DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 11/11/2025, which amended claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 13, 18, and 19, and cancelled claims 5 and 18. Claims 1-4, 6-17, 19, and 20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koge et al. (US PGPub 2021/0307150, Koge hereinafter) in view of Heijmans et al. (US PGPub 2022/0390852, Heijmans hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Koge discloses an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) source (Figs. 1-13) comprising:
a housing providing a light-collecting space having a cone shape becoming narrower in a first direction (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], chamber 10 includes an EUV light concentrating mirror 75 that reflects EUV light 101, and the space inside the chamber 10 is a cone shape that narrows towards intermediate focal point IF);
an EUV collector disposed at a first end portion of the housing and including a reflection surface disposed toward the light-collecting space (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0039], [0049], an EUV light concentrating mirror 75 is arranged at one end of the chamber 10 and includes a reflection surface 75a); and
an exhaust pipe coupled to the housing and providing an exhaust flow path connected to the light-collecting space (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0058]-[0059], [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], exhaust port 10E is formed at the inner wall 10b of the chamber and connects to exhaust pipe to provide a path between the inside of the chamber and the exhaust pump 60),
wherein the exhaust pipe extends from the housing and forms an acute angle with the housing toward a second end portion of the housing (Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the exhaust port 10E forms an acute angle towards the intermediate focal point IF as clearly shown in Figs. 6, 8-11, and 13. See MPEP 2125). Koge discloses an upper housing disposed (Figs. 2-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the chamber 20 includes an upper housing disposed on the lower housing with the concentrating mirror 75), but Koge does not appear to explicitly describe an intermediate focus cap disposed on the upper housing and configured to allow a passage of EUV light received from the EUV collector, wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape.
Heijmans discloses an intermediate focus cap disposed on an upper housing and configured to allow a passage of EUV light received from the EUV collector (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], the radiation conduit 300 is an intermediate focus cap forming the upper portion of the radiation conduit assembly and allows EUV light focused by the collector 5 to pass to the intermediate focus 6);
wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0066]-[0067], [0094], the radiation conduit 300 includes inner walls having a plurality of vanes 310 so that the inner surface is stepped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an intermediate focus cap disposed on an upper housing and configured to allow a passage of EUV light received from the EUV collector, wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape as taught by Heijmans in the extreme ultraviolet source as taught by Koge since including an intermediate focus cap disposed on the upper housing and configured to allow a passage of EUV light received from the EUV collector, wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape is commonly used absorb and reflect infrared radiation (Heijmans, paras. [0049], [0057], [0066]) to prevent damage to lithographic apparatus components.
Regarding claim 2, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein a center portion of an outlet at which the exhaust flow path is connected to the light-collecting space is disposed below a center portion of the light-collecting space extending in the first direction (Koge, Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the central axis 10g of exhaust port 10E is below the focal line L0 extending in the first direction).
Regarding claim 4, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the housing comprises: a lower housing to which the EUV collector is connected (Koge, Figs. 2-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], EUV light concentrating mirror 75 is connected to a lower housing of the chamber 10); and
the upper housing disposed on the lower housing (Koge, Figs. 2-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the chamber 20 includes an upper housing disposed on the lower housing with the concentrating mirror 75).
Regarding claim 6, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the exhaust flow path extends in a direction forming an acute angle with the first direction (Koge, Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the exhaust port 10E forms an acute angle towards the intermediate focal point IF such that the flow of etching gas towards the exhaust pump extends in an acute angle with the direction of the chamber 10 as clearly shown in Figs. 6, 8-11, and 13. See MPEP 2125).
Regarding claim 8, Koge discloses a substrate processing apparatus (Figs. 1-13) comprising:
a chamber (Figs. 1-13, paras. [0030], [0040], the chamber including EUV light generation apparatus 100 and exposure apparatus 200 has an internal space);
an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) source disposed in the chamber and configured to generate EUV light (Figs. 1-13, paras. [0030], [0031]-[0044], EUV light generation apparatus 100 generates EUV light);
an optical rig disposed in the chamber and configured to provide the EUV light generated from the EUV source to a reticle, and from the reticle to a substrate (Fig. 1, para. [0030] mirrors 211, 212 in mask irradiation unit 210 illuminate the mask pattern and the mirrors 221, 222 in workpiece irradiation unit 220 project the mask pattern on the workpiece);
a substrate chuck disposed in the chamber and configured to support the substrate (Fig. 1, para. [0030], a workpiece table WT supports a workpiece); and
a reticle stage disposed in the chamber and configured to hold the reticle (Fig. 1, para. [0030], mask table MT holds a mask),
wherein the EUV source comprises: a housing providing a light-collecting space that narrows in a first direction (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], chamber 10 includes an EUV light concentrating mirror 75 that reflects EUV light 101, and the space inside the chamber 10 is a cone shape that narrows towards intermediate focal point IF);
an EUV collector disposed at a first end portion of the housing and including a reflection surface disposed toward the light-collecting space (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0039], [0049], an EUV light concentrating mirror 75 is arranged at one end of the chamber 10 and includes a reflection surface 75a); and
an exhaust pipe coupled to the housing and providing an exhaust flow path connected to the light-collecting space (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0058]-[0059], [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], exhaust port 10E is formed at the inner wall 10b of the chamber and connects to exhaust pipe to provide a path between the inside of the chamber and the exhaust pump 60),
wherein the exhaust pipe extends from the housing and forms an acute angle with the housing toward a second end portion of the housing (Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the exhaust port 10E forms an acute angle towards the intermediate focal point IF as clearly shown in Figs. 6, 8-11, and 13. See MPEP 2125), and
wherein a center portion of an outlet at which the exhaust flow path meets the light-collecting space is disposed below a center portion of the light-collecting space extending in the first direction (Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the central axis 10g of exhaust port 10E is below the focal line L0 extending in the first direction). Koge does not appear to explicitly describe an intermediate focus cap disposed on an upper housing; wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape.
Heijmans discloses an intermediate focus cap disposed on an upper housing (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], the radiation conduit 300 is an intermediate focus cap forming the upper portion of the radiation conduit assembly and allows EUV light focused by the collector 5 to pass to the intermediate focus 6);
wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0066]-[0067], [0094], the radiation conduit 300 includes inner walls having a plurality of vanes 310 so that the inner surface is stepped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an intermediate focus cap disposed on an upper housing; wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape as taught by Heijmans in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Koge since including an intermediate focus cap disposed on an upper housing; wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape is commonly used absorb and reflect infrared radiation (Heijmans, paras. [0049], [0057], [0066]) to prevent damage to lithographic apparatus components.
Regarding claim 11, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the housing comprises: a lower housing (Koge, Figs. 2-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], EUV light concentrating mirror 75 is in a lower housing of the chamber 10); and
the upper housing connected to the lower housing (Koge, Figs. 2-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the chamber 20 includes an upper housing connected to the lower housing containing the concentrating mirror 75).
Regarding claim 13, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses the intermediate focus cap disposed at the second end portion of the housing and configured to allow a passage of EUV light received from the EUV collector (Koge, Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the exhaust port 10E forms an acute angle towards the intermediate focal point IF as clearly shown in Figs. 6, 8-11, and 13, and as modified by Heijmans, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], the radiation conduit 300 is an intermediate focus cap forming the upper portion of the radiation conduit assembly and allows EUV light focused by the collector 5 to pass to the intermediate focus 6), and
wherein the intermediate focus cap has a cone shape becoming narrower in the first direction (Heijmans, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], the radiation conduit 300 tapers to become narrower close to the intermediate focus region).
Regarding claim 16, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the acute angle is less than about 90° (Koge, Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the exhaust port 10E forms an acute angle towards the intermediate focal point IF as clearly shown in Figs. 6, 8-11, and 13. See MPEP 2125). However, Koge as modified by Heijmans does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the angle is less than about 80°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the acute angle of the exhaust pipe in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Koge as modified by Heijmans to obtain the acute angle is less than about 80° since optimizing the angle such that the acute angle is less than 80° would have only required routine experimentation to have determined the optimal angle to effectively remove gas a radiation source (Koge, paras. [0101]-[0102]) with the desired footprint. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 17, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the optical rig comprises: a plurality of optical systems configured to reflect the EUV light (Koge, Fig. 1, para. [0030] mirrors 211, 212 in mask irradiation unit 210 and the mirrors 221, 222 in workpiece irradiation unit 220).
Regarding claim 19, Koge discloses an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) source (Figs. 1-13) comprising:
a housing providing a light-collecting space having a cone shape becoming narrower in a first direction (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0032]-[0033], [0039]-[0040], [0058], [0072], chamber 10 includes an EUV light concentrating mirror 75 that reflects EUV light 101, and the space inside the chamber 10 is a cone shape that narrows towards intermediate focal point IF);
an EUV collector disposed at a first end portion of the housing and including a reflection surface disposed toward the light-collecting space (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0039], [0049], an EUV light concentrating mirror 75 is arranged at one end of the chamber 10 and includes a reflection surface 75a);
an intermediate focus disposed at a second end portion of the housing (Figs. 2-13, paras. [0040], [0058]-[0059], [0065], [0078], connection portion 19 disposed on upper housing of chamber 10 includes intermediate focal point IF and receives radiation reflected by EUV light concentrating mirror 75 to allow passage of the EUV light); and
an exhaust pipe coupled to the housing and providing an exhaust flow path connected to the light-collecting space (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0058]-[0059], [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], exhaust port 10E is formed at the inner wall 10b of the chamber and connects to exhaust pipe to provide a path between the inside of the chamber and the exhaust pump 60),
wherein the exhaust pipe extends from the housing and forms an acute angle with the housing toward the second end portion of the housing (Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the exhaust port 10E forms an acute angle towards the intermediate focal point IF as clearly shown in Figs. 6, 8-11, and 13. See MPEP 2125), and although Koge discloses wherein a center portion of an outlet at which the exhaust flow path is connected to the light-collecting space is disposed between the second end portion of the housing and the first end portion (Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the exhaust port 10E is between the concentrating mirror 75 and the connection portion 19 with intermediate focus IF), Koge does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the center portion is closer to the second end portion of the housing than the first end portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the location of the center portion of the outlet in the EUV source as taught by Koge since including the center portion of the outlet at which the exhaust flow path is connected to the light-collecting space is disposed closer to the second end portion of the housing than the first end portion is commonly used to draw contaminants away from the reflective surface of the concentrating mirror for removal while avoiding interfering with the trajectory of the fuel droplet supplied to the plasma generation region (Koge, paras. [0079]-[0081], [0101], [0111]).
Koge does not appear to explicitly describe an intermediate focus cap disposed at the second end portion of the housing, wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape.
Heijmans discloses an intermediate focus cap disposed at a second end portion of the housing (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], the radiation conduit 300 is an intermediate focus cap forming the upper portion of the radiation conduit assembly and allows EUV light focused by the collector 5 to pass to the intermediate focus 6);
wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0066]-[0067], [0094], the radiation conduit 300 includes inner walls having a plurality of vanes 310 so that the inner surface is stepped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an intermediate focus cap disposed at a second end portion of the housing, wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape as taught by Heijmans in the extreme ultraviolet source as taught by Koge since including an intermediate focus cap disposed at a second end portion of the housing, wherein an inner surface of the intermediate focus cap has a stepped shape is commonly used absorb and reflect infrared radiation (Heijmans, paras. [0049], [0057], [0066]) to prevent damage to lithographic apparatus components.
Regarding claim 20, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the center portion of the outlet at which the exhaust flow path is connected to the light-collecting space is disposed below a center portion of the light-collecting space extending in the first direction (Koge, Figs. 6-13, paras. [0092]-[0093], [0095], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0108]-[0111], [0117]-[0125], [0128], the central axis 10g of exhaust port 10E is below the focal line L0 extending in the first direction).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koge as modified by Heijmans as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Labetski et al. (US PGPub 2020/0089124, Labetski hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the housing comprises a lower housing to which the EUV collector is connected (Koge, Figs. 1-13, paras. [0038]-[0039], [0048]-[0049], [0064]-[0066], [0089]-[0090], the EUV light concentrating mirror 75 is arranged in a lower housing of chamber 10), but Koge as modified by Heijmans does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing through-holes spaced apart from each other at equal distances and disposed around the light-collecting space.
Labetski discloses wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing through-holes spaced apart from each other and disposed around the light-collecting space (Figs. 9-10, 12-13, 15, 17, 20, 21, paras. [0180], [0182], [0184]-[0190], [0194]-[0196], [0199], [0206]-[0208], [0222], [0229], [0242], nozzles 120, 120a, 120b, 120c are disposed around the walls of the EUV vessel 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing through-holes spaced apart from each other and disposed around the light-collecting space as taught by Labetski in the EUV source as taught by Koge as modified by Heijmans since including wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing through-holes spaced apart from each other and disposed around the light-collecting space is commonly used to enable gas flow into an EUV vessel to reduce contamination accumulation (Labetski, paras. [0007]-[0012]). Although Labetski teaches the general conditions of the housing through-holes spaced apart from each other (Figs. 9-10, 12-13, 15, 17, 20, 21, paras. [0180], [0182], [0184]-[0190], [0194]-[0196], [0199], [0206]-[0208], [0222], [0229], [0232], [0242], nozzles 120, 120a, 120b, 120c, and para. [0199] states, “embodiments with more or less nozzles of differing cross-sectional widths (e.g., diameters) and spacing may be used without departing from the scope and spirit of the disclosure,” and para. [0232] states “the pattern in which the nozzles 120 are arranged may vary in terms of spacing, uniformity, nozzle diameter, etc., in order to meet the needs of various embodiments”), Labetski does not appear to explicitly describe the through-holes spaced apparat from each other at equal distances. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the spacing as suggested by Labetski (see paras. [0199], [0232]) of the through-holes in the housing of the EUV source as taught by Koge as modified by Heijmans and Labetski to have obtained housing through-holes spaced apart from each other at equal distances in order to provide reduction of contamination accumulation (Labetski, paras. [0007]-[0012]) uniformly.
Regarding claim 12, Koge as modified by Heijmans does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing through-holes penetrating the lower housing and connected to the light-collecting space.
Labetski discloses wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing though-holes penetrating the lower housing and connected to the light-collecting space (Figs. 9-10, 12-13, 15, 17, 20, 21, paras. [0180], [0182], [0184]-[0190], [0194]-[0196], [0199], [0206]-[0208], [0222], [0229], [0242], nozzles 120, 120a, 120b, 120c are disposed around the walls of the EUV vessel 100 with through-holes extending through the vessel wall 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing through-holes penetrating the lower housing and connected to the light-collecting space as taught by Labetski in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Koge as modified by Heijmans since including wherein the lower housing comprises a plurality of housing through-holes penetrating the lower housing and connected to the light-collecting space is commonly used to enable gas flow into an EUV vessel to reduce contamination accumulation (Labetski, paras. [0007]-[0012]).
Claims 7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koge as modified by Heijmans as applied to claims 1, 8, and 11 above, and further in view of Bykanov et al. (US PGPub 2009/0154642, Bykanov hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Koge as modified by Heijmans does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising a scrubber connected to the exhaust flow path and configured to purify a residue exhausted from the light-collecting space.
Bykanov discloses a scrubber connected to the exhaust flow path and configured to purify a residue exhausted from the light-collecting space (Fig. 2, paras. [0047], [0050], [0064], [0069], [0085], gas management system includes conditioner 226 that scrubs gas exhausted by pump 224 from the chamber 26 in which radiation is generated at irradiation region 28, and conditioner 226 dilutes or converts gas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a scrubber connected to the exhaust flow path and configured to purify a residue exhausted from the light-collecting space as taught by Bykanov in the extreme ultraviolet source as taught by Koge as modified by Heijmans since including a scrubber connected to the exhaust flow path and configured to purify a residue exhausted from the light-collecting space is commonly used to appropriately treat the gas prior to release into the surroundings (Bykanov, para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 14, Koge as modified by Heijmans does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising: a scrubber connected to the exhaust pipe and configured to purify residue in the exhaust flow path, wherein the scrubber comprises a pump used to remove the residue.
Bykanov discloses a scrubber connected to the exhaust pipe and configured to purify residue in the exhaust flow path (Fig. 2, paras. [0047], [0050], [0064], [0069], [0085], gas management system includes a pump and conditioner 226, which scrubs gas exhausted by pump 224 from the chamber 26 in which radiation is generated at irradiation region 28, and conditioner 226 dilutes or converts gas), wherein the scrubber comprises a pump used to remove the residue (Fig. 2, paras. [0047], [0050], [0064], [0069], [0085], the gas management system includes pump 224 to remove contaminants).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a scrubber connected to the exhaust pipe and configured to purify residue in the exhaust flow path, wherein the scrubber comprises a pump used to remove the residue as taught by Bykanov in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Koge as modified by Heijmans since including a scrubber connected to the exhaust pipe and configured to purify residue in the exhaust flow path, wherein the scrubber comprises a pump used to remove the residue is commonly used to appropriately treat the gas prior to release into the surroundings (Bykanov, para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 15, Koge as modified by Heijmans discloses wherein the reflection surface is disposed at the lower housing at the first end portion of the housing (Koge, Figs. 3-13, paras. [0039], [0049], an EUV light concentrating mirror 75 is arranged at one end of the chamber 10 and includes a reflection surface 75a), but Koge as modified by Heijmans does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the reflection surface has a parabolic shape.
Bykanov discloses wherein the reflection surface has a parabolic shape (Figs. 1-2, para. [0052], the optic 30 is parabolic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the reflection surface has a parabolic shape as taught by Bykanov in the substrate processing apparatus Koge as modified by Heijmans since including wherein the reflection surface has a parabolic shape is commonly used to focus the collected EUV light as required (Bykanov, para. [0052]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koge as modified by Heijmans as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Bai et al. (US Patent No. 10,754,254, Bai hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Koge as modified by Heijmans does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the reticle stage comprises: a plasma source, and wherein the plasma source is configured to provide plasma onto the reticle stage to electrically neutralize the reticle charged by the EUV source.
Bai discloses wherein the reticle stage comprises: a plasma source, and wherein the plasma source is configured to provide plasma onto the reticle stage to electrically neutralize the reticle charged by the EUV source (Figs. 2-3, 5-7, abstract, col. 4, lines 24-61, col. 5, lines 1-5, lines 52-57, col. 6, lines 1-15, col. 7, lines 42-47, a plasma source 270 is configured to provide plasma 274 to neutralize the reticle charged by the EUV beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a plasma source, and wherein the plasma source is configured to provide plasma onto the reticle stage to electrically neutralize the reticle charged by the EUV source as taught by Bai in the reticle stage in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Koge as modified by Heijmans since including a plasma source, and wherein the plasma source is configured to provide plasma onto the reticle stage to electrically neutralize the reticle charged by the EUV source is commonly used to reduce particle contamination (Bai, col. 1, lines 38-41, col. 8, lines 22-25).
Regarding claim 10, Koge as modified by Heijmans in view of Bai discloses wherein the reticle stage further comprises: a reticle chuck (Bai, Figs. 2-3, 5-7, col. 3, lines 54-67, reticle chuck 242); and
wherein the plasma source is disposed outside the reticle chuck (Bai, Figs. 2-3, 6-7, col. 4, lines 19-61, col. 5, lines 60-67, col. 6, lines 1-15, the plasma source 270 is outside the reticle chuck 242).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the objections to claim 13 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to the claims. The objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejections of claims 16 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendment to claim 16 and the cancellation of claim 18. The 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejections of claims 16 and 18 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1, incorporating the limitation of claim 5, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koge have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Koge as modified by Heijmans.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8-17, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882