DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/31/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2021/0343731; hereinafter Chen) in view of Tamai (US 2012/0223284; hereinafter Tamai).
Regarding claim 1, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses a memory device comprising:
a plurality of memory cells (Figs 2A-2C), each memory cell comprising:
at least one first transistor (304; Fig 2C; ¶ [0031]);
at least one first interconnection layer (106be; Fig 2C; ¶ [0017]) formed over the at least one first transistor (304; Fig 2C; ¶ [0031]) and in electrical contact (Fig 2C) with the at least one first transistor; and
at least one capacitor (102a; Figs 2C/1D; ¶ [0031]) electrically coupled (Fig 2C) to the at least one first transistor (304; Fig 2C; ¶ [0031]) through the at least one first interconnection layer (106be; Fig 2C; ¶ [0017]) comprising:
a first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]);
a second electrode (104; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) surrounding (Fig 1D) at least a first portion of the first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]), the second electrode (104; Fig 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) electrically contacting (Figs 1D/2C) the at least one first interconnection layer (106be; Fig 2C; ¶ [0017]); and
a ferroelectric layer (112; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a periphery circuit (404; Fig 2C; ¶ [0030]);
a routing structure (106te/120te; Fig 1D or 106/120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) disposed over the plurality of memory cells and the periphery circuit (404; Fig 2C; ¶ [0030]) to electrically connect the plurality of memory cells and the periphery circuit (Figs 1D/2C); and
a second interconnection layer (106; Fig 2C; ¶ [0034]) disposed over the routing structure (106te/120te; Fig 1D or 106/120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]),
wherein the at least one capacitor (102a; Figs 2C/1D; ¶ [0031]) is disposed between the routing structure (106te/120te; Fig 1D or 106/120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) and a topmost conductive layer (106be; Fig 2C; ¶ [0017]) of the at least one first interconnection layer (106be; Fig 2C; ¶ [0017]); and
wherein the second interconnection layer (106; Fig 2C; ¶ [0034]) comprises no more than one conductive layer (Fig 2C).
However Chen does not expressly disclose a periphery circuit configured to control operations of the plurality of memory cell.
In the same field of endeavor, Tamai discloses a periphery circuit is configured to control operations of the plurality of memory cells (¶ [0008]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a periphery circuit is configured to control operations of the plurality of memory cells as it well known in the art that the periphery circuit controls programming, erasing, and reading actions of data for each memory cell of the memory cell array. (¶ [0008])
Regarding claim 2, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses the routing structure (106te/120te; Fig 1D or 106/120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) comprises a first routing layer (120te; Fig 1D or 120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) in direct contact (Fig 1D) with the first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses the routing structure (106te/120te; Fig 1D or 106/120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) comprises a first routing layer (106te; Fig 1D or 106; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) in contact (Fig 1D) with the first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) through a first via structure (120te; Fig 1D or 120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses the ferroelectric layer comprises a combination of HfOx and ZrOx (¶ [0019]).
Regarding claim 5, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses the periphery circuit further comprises:
at least one second transistor (408; Fig 2C; ¶ [0037]); and
a plurality of third interconnection layers (Fig 2C; interconnects connected to source/drain/gate (410/416)) electrically coupled to the at least one second transistor (408; Fig 2C; ¶ [0037]), wherein the plurality of third interconnection layers are in contact with the routing structure (106; Fig 2C in peripheral region (404)) through at least one second via structure (120; Fig 2C).
Regarding claim 6, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses the routing structure (106; Fig 2C in peripheral region (404)) further comprises a second routing layer (106; Fig 2C in peripheral region (404)) coplanar to the first routing layer (106te; Fig 1D or 106; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) in contact with the plurality of second interconnection layers (106; Fig 2C; ¶ [0034]) through the at least one second via structure (120; Fig 2C).
Regarding claim 7, Figs 1D and 2A of Chen discloses a memory device comprising:
a plurality of memory cells (Figs 2A-2C), each memory cell comprising:
at least one first transistor (304; Fig 2A; ¶ [0031]);
at least one first interconnection layer (106s1; Fig 2A; ¶ [0017]) formed over the at least one first transistor (304; Fig 2A; ¶ [0031]) and in electrical contact (Fig 2A) with the at least one first transistor;
a first conductive layer (106be; Fig 2A; ¶ [0017]) formed over the at least one first interconnection layer (106s1; Fig 2A; ¶ [0017]), the first conductive layer (106be; Fig 2A; ¶ [0017]) electrically coupled to the at least one first transistor (304; Fig 2A; ¶ [0031]) through at least one first interconnection layer (106s1; Fig 2A; ¶ [0017]); and
at least one capacitor (102a; Figs 2A/1D; ¶ [0031]) formed on the first conductive layer (106be; Fig 2A; ¶ [0017]), comprising:
a first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]);
a second electrode (104; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) surrounding (Fig 1D) at least a first portion of the first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]), the second electrode (104; Fig 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) electrically contacting (Figs 1D/2C) the at least one first interconnection layer (106be; Fig 2C; ¶ [0017]); and
a ferroelectric layer (112; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a periphery circuit (404; Fig 2C; ¶ [0030]);
wherein the first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) of the plurality of the memory cells functions as a routing structure (106te/120te; Fig 1D or 106/120; Fig 2C; ¶ [0025]) between the plurality of memory cells.
However Chen does not expressly disclose a periphery circuit configured to control operations of the plurality of memory cell.
In the same field of endeavor, Tamai discloses a periphery circuit is configured to control operations of the plurality of memory cells (¶ [0008]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a periphery circuit is configured to control operations of the plurality of memory cells as it well known in the art that the periphery circuit controls programming, erasing, and reading actions of data for each memory cell of the memory cell array. (¶ [0008])
Regarding claim 8, Figs 1D and 2A of Chen discloses a barrier layer (109; Fig 1D; ¶ [0028]) disposed between the first conductive layer (106be; Fig 2A; ¶ [0017]) and the second electrode (104; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Figs 1D and 2A of Chen discloses the barrier layer comprises tantalum or tantalum nitride (¶ [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Figs 1D and 2A of Chen discloses a width of the barrier layer is equal to or larger than a width of the second electrode (Fig 1D).
Regarding claim 11, Figs 1D and 2A of Chen discloses the first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) of one memory cell is in electric contact with the first electrode (114; Figs 1D/2C; ¶ [0016]) of another memory cell (Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses the periphery circuit further comprises:
at least one second transistor (408; Fig 2C; ¶ [0037]); and
a plurality of second interconnection layers (Fig 2C; interconnects connected to source/drain/gate (410/416)) electrically coupled to the at least one second transistor (408; Fig 2C; ¶ [0037]),
wherein the plurality of second interconnection layers are in contact with the routing structure (106; Fig 2C in peripheral region (404)) through at least one second via structure (120; Fig 2C).
Regarding claim 13, Figs 1D and 2A, 2C of Chen discloses a first height of the at least one capacitor is equal to or less than a second height of the at least one via structure. (Fig 2A)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al (US 2021/0035993)
Zhu et al (US 2020/0027892) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RATISHA MEHTA whose telephone number is (571)270-7473. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday: 9:00am - 5:00 pm.
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817