DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed 2/23/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12 and 21-25 are pending. Claims 4, 6, 11 and 13-20 are cancelled. Claim 25 is new. Claims 1 and 21 are currently amended. Claims 1 and 21 are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments and amendments, filed 2/23/2026, with respect to 112 Rejections, as indicated in line number 3 of the office action mailed 11/25/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments and amendments, filed 2/23/2026, with respect to Prior Art Rejections for independent claim 1, as indicated in line number 5 of the office action mailed 11/25/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn, and the claim is allowed as noted below in the section “Allowable Subject Matter”.
Applicants' arguments and amendments, filed 2/23/2026, with respect to independent claim 21, although substantive and pertinent to expediting the prosecution of the current application, are considered moot and not persuasive, respectfully, in light of new grounds of rejections made using the prior art of Cho as noted below in the rejection of independent claim 21.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). For example, claim 12 recites the limitation “a dielectric layer between the metal coating layer and the bottom side surface, and between the metal coating layer and the sidewall surfaces” which does not appear to supported by the Drawings of the current application, because claim 12 depends from claim 1 which requires “wherein the metal coating layer is directly on the bottom side surface and directly on the sidewall surface”. The Drawings of the current application do not appear to show wherein both the metal coating layer is directly on the bottom side surface and directly on the sidewall surfaces and wherein a dielectric layer is between the metal coating layer and the bottom side surface, and between the metal coating layer and the sidewall surfaces. Also, as shown in Figure 8A of the Drawings of the current application the dielectric layer 210 is between the metal coating layer 208 and the bottom side surface, and between the metal coating layer 208 and the sidewall surfaces, however the metal coating layer 208 is not directly on the bottom side surface and directly on the sidewall surfaces. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a dielectric layer between the metal coating layer and the bottom side surface, and between the metal coating layer and the sidewall surfaces” which does not appear to supported by the originally filed Specification, because claim 12 depends from claim 1 which requires “wherein the metal coating layer is directly on the bottom side surface and directly on the sidewall surfaces”. The originally filed Specification does not appear to support wherein both the metal coating layer is directly on the bottom side surface and directly on the sidewall surfaces and wherein a dielectric layer is between the metal coating layer and the bottom side surface, and between the metal coating layer and the sidewall surfaces. Thus, claim 12 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2020/0051926 A1, hereinafter “Cho”)
Regarding independent claim 21, Figure 5b of Cho (as viewed upside down) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor die 104 (“semiconductor die”- ¶0018) including a top side surface (i.e., the side surface with layer 112), a bottom side surface (i.e., the side surface directly covered with 182), and a sidewall surface between the top side surface and the bottom side surface, the top side surface proximate a device side (i.e., the side with layer 112) of the semiconductor die 104 than the bottom side surface: and
a metal coating layer 182/202 (collectively 182 and 202, which are comprised of metals- ¶¶0031, 0033, 0036) physically contacting only the bottom side surface and the sidewall surface.
Regarding claim 22, Figure 5b of Cho (as viewed upside down) discloses wherein the semiconductor die 104 is electrically connected to a lead 122 (“conductive layer… traces”- ¶0023) of the semiconductor device (¶0026).
Regarding claim 23, Figure 5b of Cho (as viewed upside down) discloses the semiconductor device further comprising mold compound 140 (“molding compound”- ¶0027) covering portions of the semiconductor die 104 and the lead 122.
Regarding claim 24, Figure 5b of Cho (as viewed upside down) discloses wherein metal coating layer 182/202 contacts an entirely of the bottom side surface and the side surface.
Regarding claim 25, Figure 5b of Cho (as viewed upside down) discloses wherein metal coating layer 182/202 does not physically contact the top side surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-10 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 1, the claim is allowed, because the prior art of record including Antonio and/or Cho, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “wherein the sidewall metal layer defines a sidewall plane that is at an angle from 10° to 60° relative to a normal projected from a bottom plane defined by the bottom side metal layer; wherein the metal coating layer is directly on the bottom side surface and directly on the sidewall surfaces”.
Claims 2-3, 5 and 7-10 are allowed as being dependent on allowed claim 1.
Conclusion
/JAY C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817