pat. No. 5,116,964; issued 26 May 1992).
34. The teachings of the ‘731 Patent are set for supra. The claims of the ‘731 Patent do not teach wherein the histidine-rich glycoprotein is fused with an Fc region of an antibody, or wherein the Fc region is derived from IgG2.
35. However, Capon et al. teaches fusion proteins comprising immunoglobulin polypeptides fused to "ligand binding partners" (see column 2, lines 14-19). At column 4, lines 38-43, Capon states that the immunoglobulin (Ig) fusions of the invention, including the Fc portion, "serve to prolong the in vivo plasma half-life of the ligand binding partner...", "facilitate its purification by protein A" and “combine the adhesive and targeting characteristics of a ligand binding partner with immunoglobulin effector functions such as complement binding, cell receptor binding and the like.” Capon also Fc regions from IgG2 antibodies as a preferred embodiment (see column 14, lines 40-45).
36. At the time of the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of ‘731 and make a fusion protein comprising the histidine-rich glycoprotein as recited in the claims of the ‘731 patent fused to Fc immunoglobulin polypeptides as taught by Capon et al. in view of Capon et al.’s suggestion that it would be desirable to do so, for the reasons cited above. The expectation of success is high since fusion proteins comprising an Fc polypeptide are well-known in the art.
Summary
37. No claim is allowed.
Advisory Information
/JON M LOCKARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1647 April 3, 2026