DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed 8/27/2026
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12 and 21-26 are pending. Claims 4, 6, 11 and 13-20 are cancelled. Claim 26 is new. Claims 12 and 21 are currently amended. Claims 1, 12 and 21 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments and amendments, filed 8/27/2026, with respect to Drawings Objections and 112 Rejections, as indicated in line numbers 1-2 of the office action mailed 3/27/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections/rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicants' arguments and amendments, filed 8/27/2026, with respect to independent claim 12, although substantive and pertinent to expediting the prosecution of the current application, are considered moot and not persuasive, respectfully, in light of new grounds of rejections made using the prior art of Han as noted below in the rejection of independent claim 12.
Applicants' arguments and amendments, filed 8/27/2026, with respect to independent claim 21, although substantive and pertinent to expediting the prosecution of the current application, are considered moot and not persuasive, respectfully, in light of new grounds of rejections made using the prior art of Tao as noted below in the rejection of independent claim 21.
A. Prior-art rejections based at least in part by Han
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US 2015/0303075 A1).
Regarding independent claim 12, Figure 2 of Han (as viewed upside down) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor die 100 (“semiconductor device… chip”- ¶0055) having a top side surface (i.e., the side surface of 100 including 120 and 130) comprising a semiconductor material including circuitry therein having bond pads 130 (“interconnection patterns”- ¶0055) connected to nodes in the circuitry (¶¶0056-0058), a bottom side surface (i.e., the side surface of 100 facing away from 10), and sidewall surfaces between the top side surface and the bottom side surface;
a metal coating layer 500 (“antistatic layer… formed of a metallic”- ¶0062) including a bottom side metal layer over the bottom side surface extending continuously to a sidewall metal layer on the sidewall surfaces, wherein the sidewall metal layer defines a sidewall plane that is at an angle from 10° to 60° relative to a normal projected from a bottom plane defined by the bottom side metal layer, since Figure 2 of Han shows the metal coating layer 500 disposed at an angle within the claimed range; and a dielectric layer 400 (“molding member… insulating material”- ¶0060) between the metal coating layer 500 and the bottom side surface, and between the metal coating layer 500 and the sidewall surfaces.
B. Prior-art rejections based at least in part by Tao
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tao (US 2022/0285287 A1).
Regarding independent claim 21, Figure 33 of Tao (as viewed upside down) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor die 101 (“semiconductor chips”- ¶0021) including a top side surface (i.e., the side surface of 101 with 102), a bottom side surface (i.e., the side surface of 101 facing away from 121), and a sidewall surface between the top side surface and the bottom side surface, the top side surface proximate a device side (i.e., the side of 101 with layer 102) of the semiconductor die 101 than the bottom side surface: and
a metal coating layer 103 (“metal bumps”- ¶0137) including a bottom side metal layer over the bottom side surface extending continuously, without any joint, to a sidewall metal layer on the sidewall surface, the metal coating layer 103 physically contacting only the bottom side surface and the sidewall surface.
Regarding claim 22, Figure 33 of Tao (as viewed upside down) (as viewed upside down) discloses wherein the semiconductor die 101 is electrically connected to a lead 123/124 (collectively 123 “rewiring layer” and 124 “external contact parts”- ¶0058) of the semiconductor device (¶0058).
Regarding claim 23, Figure 33 of Tao (as viewed upside down) discloses the semiconductor device further comprising mold compound 105 (“encapsulation layer”- ¶0051; see Fig. 39 for notation) covering portions of the semiconductor die 101 and the lead 123/124.
Regarding claim 24, Figure 33 of Tao (as viewed upside down) discloses wherein metal coating layer 103 contacts an entirely of the bottom side surface and the side surface.
Regarding claim 25, Figure 33 of Tao (as viewed upside down) discloses wherein metal coating layer 103 does not physically contact the top side surface.
Regarding claim 26, Figure 33 of Tao (as viewed upside down) discloses wherein the sidewall metal layer defines a sidewall plane that is at an angle from 10° to 60° relative to a normal projected from a bottom plane defined by the bottom side metal layer, since Figure 33 of Tao shows the side portions of 103 adjacent to the bottom side surface (i.e., the side surface of 101 facing away from 121) of die 101 are disposed at an angle within the claimed range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-10 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 1, the claim is allowed for reasons as previously indicated in line number 4 of the office action mailed on 3/27/2026.
Claims 2-3, 5 and 7-10 are allowed as being dependent on allowed claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817