This communication is responsive to amendment filed on 09/03/2025.
Status of claims:
Claims 1, 3-7, 12-13, 16-18 and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The replacement of Drawings filed on 09/03/2025 have been considered as to the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations have been considered and analyzing in a new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1, 7 and 17 are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
The limitations a “parsing …determine…”, are process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process as a form of evaluation or judgement, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in a human mind..
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers
performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer
components, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements:
“receiving…; generating…; executing…; response to…transitioning…”, represent(s) an extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, a mere generic transmission and presenting of collected and analyzed data. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer, mere field of use, and using generic computer components (i.e. ML) as a tool are carried over and do not provide significantly more.
“receiving…”, This is identified as insignificant extra-solution activity above when re-evaluated this element is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network);" and thus remains insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide significantly more.
“generating…; executing…; response to…transitioning…”. These are identified as insignificant extra-solution activity above when re-evaluated this element is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334; i. … transmitting data over a network, …Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350,
1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)”.
“artificial intelligence and machine learning(AI/ML)” are mere implementations using a computer. It is at best generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment of machine learning (see MPEP 2106.05(h).
“storage system, non-transitory computer readable storage medium”, amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrate by: relevant court decision: the followings are example of the court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, See e.g., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) and MPEP 2106.05(f)(2): computer readable storage media comprising instructions to implement a method, e.g., see versata Dev. Group, Inc. v SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Looking at the claim(s) as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself and the claim(s) appear(s) to be ineligible.
Claims 2-6, 8-16 and 18-20: recite additional limitations, which are identified as insignificant extra-solution activity above when re-evaluated this element is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network);" and thus remains insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide significantly more. "iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334; i. … transmitting data over a network, …Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350,
1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)”. Therefore, the claims are not qualified under 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunderlich et al., (US 2018/0260462), hereinafter “Wunderlich”, in view of Lange et al., (US 2017/0330195), hereinafter “Lange”.
As per claim 1, Wunderlich discloses a system comprising: a storage system including a customer relationship management (CRM) database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media, and CRM database).
However, Wunderlich fails to teach “a multi-client service system platform that includes an artificial intelligence and machine learning (AI/ML) copilot configured to host a chat interface”.
Meanwhile, Lange discloses a multi-client service system platform that includes an artificial intelligence and machine learning (AI/ML) copilot configured to host a chat interface (par. [0077] and [0092], CoPilot initiative yield a dynamic, fluid, etc. digital assistant that among other things leverages Natural Language Processing (NLP), learning capabilities, etc. to provide support for seamless conversational interactions, wherein machine learning anticipates events and recommends actions based on individual and team behavior and proactively pushes content for better decision making.), wherein the AI/ML copilot performs operations including:
receiving a natural language command through the chat interface (par. [0006] and [0086], receiving user input to at least one support ticket and enables a chat with a user operating on an internal support system and enables a search of a customer support system for information related to the support ticket, wherein conversational (multi-modal) user interface communicates with you using natural human language via text);
parsing the natural language command using AI/ML parsing functionality to determine that a CRM object is to be created (par. [0078]-[0080] and [0117], natural language plugins could consider the conversational context when parsing the text, wherein the CoPilot analyzing the text entries for recognizing and identifying relevant text related objects, helping the user from the identification of an issue to a solution for the issue);
generating, by the AI/ML copilot using generative AI, programming code for execution to create the CRM object within the CRM database (par. [0081]-[0083], CoPilot communicates, collaborates, and creates actionable transactions in desktop or mobile scenarios);
executing, by the AI/ML copilot, the programming code to create the CRM object within the CRM database using an application programming interface (API) configured to remotely access a CRM system hosting the CRM database (par. [0214], executing and resolving a value list if the target property requires it), wherein the programming code interacts with objects within the CRM database (par. [0054]-[0056], user interacts with each tile to navigate to the specific enterprise application associated with the tile, wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM)); par. [0253], display of results from the customer support system on the integrated support user interface); and
in response to the AI/ML copilot creating the CRM object within the CRM database, transitioning a user from the chat interface to a CRM application populated with information from the CRM object created by the AI/ML copilot using the programming code generated by the generative AI (par. [0253], display of results from the customer support system on the integrated support user interface; par. [0214], executing and resolving a value list if the target property requires it; par. [0054]-[0056], user interacts with each tile to navigate to the specific enterprise application associated with the tile, wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wunderlich to include the features as disclosed by Lange in order to provide the plurality of multiple different software applications to register with and connect to the integrated support user interface functions for user.
As per claim 2, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses the AI/ML copilot displays a suggestion interface populated with suggested natural language commands (par. [0080], CoPilot application recommends contextual entities for use in a current task and understands user context and can intelligently propose selections, auto-entries, and user options).
As per claim 3, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses the AI/ML copilot: executes the programming code to create the CRM object as a contact object within the CRM database, wherein the AI/ML copilot identifies and populates relevant properties within the contact object using text parsed from the natural language command (par. [0077], [0078]-[0080], [0092] and [0117], natural language plugins could consider the conversational context when parsing the text, wherein the CoPilot analyzing the text entries for recognizing and identifying relevant text related objects, helping the user from the identification of an issue to a solution for the issue; par. [0054]-[0056], user interacts with each tile to navigate to the specific enterprise application associated with the tile, wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM)).
As per claim 4, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses the AI/ML copilot transitions the user from the chat interface to a spreadsheet application displaying a spreadsheet generated and populated by the AI/ML copilot using information within content generated by the AI/ML copilot and displayed through the chat interface (par. [0105], CoPilot would pick a proper UI Pattern and use the UI semantics provided by the Data Agent to compose the notification view fragment, for example Quick View panels for business objects, Tables and Charts for analytical data; and par. [0081]-[0083], CoPilot communicates, collaborates, and creates actionable transactions in desktop or mobile scenarios);
As per claim 5, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses the AI/ML copilot transitions the user from the chat interface to a presentation application displaying a presentation generated and populated by the AI/ML copilot using information within (par. [0081]-[0083], CoPilot communicates, collaborates, and creates actionable transactions; par. [0054], launchpad presents (displays on a screen of a computing device of a user) each application represented by a tile) .
As per claim 6, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses the AI/ML copilot transitions the user from the chat interface to a blog service displaying a blog generated by the AI/ML copilot using information within content generated by the AI/ML copilot and displayed through the chat interface (par. [0081]-[0083], CoPilot communicates, collaborates, and creates actionable transactions; par. [0039], allowing customers to chat with external support agents who are assigned to the conversation in the context of the application).
As per claim 7, is a method for performing the system claim 1 above. It is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 8, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses providing, through the chat interface, a toggle option to toggle between manual creation and AI generated content by the AI/ML copilot for creating new content (par. [0250], provide help documents and search capabilities for help documents and plug them into CoPilot so that those documents appear in CoPilot's integrated help whenever they fit to the application context, user context or chat context).
As per claim 9, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface (par. [0054]-[0056], [0109] and [0195], CoPilot user interface on a mobile device, a project manager (PM) at company X opens the CoPilot and shoots a voice command such as “Copilot, what is going on with the costs of project ABC this month, contact info (phone number, email), etc.), and business object entity types (like product, salesorder, employee, customer, etc.).
In addition, Wunderlich discloses executing a database command to modify the CRM database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media.
As per claim 10, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface (par. [0109] and [0195], CoPilot user interface on a mobile device, a project manager (PM) at company X opens the CoPilot and shoots a voice command such as “Copilot, what is going on with the costs of project ABC this month, contact info (phone number, email), etc.), and business object entity types (like product, salesorder, employee, customer, etc.)).
Wunderlich discloses creating a new contact object within the CRM database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media, wherein CRM database include a table that describes a customer with fields for basic contact information such as name, address, phone number, fax number, etc.).
As per claim 11, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, creating and sending an email (par. [0107], machine learning to e.g. detect situations based on data in Copilot or in other productivity tools (email, calendar), and offers actions and information to the user that typically is relevant in such situations).
As per claim 12, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, obtaining and displaying a report from the object (par. [0054]-[0056], [0109] and [0195], CoPilot user interface on a mobile device, a project manager (PM) at company X opens the CoPilot and shoots a voice command such as “Copilot, what is going on with the costs of project ABC this month, contact info (phone number, email), etc..like product, salesorder, employee, customer, etc.), wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM))).
In addition, Wunderlich discloses the CRM objects within the CRM database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media, and CRM database).
As per claim 13, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, obtaining and displaying a report (par. [0054]-[0056], and [0108], CoPilot supports multi-modal interactions with its users, and extracting the business semantics and parameter out of this commands and provide user back with relevant information and suggest proper actions to solve the problem, wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM))).
In addition, Wunderlich discloses the CRM objects within the CRM database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media, and CRM database).
As per claim 14, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, automatically capturing and transcribing a recorded conversation to create a transcription (par. [0109], CoPilot user interface on a mobile device, a shoots a voice command such as “Copilot, what is going on with the costs of project ABC this month).
As per claim 15, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, logging and segmenting email contact information (par. [0109] and [0195], CoPilot user interface on a mobile device, a project manager (PM) at company X opens the CoPilot and shoots a voice command such as “Copilot, what is going on with the costs of project ABC this month, contact info (phone number, email), etc.), and business object entity types (like product, salesorder, employee, customer, etc.)).
As per claim 16, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, importing contact and company information from a spreadsheet by mapping each cell of the spreadsheet (par. [0054]-[0056], [0092] and [0107], integration with standard apps such as email, calendar, contacts, wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM))).
In addition, Wunderlich discloses a CRM property of the CRM objects within the CRM database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media, and CRM database).
As per claim 18, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses the operations further comprise: in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, generating a follow-up email (par. [0054]-[0056], [0092] and [0107], integration with standard apps such as email, calendar, contacts, wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM))).
In addition, Wunderlich discloses information within CRM objects in the CRM database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media, and CRM database).
As per claim 19, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, generating and including an image within a blog article (par. [0090], digital assistant represents the system to help to learn complex business processes, just as a team assistant helps to do the expense report properly and explain the reasoning and logic behind the business processes it supports and therefore help him gain deeper understanding).
As per claim 20, the combination of Wunderlich and Lange discloses the invention as claimed. In addition, Lange discloses in response to the AI/ML copilot receiving a chat-based command through the chat interface, generating a custom report (par. [0054]-[0056], [0203]-[0207], defining custom dictionaries, wherein the text analysis web service can be extended with (custom) post-processing functionality of its result, wherein the tile represents a particular customer relationship management (CRM))).
In addition, Wunderlich discloses using information from CRM objects within the CRM database (par. [0024], [0051] and [0064]-[0065], a web-based customer relationship management (CRM) system and a platform that provides Customer Relationship Management, shared database(s), inventory tracking, social media, and CRM database).
As per claim 17, is a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored instructions for executing the system claim 1 above. It is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LOAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)-270-3103. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday from 10:00 am - 6:00 pm, Thursday-Friday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached on (571) 270-1760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4103. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
1/27/2026
/LOAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2165