DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 18 (“a pair of inclined surfaces that connect opposite edges of the first planar surface and the second planar surface”) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is possible that these features are present in Figure 2A, however the description of Figure 2A does not match the claim language, and therefore this is not clear. If this is the case, then the specification should also be amended to provide basis for the language that appears in claim 18. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term nitinol, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 contains the trademark/trade name nitinol. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe an alloy of nickel and titanium and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen et al (US 2009/0131905 A1).
Allen discloses a method comprising:
applying an etch mask 96 (Fig. 3B, [0090]) to a plate 95 (a silicon substate, which broadly interpreted, is a plate); and
etching first portions of the plate that are unmasked by the etch mask with an etching process to completely remove the first portions of the plate (as depicted in Fig. 3C, portions of the plate are etched and removed that are not covered by the mask 96, [0090]),
wherein the plate includes second portions that are masked by the etch mask during the etching process (also as depicted in Fig. 3C), the second portions include a plurality of microblades (e.g., Fig 1B shows a plurality of microblades) each having a shaft and a tip adjacent to a first end of the shaft, and the tip includes a plurality of surfaces at least two of which taper toward the end of the shaft (as depicted in Figure 3C, 3F, [0038]).
As to claim 2, Allen discloses removing the etch mask (Fig. 3C, [0090]); and applying a dielectric coating 97 on a portion of the shaft of each of the plurality of microblades (as depicted in Fig. 3F, [00090]), wherein the tip is uncoated by the dielectric coating (see Fig. 3F).
As to claim 5, Allen discloses that the plate has a side edge following the etching process, the shaft of each microblade has a second end connected to the side edge of the plate, and the portion of the shaft is arranged between the tip and the side edge (all as depicted in Fig. 3F).
As to claim 6, Allen discloses that the dielectric coating is further applied to a portion of the plate (see Fig. 3F).
As to claims 8 and 10, Allen discloses that the dielectric coating comprises silicon dioxide, which is an electrical insulator (by oxidation of silicon, [0090]).
As to claim 15, Allen discloses planar surfaces following the etching process (as depicted in Fig. 3F).
As to claim 19, Allen discloses that the plurality of microblades and the plate have an integral construction (all from silicon, Fig. 3F).
Claims 1, 5, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zuck (US 6,050,988).
Zuck discloses a method comprising:
applying an etch mask (col.7, lines 39-51) to a plate 6 (metal such as stainless steel or titanium, col.7, lines 41-42; col.8, lines 14-33); and
etching first portions of the plate that are unmasked by the etch mask with an etching process to completely remove the first portions of the plate (as depicted in Fig. 8, portions of the plate are etched and removed that are not covered by the mask, col.7, lines 51-52),
wherein the plate includes second portions that are masked by the etch mask during the etching process (also as depicted in Fig. 8), the second portions include a plurality of microblades (e.g., Fig 8 shows a plurality of microblades) each having a shaft and a tip adjacent to a first end of the shaft, and the tip includes a plurality of surfaces at least two of which taper toward the end of the shaft (as depicted in Figure 8).
As to claim 5, Zuck discloses that the plate has a side edge 5 following the etching process, the shaft of each microblade has a second end connected to the side edge of the plate, and the portion of the shaft is arranged between the tip and the side edge (all as depicted in Fig. 8).
As to claim 16, Zuck discloses forming at least one alignment opening in the plate 102, 103 (Fig. 15, col.5, lines 50-54).
As to claim 19, Zuck discloses that the plurality of microblades and the plate have an integral construction (all from metal, Fig. 8).
As to claim 20, Zuck discloses that the plurality of microblades and the plate comprise stainless steel or copper (col.6, line 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuck (US 6,050,988).
The discussion of Zuck from above is repeated here.
As to claim 17, Zuck discloses a first alignment opening 102 and a second alignment opening 103 in the plate 106, wherein the second alignment opening is spaced from the first alignment opening (as depicted in Fig. 15), the first alignment opening has a circular shape (see Fig. 15). Zuck fails to disclose that the second opening has an oval shape. Rather, the second opening has a circular shape (Fig. 15). However the shape of an opening is an obvious design choice. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an oval opening as cited in the method of Zuck in order to optimize the openings for alignment and ease of assembly, and because the shape is an obvious matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966.
Claims 1-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang et al (US 2020/0360072 A1) in view of Zuck (US 6,050,988).
Kuang discloses a method of manufacturing microblades (Fig. 3A-3E) by etching and deposition processing [0096]. Kuang fails to explicitly disclose applying an etch mask to a plate, and etching portions unmasked by the etch mask. The discussion of Zuck from above is repeated here. A person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure of Kuang and Zuck would arrive at the claimed invention in order to achieve the desired structures of, e.g. Fig. 3A or Fig. 3C, by the etching and deposition techniques Kuang also teaches to use. Kuang also discloses that the plurality of microblades [0091] may have a conductive tip and an insulated shaft and base [0094], [0108]. The microblades each have a shaft and a tip adjacent to a first end of the shaft, and the tip includes a plurality of surfaces at least two of which taper toward the end of the shaft (as depicted in Fig. 3C). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mask and etch as cited in the method of Kuang because Zuck teaches they are useful configurations to achieve microblades and because it is within the scope of one skilled in the art to use the etching and coating techniques to arrive at the microblade structures desired by Kuang.
As to claim 2, Kuang discloses to form an insulating structure except for the tip (see rejection of claim 1). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove an etch mask and apply a dielectric coating as cited because it is useful to remove masks that are not part of the final product, and because Kuang already discloses to use a deposition technique, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a dielectric coating applied in portions other than the tip.
As to claims 3-4, Kuang discloses that the dielectric coating is applied by vapor-phase coating [0096]. Physical vapor deposition or sputter deposition are well known semiconductor processes, which are already described by Kuang as available to form the microblades. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use physical vapor deposition or sputter deposition in the modified method of Kuang because they are useful deposition techniques that are expected to give the predictable result of depositing an insulating film.
As to claim 5, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a side edge as cited because Zuck teaches that such is a useful structure for forming microblades, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a plurality of microblade structures.
As to claim 6, Kuang discloses to apply a dielectric coating to a portion of the microblade, and not the tip. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the dielectric coating to a portion of the plate as a part of the deposition process that does not provide the dielectric coating to the tip, but does apply it elsewhere, including the plate.
As to claim 7, Kuang discloses to establish an electrical connection (in order to heat the tips, [0110]-[0111]) that is configured to establish electrical connections with the plurality of microblades. Kuang fails to disclose the structure of “a plurality of tabs.” However, broadly interpreted, an electrical supply configured to connect microneedles would need some structure such as tabs. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide tabs as cited in the modified method of Kuang in order to supply the desired electrical connection to the microblades.
As to claim 18, Kuang discloses that the plurality of surfaces of the tip include a first planar surface, a second planar surface separated from the first planar surface by a thickness of the shaft, and a pair of inclined surfaces that connect opposite edges of the first planar surface and the second planar surface (as depicted in Fig. 3C).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang et al (US 2020/0360072 A1) and Zuck (US 6,050,988), as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Ahn et al (US 2021/0353933 A1).
As to claim 9, Kuang fails to disclose parylene. Ahn teaches that in microblade structures, that parylene is a useful material to cover an outer surface of the needle body [0052]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include parylene as cited in the modified method of Kuang because Ahn teaches that it is a useful material to include in microneedle structures to cover an outer surface of the microneedle.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang et al (US 2020/0360072 A1) and Zuck (US 6,050,988), as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Reihs (US 2003/0124360 A1).
As to claim 11, Kuang fails to disclose applying the dielectric coating by dipping, Reihs teaches dipping/immersion is a common semiconductor deposition technique [0190]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use dipping as cited because Reihs teaches it is a useful semiconductor deposition process and such is expected to give the predictable result of an applied dielectric coating.
As to claim 12, Kuang fails to disclose to apply a mechanical mask. Reihs teaches that mechanical masks are a common technique to structure coatings [0211]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a mechanical mask to provide the insulating material in areas that do not include the tip in the modified method of Kuang because Reihs teaches that it is a useful technique for applying structure coatings.
As to claim 13, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the mechanical mask before applying the dielectric coating to the tip of each of the plurality of microblades in the modified method of Kuang because Reihs teaches that such is a useful technique in order to form structured coatings.
As to claim 14, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the mechanical mask after applying the dielectric coating to the tip of each of the plurality of microblades in the modified method of Reihs because it is useful to remove coatings that are not desired as part of the final product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art shows methods and structures of microblades or tips.
/ANITA K ALANKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713