Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang US 20220050326.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a display device (fig 1, 3; 100) comprising: a first light emitting component (fig 7; 11) emitting light having a first wavelength [0075] that is included in a wavelength range of blue light as a dominant wavelength ( [0075] short wavelength); a second light emitting component (fig 7; 12) emitting light having a second wavelength [0075] that is included in the wavelength range of blue light as a dominant wavelength and is longer than the first wavelength ([0075] long wavelength);
a first color filter (fig 1 and 3; 413) that is disposed on a light exit side (fig 1; upper panel) with respect to the first light emitting component (fig 7; 11) and the second light emitting component (fig 7; 12) and selectively transmits blue light in the wavelength range of blue light (first blue filter), the first color filter (fig 1 and 3; 413) having a transmission spectrum in which a peak wavelength is a third wavelength (first waveband) in the wavelength range of blue light; [0059] and
a second color filter (fig 1 and 3; 414) that is disposed on the light exit side (fig 1; upper panel) with respect to the first light emitting component (fig 7; 11) and the second light emitting component (fig 7; 12) and selectively transmits the blue light in the wavelength range of blue light (second blue filter), the second color filter (fig 1 and 3; 414) having a transmission spectrum in which a peak wavelength is a fourth wavelength (second waveband) in the wavelength range of blue light and the fourth wavelength (second waveband) being longer than the third wavelength (first waveband) [0059].
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of an area of the first color filter (413) to a total of an area of the first color filter (413) and an area of the second color filter (414) (total area of 413 and 414) is defined as a first area ratio ((area of 413)/ (area of 413 and 414) fig. 3),
a ratio of peak intensity in the transmission spectrum of the first color filter (413) to a total of peak intensity in the transmission spectrum of the first color filter (413) and peak intensity in the transmission spectrum of the second color filter (414) is defined as a first peak intensity ratio [0061], and
the first area ratio or the first peak intensity ratio of the first color filter is in a range from 12% to 68%. [0064; 1:1, 50%]
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the display device according to claim 2, wherein the first area ratio or the first peak intensity ratio of the first color filter (413) is in a range from 20% to 60%. [0064; 1:1, 50%]
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the first area ratio or the first peak intensity ratio of the first color filter (413) is in a range from 30% to 50%. [0064; 1:1, 50%]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 20220050326 in view of Kuo US 20110037081 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a lighting device supplying light (fig 7 LED); and a display panel displaying (fig 1; 01) an image with using the light from the lighting device (fig 7 LED), wherein the lighting device includes the first light emitting component (11), the second light emitting component (12), and the display panel (01) includes the first color filter (413), the second color filter (414), a third color filter (412) that selectively transmits green light that is light in a wavelength range of green (fig 3), and a fourth color filter (411) that selectively transmits red light that is light in the wavelength range of red (fig3).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a wavelength conversion portion that is disposed on the light exit side with respect to the first light emitting component and the second light emitting component and converts blue light in the wavelength range of blue into light in a wavelength ranging from green to red.
Kuo teaches a wavelength conversion (fig 2; 150) portion that is disposed on the light exit side (fig 2) with respect to the first light emitting component (108) and the second light emitting component (110) and converts blue light in the wavelength range of blue into light in a wavelength ranging from green to red [0024] for the purpose of a tunable color temperature is desired and being able to adjust the LED for varying conditions of surrounding light. [0007]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Zhang with the addition of the conversion layer of Kuo for the purpose of a tunable color temperature is desired and being able to adjust the LED for varying conditions of surrounding light. [0007]
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches he display device according to claim 1, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first wavelength of the first light emitting component is in a range from 420 nm to 450 nm, and the second wavelength of the second light emitting component is in a range from 450 nm to 480 nm. [0022]
Kuo teaches in [0022] wherein the first wavelength of the first light emitting (108) component is in a range from 420 nm to 450 nm, and the second wavelength of the second light emitting component (110) is in a range from 450 nm to 480 nm. [0022] for the purpose of a tunable color temperature is desired and being able to adjust the LED for varying conditions of surrounding light. [0007]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Zhang with the addition of the range of Kuo for the purpose of a tunable color temperature is desired and being able to adjust the LED for varying conditions of surrounding light. [0007]
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 20220050326 in view of Kuo US 20110037081 A1 further in view of Kim US 20140246990 A1
Regarding claim 11, Zhang and Kuo teach the display device according to claim 5, Zhang teaches wherein the lighting device includes a light source (fig 1 and 7; 1), and the light source (1 LED) includes the first light emitting component (11) and the second light emitting component (12),
However, Zhang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose a case in which the first light emitting component and the second light emitting component are stored, and a sealing portion with which the case is filled and the first light emitting component and the second light emitting component are enclosed for the purpose of optical efficiency and color rendering property can be more improved.
Kim teaches a case (fig 5; 10) in which the first light emitting component (133; 1st ) and the second light emitting (133; 2nd ) component are stored (fig 5), and a sealing portion (170) with which the case (10) is filled and the first light emitting component (133; 1st ) and the second light emitting (133; 2nd ) component are enclosed for the purpose of optical efficiency and color rendering property can be more improved. [0048]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Zhang with the addition of the case and sealing of Kim for the purpose of optical efficiency and color rendering property can be more improved. [0048]
Regarding claim 12, Zhang, Kuo and Kim teach the display device according to claim 11, Kuo teaches wherein the wavelength conversion portion (fig 2; 150) includes phosphor (150) included in the sealing portion. [0022]
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 20220050326 in view of Kuo US 20110037081 A1 further in view of Kim US 20170261819 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang and Kuo teach the display device according to claim 5, however, Zhang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose wherein the display panel includes pixel electrodes, and the pixel electrodes include a first pixel electrode that is disposed to overlap the first color filter and the second color filter, a second pixel electrode that is disposed to overlap the third color filter, and a third pixel electrode that is disposed to overlap the fourth color filter.
Kim teaches wherein the display panel (fig 1; 100) includes pixel electrodes (fig 7 and 8; PX1, PX2, PX3) , and the pixel electrodes include a first pixel electrode (PX3) that is disposed to overlap the first color filter (Bh) and the second color filter (Bl), a second pixel electrode (PX2) that is disposed to overlap the third color filter (G), and a third pixel electrode (PX1) that is disposed to overlap the fourth color filter (R) for the purpose capable of improving visibility without reducing transmittance. [0002] (also configuration fig 2 and 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Zhang with the addition of the pixel electrodes of Kim for the purpose capable of improving visibility without reducing transmittance. [0002]
Regarding claim 7, Zhang, Kuo and Kim teach the display device according to claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the first color filter (Bh) is disposed to overlap a portion of the first pixel electrode (portion PX3h) (fig 8), and the second color filter (Bl) is disposed to overlap a rest of the first pixel electrode (portion PX3l) and next to the first color filter (Bh). (fig 8)
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 20220050326 in view of Kuo US 20110037081 A1 further in view of Kashiwabara US 20080224968 A1
Regarding claim 8, Zhang and Kuo teach the display device according to claim 5, however, Zhang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose wherein the display panel includes pixel electrodes, and the pixel electrodes include a fourth pixel electrode that is disposed to overlap the first color filter, a fifth pixel electrode that is disposed to overlap the second color filter, a sixth pixel electrode that is disposed to overlap the third color filter, and a seventh pixel electrode that is disposed to overlap the fourth color filter.
Kashiwabara teaches the display panel (fig 2; 1) includes pixel electrodes (multiple 21), and the pixel electrodes (multiple 21) include a fourth pixel electrode (21) that is disposed to overlap the first color filter (33 (b)), a fifth pixel electrode (21) that is disposed to overlap the second color filter (33 (Db)) , a sixth pixel electrode (21) that is disposed to overlap the third color filter (33 (g)), and a seventh pixel electrode (21) that is disposed to overlap the fourth color filter (33 (r)) for the purpose of to achieve reduced power consumption and extended lifetime in addition to enhanced color reproducibility. [0009]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Zhang with the addition of the pixel electrodes of Kashiwabara for the purpose of to achieve reduced power consumption and extended lifetime in addition to enhanced color reproducibility. [0009]
Regarding claim 9, Zhang, Kuo and Kashiwabara teach the display device according to claim 8, Kashiwabara teaches wherein the fourth pixel electrode (21) and the fifth pixel electrode (21) have a same area (as per fig 2), and the first color filter (33 (b)) and the second color filter (33 (Db)) have a same area ( as per fig 2 and 1A) and at least one of a thickness and a density of included pigment or dye differs between the first color filter and the second color filter. [0081; different pigment for b and D(b)]
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 20220050326 in view of Kuo US 20110037081 A1 further in view of Kashiwabara US 20080224968 A1 further in view of Kim US 20170261819 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang, Kuo and Kashiwabara teach the display device according to claim 8, however do not explicitly disclose wherein the first color filter and the second color filter have different areas.
Kim teaches in fig 2 and 4 wherein the first color filter (Bh) and the second color filter (Bl) have different areas for the purpose capable of improving visibility without reducing transmittance. [0002]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Zhang with the addition of the pixel electrodes of Kim for the purpose capable of improving visibility without reducing transmittance. [0002]
Conclusion
/AGNES DOBROWOLSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871