DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 01/16/2026. The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-18, 20, and 24-26 remain pending for consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “wherein the temperature sensor includes a surface in contact with the heater case” in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “one ice making cell and another ice making cell disposed nearer to one of least one cold air hole” seems to be missing a word and for examination purposes, will be interpreted as -- one ice making cell and another ice making cell disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole --
Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 24 are also objected to due to dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, Applicant has added the limitation “one ice making cell and another ice making cell disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole”. However, on paragraph [0024] of the originally filed specification, Applicant discloses “the temperature sensor may be disposed so that a distance between a cold air hole and the temperature sensor is less than that between a first ice making cell of the plurality of ice making cells, which is disposed farthest from the cold air hole for supplying the cold air by the cold air supply part, and the cold air hole” and furthermore, Figs. 6-7 of the drawing illustrate a single “cold air hole 221”. There is nothing in the originally filed claims, specification or drawings to support this newly added limitation of more than a single cold air hole. Thus, the newly added limitation is deemed to be NEW MATTER.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 24 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “one ice making cell and another ice making cell disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim seems to indicate than “one or more” cold air holes could be provided to the ice maker. However, in paragraph [0024] of the specification, Applicant discloses “the temperature sensor may be disposed so that a distance between a cold air hole and the temperature sensor is less than that between a first ice making cell of the plurality of ice making cells, which is disposed farthest from the cold air hole for supplying the cold air by the cold air supply part, and the cold air hole” and furthermore, Figs. 6-7 of the drawing illustrate a single “cold air hole 221”. Therefore, both the disclosure and the drawings do not support an ice maker that is provided with more than a single cold air hole. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “a second opening formed in the second portion of the liquid” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear how the second opening of the liquid supply can be formed “in the second portion of the liquid”. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a second opening formed in the second portion of the liquid” will be interpreted as -- a second opening formed in the second portion of the liquid supply --
Claim 24 recites the limitations “…a pusher…” and “…a pusher…” which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leave the structure ambiguous in nature as it become difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed element or disclosing an element in addition to the previously claimed element.
Claims 3 and 5-6 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20140000304 A1, herein after referred to as Kim), in view of Shiozaki et al. (JP2003056966A, herein after referred to as Shiozaki), and in further view of Castrellon et al. (US 20050241329 A1, herein after referred to as Castrellon).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an ice maker (ice maker 200 Fig. 6) comprising: a cell (disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0053]) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0042]) is phase changed into ice (paragraph [0042]); a first tray (tray body 223 Fig. 6) configured to define a first portion (corresponds to the lower portion of the shell Fig. 6) of a wall providing the cell (corresponds to the upper and lower walls of the shell Fig. 6); a second tray (recess part 213 Fig. 6) configured to define a second portion (corresponds to the upper portion of the shell Fig. 6) of the wall providing the cell; a first tray case (tray case 221 Fig. 6) that is a separate component (Fig. 6) from the first tray and configured to be positioned at one side of the first tray (lower side of tray body 223 Fig. 6); wherein the cell is provided in plurality (Fig. 6), and includes one ice making cell (first left cell Fig. 6) and another ice making cell (second left cell Fig. 6), wherein the ice maker further comprises a bracket (ice maker bracket 250 Fig. 7) manufactured as a separate component from the first tray case (Figs. 6-7).
Kim teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising: a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the liquid or the ice in the cell, the other ice making cell disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole, through which cold air flows, than the one ice making cell, wherein the temperature sensor includes a portion disposed between the one ice making cell and the other ice making cell”.
However, Shiozaki teaches an ice maker (ice making machining 13 Fig. 1 corresponds to the ice maker of Kim) comprising: a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 26 Fig. 2) configured to detect a temperature of a liquid or ice (paragraph [0011] page 3) in a cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki), another ice making cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole (cold air outlet 31 Fig. 2), through which cold air flows (paragraph [0002]), than one ice making cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki), wherein the temperature sensor includes a portion (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) disposed between the one ice making cell and the other ice making cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) to determine whether the ice tray is empty or not (paragraph [0011] page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kim to include “the ice maker comprising: a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the liquid or the ice in the cell, the other ice making cell disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole, through which cold air flows, than the one ice making cell, wherein the temperature sensor includes a portion disposed between the one ice making cell and the other ice making cell” in view of the teachings of Shiozaki to determine whether the ice tray is empty or not.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the one of at least one cold air hole being formed at the bracket, and wherein the bracket is configured to define at least a portion of a space that accommodates the first tray and the second tray”.
However, Castrellon teaches one of at least one cold air hole (air inlet slits 14 Fig. 3 corresponds to the one of at least one cold air hole of Shiozaki) being formed at a bracket (Fig. 3 where case 10 corresponds to the bracket of Kim), and wherein the bracket is configured to define at least a portion of a space (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0034]) that accommodates a first tray (Fig. 1 where top ice-cube tray 50 corresponds to the first tray of Kim) and a second tray (Fig. 1 where bottom ice-cube tray 50 corresponds to the first tray of Kim) to allow for a faster cooling of the ice-cube trays (paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the one of at least one cold air hole being formed at the bracket, and wherein the bracket is configured to define at least a portion of a space that accommodates the first tray and the second tray” in view of the teachings of Castrellon to allow for a faster cooling of the ice-cube trays.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the first tray case is coupled to the first tray (Fig. 6 of Kim), and the bracket is coupled to the first tray case (Fig. 1 of Castrellon where magazine 12 corresponds to the first tray case of Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches an ice maker (ice maker 200 Fig. 6) comprising: a cell (disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0053]) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0042]) is phase changed into ice (paragraph [0042]); a first tray (tray body 223 Fig. 6) configured to define a first portion (corresponds to the lower portion of the shell Fig. 6) of a wall providing the cell (corresponds to the upper and lower walls of the shell Fig. 6); a second tray (recess part 213 Fig. 6) configured to define a second portion (corresponds to the upper portion of the shell Fig. 6) of the wall providing the cell; a first tray case (tray case 221 Fig. 6) that is a separate component (Fig. 6) from the first tray and configured to be positioned at one side of the first tray (lower side of tray body 223 Fig. 6); wherein the cell is provided in plurality (Fig. 6), and includes one ice making cell (first left cell Fig. 6) and another ice making cell (second left cell Fig. 6), wherein the ice maker further comprises a bracket (ice maker bracket 250 Fig. 7).
Kim teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising: a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the liquid or the ice in the cell, the other ice making cell disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole, through which cold air flows, than the one ice making cell, wherein the temperature sensor includes a portion disposed between the one ice making cell and the other ice making cell”.
However, Shiozaki teaches an ice maker (ice making machining 13 Fig. 1 corresponds to the ice maker of Kim) comprising: a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 26 Fig. 2) configured to detect a temperature of a liquid or ice (paragraph [0011] page 3) in a cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki), another ice making cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole (cold air outlet 31 Fig. 2), through which cold air flows (paragraph [0002]), than one ice making cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki), wherein the temperature sensor includes a portion (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) disposed between the one ice making cell and the other ice making cell (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) to determine whether the ice tray is empty or not (paragraph [0011] page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kim to include “the ice maker comprising: a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the liquid or the ice in the cell, the other ice making cell disposed nearer to one of at least one cold air hole, through which cold air flows, than the one ice making cell, wherein the temperature sensor includes a portion disposed between the one ice making cell and the other ice making cell” in view of the teachings of Shiozaki to determine whether the ice tray is empty or not.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the one of the at least one cold air hole being formed at the bracket, and wherein the bracket is configured to define at least a portion of a space that accommodates the first tray and the second tray”.
However, Castrellon teaches one of at least one cold air hole (air inlet slits 14 Fig. 3 corresponds to the one of at least one cold air hole of Shiozaki) being formed at a bracket (Fig. 3 where case 10 corresponds to the bracket of Kim), and wherein the bracket is configured to define at least a portion of a space (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0034]) that accommodates a first tray (Fig. 1 where top ice-cube tray 50 corresponds to the first tray of Kim) and a second tray (Fig. 1 where bottom ice-cube tray 50 corresponds to the first tray of Kim) to allow for a faster cooling of the ice-cube trays (paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the one of the at least one cold air hole being formed at the bracket, and wherein the bracket is configured to define at least a portion of a space that accommodates the first tray and the second tray” in view of the teachings of Castrellon to allow for a faster cooling of the ice-cube trays.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the bracket integrally formed with the first tray case”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the bracket integrally formed with the first tray case” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing installation means for the ice maker. Since it has been held that making integral two parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the ice maker of Kim and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of providing installation means for the ice maker.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shiozaki, and Castrellon as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 20110185759 A1, herein after referred to as Kang).
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach further comprising a liquid supply (water supply pipe 20 Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) configured to supply the liquid (paragraph [0004] of Shiozaki), and the one of at least one cold air hole includes a portion (the entirety of cold air outlet 31 Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) spaced apart from the liquid supply (Fig. 2 of Shiozaki).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the liquid supply including a first portion and a second portion, the liquid supply being provided with a first opening formed in the first portion of the liquid supply and a second opening formed in the second portion of the liquid supply such that the liquid, which is supplied to the first portion of the liquid supply, is guided to the second portion of the liquid supply, wherein the liquid supply is installed at the bracket”.
However, Kang teaches a liquid supply (water funnel 160 Fig. 3 corresponds to the liquid supply of Shiozaki) including a first portion (corresponds to water collecting portion 161 Fig. 4) and a second portion (corresponds to drain tube 171 and tapered portion 174 Fig. 3), the liquid supply being provided with a first opening (corresponds to the top opening of water funnel 160 Fig. 4) formed in the first portion of the liquid supply (Fig. 4) and a second opening (corresponds to the opening of tapered portion 174 Fig. 4) formed in the second portion of the liquid supply (Fig. 4) such that a liquid (paragraph [0056] where the disclosed “water” corresponds to the liquid of Kim), which is supplied to the first portion of the liquid supply (paragraph [0056]), is guided to the second portion of the liquid supply (paragraph [0056]), wherein the liquid supply is installed at a bracket (Figs. 2-3 where frame 131 corresponds to the bracket of Kim) to guide water for making ice (paragraph [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the liquid supply including a first portion and a second portion, the liquid supply being provided with a first opening formed in the first portion of the liquid supply and a second opening formed in the second portion of the liquid supply such that the liquid, which is supplied to the first portion of the liquid supply, is guided to the second portion of the liquid supply, wherein the liquid supply is installed at the bracket” in view of the teachings of Kang to guide water for making ice.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach further comprising a liquid supply (water supply pipe 20 Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) configured to supply the liquid (paragraph [0004] of Shiozaki), wherein the first tray includes a communication hole (corresponds to the opening on the top of ice making tray 22 Fig. 2 of Shiozaki which allows water to be supplied to the tray), and wherein the liquid supply is configured to supply the liquid to the communication hole (paragraph [0011] of page 3 of Shiozaki), and the one of the at least one cold air hole includes a portion (the entirety of cold air outlet 31 Fig. 2 of Shiozaki) spaced apart from the communication hole (Fig. 2 of Shiozaki).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the liquid supply including a first portion and a second portion, the liquid supply being provided with a first opening formed in the first portion of the liquid supply and a second opening formed in the second portion of the liquid supply such that the liquid, which is supplied to the first portion of the liquid supply, is guided to the second portion of the liquid supply”.
However, Kang teaches a liquid supply (water funnel 160 Fig. 3 corresponds to the liquid supply of Shiozaki) including a first portion (corresponds to water collecting portion 161 Fig. 4) and a second portion (corresponds to drain tube 171 and tapered portion 174 Fig. 3), the liquid supply being provided with a first opening (corresponds to the top opening of water funnel 160 Fig. 4) formed in the first portion of the liquid supply (Fig. 4) and a second opening (corresponds to the opening of tapered portion 174 Fig. 4) formed in the second portion of the liquid supply (Fig. 4) such that a liquid (paragraph [0056] where the disclosed “water” corresponds to the liquid of Kim), which is supplied to the first portion of the liquid supply (paragraph [0056]), is guided to the second portion of the liquid supply (paragraph [0056]) to guide water for making ice (paragraph [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the liquid supply including a first portion and a second portion, the liquid supply being provided with a first opening formed in the first portion of the liquid supply and a second opening formed in the second portion of the liquid supply such that the liquid, which is supplied to the first portion of the liquid supply, is guided to the second portion of the liquid supply” in view of the teachings of Kang to guide water for making ice.
Claims 3 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shiozaki, and Castrellon as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Alshourbagy et al. (US 20170299244 A1, herein after referred to as Alshourbagy).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the temperature sensor is installed in the first tray case, and a wire connected to the temperature sensor is guided to one side of the first tray case”.
However, Alshourbagy teaches wherein a temperature sensor (heater thermistor 114 Fig. 10) is installed in a first tray case (Fig. 10 where canopy 116 corresponds to the first tray case of Kim), and a wire (Fig. 9) connected to the temperature sensor (Fig. 9) is guided to one side of the first tray case (Figs. 10-11) to allow for easy engagement and removal of the completed assembly for replacement and repair of the assembly if necessary (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the temperature sensor is installed in the first tray case, and a wire connected to the temperature sensor is guided to one side of the first tray case” in view of the teachings of Alshourbagy to allow for easy engagement and removal of the completed assembly for replacement and repair of the assembly if necessary.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shiozaki, and Castrellon as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Hara (US 4910974).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a heater configured to supply heat to the cell, wherein the first tray includes a contact surface contacting with the second tray in an ice making process, and wherein a portion of the heater is spaced apart from the contact surface of the first tray in a first distance and a portion of the temperature sensor is spaced apart from the contact surface of the first tray in a second distance less than the first distance”.
However, Hara teaches further comprising a heater (heater H Fig. 13) configured to supply heat (Col. 14 lines 32-36) to a cell (the disclosed “spherical spaces” in Col. 5 lines 1-12 correspond to cell of Kim), wherein a first tray (first freezing chamber 11 Fig. 13 corresponds to the first tray of Kim) includes a contact surface (bottom surface of first freezing chamber 11 Fig. 13) contacting with a second tray (second freezing cell 15 Fig. 13 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) in an ice making process (the process described in Col. 8 lines 52-68 and Col. 9 lines 1-48), and wherein a portion of the heater (top portion of heater H Fig. 13) is spaced apart from the contact surface of the first tray in a first distance (see below annotated Fig. 13 of Hara) and a portion of a temperature sensor (lower portion of thermostat Th2 Fig. 13 where thermostat Th2 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Shiozaki) is spaced apart from the contact surface of the first tray in a second distance (see below annotated Fig. 13 of Hara) less than the first distance (see below annotated Fig. 13 of Hara) to separate the ice (Col. 14 lines 32-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a heater configured to supply heat to the cell, wherein the first tray includes a contact surface contacting with the second tray in an ice making process, and wherein a portion of the heater is spaced apart from the contact surface of the first tray in a first distance and a portion of the temperature sensor is spaced apart from the contact surface of the first tray in a second distance less than the first distance” in view of the teachings of Hara to separate the ice.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shiozaki, and Castrellon as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hara and Alshourbagy.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the first tray includes a surface contacting with the second tray in an ice making process and the temperature sensor includes a portion spaced apart from the surface of the first tray in the ice making process, and wherein the ice maker further comprises a heater”.
However, Hara teaches wherein a first tray (first freezing chamber 11 Fig. 13 corresponds to the first tray of Kim) includes a surface (bottom surface of first freezing chamber 11 Fig. 13) contacting with a second tray (second freezing cell 15 Fig. 13 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) in an ice making process (the process described in Col. 8 lines 52-68 and Col. 9 lines 1-48), and a temperature sensor (thermostat Th2 Fig. 13 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Shiozaki) includes a portion (lower portion of thermostat Th2 Fig. 13) spaced apart from the surface of the first tray in the ice making process (Fig. 13), and wherein the ice maker further comprises a heater (heater H Fig. 13) to separate the ice (Col. 14 lines 32-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the first tray includes a surface contacting with the second tray in an ice making process and the temperature sensor includes a portion spaced apart from the surface of the first tray in the ice making process, and wherein the ice maker further comprises a heater” in view of the teachings of Hara to separate the ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the ice maker further comprises a heater case in which the heater is installed, and wherein the temperature sensor includes a surface in contact with the heater case”.
However, Alshourbagy teaches wherein an ice maker (ice making assembly 100 Fig. 4 corresponds to the ice maker of Kim) further comprises a heater case (heater bracket 110 Fig. 4) in which a heater (heater 112 Fig. 4 corresponds to the heater of Hara) is installed (Fig. 9), and wherein a temperature sensor (heater thermistor 114 Fig. 4 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Shiozaki) includes a surface (wire portion of thermistor 114 Fig. 9) in contact with the heater case (Fig. 9) to allow for easy engagement and removal of the completed assembly for replacement and repair of the assembly if necessary (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the ice maker further comprises a heater case in which the heater is installed, and wherein the temperature sensor includes a surface in contact with the heater case” in view of the teachings of Alshourbagy to allow for easy engagement and removal of the completed assembly for replacement and repair of the assembly if necessary.
Claims 12-13 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shiozaki, and Castrellon as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Boarman et al. (US 20140165598 A1, herein after referred to as Boarman).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising: a pusher including at least one extension part configured to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein the pusher is supported by the bracket”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a pusher (ejector pin 475 Fig. 29) including at least one extension part (stem portion of ejector pin 475 Fig. 29) configured to push out ice (paragraph [0120]) disposed in a cell (Fig. 26 where unitary mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Kim), wherein the pusher is supported by a bracket (Fig. 29 where outer shell 500 corresponds to the bracket of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: a pusher including at least one extension part configured to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein the pusher is supported by the bracket” in view of the teachings of Boarman to improve the ice removal process.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a pusher including at least one extension part configured to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein the pusher is installed on the bracket”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a pusher (ejector pin 475 Fig. 29) including at least one extension part (stem portion of ejector pin 475 Fig. 29) configured to push out ice (paragraph [0120]) disposed in a cell (Fig. 26 where unitary mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Kim), wherein the pusher is installed on a bracket (Fig. 29 where outer shell 500 corresponds to the bracket of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a pusher including at least one extension part configured to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein the pusher is installed on the bracket” in view of the teachings of Boarman to improve the ice removal process.
Regarding claim 24, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a pusher including at least one extension part configured to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein the first tray case is provided with a hole through which a portion of the pusher passes”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a pusher (ejector pin 475 Fig. 29) including at least one extension part (stem portion of ejector pin 475 Fig. 29) configured to push out ice (paragraph [0120]) disposed in a cell (Fig. 26 where unitary mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Kim), wherein a first tray case (chill ring cover 504 Fig. 35 corresponds to the first tray case of Kim) is provided with a hole (water inlet apertures 505 Fig. 35) through which a portion of the pusher passes (lower portion of ejector pin 475 Fig. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a pusher including at least one extension part configured to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein the first tray case is provided with a hole through which a portion of the pusher passes” in view of the teachings of Boarman to improve the ice removal process.
Claims 14-18, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shiozaki, and Castrellon as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kakimoto et al. (JPH0674624A, herein after referred to as Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3) configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0018] where the turn-on condition corresponds to the completion of Step 5), and to supply heat to a cell (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 14 where block 9 corresponds to the cell of Kim) to make a transparent ice (paragraph [0018]), wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0017] corresponds to the liquid of Kim) starts to be supplied to the cell (paragraph [0017]) to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach wherein the heater is configured to supply the heat to the cell in at least a partial section (corresponds to the upper surface of ice tray 8 Fig. 3 and paragraph [0018] of Kakimoto) while cold air is supplied to the cell (paragraph [0018] of Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3) configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0018] where the turn-on condition corresponds to the completion of Step 5), and to transfer heat to a cell (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 14 where block 9 corresponds to the cell of Kim) such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018] where it is disclosed that “the formation of ice on the water surface side is delayed”), wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0017] corresponds to the liquid of Kim) starts to be supplied to the cell (paragraph [0017]) to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3) configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0018] where the turn-on condition corresponds to the completion of Step 5), and to supply heat to a cell (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 14 where block 9 corresponds to the cell of Kim) to make a transparent ice (paragraph [0018]), wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell (paragraph [0018]) to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3) configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0018] where the turn-on condition corresponds to the completion of Step 5), and to transfer heat to a cell (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 14 where block 9 corresponds to the cell of Kim) such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018] where it is disclosed that “the formation of ice on the water surface side is delayed”), wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell (paragraph [0018]) to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3) configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0018] where the turn-on condition corresponds to the completion of Step 5), and to transfer heat to a cell (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 14 where block 9 corresponds to the cell of Kim) such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018] where it is disclosed that “the formation of ice on the water surface side is delayed”), wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0019] where the turn-off condition corresponds to the detection of temperature that is “equal to or lower than the ice making completion temperature”), and wherein, after the heater is turned off, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) is configured to be moved in a direction (corresponds to the opposite direction of arrow S Fig. 9B-C and paragraph [0021]) so as to take ice out of the cell (paragraph [0021]) to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released during an ice making process (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released during an ice making process.
Regarding claim 26, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3) configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0018] where the turn-on condition corresponds to the completion of Step 5), and to supply heat to a cell (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 14 where block 9 corresponds to the cell of Kim) to make a transparent ice (paragraph [0018]), wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0019] where the turn-off condition corresponds to the detection of temperature that is “equal to or lower than the ice making completion temperature”), and wherein, after the heater is turned off, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Kim) is configured to be moved in a direction (corresponds to the opposite direction of arrow S Fig. 9B-C and paragraph [0021]) so as to take ice out of the cell (paragraph [0021]) to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released during an ice making process (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a heater configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to allow for bubbles contained in the water to be released during an ice making process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763