Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments/Amendments
2. Under further search and consideration new prior art was found to better address the immediate claims and as such the rejections involving Hsiu-Man are withdrawn and Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 recites the limitation "the adjacent openings" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 establishes “at least one opening” which in the case of only one opening there would not be adjacent openings, and therefore this term lacks antecedent basis.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-10 Are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,952,162 (hereafter ‘162). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, lines 1-2 of the immediate application are verbatim to lines 1-2 of claim 1 of ‘162. Lines 3-6 of the immediate application correspond with lines 4-9 of claim 1 and line 1-5 of claim 2 of ‘162. Lines 7-11 of the immediate application correspond to lines 10-15 of claim 1 as well as line 3-4 of claim 5 of ‘162. Lines 12-18 of the immediate application are verbatim to lines 16-25 of claim 1 of ‘162.
Regarding claim 2, lines 4-5 of claim 2 of ‘162 teach these limitations.
Regarding claim 3, claim 5 of ‘162 teaches these limitations.
Regarding claim 4, claims 6-7 of ‘162 teach these limitations.
Regarding claim 6, lines 26-29 of claim 1 of ‘162 teach these limitations.
Regarding claim 7, claim 8 of ‘162 teaches these limitations.
Regarding claim 8, claim 11 of ‘162 teaches these limitations.
Regarding claim 9, claim 12 of ‘162 teaches these limitations.
Regarding claim 10, claim 13 of ‘162 teaches these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by J. Auger et al. (US 3,107,814; hereafter Auger).
Regarding claim 1, Auger teaches a system for dispensing labels from at least one label roll (title), that is configured to facilitate a user to dispense the labels from a label roll that includes peelable labels (labels-12) and a backing substrate (tape -14; col. 1 lines 9-15 and col. 2 lines 3-10). Auger’s apparatus comprises a label roll support member (enlarged diameter center portion- 24) that has a hollow interior that permits a portion of a support bar to pass therethrough (trunnions- 26), and the label roll support member is configured to support at least one label roll thereon and allow rotation thereof (col. 2 lines 48-61; see Figure 2). As seen in Figure 1, the support bar has a distal portion that has a free end that protrudes from the hollow interior of the label roll support member. Auger also teaches that their apparatus includes a label guide arm (wire element -38, which comprises arms 32, 34, and 36) connected to the label roll support member (via base- 20 as seen in Figure 1) that includes an edge (arm- 34). The label is separated from the outward-facing surface of the backing substrate at the edge by pulling the leading portion of the backing substrate of the label roll through an opening of the label guide arm (opening made by arm- 36 as seen in Figure 1; col. 3 line 46- col. 4 line 4). Auger teaches that their apparatus is to be mounted on an unspecified surface (col. 2 lines 39-47), which could be a fulfillment cart, and is thus configured to be mounted to a fulfillment cart.
Regarding claim 2, Auger does not teach of any permanent bonding to the mounted surface, and therefore their apparatus is detachably coupled to the fulfillment cart.
Regarding claim 3, Auger teaches that label roll support member is configured as an elongated cylinder that permits the at least one label roll to freely rotate on the label roll support member (col. 2 lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 6, Auger teaches of a side wall interconnecting the label roll support member and the label guide arm (upright member- 18; col. 2 lines 48-61; see in Figure 1 with base- 20).
Regarding claim 8, as seen in Figure 1, the label guide arm has a lower portion that is generally arcuate as it bends towards the base, and the upper portion or flat top is strait and not co-linear with an arc of curvature of the lower portion.
Regarding claim 10, Auger’s opening is defined by the square area between arms 34 and 36, with the forward direction being downwards in relation to Figures 1 and 2. In such openings, the edge, which is arm- 34, defines the bottom side of the perimeter of the opening of the label guide arm. Arm- 34 is part of a wire (col. 3 lines 53-57), which is cylindrical. The continued curve of the cylindrical wire is a sloped surface that is past the defining edge extending forwardly and downwardly. If there were adjacent openings (which is addressed the rejection of claim 9 below), this sloped surface would be between ribs separating the adjacent openings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auger.
Regarding claim 7, in applying Auger as in claim 6, as seen in Figure 2, the side wall includes a top edge (curved top), a bottom edge opposite the top edge (flat bottom), a rear edge (left edge as seen in Figure 2), and a front edge (right edge as seen in Figure 2), wherein the front edge is generally arcuate from a top end of the front edge to a bottom end of the front edge (shown as entirely curved). Auger does not teach specific shape relation between the top edge and front edge, however such distinction is merely a difference in shape. MPEP 2144.04.IV.B teaches that such is an obvious modification and therefore does not differentiate over the prior art- “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.)”
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auger as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of D. G. Way (US 3,531,057; hereafter Way).
Regarding claim 4, in applying Auger as in claim 3, Auger does not teach that the elongated cylinder has an incomplete perimeter and associated limitations. Way teaches of an elongated cylinder with an incomplete perimeter such that a portion of a circumference of the elongated cylinder is absent to create two opposing top free ends of the circumference and two opposing bottom free ends of the circumference the top free ends having a first gap therebetween and the bottom free ends having a second gap therebetween (narrow gaps- 17; col. 2 lines 56-72; see Figure 2), this interacting with lugs of the material roll (col. 3 lines 1-10). The advantage of Way’s gaps is that roll does not freely turn (col. 1 lines 33-45), which would include forward and rearward rotation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include the gaps of Way in the label support roll of Auger for the advantage of preventing unwanted turning.
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auger as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of Hsiu-Man (US 6,805,184).
Regarding claim 9, Auger’s opening is defined by the square area between arms 34 and 36, with the outward direction being downwards in relation to Figures 1 and 2. In such openings, the edge, which is arm- 34, defines the bottom side of the perimeter of the opening of the label guide arm. Auger teaches of only a singular label roll, and therefore does not teach a plurality of openings and associated limitations. Hsiu-Man teaches of a plurality of label rolls (label tape reels- 50; plural seen in Figure 4) on a label roll support member (reel support rod- 20) that are separated by ribs (separating plates- 40). As seen in Figure 4 the ribs go to the separation edge, which in the context of Auger is the label guide arm, which as seen in Figure 1 lacks a defined side perimeter. The advantage of so doing is that a plurality of rolls can be used without issues of slipping sidewards (col. 3 lines 30-40). In application of multiple rolls to Auger, Auger would now have a plurality of label guide arms for each roll, each label guide arm defining an opening, with the ribs defining the perimeter of each adjacent opening.
9. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auger as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Granger (US 6,416,011).
Regarding claim 21, Auger does not teach that the support bar includes a horizontal portion. Granger teaches of a support bar (support- 17) that as seen in Figure 3 has a horizontal portion and a distal portion that is inclined relative to the horizontal portion (pin- 19; col. 3 lines 20-46). The support bar is compatible with a cylindrical label roll support member (reel holder- 16; col. 3 lines 20-23). The advantage of Granger’s support bar is a locking in of the roll to the support (col. 2 lines 16-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include the support bar of Granger in the apparatus of Auger for the advantage of securing the roll to the supports.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745