Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to the amended limitations of the claims. Specifically, Applicant argues the Meyers in view of Werner allegedly fails to teach or disclose fail to disclose or suggest the following limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 19:
"based on the receiving of the UWB signal, determine, for the plurality of external electronic devices, an orientation angle, a distance and an orientation time that the orientation angle and the distance are maintained to satisfy a first condition, based on the orientation time, identify that two or more external electronic devices, among the plurality of external electronic devices, satisfy the first condition for displaying two or more user interfaces corresponding to the two or more external electronic devices, and display the two or more user interfaces, controlling for the two or more external electronic devices satisfying the first condition, in a prioritized order, wherein the prioritized order is an order according to the orientation time of the two or more external electronic devices".
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits these limitations are properly taught by the combination of references in the rejection below. Specifically, Werner clearly teaches identifying two or more devices for displaying two or more user interfaces corresponding to the two or more external electronic devices (FIGS. 7-9 and particularly FIG. 8 col. 16, lines 7-47 capable of identifying the two or more device that are nearby) and display two or more user interfaces (FIG. 8 and col. 16, lines 7-47 with icons 860, 870, 880), controlling for the two or more external electronic devices satisfying the first condition (FIG. 8 and col. 16, lines 7-47 with icons 860, 870, 880), in a prioritized order (FIGS. 7-9 and col. 9, lines 50-end and col 10, lines 1-55, describing displaying based on an importance score an ordered list of nearby devices, further FIG. 8, lines 7-47 with prominence of 860 being greater than 870 and 880 as indicated by different sizes of the user interfaces), wherein the prioritized order is an order according to the orientation time of the two or more external electronic devices (FIGS. 7-10 and col. 13, lines 13-52 describing timing determination in relationship to rank order of the devices, and col 10, lines 1-55, describing ranking methodologies including angular information of the devices and displaying ranking therein). As such, these claims and all claims depending therefrom are properly addressed, and therefore, stand rejected below.
Regarding arguments pertaining to newly added claims 21 and 22, Examiner respectfully submits these claims have been properly addressed below, and therefore, stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 13, 16, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al., 2021/0314493 A1 (hereinafter “Meyer”) in view of Werner et al., US 10,735,900 B1 (hereinafter “Werner”).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer teaches an electronic device (FIGS. 1 and 2: 10) comprising:
at least one antenna (FIG. 2: 48 and [0053]; FIGS. 3-6, antenna 48 and antenna array R at [0062]);
a touchscreen display (FIG. 2: 14 and [0030));
memory storing instructions ([0037] and FIG. 2: storage, memory in control circuitry 22); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the at least one antenna, the memory, and the touchscreen display ([0037] and FIG. 2: processing circuitry in control circuitry 22);
wherein the instructions (software at [0038]) when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively ([0038]: control circuitry 22 may be used to run software on device 10), cause the electronic device (FIGS. 1 and 2: 10) to:
receive, through the at least one antenna ([0053]), an ultra-wideband (UWB) signal (UWB being a communication signal 58 at [0065]-[0069]) from a plurality of external electronic devices (FIG.7: 52, 54, 56 and [0065]),
based on the receiving of the UWB signal ([0065]), determine for the plurality of external electronic devices (FIGS. 1 and 2: 10) an orientation angle (FIG. 9, Θ at [0069]-[0072]) (FIGS.7-9: 52 at [0062]-[0072] with nodes 78-1, 78-2) a distance (Meyer, FIGS. 8-9, [0067]-[0069] distances, D, D1 and D2) and an orientation time that the orientation angle and the distance are maintained to satisfy a first condition (FIGS. 7-9 [0027] and [0067]-[0072] orientation time using time of flight, time difference of arrival and angle of arrival techniques, and distance determinations to determine whether suitable action may be taken, (i.e., pairing can be established, the pairing being the first condition [0071]; threshold distance established at FIGS. 10-15 and [0075]-[0078] coming within a certain distance and oriented at a given angle with respect to the object, and provide information accordingly or location and orientation may)),
based on the orientation time, identify that two or more external electronic devices, among the plurality of external electronic devices, satisfy the first condition (FIGS. 7-9 and [0067]-[0072] threshold distance determination at FIGS. 10-14 and [0077]-[0087] determine if pointing at a particular electronic device; longitudinal axis 102 is aligned with stereo system 132 to allow for interaction/display; therein describing multiple interactable objects being identified by the user 120 using the device 10), and
Although Meyer appears to continuously and iteratively determine the distance between device and node(s) based on time and angle (see Meyer FIGS. 7-9 and [0065]-[0072]) and teaches displaying controls of the devices which are found (FIGS. 10-14 and [0077]-[0087] determine if pointing at a particular electronic device, and music controls displayed when aligned with stereo system 132), Meyer does not explicitly teach displaying identifying two or more devices for displaying two or more user interfaces corresponding to the two or more external electronic devices and display two or more user interfaces, controlling for the two or more external electronic devices satisfying the first condition, in a prioritized order, wherein the prioritized order is an order according to the orientation time of the two or more external electronic devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Werner discloses a system of pairing in-range spatially aware devices (Abstract) capable of identifying two or more devices for displaying two or more user interfaces corresponding to the two or more external electronic devices (FIGS. 7-9 and particularly FIG. 8 col. 16, lines 7-47 capable of identifying the two or more device that are nearby) and display two or more user interfaces (FIG. 8 and col. 16, lines 7-47 with icons 860, 870, 880), controlling for the two or more external electronic devices satisfying the first condition (FIG. 8 and col. 16, lines 7-47 with icons 860, 870, 880), in a prioritized order (FIGS. 7-9 and col. 9, lines 50-end and col 10, lines 1-55, describing displaying based on an importance score an ordered list of nearby devices, further FIG. 8, lines 7-47 with prominence of 860 being greater than 870 and 880 as indicated by different sizes of the user interfaces), wherein the prioritized order is an order according to the orientation time of the two or more external electronic devices (FIGS. 7-10 and col. 13, lines 13-52 describing timing determination in relationship to rank order of the devices, and col 10, lines 1-55, describing ranking methodologies including angular information of the devices and displaying ranking therein).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device location determination and communication system of Meyer to incorporate displaying the prioritized list and scoring of devices as disclosed by Werner because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, systems and methods for identifying and communicating with various devices in an environment. The motivation to combine these references would have been to mitigate the inaccuracies caused by obstructive elements, thereby improving detection and connection with a neighboring device while reducing time required to do so (see Werner at Abstract and col. 10, lines 1-55). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Meyer in view of Werner teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to display the two or more user interfaces whose prioritized order is changed (Meyer at [0086] and FIGS. 14 and 15: the electronic device displays the user interface 136 and 138; and Werner at FIGS. 7-9 and col. 9, lines 50-end and col 10, lines 1-55, describing displaying based on an importance score an ordered list of nearby devices)), based on determining that at least one of the orientation angle, the distance, or the orientation time for any one of the plurality of external electronic devices meets a third criteria, wherein the third criteria includes a range of the origination angle of + 30 degrees to -30 degrees (Meyer [0071] and FIG. 9: the orientation angle being within a given range of axis 102 corresponds at least the orientation angle meeting a third criterion (i.e., if the angle deviates in another direction from the axis 102 while still being in the range); in view of Werner at FIGS. 5-7 with angular range of 25 degrees 514 and 640, at col. 8, lines 32-59 and col. 9, lines 1-35, and col. 9, lines 59-end; the angular range would be -12.5 degrees and + 12.5 degrees, which falls within the range; it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to prioritize the devices that are in the field of view of the user, the range of which may be determinable, adjustable, and defined based various conditions known in the art (e.g., power limitations, environmental conditions, etc.) Werner at col. 9, lines 5-10).
Regarding Claim 13, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 13 is directed to a method (Meyer addressing the method steps at FIGS. 6-9 and 14-15; at [0066]-[0072], [0077] and [0084]-[0091]). Therefore, claim 13 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is similar in scope to claim 5 above; therefore, claim 16 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, it is similar in scope to claim 1, the only difference being claim 19 is directed to one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions (Meyer at [0037] and FIG. 2: memory in control circuitry 22) that, when executed by one or more processors individually or collectively (Meyer [0037] and FIG. 2: processing circuitry in control circuitry 22) of an electronic device, cause the electronic device (Meyer at FIGS. 1 and 2: 10) to perform operations, the operations comprising steps similar to claim 1 (see above). Therefore, claim 19 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Meyer in view of Werner discloses the method of claim 16 (see above), wherein the displaying the user interface whose prioritized order is changed comprises extending a display size of user interface whose prioritized order is changed (Werner at col. 10, lines 16-40; FIG. 7, col. 14, lines 23-46; FIG. 8 and col. 16, lines 7-47 with icons 860, 870, 880, most prominent icon produced is for the highest prioritized/ranked, which will change according to user’s position and relative importance/rank as would be understood by one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claim 22, Meyer in view of Werner the method of claim 21 (see above), wherein when a first predesignated time elapses from a time when the UWB signal is undetected (Werner at FIG. 3 and col. 6, lines 45-57 describing detection, and FIG. 8, updating interface over a period of time at col. 16, lines 51-end and col. 17, lines 1-4) the extended user interface is shrunken back to a prior size (Werner at FIG. 3 and col. 6, lines 45-57 describing detection, and FIG. 8, updating interface over a period of time at col. 16, lines 51-end and col. 17, lines 1-4, in view of Werner at col. 16, lines 7-47 describing size differentiation accordingly), and wherein when a second predesignated time elapses from a time when the extended user interface is shrunken back to the prior size, stopping display of the user interface (Werner at FIG. 3 and col. 6, lines 45-57 describing detection, and FIG. 8, updating interface over a period of time at col. 16, lines 51-end and col. 17, lines 1-4, in view of Werner at col. 16, lines 7-47 describing size differentiation accordingly, and possible elimination of non-detected icons therein, including a heuristics to minimize updates when the user’s intentions are to view the list, an undetected object for a threshold amount of time (outside of view or range) may be considered a heuristic as known by one of ordinary skill).
Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Werner as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Ko et al., US 2015/0326704 A1 (hereinafter “Ko”).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer in view of Werner discloses the electronic device of claim 2 (see above).
However, Meyer in view of Werner does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to display the two or more user interfaces changed to be extended, based on determining that at least one of the orientation angle, the distance, and the orientation time for any one of the two or more external electronic devices meets a fourth criterion.
In the same field of endeavor, Ko teaches effective control of at least one device (Ko, paragraph [0003)), cause an electronic device (FIG. 57: 4300) to display the two or more user interface changed to be extended, based on determining that at least one of an orientation angle, a distance, and an orientation time for any one of the two or more external electronic devices (FIG. 57: 4310-4330) meets a fourth criteria (See paragraph [0279]: the icon 4331 is extended based on the device being controlled for the longest time (an orientation time meeting a fourth criterion)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device as taught by Meyer in view of Werner by causing the electronic device to display the user interface changed to be extended, based on determining that at least one of the orientation angle, the distance, and the orientation time for any one of the plurality of external electronic devices meets a fourth criterion (as taught by Ko). Doing so would allow the user to recognize which of the plurality of external devices are most frequently accessed (See Ko, paragraph [0279]).
Regarding Claim 7, Meyer in view of Werner further view of Ko discloses the electronic device of claim 6 (see above), wherein the two or more user interfaces includes at least one graphic element (Meyer at FIGS. 14 and 15: 136 and 138) configured to control the two or more external electronic devices (Meyer at [0086)).
Regarding Claim 17, it is similar in scope to claim 6 above; therefore, claim 17 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, it is similar in scope to claim 7 above; therefore, claim 18 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 7.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Werner as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujita et al., US 2016/0135233 Al (hereinafter “Fujita”).
Regarding Claim 8, Meyer in view of Werner disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (see above).
However, Meyer in view of Werner does not explicitly discloses the instructions cause the electronic device to refrain from displaying the two or more user interfaces when the UWB signal is not detected for a predesignated time or longer.
In the same field of endeavor, Fujita discloses a wireless communication device (Fujita, [0001]) that can cause an electronic device (FIG. 13: 100) to refrain from displaying the two or more user interfaces (FIG. 7A, showing a user interface W1) when a UWB signal ([0089]) is not detected for a predesignated time or longer ([0094] and FIG. 6: at S80 if the time elapsed from the previous reception of the directional signal reaches a threshold, the controller 162 erases the management information, which is extracted from the directional signal, and the time stamp from the memory 156).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device (as taught by Meyer in view of Werner) by causing the electronic device to refrain from displaying the user interface when the UWB signal is not detected for a predesignated time or longer (as taught by Fujita). Doing so would reduce the power consumption of the external electronic device (See Fujita, paragraph [0088)]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al., US 2023/0408676 A1: FIGS. 6A-9 and [0084]-[0090] describing UWB connection and control of devices by detecting two or more devices and displaying user interfaces accordingly;
Dong et al., US 2024/0118375 A1: FIGS. 4A-1 through 5B and [0120]-[0130] describing detection of devices within range and providing multiple user elements in accordance with devices detected;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629